After
discovering his lifeless body on the floor of their Edinburgh home in
Ferry Gait Crescent, she wrapped it in a duvet cover, put it in the
suitcase and drove to Kirkcaldy, Fife, to hide it in
woodland.
Adekoya
reported Mikaeel missing to police after stashing his body in remote
woodland, sparking a major two-day search operation involving hundreds
of local people and nation-wide coverage.
Now
a prisoner at Cornton Vale jail near Stirling, she was initially
charged with murder but last month pleaded guilty to the reduced charge
of culpable homicide.
She also admitted a charge of attempting to defeat the ends of justice by pretending to police her son had gone missing.
Passing
sentence, judge Lord Glennie said a custodial sentence was inevitable
in such a case and referred to the Crown acceptance that Adekoya had no
intention to kill Mikaeel.
But he went on: 'Nevertheless, what you did was cruel and inexcusable.
'Striking
a child even once is bad enough. Striking him heavily and repeatedly
with hand and fist when he was being sick again and again simply beggars
belief.
'Mikaeel
was by all accounts a healthy, happy little boy. By your actions,
however unintended, you have not only robbed Mikaeel of his young life
but left a gaping hole in the lives of all who loved him.'
The
judge, who heard a plea for a significant discount to the sentence from
Adekoya's defence QC, said it is not clear precisely what triggered the
events leading to Mikaeel's death.
Referring
to the beatings the youngster received at the hands of his mother, Lord
Glennie told Adekoya her son was in severe pain shortly before he died.
But he said she was 'not even aware that death was a possibility until it happened'.
The judge said he accepted that Adekoya's remorse is 'genuine and heartfelt'.
'You are clearly an intelligent and articulate young woman,' he told her.
'There
is no history of violence by you towards any of your children. That
makes it all the more difficult to understand your actions. I do not
suppose that you really understand why you did what you did.'
The boy's father pictured left
Reports
prepared for the case found that Adekoya suffered from depression for
some time, particularly in the last few months before Mikaeel's death,
as the single mother found herself 'overwhelmed' by her circumstances.
129 comments:
People...
Beautiful wicked witch
The wages of sin is death except you repent...beating one's child to death is terrible. John 10:10-11. BishopDammy#
I guess she is Mentally unstable. She should. Be Examine before any Judgment, my take on this.
I guess she is Mentally unstable. She should. Be Examine before any Judgment, my take on this. Kokoette.effi@yahoo .com
zines143@gmail.com
What a heartless mother. RIP young one. Pepperextedpepple@yahoo.com
zines143@gmail.com
She has to die as well
Breezy_p via MTN
Danabiaziem@gmail.com
I dnt understnd hw pple cn be so cruel,ystrdy twas a woman n her househelp.God help us daniewas@gmail.com
Eyah! May his soul RIP.
I guess she is Mentally unstable, how can she killed her Son she suffer to raise? She should. Be Examine before any Judgment, my take on this. Kokoette.effi@yahoo .com
OMG! How can a mother be this heartless. Such a cute little boy may his soul rest in peace. I think eleven yes jail term is too small for her
Shez so mean and wicked
Pls visit my shoe blog
www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com
Woaaah.. Rest in peace!
From the pix, the boy was actually a lively child.
Straight people are murders, when have you heard of a gay parent killing their child. #gay anonymous#
Woaaah.. Rest in peace!
From the pix, the boy was actually a lively child.
She is demonic and possesed...topzyus@yahoo.com
YORUBA,I'm not surprised all at, yoruba people are very wicked and violent
Sign of end time.. I even love the boy from the photo shoot alone
Sorry Excuse for a mother! Shame on U
I remember when I was a kid, my parents divorced and I stay with my mum, god!!! She beat hell out of me and my siblings cause we reminded her of my dad. Pls if u know u can't love a child unconditionally pls don't have children, get a dog instead.
What is this world turning into?
mssteeriouss@gmail.com
Yoruba again,this tribe is cursed.
God have mercy!!! Her own son!!! Na wa ooooo
Heartless
Mother killing her child. Terrible.
Awww boy is so cute this is quite sad
Wicked mother...she has gotten what she want...they serve her right
Oladiti.atm@gmail.com
Wife Expose her Cheating Husband “Live” on Camera
Here
How Some Wicked Married Men take Advantage of Innocent Poor Girls
Here
You Wont Believe what this Pastor Did when a Lady Came to his office to Confess her Sins
Here
Pastor caught with another man’s wife in Hotel room
Here
I thought mothers are suppose to love their children no matter what,,this is no love,but hate and wickedness and devilish. Chiderabrown@gmail.com
U gay person insulting straight people as murderers of thier children... How can gay people kill der children when De can't have kids and Tell me abiut adoption.
aunty linda... its unfair ooo... there is God ooo... fellow LIB check my blog out and motivate me please.. adestar9ja.blogspot.com
Seriously de woman needs deliverance,how dear her?and time time ppl should go for check up,for dia mental level.is vry necessary,not only for d mad ppl,23372B6B
My God... why? why? Why? Look at this lovely little boy... he had to die like this at the hands of his own mother? If she's harbouring any resentment for his father, why take it out on the boy? If she couldn't love him, doesn't she have relatives she could have simply sent him to till she sorted out her feelings? It breaks my heart that this innocent three year old had to experience such pain from someone he probably trusted with his life. Then end up being dumped in a suitcase like a mere object. How inhumane can some people be? worse of all, to her own child! Why should she treat him so brutally because he was falling sick? WHY? As if he made himself ill on purpose? This is not just fair. Not fair at all. I can't understand people who treat little kids with so much cruelty. He didn't ask to be born. I'm deeply sad. She deserves a death sentence for this. May his soul rest in peace. Amen.
What's a tragedy
sad event
BORN TO SHINE!!!!
What's a tragedy
sad event
BORN TO SHINE!!!!
Some are begging for a child bt u wasted one. veraonuel@gmail.com
You are a retarded goat!!! Am sure you are from Gwoza.
well,now that shes killed him i wonder how she feels,people like them sholud eot in prison..niima
Linda, you for no post her picture so that the tribalists can go to town.
Look at how pretty she looks, who'd ever bliv she was capable of doing such a thing. A beastly human being. Wicked witch
I'd say white people are sick but then she's Yoruba. This depression of a thing is very unpredictable. Hope she gets normal at the end of the 11years sentence. Cos she's got other kids to 'unlove'
This is so sad. See his happy face. I can't imagine the pain he felt b4 he gave up. Some women aren't meant to be mothers. A lot of pple are spending a fortune just to see a child like this run around in the house,even fall ill & take care of them,yet,this sick woman killed hers with her hands. This child will forever hunt her. I'm glad she wasn't given a death sentence.let her live in isolation & get tortured both physically & mentally. Rest in peace little one.No more pain for u...
She nids hlp. She'z sick. Beckynicks13@gmail.com
So sad and the boy looks like one who is so full of life,lively....he is too young to be treated in such manner...RIP
Of one those things you can never quite understand what was behind it. warmeveninginabuja.wordpress.com/
She's so wicked!!!11yrs is small jor!
A mother! Her own child!!!
That boy's spirit will forever haunt her. She will never sleep well!
~BADOO OF COVENTRY
What a tragedy,lovely cute boy. What kind of a mother is dis,what a lot of pple out there are praying for,u just kill ur own just like dat l bet d father will never forgive u.. ROCAS
Sorry, who dash monkey "adekoya"? Does bad omens have to be associated with nigerians? May Gos help us. Proudly Nigerian/ prettydove :)
Na waoh, this is heart breaking. #crying#.
too bad.
MTN Freebrowsing now available at www.9jahub.com
Na wa 4 pple ooO,ur own son...kk ooO..
For those insulting Yoruba on dis story u must be naive
Poor lil boy.
Am sure dat lady either has a drug habit or she has something wrong with her head....
Imagine when she gets out of jail and the people label her child killer..mistake o no mistake.
Handsome pikin.no worry u wud recarnate.
Een hiding the body....now she still had to confess so what was the essense?
Lets give je award....worse mother of the year
When have you seen a gay parent giving birth to a child?.......cursed fellow!!!
Hmmm oooo fine boi RIP pavour@gmail.com
If I were God no mor babis for her Eva!
And she calls herself a mother...hmm, God help us all.
Teezar.ha@gmail.com
she doesnt even look black or nigerian even. How the hell is her or her husband yorubas? This one is serious famzzzzzz. Abeg go and use your indian names ooooo. B4 person go think sey you be yoruba and add us to that list of mutallab and co.
11years is too short . She should be jailed for life
Some assholes need to shurrup here know.She is not yoruba she got married to a yoruba , And Seprated like years back.So you can get the fuck off, if you don't anything about the news here in Uk. I live in Scotland Edinburgh, And i know all shitt that happened. Linda please always got your news right! Some dick head need to shurrup!
Oloriburuku ni e......
When I read this story earlier on dailymail, I couldn't figure out why she had what seemed like a Nigerian name which was why I was curious to see if this story could offer an answer to that! I am disappointed; nothing!! Back to the story, it is unfortunate that some mothers act this way, no child deserves to be treated this way, whether they are yours or not! No person should treat another like that simple!
Hitting your child repeatedly is not the normal reaction to food poisoning. So, obviously, there was a disconnect between this lady and her child. I wish she had asked for help in good time. Unfortunately, its too late for the poor child.
People look at me funny when I say not everyone should marry or even have children. Some people already have disorders or neurosis that would make them unsuitable unless they receive help first.
Tragic.
- AE
Oloshi does she look Yoruba to u? Guess u got dat name frm her previous marriage E-tribal goat
Ola brampron say so
E-tribal moose,u be fool I swear down
Ola Brampton
Linda, some of these your readers are extremely daft.
I wonder how they managed to graduate secondary school, let alone Polytechnic (they definitely didn't attend Uni)
The news shows her name is Indian, you can see she has a child at least, which might mean she was married, next thing you conclude she's Yoruba because of her surname even when her picture shows she's not even black. Common sense isn't common.
FYI, the lady is FULL Indian, she had three kids for a Nigerian (Yoruba guy) whom she was married to which explains the Yoruba name. This boy that she killed is not half Yoruba, he is a twin she had for another guy, u can see his father's picture up there, at least Linda tagged it for you.
Try and use 0.5% of your brain, abeg
Dear linda thank you for working on your blog. As you can see you've got more comments on ur post than before.
Some momas shaaaa!!
11yrs too small try 111yrs
Thanks dear, I feel the punishment is too soft.
Ur generation is cursed!
Very wicked mother, she got wat she deserved
the world will not cease to amaze me, what a wicked art
She is Indian but was married to a Nigerian guy whom she divorced hence the Yoruba surname.
Bruno is thatyou???
Too bad
She is cruel and shold be punished accordingly without excuse.
Very good.
How can someone find it hard to luv dis cute boy, she is mentally unstable. Real4favour@yahoo.com
Things are happening oooo
How can someone find it hard to luv dis cute boy, she is mentally unstable. Real4favour@yahoo.com
Linda, Really Not Happy With What ƴǒǘ Did Today On Your "Monday Give Away" I Started Commenting As Early As 7am, So Really Sure About That, Only 4 МƐ To See Another Person Claiming †ђƐ Number 1 Post, Even With That, My Comment Never Showed Up In †ђƐ 1st Top 10 That Commented, Not Even Among Those That Commented @ 8am. I Really Feel Bad, Ok. So People Only Comment On Your Give Aways, On Other Days, They Are Nowhere To Be Found. Really Looked Forward To Your Give Away Cos I Needed To Support My Family Wiv The 25k, But Anyways, You Did Whats Best To You. Am Still A Loyal Fan, Λהϑ Always Will. (Liהda's Maה) ambrosefolarn@yahoo.com
Wicked Mother (Liהda's Maה)
No she's not Yoruba. She was married to a Yoruba man. Don't see the relevance but if you need to know, she's of Asian descent but was born and grew up in Scotland.
She find it diffcult 2 luv her own fresh n body? Hmmm n nawow o. Wat a wicked mother.
We'll always have an excuse for every crime. What happens to controlling our temper? She's lucky with the judge sentence.
Am a single mom, no matter wat my children does. I love dem.
U don't jail d devil, u kill off. Am scared of women these days bt I knw there are good ones.
Wicked woman
Joychinwe00@gmail.com
May his soul R.I.P... Eddreamzdreamer@gmail.com
Stf! Where do u c yoruba? Does she look yoruba even d boys dad.. if u don't know what to say y don't u just close ur stinking mouth.
Some news just leave you dumbfounded you'll be like WTF!!! May the gentle soul rest in peace..well, God knows what to do with the sick mother..idiat!!! #BiafranSoldier
11yr sentence isn't enof for her crime , I was in d UK when it happened in January. D entire uk was almost shut down in search of d boy. Community, even children volunteered and joined police in d search.
Flyers , Bill boards , it was all over tv stations every seconds . News abt his missing went viral all over because she lied dat they all slept and she cudnt find him in d morning.. so she eventually killed him? Heartless woman... dats y she never had any may stayed wt her except for d drug addicts! God purnish u rosedeep for sniffing life outta dis boy!!!
Thats wicked ness at its peak
My God! What kind of mother kills a child cos hez vomiting? Oyibo judges are sooo useless, how can she get only 11yrs(5.1/2yrs really) for such a crime??? My God! This is tooo sad. Kai im in pains cos of this story. Poor little angel. Rip
I undastand the way she felt but she went too far, single parenting is frustrating especially whendnt have a good job.. she was depressed, depressions causes a lot of things, she might even be mentally unstable becos of depression.
She can't be in her right senses to do that n 13yrs is just too small in jail. She should be there for life... RIP little one.
She is not Yoruba. She is Asian(Indian parentage). She was married to a Yoruba man but they are divorced. Please stop making vile comments and learn to do your research before making statements. But I seriously doubt that you know the meaning of vile or research.
Evil woman....
how is she names ADEKOYA? Story doesn't add up
Afta the 11years, as,she is coming out of the prison thunder will strike her
Why r u hiding in the shadows? If ur not ashamed to b gay,come out with ur name, retard!!!
She is not fir to be called a mother,This is an act of wickedness.RIP little one
how can she kill her own son she is a wicked mother and she should pay for her wickedness
And who impregnates or carries the pregnancy for gay couples ? Oloshi ni'e
A tragedy is a tragedy .... Professor Shine .
The world is really coming to an end. carnayour06@yahoo.com
if you no like yourson...give am up fr adoption na..people sef Chemicalx52003@yahoo.com
I think the judge talks way too much...
#Fizz
Her own child? she deserves life sentence
She is a bloody Indian ! Yoruba ko, Koruba ni ! Bloody Indian claiming Nigerian and Yoruba ! Free Yorubas ! Murderer oshi ! ROT AND DIE IN PAIN, AND IN JAIL !
11yrs is too small 4 ds witch
So painful dat d one who brought u into dis world took life out of u! Jail or no Jail,there's no peace for d wicked.D conscience judges more than human judge. EZINWA
I dont understand this! I have never hit my children so i will never understand this.
Sarah Sanni....you are so daft. You need to go borrow some brain cells.
Like she was never once a child
Walahi talahi I believe the judge compromised because of the reasons he gave for giving her 11 years sentence. She killed her son, put him in a box she kept to pack him and neatly threw her away. It was well planned and executed or how do you want to explain the FORTY injuries cited on the boy's body, sincerely it was very wicked of her.
She needs to be taken to the asylum for proper check and certification as the other children are not safe in her hand.
The boy's father should have known this and shouldn't have left the child in her care.
May God help our children. Toks
(Liהda's Maה) ambrosefolarn@yahoo.com - where did you learn to type like this? It's disgusting.
Culpable homicide! It's always an emotive topic.
Poor wee man.
Some comments here are so stupid. You see someone who obviously looks Indian and whose first name is Rosdeep and you call her Yoruba just because her lastname is Adekoya. Your mama name has Oluwarosdeep? I was confused initially too, thinking her dad is Nigerian but she doesnt look mixed at all. Well google shows she's married to a Nigerian, hence the lastname Adekoya. Google is your friend, my dear people
It is unfortunate that the life of this boy was wasted by this wicked heart of a woman. However, 11 years term is too small, she ought to have been jailed for life.