We are not ashamed to be called the church of the rich – Oyedepo | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 24 May 2014

We are not ashamed to be called the church of the rich – Oyedepo

The Founder of Living Faith Church aka Winners Chapel, Bishop David Oyedepo, in an interview with Saturday Punch said the reason there are so many rich people in 33 year old church is because they know better than others and understand the importance of tithe (Let's not start with this tithe talk abeg, if I start now, we will start fighting here...lol). Anyway below is excerpts from the interview...
Why are there so many rich people in Winners?
Because they know better than their contemporaries. If you don’t know what you have, you won’t know if you are deprived of it. The Bible is an open chequebook, it is by revelation we access what belongs to us; by faith we take delivery of it. Someone had access to our empowerment programme and she is a pepper seller, while others sell one basket a day, she sells six, seven. I learnt she had become the envy of all the pepper sellers in her area. Such person has an understanding that whatever she does, she prospers and she knows that when she pays her tithe, she experiences open heavens. But in case people don’t know, they perish for lack of knowledge, and in case they think when you are rich you miss heaven, then they perish for lack of knowledge.
So, it’s right when people claim that this church is only for the rich?
It’s for all the people who believe that Jesus already paid for them to be rich. And those who don’t believe, when they come they start believing when they see it happen in a lot of people’s lives. And we are not ashamed to be called the church of the rich. If they call your family poor, will you be excited? Nobody would be excited. Even when a family is poor, they hate to be called poor. No man in his right mind enjoys being called poor, and nobody truly wants to be poor, people may pretend. Which is more honourable between being a giver and a beggar? Most of us came in very poor, but the light of God’s word came on us and we walked out of poverty in grand style into wealth and riches. 

How come there is such wealth in the church despite the poverty in the nation?
The kingdom of God is funded by God’s resources. We are not funded by the economy of the world, but by the economy of the kingdom, which has a budget for all of its agenda on earth. We’ve been here since 1999 and we have never had power outage or water shortage. The main players are Nigerians, the builders are Nigerians. There is no building here that any foreign expert took part in. There is no foreign company’s presence here, including the tabernacle. Some of the revered foreign companies here in Nigeria are technicians in Germany, and they are all political contractors, not that they have something special to offer.

Read the rest of the interview on Punch

286 comments:

1 – 200 of 286   Newer›   Newest»

What else would you expect him to say?

Abi oo pastor!!! Who won go church wen person dey suffer?? Na church of poor pple wan hear? Money 1st biko!! And for d tithe,are u for it or against it linda? Cos I'm really neutral on dis ever arguable tithe issue!!

Editor said...

Yes, I'm proud to be a christian.

GO AHEAD PAPA!!! am a witness of GOD'S grace.

via official intercom

Y will dey b ashamed????

#Pesty

Andra said...

Yes!!! Identify wif wat u actually want to be called by, will u rather be called 'poor' or 'rich'.

DOBY DOBY said...

He talked well nah.. who wil lyk to b identified as poor.. sm of his members ar jus ok oo. Nt rich nt poor. . He talkd wiv boldness.. I like his example wiv pepper seller.. bein rich doesn't mean havin excess houses nd big cars bt to prosper in wat ur doin nd b contended..

Truthfulness pays said...

Pay ur Tithe regularly, and ur heavens will open...

Truthfulness pays!

Gentletee said...

I will pass

It may seem like the church is fattening off its congregation. I have nothing against the man I just wish it caters for the needy instead of flaunting money buying jets upon jets and opening more universities. Obviously there is a loss of priority here. Instead of more universities why not create jobs or something genuinely structured to cater for the people and not keep taking from the haves and have-nots. Even in the bible the apostles established a church where the rich brought their excesses to the church so that everyone was catered for in love and oneness.

Perfect words from God's servant! I still can't explain the mystery of tithing. Whenever I tithe, I miraculously have abundance but when I don't, I lack. This is still a mystery I am yet to understand. It is for the spiritual and not natural man.

This man is very intelligent no doubt...

dhobiz said...

Nmtchew promo I'm not attending,church for all the student in my school who don't have decent clothes to wear,you can wear strapless sweetheart neck to the church and they tell its fine

elo tasha said...

That's my PAPA talking!!!

BABYCAKEEEEESSSS said...

Hallelujah!! I concur...God is awesome,if anyone wants to b ignorant thennnn its up to u.

So are u saying we should go and buy Saturday punch Linda

Thievies are never ashame of their trade!

true talk my papa...love or loathe him,he breakin new grounds evryday.
If e pain u well well.....go leak stew

I hate being direpectful to the rich cos I want to b lik them

U can Imagine, using the Bible to indirectly tell people that they have to do anything possible to earn money and wealth is everything. God dey.

Yes sir , to me this church is a template for nigeria states and govt to emulate the way thy affect pples life. If a church can build or building 15k housing just by strategic planning in 5yr and govt of d day at state and federal level is struggling for 2k in 4yrs then something is wrong. What they are saying is let govt emulate their impact rate and in 10yrs pple wil rush to naija for greener pastures. U may criticize them or him but somehow hes right and u can't denial his footprints in education sector. It was wen covenant start that many uni want to be recognize internationally too. Or how many sch had tjeir own source of income generation if nt dat they are liability to govt. But afta dem we've had more private university. And many more. Accountability is also their watch word. How many naija politician can do dat. Whether he buy jet or nt if there no need for it he wont. Every private jet owner suppose to have hanger but how mnay have ? Not even presidential fleet. Yes u may hate dem totally or some of their doing but can u denials his proof of impact. Ogun nd lagos had to do something bcos dey see it happening in that church.# I'm a follower.

@chux.com....that's ma father.

Bianca Bruno said...

Awwww
Linda you don't believe in tithes?
Please study Malachi 3: 8- 12.
Whether catholic bible or not. It reads d same thing in all bibles.
I pay my tithe not because my pastor says so but because my bible says so.
And the bible says we shd bring the tithe to His house and where is GOD's house?
The church.
What happens after I drop my tithe in the church is of no concern to me.
If the pastor uses it to buy 4 PJ's (am a Winners member btw) is between him and God.
Biko Linda start Tithing. Don't Rob him please.
Tithing is more important than giving alms.

Yes o my guy, he has said it all.... The truth, the simple truth and the whole truth it is up to you to copy what works and make it work for you. Shekina

On the last day,only through believers will be raptured

######################GOD#######################################################punish###################################################devil##################

I calm my own riches

this is a wise man talking,i used to criticise this man of GOD until i went to his church and heard him preach the word live, then i realised that he is not just a man, he indeed is a true man of GOD, for the records that is not my church, but on that sunday i began to reconsider, before you judge this man listen to his words, he is truely an annointed man of GOD, there's no way you'll have such vast knowledge as this man of GOD and you will remain poor,it's an abormination,you may never understand until you hear his words, tomorrow is sunday. i urge you to attend service tomorrow at canaanland otta before you judge him.

church of the rich?? na only you wey get all the money oh Sir.

Ride Papa..May God continue to bless you Sir.

I am glad and thankful to God for making me a part of this great church.

I wunt say anytin

fej said...

Ride on papa,God is taking us places

Nice one gven is the best way τ̅☺ succeed in life if yu dnt gv τ̅☺ god hw do expect τ̅☺ reacive

SAYWHAT said...

Adeboye r u for reals?

Hilary obiorah don't let me call u a fool,idiot o,so what he has said is not d right tin abi?don't pay ur tithe na nd swim in poverty,nonsence,a man of God is givin u d secret of wealth u dere spillin rubbish,...dilim

Dat is my Father,true talk sir

And I red in τ̲̅ђe bible where a rich man said to Christ I ve obeyed all ur commands, what else can I do to attain τ̲̅ђe kingdom of God? And Christ said to him SELL ALL UR RICHES and follow Me. Can Oyedepo sell covenant University, his air lines and follow christ??

caleb's said...

Skelo, your speed to reply LIBlog is absolutly amazing...

This really irks me. Your relationship with God has nothing to do with your finances, your faith isn't seen by the lenses of your bank account.

Fed up with this shit for real.

Papa oyedepo.....hmmmmmmmm

I love this."the kingdom of God is funded by God's resources" so if you are doing kingdom work your resources is inexhaustible. Bless you Sir.

Mtcheww... The least I Wana hear right now... #bringbackourgirls# bikonu

Jimmy said...

he is correct dear, there will always be d poor in d land. Is only people dat accept dat Jesus came to take away der poverty and stick to it recieves freedom from it. I love his speech.

Living Faith Church should Be A Place Of Worship And Not A Place Where The Riches Will Come To Showcase Their New Car And Cloth,Pastor David Should Know Better!!!Love You Linda

Gbam, ride on pastor.

Thank you for heeding the call of God, sir. I testify to the validity of the liberation mandate given to you by God. God broke the hold and I became the first graduate in my family where no one had any expectations. Miraculously had a choice job less than a month after service, went abroad did my masters, got back and got another awesome job within 2 weeks of my return. I am now a proud landlord, proud father of 2 with a beautiful wife and so much more. Now got a second masters from a Nigerian university and considering a PhD in Canada. Above all, growing ever stronger in my walk with God and living in all round victory in Christ through the light of God's word you share with us, fully aware of my place in redemption. God bless you.

#BringBackOurGirls#

winniekoko said...

That is my papa talking....when u are poor come, within a shorty period of time u will be rich. GOD bless u sir!

I totally agree with you sir. I believe in tithing and it works for me. Infact, alot of blessing is tied to giving for the work of God. Alot of people don't know that major breakthroughs are tied to tithing and giving in general.

Proudly Winner anytime anyday,am glad 2 b a member of d church of d rich cos wealth is contagious and indid am a carrier.Zinny Agu

My papa thanks a lot 4 ur advice

Church is fat and member are thin...lier tell ous wot u did cos Jesus naver do wot u pastor are doin.You collect money from needy in the name of tithe.God see you.

Thats my papa. Fire on sir. Love you much. Thats the solid truth. I belong to the Winners Family. Throughout 27years of my life I have never experienced any finanicial downtime. I have never borrowed , I have never begged. Tithing works.

I can see that you didnt read thru his interview bcos u re mentally lazy , hw many of his massage have listen to? Check yiuself u hav never being beta dan the critics dat talk yet remain d same. Nt until u hav ur own cgurch or even endeavour and it lastedfor 31yrs mminimal b4 u can respond to this man. ok ??

Evry1 must accept to be RICH nah

Dis nigerian pastors disgust me...they dont say anything abt what's going in country. Its all abt riches n wealth! Keep preaching that prosperity sermon...mind u 'its easier for d camel to pass thru d eyes of a needle than for a rich man to make it into d kingdom of God'! Vanity upon vanity its all vanity. #bewarned

God is working in His churches

Yes,that's my papa talking! Christ became poor that we might be rich.TITHING is the key.

It's a must to pay your Tithe.... Pls follow Godz standard not d world. Tithing is in d Bible. unless pple get to that particular verse n turn it into another thing. Pls obey God n pay your Tithe. I know some churches dnt stress tithe paying,i only laff at them cos they dnt knw d secret of prosperity.

Yes ooooo we meant to be rich becos our fada is the Almighty.

Na so

Lmao. This is what's wrong with the world today... See that fool in a couple of comments above me talking about 'money first' then please stop hiding under the guise of being a Christian if all you are after is money.

Wunmi said...

Rich pple church indeed!bt ur convenant university sud b affordable for d masses at least let pple dat dnt hv enough benefit from dose dat hv.

Linda please talk about tithe. I'd love to know your view on it.

Yeah..That's my Bishop.2009 as an undergraduate student in the university, I keyed into the divine mandate of the living faith church and since then its been from glory to glory. I'm in my early 20s but trust me, I have seen God's resources pressed down and running over for me. Its God and the divine convenant I have with him as a result of the revelation I got from winners chapel.

Hmmm, only God knows what we don't know. Whether pure rich or fake one its all 9ice in this world. But after here I think is judgement!!! ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Thank you pastor, people perish for lack of knowledge. The bible says we are to reign as KINGS. That's Gods will for us!

As dem get so many wealthy pp na so dem get so many poor pp in dt church. D poor sef pass d rich

Winners all the way. God give me the mind to pay my tithe always. God bless you, Bishop David Oyedepo

May 24, 2014 - By Dr. Isaiah & Lianna Wealth

“But the path of the just is as the shining light, that shineth more and more unto the perfect day. “ Proverbs 4 18

Our text today suggests that there is no end to the righteous man shining. His testimony is that he gets better and better with every passing day. Everyone who seeks to walk in favour with God and men must bear this in mind and hold it as a standard of performance.
You may have made some progress in the past. Do not let that limit you. There is still longer way to go, a better place to be, a higher place to climb. Therefore break your own records. Set bigger goals and achieve them.  By so doing, you would not only be exhibiting your true nature as the righteous man who shines more and more, you would be setting yourself up for favour before God and men.
Therefore, develop the habit of seeking to always do bigger things and achieve better results in all that you do. Do not relax or become complacent after having achieved a level of success at work or in your walk with God. Instead, wake up every day seeking to break your own records of success. Start today!

Prophesy:   Receive grace to do exceedingly mighty things in Jesus name.
 Pray :  Lord, strengthen me to keep aspiring for more and better performances in Jesus name.
Do:  Consider what your present goal is? Is there even a goal? Or are you complacent? If yes, set a bigger goal for yourself and press to achieve it.
Say:  My light is as a shining light that shines more and more to a perfect day.
 Read: Read: I CHRON 11&12, PHILIPPIANS 1, PROVERBS

Am a member at his church u guys should check it out is a good church

Why d emphasis on tithe? Paying ur tithe alone does not mk anybody rich, some pp don pay tithes dia whole life bit still live in poverty. Some pp de rich thru hard work and God's Grace while some na thru stealing and dia is no guarantee dt all d rich pp in his church got dia wealth thru hard work. Abi no b so oga pastor?

God is not poor..when u follow his fundamental guides n laws,u MUST prosper.

Mena Peters Triflections said...

So everyone in Winners is rich? What of those that can't even afford to pay to send their kids to the university.

Good talk..God ain't poor so when u follow him,u must prosper.

Oh yeah,... Step into reality, wealth is proof of God in a man's life not poverty, I'm not ashamed,... Revelation is the way out of poverty

I read his book breaking financial hardship, practically took a step and today am free from poverty.

Jadesola said...

Yes vy correct Sir...Paying tithe and da principle of sowing are da basis of getting rich....

Shut up small boy n read Malachi 6

Am proud τ̲̅ȍ be a winner.jero say §Ơ̴̴̴̴͡

kim is puttin on a white dress for her weddin . . . SMH d battle of heaven nd earth has really began ~ FEDECO ~

Hii,lib readers I'm a 22 year old lady n I dunno if I av a problem. iv noticed something,big boobs and big ass turns me on a lot,i feel like touchin it. I get horny at least 2 tyms a day for at least 5 days in a week. Another issue is that abs don't turn me on,only big dicks(im sorry for d foul language) really big dicks although pot bellies r a total turn off..pls I'm confused

Yea yea.that my bishop. Tithe goes a long way in d life of Christian.try it even u don't n I bet u a big difference will change in ur life.

Well it is in d bible,that paying of tithe is important so dat shldn't be a thing to argue abt, bt as for whether his church is 4d rich or poor,I think I will pass.
Shygal

Donralph said...

Yes Bishop. I'm proud to be a Winner. I engage in tithing and God has been doing wonders in my life.Linda, whether u believe or not, it does not take anything away from God.

All lies n bunch of 419ners. A deacon in your church duped me of over 4million for more than a year now. YOU could not even call him to order. Shame!

Ophelliaah said...

tithe is important.... but what happpened to love your neighbour as you love yourself.... it didnt say love your christian neighbour as you love yourself... btw the money in the church you wont take to heaven.... and there ate no rich people in that chirch commensurate to the wealth in the world... my mom was a deacon in this church..... the church is only rich because they extort mercilessly from their members

All lies n bunch of 419ners. A deacon in your Church has been owing me over 4million for more than a year n 'YOU' could not call him to order. Bad seed among the good.... It is well indeed.

Ophelliaah said...

What happened to love your neighbour as you love yourself.... heaven blesses you not for you alone.. there are no wealthy people in that church commensurate to the wealthy people in the world... the pastor and his church ie the name hold the wealth... my mom was a deacon in the church, first theres politics and the extort money mercilessly from their members

did Jesus came only for the rich did he not feed the poor what is tuition fee of convenant university ?why not emulate those missionaries on selfless service that brought Christianity to us building schools that many of you attended free even when some of them are leaving they left these schools and hospitals for us but now you people will incorporate it with your children as directors and pastors SMH

Neduzy Sign said...

If you don't pay your tithe... believe me you are a thief!!! How will u feel if you do a business with a friend and he runs away with your money or refuse to pay? However you feel is exactly how God feels... remember how you begged God to give you that money and now you have it and you can't pay 10%? pls pay your tithe or else God will stop banking with you! #neduzysign

Even tho im nt a winners member, I blive in wat he says.... "if know ur God, n blive in him, u shall do exploit, do gud n mke wealth,,,, e giveth power to mke wealth
...n linda wats funny abt tithe? ? Dont u read d bible.....smh

*habeesolha

mercy said...

Am a WINNER always

Spot on papa! The God i serve is a God of wealth.His church should speak that too.
And Linda i don't know your take on tithe but tithing is giving back to God what he gave you. It is what every christian should do.whether or not you earn peanuts. It is tge the thought that counts.

More grace upon you sir....I pray God gives me wisdom to make wealth too...Amen!

Church of the rich. Tell members to stop paying their tithes and use is for the less previllaged, and let me see how rich you will be. Folks, you must not tithe direct. Look one or group that need help mother how small, raise your tithe up to heaven and pray that God will rebook any devourer, then send it to whom you are convenc that need it but not from ur relatives for them, you have a duty to to help, and the blessings of Abraham will follow you. In the new testerment, Jesus being an examplery, mentioned more of giving arms to the poor, needy and less prevellage. What ever your spirit tells you to do, I mean good spirit, prayover it and get confiremation, thengo ahead. Know it that you are little angles, pray and have faith and ur prayers will answered. You do need to go from pastor to the other looking for miracle and them asking you to tithe with them or sore a seed of faith. There are many out there that needs your seed of faith, pray before you do it and God that sees in secret will reward u in secret. You wanna be a pastor, that is good, don't sit looking for tithe, you can work as well, go out there like Paul them did, spread the gospel, so many have not heared the good news. Not seating at the comfort of your office, and receiving tithes. The harvest is full but the labourers are few. Pls Christians, wake up and hold the whole armour of God, the blast plate of rigorousness and the helment of salvation, have faith in the lord, pray at all times, give thanks to the lord for provision of life, do good to all, spread the good news and be anxious for nothing. Pray and cast out every imagination that exulted itselve above the the knowledge of God, and the God of peace will hear your prayer, preserve your soul, bless you and change it history. But remainder, do not forsate the gathering of people of God, for iron sharpeneth iron. I rest my peace.

How does wealth amount to salvation which is supose to be the paramount teaching of any christian leader? Obviously morally clueless like his followers#26247c63

Exceeding Grace, Strange works and Strange acts

Linda if u like don't pay tithe, just know that it is God that SECURES resources. I pray u don't lose yours.

He's just a bigger picture of the modern day pentecostal christians. Lost in money and materials and so they keep sellin bad moral teachings to their followers as prosperity theories even when they are obviously desperation theories.

He's just a bigger picture of the modern day pentecostal christians. Lost in money and materials and so they keep sellin bad moral teachings to their followers as prosperity theories even when they are obviously desperation theories#26247c63

am So happy to have u has my father in the Lord ..Go daddy

aluminium said...

Tithe musnt b donated to d church. U can also giv it to d less priviledged. Am a strong roman catholic by d way

OJAI baby said...

Ojai says" that's my papa, with very experienced and strong ans. All he has said is nothing but the fact. Since we r called d rich, we r rich. We will feel so bad if we r addressed as a poor church. EXCEEDING GRACE, STRANGE WORKS, STRAnGE ACTS, EXCEEDING GRACE.

TITHING IS A "HARD THING", BUT I DON'T THINK ANY PERSON WHO TRULY BELIEVE GOD AND LOVE HIM WILL HAVE ANY ISSUE WITH TITHING. IN FACT TITHING IS JUST THE STARTING POINT. LOVE IS EXEMPLIFIED IN GIVEN. IF YOU CANNOT TITHE, YOU EITHER DO NOT LOVE GOD OR YOU ARE IGNORANT. SHIKINA.

Tithe dey work o! Shine your eye!

BONARIOS BABY said...

My dear linda,I'm a core winner I believe so much in tithes apart from bishop saying it,the bible also said it in mal3:10. People who engage in tithing can never be poor,God is not a robber,He'll bless u to a point that you won't have room to contain them. each time I pay my tithes my blessings increases in all beyond explanation.the last thing I'll ever do in this world is to stop paying my tithes,I'll pay it till the day I'll die cus that's the brain behind my success..

Linda, are u sure u r a christian? U want to argue to? Habba linda! I tot u knew better than what u just said. Am proudly a christian that loves paying tithe and i experience open heaven in all area of my life.

He is right. If you are a Christian and you tithe faithfully and give and also obedient to other commandments of Christ, you sure would be rich as a result of God's blessings and also make heaven. Many suffer due to lack of knowledge of God's word and some due to unbelief.

Thats my Papa...giving the right nd true response. ...

Ride on Bishop! God will continue to bless you and us

CHIBUZOR IGWAH said...

Dear Bishop, sir, are you serving God or money? Because that you're riches with money is far different from rich anointing.

No servant can serve two masters. Either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and Money. (Luke 16:13)

Do not save riches for yourselves here on earth, where moths and rust destroy, and robbers break in and steal. Instead, save riches for yourselves in heaven, where moths and rust cannot destroy, and robbers cannot break in and steal. For your heart will always be where your riches are. (Mat 6:19-21)

Keep your life free from the love of money, and be content with what you have. (Heb 13:5 )

All the believers joined together and shared everything in common; they sold their possessions and goods and divided the proceeds among the fellowship according to individual need. (Acts 2:44-45 )

Only the man who says goodbye to all his possessions can be my disciple. ( Luke 14:33 )

Now my advice to you is to use 'money', tainted as it is, to make yourselves friends, so that when it comes to an end, they may welcome you into the houses of eternity. The man who is faithful in the little things will be faithful in the big things. So that if you are not fit to be trusted to deal with the wicked wealth of this world, who will trust you with true riches? (Luke 16:9-11 )

Concluded Jesus, none of you can be my disciple unless he gives up everything he has. (Luke 14:33 )

Dats my bishop talking

Well, is a pity that people still relate with God materially, based on what they can get from God... Including these pastors... Worshipping Good shouldn't be measured with those words poor and rich; is materialistic and is sad... Am not against anybody but RELIGION REMAINS THE BIGGEST PROBLEM OF THE WORLD... Winner chapel is not excluded.

MR:: I REST MY CASE!!!

Fify said...

Biko.. Is it Angels that work I the universities and schools?? Even in the private jets he buys.. It's still part of creating jobs!

Linda why you they jealous, you are not born again, so you cant understand.

Kellydbob said...

Proud to b a member of Christ Embassy. The only church that networks the whole world nd spreading the gospel of our lord Jesus Christ. Indeed Pastor Chris u have given my life a meaning.......

My dear do you know how many ppl benefit from the church scholarship every year? Do u knw hw many ppl work in the church micro-finance bank, teach in schools with accomodation? Abeg leave dt talk.

Lol....u said it all....haters can die....sory.. ..repent

Don't attend na, dem dey beg u? Stay in your mary-amaka-wearing church, with impure heart. Who is deceiving who?

May God's judgement be upon you and your generation!

You are the ignorant one he's talking about. He no dey force u, open your Bible and READ

God wil strike u down,idiot,is dere any tief proud 2 say he's a tief???,illiterate

Why do people always raise brows when a Christian is Rich/affluencial? But they celebrate and even envy the wealth of pop stars and the likes....Psquare buys a private jet and everyone congratulates them, Oyedepo buys the same, and critics wouldn't let him be!
I believe that riches are also meant for men of God too...after all, father Abraham was not a pauper. I'd rather be the Abraham-type of Christian, than Lazarus-the-beggar-type.

Stop talkin rubbish,he only said pay ur tithe nd he won't force u,am not a winner bt I hate wen pple talk anyhow like u,u can't even understnd simple writeup

Shut up,he only said pay ur tithe,he won't force u,am not in his church bit dats d simple truth,so u can't understnd simple writup,u must b a muslim

Sorry not only him. And dt doesn't mean there are no poor ppl there, bcs they give scholarships to people

halimsy said...

Yes o that is it what else would he have said

Mumu

Sorry not only him. And dt doesn't mean there are no poor ppl there, bcs they give scholarships to people

David oyedepo is one of the few men of God in nig who do not get angry or jealous when his folks start prospering,he is a father indeed,thank you sir for sharing the secret of wealth with your followers!u re indeed a father to multimillionares and billionares and i tap into that anointing today for my biz ijn,amen!i want to be a strong tither in winners so help me God#amaka#

You are the ignorant one he's talking about. He no dey force u, open your Bible and READ

Papa Pls Tell Dem...its All in Ur Undastandin dat a Church Like Dat Is4d Rich...Come Wif faith&get Ur Blessin Den Show Gratitude4God Thru Tithe#Nnemumzzzz#

nkemforever said...

Anon 12.51pm tax for your post. I wonder if he asks his members for the sources of their wealth or at least wonder about it. This is part the reason why Nigerians wnt to be rich at all costs and engage in all sorts of vices to ensure that they are. In spite of prosperity teaching and tithing over 80% of Nigerians are living in poverty and refuse to tell themselves the truth because of our " churcheousness". We keep making pastors rich and impoverishing ourselves in the process.

Read Deut 14:22-29. That's all

Is it that only those who are born again christians will be rich??what about muslims,hindus,traditionalist who are all rich? There are principles as well as factors that determine the possibility of getting rich or not. It has nothing to do with GOD

May God's judgement be upon you and your generation!

Don't attend na, dem dey beg u? Stay in your mary-amaka-wearing church, with impure heart. Who is deceiving who?

My dear do you know how many ppl benefit from the church scholarship every year? Do u knw hw many ppl work in the church micro-finance bank, teach in schools with accomodation? Abeg leave dt talk.

Who told u dat he dose nt care 4 d needy?u better say wat u knw dear nd stop judging people any hw.

It's awesome to tithe regularly, u can never go wrong with sowing in a fertile ground,

Wen u curse a man of God knw it in ur heart dat u re already cursed authomatically!

U knw its good to be informed before you speak, he has made numerous job opportunities uncountable sef. Just because you don't know doesn't mean he doesnt do it. That means you haven't heard of his outreach. Be informed people. Plus pay your tithes malachi 3:8-12

Exceeding grace all ,am a living testimony of d richness of christ he has bestowed in d winners family bishop david oyedepo is truely God sent weda haters like it or not for all u beefers listen to his teachings nd ur life will never remain same he has juz said it all brethrens wen u serve God he will service u shikena

U r ignorant of the word of God.

Do u know what they do for d needy?, they can't feed d whole Nigeria.. U don't know how they strted off so don't talk bcux u feel like u can talk

Dts my papa speaking. Am proud to be associated wt u and proud to be a christian. All ds pple talkn nonsense, u want him to run d sch on charity? Is d university a charity org? Secondly u expect him to tk pics nd send to linda weneva he's helpn d poor or doing charity wrk yh? God bless u sir, u'll continue to be a source of blessing to ur generation. EXCEEDING GRACE

My dear now u r lieing, those who wear strapless to church r not members, ask them u cnt b a real member of living faith church nd dress indecent. You can't tell me people don't dress indecent to ur church..

May God forgive you

U argue pointlessly,u think creating dos universities isn't for job creation too.would pple not be employed to run the university or can oyedepo and his family run it alone.acquiring jets,if u had money to acquire jets wouldn't you..?Please let's not criticize someone else because when we are in that position we might do much more

macus said...

Ur very stupud for saying all dis nonsense!opening a university is it not job creation?or will he lecture all d students?won't he employ lecturers.and who told u he doesn't help d poor?anuofia,he has spoken take it if u want or leave it if u dnt.is not by force ode

I people perish Bcos they lack wisdom! A Lot of people r ignorant of the word of God. Tithing is a responsibility, wealth is a birthright for even believer in Christ. Read ur bible p'ple and stop hating on those who have found the light thru God's word.
And abt this private jet thing, u guys give it a rest already! The church is the church! The government is the government! Dnt mix that up! The church helps it's own! U can't just sit there and expect Dr. David oyedepo to come looking for u to gv u a job! Identify with what u want. This church has two universities, secondary skools in some states of d federation, nursery schools across the nation, they r employers of labour! So Dnt say they're not giving back to d society. Some people Jst want to sit there and hv people spoon feed them! It's not even scriptural! READ UR BIBLES! #datzall!

Thatz right

Lindaaaaaa. So u don't pay tithe? I must tell u the truth. While I was livin wth my uncle ,dere was no fund 4 my sch fees for 3years but the only thing I gained was being a winner member.now am a full graduate and a banker. "If u are not there,you are not there" pls don't judge anyone.

Sylvonce said...

Yup, he is said it all. Take ur tithe payment seriously, esp first fruit offerings and watch God do wonders in ur life.

May God forgive you

Am proud to be a winner

Bedazzled said...

Jesus is the one we are all emulating as Christians. With all this riches, will you recognise Jesus when he comes? HE won't be coming back in a private jet o. A word is enof for the wise.

My bsp is right cuz nobody would ever chose to b poor in his or right mind.people are poor cuz they don't want to take responsibilities.I joined winners deaten nd bartered bt wen I caut the light from wat he told us from Rev5:12 and then I pay my thith since then my life changed today am mega rich.

If u go to church to showcase ur clothes nd cars nah for ur big head, like they don't do it in ur church.. Funny enough won't even know d rich ones cux they r down to earth nah d borrow pose dem self de dress to come show off

Laugh out loud...Breeze

Blackberry said...

The universities he's creating, is it nott for employment? Iss he not employing lecturers n non-academic staff? D private jet no b pilot n crew him employ? Daft anonymous like u.

Your very stupid.may the wrath of God fall upon u n ur family and all ur generations for the names and insolence on a man of God.God will punish until u beg 4 death.How can u say dt abt a man of God.havnt u heard of d passage touch not my anointed or d one dt says judge not. If ur a muslim may boko haram bomb ur dirty body n there shall b no grave to bury u.birds will feed!

Brethen seel ye first d kingdom of God nd his righteousness nd everything shall be added unto u..(Mal 3:8) Will a man rob God? Yet ye have robbed me. But ye say, Wherein have we robbed thee? In tithes and offerings. Stop doubting it when u pay ur tithe nd offering something superntural happens in ur financial status.. If people weren't experiencing it, I bet u Oyedepo won't have that much crowd

Well..i never stop to share my testimony..Attending Winners for 2 weeks made me see so many financial breakthroughs which I could not even comprehend!! I strongly believe it has to do with the annointing upon Daddy Oyedepo..my advice to all is that you should never judge a man of God..Read d bible properly and see what the Holy book says about paying tithes and going into financial covenant with God..Use d word of God as written in regards to tithing and all will be well..

When Jesus was on earth, he identify wit d poor. Clergymen of today na jst prosperity prosperity! No one talks abt God's kingdom nd it blessings.
Anyway sha, Bible don talk am, d devil wil blind d heart of many pple.

Christ died poor that we might b Rich through his poverty.. You can't belong tto d family of God nd remain poor, it is a dirty. Slap to God especially if u have d gift of the holy spirit.. When u pay ur tithe nd offering you can give God ur strong reason y u r not supse to be poor

Christ came for the Poor and needy, those sick without help. He says on the last day he will say u visited me when I was sick, gave me good when I had non.. etc. No mention of tithing. We put too much emphasis on tithes. We should tithe, But not Cause God is a money doubler and Christ came to make people rich. Keep tithing and leave your soul to rot in hell.
How won't he put emphasis on tithing and the Bible being an open check book? Does God send angels to come n collect the money. He is the one benefiting from it. Buying excessive things for himself while the members feed his greed with hopes of Blessing.it's a shame that after Christ died, Christianity has been reduced to prosperity and money and earthly riches. We will all stand before God in the end including the pastors and G.O's without special treatment.

Thank God for you. I hope you know the same Bible instructs you to give tithes to widows,.homeless and others in need. Or the pastors belly is more important? since we instead pursue blessings these days, give them your tithe too and God will also bless you abundantly. It's clear Mr oyedepo has enough. And with all your money given to these insatiable denominations, more people die around you out of lack and want while you rush to the church yo be a proud Christian

onye nsogbu said...

Are u wise at all? Do u know how many pple will be employed when a university is created??? Na hin be una Federal govt wey go dey create jobs for the whole unemployed Nigerians abi?
Mr job creation, think b4 u post!

Mtscheewe. The church is rich while people around it is Poor and See his reply. The word of God would not have reached us if the missionaries where accumulating wealth. They brought education and health care. They brought the word of God and physical nourishment to the community around them. Now it's the opposite. The Poor community funds the churches extravagant lifestyle opposite of Christ. Meanwhile what is the church? It's not denominations But the collective saints of Christ living his life and following his word Cause they love him not a bunch of people following God for money doubling and riches and all.

My God is not poor so I can neva be poor..after God d next thing on earth is money. Thks papa 4 givin is d secret 2 kingdom wealth. #some miscreants will still be arguing wit an anointed man of God #mtchewww #as if dey undastand d bible....... Am a winner

Lol.. that's the only commandment in the Bible shey? People live disgraceful lives and bring loads of money for God to double. The same God is waiting for you after u die n leave this riches. Then u go n Ansa for the oda principles of holiness, righteousness and living above sin

So those schools na monkey dey work there? How do u aFfect the less priviledge in immediate envinroment? For your info the church remains biggest charity organisation more reason they r getting richer. When u start doing same u will understand better. Peace

Tithing is the way out of every tight situation in,all he said is true

So Linda na only tithe you fit pick for all he said in the whole interview? you are truly miss controversial! i have never see u wrote anytin about your CATHOLIC REV. Fathers but you are quick to Judge/write abt Pentecostal's Pastors. may God deliver you

I bless the old woman that persisted until I decided to go and see self.

My life changed for the better, afterwards.
From a no functional bank account I testify that the4e is no staff of mine that makes less than a hundred thousand, monthly

To God be all the glory...

Aheadahead9ja

######################GOD#######################################################punish###################################################devil##################

DOBY DOBY said...

True nt through. . After una go start mocking mama peace

Honestly, I used to attend winners chapel when I was in naija. I miss it so much now that I'm away. The word is strong n real. D blessing was unimaginable. N to those who say u can wear anything , na lie. Workers can't even wear trousers . You will only c people wearing whatever in d bigger branches where d ushers can't possibly c everybody but in smaller churches they will give u a veil sharply. I did a 3 weeks bible study n we were not allowed to wear trousers to d church. For d bible study, we were asked to ask for one or two things. I was abt to relocate n wanted someone to buy my whole shop plus furniture n goods cash down. That was all I asked for, alas people started coming to pester me to buy my shop, begging me with cash. They wanted to buy everything from d fan to d carpet. Even things I didn't want to sell. That was my testimony. At d end of d day , its all abt ur faith n in dis church de help u build ur faith up. That's why it's called living faith. I criticize churches

Hi Linda...I think you should publish the entire interview..Another part of the interview reads:

How come there is such wealth in the church despite the poverty in the nation?

The kingdom of God is funded by God’s resources. We are not funded by the economy of the world, but by the economy of the kingdom, which has a budget for all of its agenda on earth. We’ve been here since 1999 and we have never had power outage or water shortage. The main players are Nigerians, the builders are Nigerians. There is no building here that any foreign expert took part in. There is no foreign company’s presence here, including the tabernacle. Some of the revered foreign companies here in Nigeria are technicians in Germany, and they are all political contractors, not that they have something special to offer.

Is there any way we can translate this into the Nigerian system?

It is possible by believing in the capability and capacity of Nigerians to do whatever they need to do. This is the largest church auditorium in the world. It’s 104m free span wide. Even one of the reputed foreign construction companies came here to take pictures. Nigerians have unusual capacity to match any expertise in the world in any field they are involved in. Most of us go to school in foreign lands and we beat them, is it that when they get here, they become smarter? It’s just for the authorities at the various levels to believe that we cannot develop ourselves seeking foreign aides for everything. We must take advantage of the opportunities around us to develop the capacity of our men and women. This office was built in 2001 and it’s neat and there is no crack on the wall, so, what is the problem? But if we want to do anything, we must give it to people from foreign countries so that those who award the contract can have a deal and share the money and at the end of the day, they are still poorer than poverty because any money stolen never enhances a man’s value.

*my thoughts* if this is not the truth, what is?

#busybardng

Am a proud member of living faith, only bible principles are preached holiness that comes with prosperity. Like it or leave it the foundation of God standeth sure.

My God please forgive him.

Linda u don hear.

My God please forgive him.

Yea yea..*eyes rolling* mtcheeeew. Davido look's like him tho.

Watch wah u say sweetie

The schools,when they're been opened,does it not provide employment opportunities?

Only the spiritual understand kingdom mysteries while the ignorant continue in their doubt.

You get head... Nicely Said

Gifted Gift Studios. Entertainment said...

Word. I am not a bastard, so I can not be poor, I am a son of the prophet therefore I will be bigger than my father's. What a grace.

CHIBUZOR IGWAH said...

Actually, I expected words of encouragement from our bishop than this. Because through one of the TB Joshua sermons I can understand vividly that one maybe poor and yet be a true child of God and also a candidate of heaven which many with worldly riches will not achieve at the end according to bible. He also advised that one should try to be contented and not discourage in case you may see yourself as a poor person today because God knows you better.

By the way, it baffles on how a so called true man of God that’s not after personal interest will base issue of tithe for ones prosperity because tithes can not be the ultimate instead of ones salvation.

According to TB Joshua, men of God should be careful from collecting tithes, money and all kinds of gifts from people because even the rituals, criminals, dubious and those that embezzled public funds in the church do pay their tithes as well through which Satan is also invited to be part of the service. And on how you can differentiate the money that comes through Gods profit and the one from ungodly way is very important otherwise you the man of God will partake from their crimes and will be judge accordingly.

So can you now see that tithe is very risk and also required carefulness? Lets be sincere here if we worship God and not man.

Did Linda say she does not tithe? People are so stupid.

Are the Universities not creating Jobs, do u know hw many people the university employs? Do u know how many students he pays their fees.

God is your father!

Who is still doubting the power in the Word sopken by the grt man of God, Papa Oydepo. One anonymoys above, quoted the bible thus....and the rich man asked Jesus, wat shall I do to enter the kingdom of God and the replied he got was to sale all his riches before he can enter the kingdom of God. The fellow now asked, if the MOG, Oyedepo can sell his university. This is a practical example of, my people are bcos of lack of knowledge. Plz go to any winners chapel in your location and be tutored on what is THE KINGDOM OF GOD. PLZ AND PLZ IT 7S NEVER A PLACE OF POVERTY, LACK, ILLNESS OR ANY OF THE VICES associated with the present wordly system..
U n7d to study ur bible, not only intellectually but with spiritual understanding for you to key into the true kingdom of God. Thank God one young fellow just testify to it..testimony abound for the true seeker.
Tithing is a universal prihciple, which even nonchristains practice ahd reap d benefits. It is siimply an acknowledgement of the Omnipotent. A believed, that u ve been blessed by God. It is a divine task for those in d kingdom

mystic Sun said...

Hi hi

eazybaba said...

Anonymous 12:12 God Bless you!

Building universities is an avenue for job opportunities also. Labourers, architects, painters, carpenters, lectures, non academic staff ect are all employed as a result of this.

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 286   Newer› Newest»