Ekiti boils as hoodlums destroy APC office, Gov declares 7pm-7am curfew | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 26 September 2014

Ekiti boils as hoodlums destroy APC office, Gov declares 7pm-7am curfew

There's a lot of craziness going on currently in Ekiti state. A day after an Ayo Fayose loyalist was shot dead by unknown gunmen, hoodlums went on a rampage destroying the campaign office of the state governor, Kayode Fayemi, as well as the APC secretariat. The thugs also destroyed properties belonging to other politicians.

Today's chaos is believed to be an aftermath of the assassination of the former chairman of the Ekiti state NURTW, Mr Omalafe Aderiye.

Above is a pic of Governor Fayemi's campaign office after it was razed. He has since declared a 7pm-7am curfew in the state to halt the crisis. Continue to read the full text of Governor Fayemi's broadcast in Ekiti today as he declared the curfew...

THE PEACE OF OUR LAND IS NOT NEGOTIABLE
State Broadcast By
His Excellency
Dr. Kayode FAYEMI
Governor, Ekiti State, following the Breach of Peace in the State
Friday, September 26, 2014.
In o kun o Ekiti Kete.
It has become expedient that I address you today on account of dire happenings in the land of honour, Ekiti State. With tension mounting across the state, Ekiti has been the subject of alarming headlines in the news, following the tragic assault on the judiciary.
On Monday, September 22, thugs acting on the incitement of an interested party, were involved in the sacrilegious sacking of the court while hearing on a political case was in progress.
This happened in full glare of the law enforcement agents with inappropriate response. Clearly, these brigands exceeded the limits of acceptable behavior, even in the most liberal of democracies, and ventured into the realm of blatant criminality with this desecration of the hallowed chambers of the law.
The fact that this assault did not meet with any strong deterring repercussions from the appropriate authorities further emboldened the miscreants. They subsequently attempted to prevent the Ekiti State Governorship Election Petition Tribunal from sitting, yesterday, Thursday, September 25. I am advised incontrovertibly that thugs acting on the command of Mr. Ayo Fayose, who was also present to lend his clout to the travesty, brazenly assaulted a senior judge and urged his thugs to beat him up and tear his clothes.
The court premises was thrown into confusion and those present scurried away in search of safety and security. This was on the back of his specious allegation that the judiciary in the state is compromised and biased against him. And the answer to that was to resort to jungle justice and take the laws into his hands. This has led to the closure of the courts indefinitely due to the inability of the security agencies to guarantee the safety of lives and property in our temples of justice. With the entrenched atmosphere of impunity, violence in the state has escalated with the unfortunate loss of one life and the willful damage to several properties to arson by rampaging thugs.
Since the beginning of this development on Monday, which is unprecedented in the recent history of our state, I have been in touch with the Heads of all Security Agencies at the State and Federal levels, urging them to act quickly and firmly in the interest of public law and order. It is worrisome that the slow and inadequate response has occasioned the avoidable escalation of violence in our dear state.
Against this backdrop, it is understandable that not a few stakeholders have expressed concern about what the development portends for our dear state. The brazen contempt of our hallowed law courts and the use of violence and intimidation to obstruct the course of justice is a clear invitation to anarchy of the scale and texture that characterized Ekiti State some years ago. Ekiti Kete, are those years upon us again?
Already, there is widespread anxiety about this development coming at a time the state is going through the transitioning out of one administration and the ushering in of a new one. This is a very delicate period that all stakeholders must work together to ensure Ekiti State comes out stronger for it.
During periods of transition, vital partners in progress adopt a cautious posture, watching for the slightest portents of the possible discontinuity of the regime of peace and tranquility, amongst other factors that have made our state conducive for investors and development partners. We must not disrupt our very bright prospects for sustained development in our state.
Considering the cases that have triggered the recent spate of violence are politically related, the political elite in our state from all disparate quarters must exercise caution. We must rescue our state from the precarious slippery slope that some have desperately pushed us to. We should not imperil the very people we seek to serve by resorting to violence and brigandage. One does not burn down his homestead to establish his claim of ownership or leadership.
Most assuredly, the course of Justice can only be delayed, but can never be truncated. The independence of the Judiciary is an inviolable tenet of any democracy. Accordingly, I have this morning directed the Attorney General of the state to issue a legal advisory to the Chief Judge of the state and all the parties to the existing cases in the State High Court and the Ekiti State Governorship Elections Petitions Tribunal, on the desirability of seeking an alternative venue for the hearing of these cases outside Ekiti State. The State can no longer afford to witness the bizarre spectacle of the beating up of judicial officers and wanton intimidation of lawyers and court personnel.
Now that the security agencies appear to be fully seized of the situation, I call on them not to relent in performing their constitutional role of protecting lives and property in our state.
Administrations come and go; politics can be frenetic when the stakes are high; but by the grace of the Almighty God, our state remains for all time, therefore THE PEACE OF OUR LAND IS NOT NEGOTIABLE.
Ekiti Kete, consistent with our history of unity and love, let us work together to make our state a garden of concord where our children and their children will dwell in peace and safety. Even in the pursuit of politics and justice, let us conduct ourselves as kinsmen, bound by a shared love for Ekitiland but differing only in the choice of instruments by which to accomplish the same goal.
Let us then temper our competitive zeal with civility and empathy. Let us deal truthfully with our youth, who are so liable to be led astray by unbridled political fervour, by seeing them as our children rather than as conscripts or fodder for our objectives.
Ekiti Kete, in order to forestall further descent into anarchy in our state, I am taking the very difficult decision to suspend the ‘Thank You’ tour which I’m undertaking as part of our transitioning-out formalities. Also, I have taken the decision to institute a dusk to dawn curfew in the state immediately. Accordingly, there would be no movement between the hours of 7.00 p.m. and 7.00 a.m. everyday till further notice. We urge the citizenry to be vigilant and provide the security agencies with details of suspicious activities that can undermine the peace in our state.
Let us work together to stop the violence and brigandage that has brought about serious embarrassment to our state in the last few days.
Let Peace Reign in the land of honour, Ekiti State.
God bless Ekiti State.
God bless the Federal Republic of Nigeria.
Dr. Kayode Fayemi
Governor, Ekiti State
Friday, September 26, 201

49 comments:

naija politics! sooo dirty

What a shame

Ada Owerri said...

Abeg i no fit shout, mean Y Linda u always talk of ur dad ur mum nko? Abeg flaze wit her small kwanu biko....(Rochas We Know 2015)

God intervene ooo.. Help your children. It is well. Psalm 93:1-3. BishopDammy#

Chukwuyere said...

All the culprits must be smoked out, there must not be any sacred cow.

*Dr. Goodluck Ebele Jonathan for 2015*

Politics!!!! May God help us.

Fool,u made mentioned of fayose n his thugs n never mentioned d man dat was shot.Dumb ass idiot...

Dumb ass...

Lol Are u pple seeing wah am seeing some1 is busy snaping in the midst of the happenings

ukbliss said...

LORD please deliver dem

Baby95 said...

this is so ridiculous..nonsense

Uche Emma said...

When shall we stop all these politics of bitterness?

Y is he still been referred to as Governor ?

Fayemi doesn't want to leave in peace, Fayemi's judges will have a rethink after this experience with Fasose.

Some political parties are only interested in themselves not the masses.Hence,politics of no surrender.

The blackk days are back in ekiti, for over 7 years, there has not been a single news of ekiti state in violence since fayose was sent out of office. Now he is back and ekiti is on all the front pages of all national dalies. we are the problems of ourselvs

Yorubas and their political killings, why? benotekcomputers@gmail.com

Ekiti people, you attracted what you deserve.
Wishing you all the very best.

What are they expecting when agbero was elected as gov.

Exactly,d thought has been on my mind too,I hope ure mum too is alive to enjoy d fruit of her labour

Fayose and political thugs,when is he ever gonna change all of this?I'm not surprised though,he used to be a bus driver way bk in his OND days..

I ve got the feelings that this can be Fayemi boys in action beause why will a governor ellect send hoolums to destroy d office of an outgoing governor?

It was difficult for Fayemi to accept defeet from the onset.

A big dump ass idiot

Fayose has come again with his thugs, I dont just know how Ekiti people, my beloved people allowed themselves to be used, by voting this man again.

Fayemi is such a bad loser!!!this is such an uneeded bloodshed!u were thoughroughly defeated,it overwhelmed u enough to accept openly and publicly and u go back challenging what is not and shedding innocent blood!God will judge!!!

Politics
What a dirty game

What's all these fayose u are a thug

Fayose is a tout, Ekiti enjoy

Fayose, you've started again abi. Ekiti people forgot that a leopard will never change it's spots

KD said...

What did they expect! They sold their rights, freedom and peace of mind to a known thug for rice now see the results. It didn't even take long for him to show them his true colors, first was to slap, harass and beat a judge now the whole state is in chaos... God help the people of Ekiti...bitter lesson.

it is not even election proper and the violence has started! 2015 will be HOT

comfort said...

Why is everybody shouting fayose? Why don't u talk about fayemi too they are both politicians and nobody can trust anyone of them. God lead see us through.

FAYEMI with his deceitful calm looks will be a victim of his own handiwork violence!we were all there yesterday when his key men slaughtered this poor man in cold blood and he is always the first to demonise Fayose!!you gave judges 76m to assault a guvnor in public and thwart the law!the law of karma will catch up with u!gentle hooligan!

Everybody is shouting Fayose is a tout/thug!!! una don forget say them kill one of him main guy wey help am win election??? the NURTW former Boss who had connect with the current ones?? see fayemi's statement he didnt even mention the dead dude!!! Look Fayemi sent hired killers to kill that dude period if not he would have sympathized with the family of the dead guy simple!!! Fayose sef start weytin him no fit handle, why him go beat Judge??? Big Punk Move!!

Uzoukwu Brown said...

too bad

#first timer#

APC and political killings when they do not have their way. why assassinate fayoses aid? and they want to give us change.

Pls read it over again, he did made mentioned of d man that died. Don't mislead others.

Fayose is a disgrace to the office of governor. Another 4 years of terror & horror.

But all fayose dis fayose that the problem with ekiti now is fayemi he too is a bad man ask any body that is in ekiti to tell u guuys wht happen so forget what u read in news paper they are all lies

APC should stop this nonsense!! Ayo won the election for heavens sake! Why is APC so evil? must they always win? Is it by force? why not let peace reign???!!!

The young elite said...

Nawa oooo!politics in nigeria,A game of bitterness.

FIRST TO COMMENT***(GURU) We have heard.Speechless.....

shut up you fool..where u there when he slapped the judge? or is the judge ur father who told u the story? clueless idiot

Becus. Sweaeing in of. A new gov takes place after. 4. Monthsof d. Election. So fayemi is. Still d gov. Until dey swear fayose in.olodo

4 clarity. Fayemi accepted defeat. Its. D party dat is contesting it. So u people. Destroying people(pdp) shud please leave us in peace.

Becus. Sweaeing in of. A new gov takes place after. 4. Monthsof d. Election. So fayemi is. Still d gov. Until dey swear fayose in.olodo

Ekiti is always occupied wit trouble durin election!! Sori for deir lives

fayose is suppose to be sworn in Oct 7!! Fayemi is not sayin the truth !! He is forcing himself on Ekiti elites!!! U must gooo!!!! Fayose has come to stay!!