Nigeria successfully contains Ebola, has only one case left - Health Minister | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 26 August 2014

Nigeria successfully contains Ebola, has only one case left - Health Minister

Minister of Health Prof. Onyebuchi Chukwu said today that Nigeria has been able to reduce the number of Ebola cases to just one.

At a press briefing held today August 26th in Abuja, Prof. Onyebuchi said only one patient out of the 13 confirmed cases in Nigeria is still at the Isolation center. He said five of those infected died while seven have successfully recovered and have been discharged. He also said two of the nurses who attended to Patrick Sawyer at the First Consultant hospital were discharged yesterday.

Find the minister's statement after the cut...

"Of these thirteen, five, including the index case unfortunately did not survive the disease and are now late. However, seven of the infected persons were successfully managed at the Isolation ward in Lagos and have been discharged home.
"Two of treated patients, a male doctor and a female nurse were discharged yesterday evening, 25th August, 2014 having satisfied the criteria for discharge.
"I wish to reassure Nigerians and indeed the global community that the Government shall remain vigilant and will not relent as Government continues to work with her partners to ensure that the disease is kept out of the country. Thank you.”
More than 1200 persons have died from Ebola since the current outbreak in West Africa with Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone accounting for over 90 percent of the victims.

167 comments:

Bloody liar

Praise the Lord!!!!!! Thank u Jesus!

Thank you jesus

Is that so? I pray it's true, because this country, anything for politics.

Thank God

Gooooooooood news......

Let's all hope dey were discharged and they didn't expect.

NaNcY DreW said...

Oh my! Dis is gud news Thank God

confessor said...

Dis is good news oooo...well I can't still shake hands

Truth be told...our govt have been doing a great job about this ebola tin n they need an applaud for once!!! God bless nija

Thank God o! GAY ALERT: Photos of a Man Admiring Uti's Butts At An Event

Nwafor Chizzy said...

Dats gud news,tank God

Praise the living JESUS.

LS what did they used on the people that revovered

Amen oo gideonogidi14324@gmail.com

Thank U LORD

Bless God for d improvement, I love my country, i'm more dan happy about dis. ~AUCHI GIRL~

Praise the living JESUS.halllllleeeeelllluuuuuyyyyaaaahhhh!
Weldone Nigerians.Weldon governor babatunde raji fashola,Weldone Prof onyebuchi.

haters-slayer said...

thank God for this great development,i pray another patrick sawyer dosnt sneek in2 our country again.

halleluyah! glory b 2 God.nobody will catch ebola again ooo

phunshaw said...

Glory be to God in the highest. That is good news

phunshaw said...

God is great

Hope they r telling us the truth

blessing said...

Tank God oo! Dis is gud news.

What a mighty God will serve!

may said...

Wow, thank you Jesus.

Glory b 2 God. Finally we wont hear of a new case of d outbreak. I pray dat dis never crop up agn. Amen

May this report be permanent in Jesus Name. Amen

Esty kudos said...

Gud news.

Ah, I thank God o. To God be the glory.

Seriously? Cos we will hear another story later. If true, we thank God Almighty

good news... now i can travel... linda this is news...not all this ur bathroom and bikini pics chemicalx52003@yahoo.com

Okay!! Linda oya help us pass msg giv nysc DG mk he bring bak our #3wkscamp for stream 2

First to comment...dancing skelewu in jupiter

i pray and hope this report is true!!!

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Hope its tru

Pls visit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

Another good news

It looks like they r now lying!

I really thank God for this positive development and may there never be such again in JESUS' name.Amen

GREAT NEWS...
THANK GOD
.ZB

Good to know.

A bit relife,bt our country stil nidz prayerz.

good job

Justyswt said...

I pray so o. And they shld pls close the borders to those countries affected with Ebola. And be very vigilllant at the airport.

frank millz said...

I must say that i'm indeed impressed with the response of the FG's public help mechanism aand the the Lagos state government.1 case left is reassuring but sadly we lost four Nigerian's including the heroine Dr Adedavoh.May God keep protecting his people.

Thank you JESUS. All is well Amen. Rozay talking

ayaba said...

Praiseeeeeeee the lorddddddddd!

That is good news

Wonderful news for the evening! God bless our country. It is well... We're getting there. Psalm 91:1-3. BishopDammy#

Debora chidume said...

Praise God

Proud of Nigeria... pretty solid country...Great News!

pretty said...

This is good news!!thank u jesus for u have done it again.I pray boko boys dnt start with their wahala again cos for long now they have been resting cos of ebola.

snowhyt said...

Wow......
Thank Goodness! So we don't have to become guinea pigs for this oyinbos

Indeed he's a 1dafu God. Our prayers re been answered

Anyikwa chinonso said...

Hmm... This ebola ish self.. Na God go save person oo..

Also check out the Latest FreeBrowsing Tips for all Nigeria Networks

CINDY said...

Way forward!!! Bravo Nigeria

Sisi Vales said...

Are you guys really telling us the truth, lets hope.

Thank God oh...I wish him/her quick recovery too.

Wow! That's some good news.
Frankly speaking our government has exhibited a commendable level of pragmatism in tackling this issue. I wish to thank the minister and his team.

Tank u Jesus!

Mab said...

oh thank God

Tank u Jesus!

Wow.........this is an awesome news. Thank you jesus

joy Egbunu said...

A welcome development, relieved much!

Please where and how are they containing the virus.

Someone should please clarify.

Oby said...

What a proud moment for us Nigerians! God go punish the senders of Ebola. Make US go use their Zmapp cook soup o! God we thank you!

saraphina said...

God is the greatest.

Thank God,Goodluck's administration is working.

Thank God. Am very happy they are able to contain this disease

Thank u Lord Jesus!

This Health Minister needs to be rewarded... God bless nigeria and the lagos state goverment for a job weldone....

But are they sure? There seemed to be a whole load of primary and secondary possible cases stemming from Patrick Sawyer and I wonder if they've all been investigated?

Kimmy*****

Thank God o! *anya_o2003@yahoo.com*

LET W.H.O. also corroborate this statement for people to believe it..because there has been to many inconsistent statements..

eka said...

Almighty God, thank u 4 hearing our prayers........This my country Nigeria has a way of overcoming all challenges even d worst of them all.

MO said...

sorry Nigeria or Lagos? hiss, have they disbursed the money to lagos? No... rubbish country. at the end of the day they wont disburse it

Good news.

Mickycoal said...

wow Tank God 4dat nd r.i.p 2 those victims, i pray Nigeria wil help 2 stp ebola in those efected poor countries

Good news.

Tank God Oº°˚˚°Âºo.

hmmmm,if i hear

Gud one, tanx to fg n ministry of health in colabo wit Lagos state gvrmnt for the hands on approach to contain d disease.... Way to go

God bless u pple.

Mario said...

Wa oh .....sounds great

never bliv anything dis pple say... mtchwwww

chinani said...

I hope this is for real.

This news is incomplete jor! Does this mean dy r cured n dere is a cure nw for ebola? Don't understand this o. All d same am glad they r fine now.

Praise God!!!!

These people are trying to make way for next year elections plus other economic benefits in the international eyes. This is a big lie! If first consultant hospital didn't announce the ebola case in the first place,the government would have shut down any ebola claims! Only God will help us in this country. How did they get well? Which drug did they use to treat them?

hallelujah

beluGod said...

Glory to God.....

beluGod said...

Glory be to God.....

I can bet my life on it, they are giving those pple nano silver.

Rukky said...

God bless governor Fashola nd the federal government for the manner in which this problem was handled.And may the souls of those we lost R.I.P.

This is Good news, Thank u Lord.

This like d best news ever, God is so wonderful nd condolence to d family of d disease, i pray nothing bad wd happen again,

PLEASE NOTE THAT THOUGH THE INFECTED PERSONS HAVE NOW BEEN GIVEN A CLEAN BILL OF HEALTH,THE VIRUS IS STILL TRANSFERRABLE VIA SPERM CELLS FOR UP TO SIXTY DAYS PLUS AFTER DISCHARGE.

Olajumoke said...

I hope this is true.....cos this is a great news

GOD i THANK YOU FATHER.

Ekele na nsopuru ga adiri Chukwu ruo mgbe ebighi ebi. May God almighty reward the medical staffs, govt. Officials, and the people of Nigeria who worked hard for this positive result. May the souls of the departed rest in perfect peace amen.

Praise be to the mighty yaweh

Mr Minister you must be mad, what did you do about it? Why do you want to take another man's glory?? Shameless man, I give it to Idris Commissioner for health, he's the best, did you work hand in hand with him??

Thank God...

MICKY: weldone! I so hope these news is what it's really is

Now u guys are working, if is true ooooooooooo......

Kaaai, nooo, I give it to d Nigerian Govt.. dey tried in containin dis virus.... criosly... Any1 who saw hw dey rushed to Enugu to get dat Nurse, wuld knw wat am talkin about

yaxx said...

wowwww!!! dats gud, now i can shake anybody i see

Your No. 1 DATA Vendor Call/WhatsApp 09028450336 (Get Your Cheap & Affordable DATA on All Networks) said...

I hope this is true,if it is then glory be to God

Thank God, that's relieving to know. May we say 'bye bye' to ebola.

preciouscore.blogspot.com

Cynthia Iyede said...

Its painful that it had to take some lives away. Its well

This is good news to hear it keeps the soul alive

Five people already lose dia lives, hmmm, may they continue 2 rest and I pray 4 d survival of d remaining person and 4 Nigeria as a whole.

Wow this is good news! Now I can return to Lagos frm my vacation with peace of mind. I personally think this disease was easier to handle because of how Lagos state handled it, imagine if this break out was in the north or somewhere remote . Fashola well done! Eko ni baje oo

winniekoko said...

Thank GOD

Wow dahs nice pls they should close border na ooo stop flight from affected country..........

Good #bright bravo#

Olorun Loba $$ ... said...

Check my name...

This is the first time I got impressed by our leaders.

Chai my home Nigeria. It is well

Dis is d best news to me so far 2day...Naija don try..Kudos.

Hoping he is telling nigeria the truth. Thank God for his mercies.
Nankagirl

thank God o.pls Lord let be so o

sweetie said...

Glory b to GOD,

HonsylGlobal.Com : UK ONLINE GLOBAL FINANCIAL ADVISERS said...

Linda wrong,Lagos State Government under FASHOLA contains Ebola. Imagine for instance IF THE EBOLA ISSUE HAD OCCURRED IN ABUJA, IT WOULD HAVE BEEN TREATED LIKE THE CHIBOK GIRLS ISSUE.

Halleluyah!

Dee Brown said...

God be praised

wow am so happy. elizabetho179@yahoo.com

Der is an ebola case in enugu ooo, d patient was brought 2 UNTH yesterday buh was sent away. Enugu is @ risk pls onyebuchi shud snd his team

Thank God for the good news. Ebola has failed in Nigeria.@jaybee

ujahmycine said...

We can't be so Sure until 21 days after the only case is treated... What happened to the saying "count not your eggs until they are hatched? " Nigerians deserve to be informed but not to impress,rather to reassure the people. Maku impressed us saying that we had vaccines ready to combat Ebola... as devil would have it,our medical doctors went on strike during the period to show ho "prepared ".our health system is..... Ujahmycine speaks

What a wonderful God we have!
Ugochi4luv25@yahoo.com

Praise God. I pray the remaining one person recovers and that none of the health workers will be infected

Nigerian Forum said...

Are you sure of this? Its better to err on the path of caution. Dont let Nigeria sit on a bowl of gun powder. Behavioral modification must continue till Africa as a whole is given a clean bill of health.

Mind you, we knew only Sawyer. What of other possible entries? Then, FYI, Congo have detected Ebola too.

Like I said, behavioral modification and hygiene MUST CONTINUE!!!

Catch me on BESTNAIJA.COM http://www.bestnaija.com/

Julie Best said...

All glory belongs to God

Hope its true o, thank God then, God is good to us....#Nifemi#

Thank God the government are getting it right this time around. But wait oh Wat is isha sesay doing in US is she not suppose to be in Sierra Leone berating her country leadership for allowing Ebola threatening the whole of West Africa the way he was embarrassing our leadership during the chibok girls issue. So she cannot run her mouth again now cos her country is involved or even say Nigerian leadership has tried on this now. Please she should never enter nijja again if we don't see her reporting from her country now

We thank God and our govt 4 their concerted effort.#Pa Samo#

Am shocked! Did Bonario just praise d federal govt? Thank God d scales hv fallen from his eyez o! Der iz God! This just d beginning. Many more GEJ praises will follow

We should just be thankful to God and leave all side talks, when you think of what is happening in Liberia,Guinea,Sierra leone and now DR Congo, you will see there is a God in Nigeria....

Dem see zmapp give that Briton when contract the virus.

Like ur father!!!

If it is true thank God. But i don't believe them.

Good

Check this...
.... Woman Kills Leopard with a Spade after Hour-long Fight (Photo ...Click www.jaybeenet.blogspot.com to Read

I hope WHO, or is it CDC,agree to this statement. If so,big relief.

Please note that not everyone does from Ebola if treated early it all depends on the immunity of the person. What they do is treat the symptoms with the hope that they recover . Some do recover without the use of zmapp.

@nweke elijah. said...

All thanks to God almight who has done it...idike, ndewo,demee,aye,ose.

Well, I don't intend to be pessimistic about this issue, but I really hope it's the truth because lately we've been hearing contradicting stories. Be that as it may the government put in very commendable effort in containing this disease. Somehow I'm happy it was just in Lagos, if it happened to be in a northern state, #DontWantToThinkAboutIt.

U re a fool

God is great,may his name be praise

Eko o ni baje said...

Prof Chukwu pls stop telling us lies. Announcement minister. Thanks to God and Lagos state government. I know you are trying so hard to keep your job, but pls keep quiet sir.

Samsung s5 for sale brand new.
Price:90k
Negotiable

Same tin I was going to ask...jingleberry*

U wish

Great news..
We need not to fear any longer!

What happens after they are discharged? are they being monitored? It can still be spread sexually for up to 6 weeks after the person has recovered

If your immune system is very strong,you can survive Ebola virus

Commedations, Commendations, Commendations all around. We appreciate the good work the Health Minister, the Lagos State Gov, WHO, Med sans Frontières and their respective teams have done and continue to do.
We ask for divine protection, wisdom and more grace.
Amen.
Thank you Lord.
- AE

Thank God.maduekechinenye@yahoo.co.uk

Eagle Eyes Media said...

This is what we can achieve when we are united! Let's continue to unite both in prayers and in actions.

Onyebuchi Chukwu! Der iz God oo. All these lies u r sharing! Nigerians, pls still be careful. Ebola is still out there. We all know the govt can Never be trusted, they would do anything for election propaganda. God help us all

Thank I jesus.
Gracenot2001@yahoo.com

Adaeze Writes said...

Fantastic News! SO SO Happy!

I'm so glad. Thank God.
Proper check should be put in place at our borders to avoid possible spread of the virus.

Why then postpone schools' resumption?

Let's all hope dey were discharged and they didn't ESCAPE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.

God will perfect it all for us, the case will soon cease. by dobis112@gmail.com