Congo confirms its first cases of Ebola, as British patient is flown to the UK | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 24 August 2014

Congo confirms its first cases of Ebola, as British patient is flown to the UK

Authorities in the Democratic Republic of Congo have confirmed the first cases of Ebola virus in the north-western region of the country. Confirming the cases, the country's health Minister, Felix Kabange Numbi, said 8 people have tested positive to the deadly virus.
"The results are positive. The Ebola virus is confirmed in DRC," Mr Numbi told AFP
DR Congo is the first country outside the West African region to confirm positive cases of the Ebola virus since the recent outbreak. So far 1,427 people have died from the virus. Continue...

Meanwhile the British health worker who tested positive to the deadly virus in Sierra Leone has arrived back in the UK on board an RAF jet. (pictured above). 29 year old Nurse William Pooley landed at London's RAF Northolt in a specially-equipped C-17 aircraft today and was transported to an isolation unit at the Royal Free Hospital in north London.

The man is 'not currently seriously unwell', a Department of Health spokesman said.

69 comments:

9jahub Blog said...

e don happen

9jahub Blog said...

Ebola here and there..zmap wil cure him since he has been flown away

All is well

God will heal him.....Amen

Dis is really getting scary, wen will a drug finally get endorsed n properly distributed? Wouldn't want Africa 2 b wiped out

Ehya... They dont av any idea wat has come into thr country. Its a pity. Dey shuldnt worry much, the drug is confirmd now

lady thalia said...

First to comment. May God help us oo

Ebola is going back to a country where it was first discovered. Why British health worker not wearing protective clothes in this picture.

Is going Wilder now

Esty kudos said...

Na wa o ... God we're in ur hands

This ebola thing is like dropping oil on a piece of white cloth and watching it spread! Other countries have to be doubly cautious now. Look at the people transporting the doctor, they are not even wearing a bio hazard suit.

Nawaoo...ifejikahenry@yahoo.com

Damn serious. Fitness Blog, Weight Loss Tips And Beauty

Qwerty said...

God help us all
Seems it's true afterall
D end is near

This virus is really spreading far and wide...

Akp21

May God help us all

Qwerty said...

GOD HELP US
D end is near

lord klaus said...

God pls help ur children

ejoec said...

The USA will send Zmapp sharp sharp. In short the drug go don dey wait for am.

What can I say... Ebola is really growing wings, I pray he gets well...

queenreigneth@gmail.com

EVA said...

I thought ebola was first discovered in Congo in 1976

And Nigeria has not made an official announcement about closing it's borders!?? I guess it's not till it gets to Abuja that they will start the usual reactive response. Never ever proactive. And these 'westerners', sit yo' asses down in one place!

I pray Congo doesn't go through what others did. " if u ll listen & obey d voice of d Lord ur God , I shall not let d diseases of d egyptians befall u " Daddy pls we need you.

God will help us with this Ebola

BORN TO SHINE!!!!!

God, heal our land.

Ebola nobi here i swear....

Ebola has come to stay and there's no country that will be free from its visit. Its just a matter of time. The World should take pre cautions cause just like HIV it's gradually spreading .......pretty T

Ebola again? God pls help us o.

Nawa oh...dis ebola is getting serious by d day. veno.brightheart@ymail.com

ha, abeg, North London ke, y North London o, make d tin no go hamper my Darling Arsenal f.c Preparation 4 Ucl qualifiers o. may God xave d man sha

It is well

Dahs One thing I like about white they hardly play with the lives of their citizens..unlike our dear country if someone doesn't die,there's no much concern,,pple die to get job,pple die to elect new leaders,pple even die to shake their hands after dah.

gradually d virus spread ... God help us...
.. legendel Azuu! ..

Its spreading

dessymal said...

This epidemic is gaining grounds ooo
#sanitizing

Thnks 4 d information may God save us frm dis ebola
ayomideomotuyi@gmail.com

NaNcY DreW said...

God help us

www.glowyshoes.com said...

God...

Pls visit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

African leaders take note...

Too bad

Anon 11:00, ode ni e o. Do you wear protective gear in your house or when you are walking around? That is just a personal picture up there na, haba!

They ar capable

Not our portion though...uchestanley04@ovi.com

Jah help us

Hungry man, u wear suit abi na coat? But still begging by dropping your email. C

Tunie. said...

God help us.

Mena Peters Triflections said...

Can't you see the isolation equipment the guy is placed in . You want to teach the UK! Hahahaha! I laugh. Please watch the news or check online to just catch a glimpse of the isolation unit he is going into. Africa is joking.

Watch the news or do a bit of research before commenting. It was confirmed last night that Zmapp is finished. It will take months to produce new batches. I just wish our people will do some research before dropping comments here and there.

They come down to help your sorry asses and you ask them to sit their asses in one place. There are only 40 doctors in Liberia treating all the Ebola patients. Do we need help or not?

For where? Greedy bastards. They will rather loot. Forgetting that when they catch Ebola, their billions can't help. The UK guy was flown in like a President.

I think the world is coming to an end. The mercyful God is giving us the opportunity to reprent from our sins. Please make good use of it.

Wish them speedy recovery. Ebola scaare, may God continue to help and protect us. Nna_ottih@yahoo.com

The Sexiest Mother Of This Blog said...

Ochimooo ive nkea ivekwe

God help us.foabams209@yahoo.com

Ebola started from Congo and I think it will also end in Congo

May God heal all those infected by this virus I pray a permanent vaccine will be made available to all countries

May God help us...calexj5@gmail.com

Prince U.J said...

I tire for dis ebola issue

Tis only God's intervention that can wipe Ebola off d face of the earth!

Olodo, Linda is talking about the recent outbreak.

The great healer please heal Africa .
Olleycynthia@yahoo.com

Hmmmm! U make a point.

Ebola is that u?

Cianci said...

This Ebola thing is beginning to send shivers down my spine.

God save us...o! Nzubennabuihe@gmail.com

stan said...

Dis is getting so serious as the days goes by.....too sad. We pray God comes to our aid.

Ebola has been known in Congo since 1976...not much of a news there

Lifematters-Mattersoflife(PEOPLE AND SOCIETY) said...

Before nko,is Congo not the pioneer country for ebola in the history of the world as dated back to 1976,terrible country with terrible conflicts and instabilities