The rise and rise of 'Runtown' | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday, 24 September 2014

The rise and rise of 'Runtown'

The name Douglas Jack Agu might not strike a chord, but the moment you mention the name ‘RunTown’ you instantly relate the name with the remarkable success of one of Nigeria’s fastest rising pop sensations who has broken several boundaries in the music industry within a very short period of time, and he doesn’t seem to slowing down anytime soon.

Runtown was born In Enugu state on the 19th of August 1989, he grew up partly in Abuja and Lagos where he had most of his primary education. Shortly after the death of his dad, he relocated to Abuja and in 2007, he wrote his W.A.E.C examinations in Enugu state where his paths crossed with that of indigenous rapper Phyno.

Fast forward to 2014, Runtown has several chart topping songs which includes his monster hit collaboration with Davido on the song titled ‘Gallardo’, ‘Succesfull’ and his latest effort ‘Baby Answer’.

Prior the release of Gallardo, Runtown has kept his hustle going as an underground artiste working with top notch acts, he featured on J Martins second album on the 5th track titled “Tonight”, and he went on to drop his very first sing ‘Party Like It’s 1980’ (Kinorbor) in 2010, the song was popular but the artiste didn’t get known. Determined to make an impact, Runtown kept on recording new songs and in 2014  he inked a multi-million Naira recording deal with Ericmany Entertainment owned by the C.E.O of Dilly Motors.

Runtown released the smash hit tune ‘Gallardo’ in January 2014, and just 9 months after, he has recorded a tremendous string of successes. He won the Best Collaboration Award for the song Gallardo at the NEA Awards in New York in August, his twitter account got verified a few months ago, he just returned from a trip to East Africa where he had a very successful media tour in Nairobi, Kenya with top tv & Radio stations like Kiss Tv, Citizens Tv, One FM, Spice Magazine, KTN, Homeboyz Radio and many more. He also delivered a very energetic performance at the ‘Lagos Party concert’ in Nairobi with a thrilling performance of his songs ‘Successful’ and ‘Gallardo’, and by popular demand, Runtown would be back in Nairobi Kenya on the 1st of November 2014 to headline the ‘Naija Nite Concert’.

50 comments:

Anam a che
I love this guy like madt
Madt songs!!

okessss

Linda! You sef! Thanks for the info

Peejay said...

Okay...

Your No. 1 DATA Vendor Call/WhatsApp 09028450336 (Get Your Cheap & Affordable DATA on All Networks) said...

RunTown nwa mama..keep doing ur thing..the sky is ur starting point#notafantho

Wish him all the best.

He's doing pretty well.
With determination and good character,he will do well in the Nigerian music industry.

Angeliqué said...

Yes!!!

Good for him. He is sure doing well...#BrightBravoBro

I no know you

Neymar said...

Sigh* wat a story! Linda d biographer

Baby95 said...

Issoria.

Juliebabe said...

Kudos to him

Acknowledge a baller when u see one
And salute a boss when u see one
This dude knows wat his doing
And his allegiance to phyno strikes home
I see u,All eyes on him

....SƖεεkz

#king said...

Nna ehh..Runtown is gifted no doubt but d promo dis dude is getting right now even an untalented artist will blow..Almost evri 2 days linda u will post stuff abt him..If its not here its Notjustok.com..D guys behind d scenes are doing a great Job..Twitter verification aint a big deal abeg..I wish u luck all d same................................#KingOfKings

Yea I like the dude. He is pure talent But tell him to stay away frm my gal.

Braska

The Lord is your strength.....carry on.....
Ella

couldn't read everything, nevertheless I wish him more fame and success. onyenwechinyere@gmail.com

History of Nigeria's own Kendrick Lamar. Congratulations on the award.

tabi said...

I love me some runtown baby

DIDI said...

Runtown na Alhaji...more grace dude

Annette nwachukwu said...

#gud on him#..hez a hardworker..I knt stp dancing 2 gallardo..God kip blessing ur hustle!...

Luvin dis dude

Goziem Oh LORD said...

Ok good for him

gud for him...he don make am

DIDDY said...

Yeah, he deserves it, kool artiste, very natural too

So dose he have ambition of becoming ours next president

Paid to hype lol

(twitter/instgrm)

Daralohi said...

Congrats Runtown,the Skye is your starting point.

Linda u re' crushing on dis guy oooooo.....#i am a big fan tho'

What's a monster hit Gallardo
Nice turn up guy

3pnaija.blogspot.com said...

D guy is doing well 4him sef! Celebrate u sir.

LINDA PLEASE POST GAY THINGS, I WANNA WANK

Stanley Chisom Nnaso said...

I'm a big fan of Runtown and Patoranking.
God bless their struggles. Soon, they gonna dust Skales

***Wizkid Voice***

imagine linda snd runtown dating,that would be good combination...think about it...

Nwanne keep going high,sky is your limit..Linda nwanyi oma,dont eat this Run Town PR money alone ooo :)

Gud luck to him
Faceoflib

Zichy said...

042 representing!

Pls I posted a comment on ur pix in wich my bbpin was included,kindly pls delete it

Fever said...

Errrhm! Dude looks Good,
i hope his songs would sound as good as his looks tho? maka mistake oh

Bro do ya thing.

@Fever, where hav you been? Jupiter? *anya_o2003@yahoo.com*

runtown bu alhaji!!

like drake said "if u aint got it u aint got it" this dude has IT. flourish ma nigga

so the popular 419 dilly motor dude who jugs wit escort in lekki is runtowns boss... na wa ooooooo. d guy done spend money on top run town o

No it won't,Linda nA old G.shes built for men,not for boys.

Domot is my best song

Ikponwa

desola said...

i am his biggest fan!!! #obsessed with runtown!!!

He is DoPe

I love this guy*
yhu na 'LATEST' O0Ooo0