Nigerian civil servants, students donated towards the fight against Apartheid in SA - Prof Akinyemi | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 23 April 2015

Nigerian civil servants, students donated towards the fight against Apartheid in SA - Prof Akinyemi

Reacting to the current Xenophobic attacks going on in South Africa, former External Affairs Minister, Prof. Bolaji Akinyemi said South Africans should be grateful to Nigerians & other Africans who fought for them during apartheid. Speaking with Channels TV yesterday April 22nd, Professor Akinyemi said during the struggle to end apartheid, Nigerian civil servants were compelled to donate some of their salaries into a liberation fund meant for the fight against apartheid.
"I was involved in the anti-apartheid struggle as the Director General of the Nigerian Institute of International affairs (NIIA); I was part of those who came up with liberation fund. We forced civil servants to donate monthly a percentage of their salary monthly and for some reasons, secondary schools caved; university students made a donation. What are they now talking about? Is it because Africans are now taking jobs in South Africa. Do you know how many West Africans have jobs in Nigeria? Do you know how many Nigerians have jobs in West African countries.
We exchange population all the time and nobody has claims that because of that you are entitled to pick up guns, stones cudgels and go on a murdering spree. distasteful actions by South Africans against fellow Africans especially those who helped them during the apartheid struggle. I think that Nigeria, given the investment of South African in this country, needs to sit the South Africans down and tell them that there could be a cost to this kind of xenophobic behaviour. It is unacceptable, it is intolerable. Our people should be killed over there and we will not reply because 6, 000 people are employed by one of their companies here; I don’t buy into that kind of mentality. If they are going to hurt our people and hurt the interest of our people, then they should be prepared for retaliation. I think Nigerians should let these people know that this thing is a quid pro quo; you treat me well, I treat you well. They really don’t tell South African people how much South Africa owes Africa for that struggle”, he said

56 comments:

Remind the ungrateful people!

Let them know... lindaobserve

sophieluv said...

Well said! Let peace reign Biko.

The fools go remember.... Rubbish idiots....

Tell dem oo

'Quid pro quo; u treat me well, I treat u well' End of Discussion.

You are on point sir

Nig spent Billions of Dollars to liberate them
from Apartheid.
So, yeah they shud be grateful to Us
& other Africans.

Will be back with my own comment.

Ola said...

Word! No one coulda said it better! We would not die if MTN leaves. They should go and allow GLO to grow bigger sef. That way, they will employ the 6,000 loosing their jobs. How can a foreign owned Company be thriving more than our local Company?!

Petite Diva said...

It is as if they have amnesia now. Sensless idiots!!

Those lazy donkeys don't knw anytyn,, all they do in SA is to steal, they must pay for wat they did to nigerians and other foreigners

I love his speech, their punishment must match the injury... an eye for an eye, a tooth for a tooth

UnikCrown Says:
Well said indeed. These SA Firms in Nigeria thinks the threat of loosing 6000 jobs is enough to shut us up or turn our faces the other way, regarding their senseless Xenophobic attacks on innocent Africans. They better think again and fix this thing b4 SA becomes a desolate Island.

Dts gud dy shld kip it up, Fashenu or watever is name is 48hrs is up ooooooo we are waiting 4 ur revenge o Lol.

I TOTALLY AGREE WIT U SIR...TOMJERRYSWIT

Scream it LOUD n Drum it in their Ears.
Stupid fools @South Africans.

A tooth for a tooth, an eye for an eye.. Kapish

mR SLIQ said...

South African should have sense. no wonder the only positive thing about them is hiv/aids

Tell them, because they think Madiba fought apartheid alone. They forget there were other figures in the background that did a lot of admirable work. If every country decided to kill every other people not of their country, you think we'd be at peace with each other? You think SA would survive without other nationals? Xenophobia is just another excuse for laziness and greed.

God bless u sir. The truth is bitter, but must be told. If the attacks continue, it won't go unanswered!

Wow! He spoke well, and I had to re-read d post. He nailed it wit dis salient point "It is unacceptable, it is intolerable". God bless him, and thumbs up to him.

Exactly. I bet that moron of a Zulu doesn't know nada about history!

KC said...

Tell them Sir!!!!!

Yes sir,i hundred percent agree wit u,tel the south africans to get that into their silly empty skull

God bless you Sir, you said it all. 6,000 employments my foot. Linda take note!

Gentletee said...

Tell them.

W-O-R-D! tell them, every one of their lazy, violent, naive stupid ass

An eye for an eye joor

Did same thing nothing happen in Nigeria in the early 1980s? Who remembers 'Ghana must go'? We Nigerians are being so hypocritical- just remember what goes round comes round!

rubbish talk .. its not the whole of southafrica its just a minority so you dont talk like that

Prof Akinyemi talking about retaliating is bad and unGodly. please always preach the right thing

Prof. Akinyemi you have said nothing about the OBA OF LAGOS . what difference did he say from that of the zulu king ?

please you guys should move on. thats what we heard when oba said similar stuff to Igbos .. move on plssss

IT'S INDEED A SHAME! THE SAID SOUTH AFRICAN COMPANIES EMPLOYING ABOUT 6000 PEOPLE HERE, MEANS WE SHOULD ALLOW THOSE OF OUR CITIZENS IN SOUTH AFRICA TO BE KILLED?
IF ONLY OUR GOVERNMENT IS PROACTIVE, WE CAN REPLICATE THOSE COMPANIES, GET THOSE OF OUR CITIZENS EMPLOYED, AND SEND ALL THESE SOUTH AFRICAN COMPANIES LIKE MULTICHOICE AND DSTV AND THE REST - EXPLOITING NIGERIANS PARKING. IT IS UNIMMAGINEABLE TO KNOW THAT EVEN WHEN A COURT INJUNCTION WAS GIVEN RECENTLY FOR DSTV NOT TO MAKE ANY INCREMENT ON THE MONTHLY CHARGE, DSTV IGNORED THAT ORDER AND STILL WENT AHEAD EXPLOITING MONEY FROM NIGERANS AT THE NEW RATE. IGNORING A COURT INJUNCTION? WHERE ELSE CAN THIS HAPPEN OTHER THAN NIGERA? CAN THIS SAME SOUTH AFRICAN COMPANY - DSTV -IGNORE A COURT ORDER IN THE U.S.A OR ANY OTHER COUNTRY OF THE WORLD AND GO FREE? OUR CITIZENS OVER THERE ARE AS IMPORTANT IF NOT MORE AS THOSE EMPLOYED BY THE SOUTH AFRICANS HERE IN NIGERIA. THEY SHOULD CLOSE DOWN THEIR COMPANIES, AND SEND THEM PACKING TOO. FURTHERMORE, IS IT ONLY BLACKS THAT ARE WORKING IN SOUTH AFRICA; ARE THERE NO WHITE FOREIGNERS WORKING IN SOUTH AFRICA? WHY THEN IS THE XENOPHOBIC MADNESS CONCENTRATED ON BLACKS ONLY? WE INDEED HAVE A LONG WAY TO GO. BLACKS AGAINST BLACKS! NO WONDER THE WHITES TREAT US ANY HOW; SINCE WE HAVE NO RESPECT NOR DIGNITY FOR OURSELVES OR COLOUR. MAY GOD HELP US. MRS. PINNOCK.

Hypocrites in Nigeria always talk when it affects them. you guys need to be same all the time. What about when it happens in nigeria asper different tribes ? nothing get said or done to correct it. it has happened in the north with killings of southerners it has happened in jos , kaduna, even the OBA OF lAGOS SAID SIMILAR STUFFS

Nawa ooo the deed has been done now let's look 4 a way foward and to make peace no b to add salt to injury.may the souls of the dead rest in peace while the souls of those zulu boys waits for our revenge.

Thank you very much. ..but it looks like we don't even have a government in Nigeria at moment our president is he ok?
Our president elect is he still in Africa or not?

Thank you very much. ..but it looks like we don't even have a government in Nigeria at moment our president is he ok?
Our president elect is he still in Africa or not?

rossy said...

Don't mind the stupid people

Gud talk n well said. Bt it only bn said in words n nt in action. We wnt action dis tym, let dem go bk 2 der country too thank God we v our own networks, we also v consat, start times etc. Is high time we start patronising wat belongs 2 us, we wnt dem no more

KUNLE said...

my prof you speak well ooo help us tell it to our own ambassador too that fold his hand without any action ....love you sir,tell them we don't buy to that idea of 6000job,we can manage our resources the zulu king should be hand over to criminal court in the world

Prof please tell them o!.

Cindy# said...

Am so in support of dis, dis ppl hv rili taken us 4 granted

Bloody South Africans

The zulu king who started this should face ICC. With his knowledge and position in the society, he should face the consequences of his actions.
As for south Africans, they have tarnished their good reputation.

They are acting ignorantly Prof. Do I blame them. If it is alcohol they would balance fine, fine.

Gbam true talk

He nailed it, and said it all bringing history into play. God bless him.

DONT MIND THOSE UNGRATEFUL FOOOLZZZ

Ungreatful fools

But we didn't kill them, we only asked them to go. SA is burning children alive, are these children also taking their jobs?

Rosie Said......Clear and sound mind speaking.

They were too quick to forget.

They are suffering from amnesia, they've forgotten so quickly!