Military takes over power in Thailand | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 22 May 2014

Military takes over power in Thailand

Thailand military today Thursday May 22nd announced it has taken over government in Thailand, saying it was “necessary to seize power.” following the six months of political deadlock the country has faced. In a nationwide broadcast this morning, Head of Thai Army, Gen. Prayuth Chan-ocha, made the announcement flanked by senior military officers.
"It is necessary for the Peace and Order Maintaining Command – which includes army, navy, armed forces and police – to take control of governing the country," he said
Thailand has been under political unrest after its citizens took to the streets in Nov. 2013 demanding that their Prime Minister, Yingluck Shinawatra, step down after being accused of being a proxy for her popular billionaire brother, former PM Thaksin Shinawatra, who was forced out of office in 2006 after a military coup & now lives in self-imposed exile to avoid a jail sentence on corruption charges.

61 comments:

back to military rule

Yingluck am sure it means goodluck in Thailand

Ok. Pls does naija nid dis type of take-ova now?

Ok nxt!

Wow....it makin sense...

MADEMOISELLE said...

Ok ..

this is what we need in Nigeria . I pray it comes soonest.

Nigeria will soon follow IF.........#God help us

I wish,i honestly wish the military will take over power I Nigeria,i pray it happens cause atandard of living was much better for the common man in Military regim................pretty T

Could this hapn here in Naija?

oh my GOD!! i wish dis would happen in nigeria

Military government is never a palatable one, but what will are experiencing in Nigeria is close to a military regime, we claim we have a democratic government, but when the youth see the truth and say it, they are arrested, when people make peaceful protest they are either arrested or molested by security operatives, security operatives kill citizens like their life is worth nothing to the smh. God heal this country

Oooops.... How come i never knew Thailand was in a political crisis?? Nawaoo...

Pls Boko boys help kill our corruption govt 4 us pls & stop killin our innocent pple Biko nu eh! If una need cherms of appear & disapearin pls come 2 Aguleri their are much there u can use it against this our politicians that steal our moni into their pocket

Could this hapn here in Naija?

Thaksin Shinawatra and her sister Yangluck the former PM, are the sole blame to the massive corruption and political unrest. The military should takeover power until a new govt. Is formed. It seems the Thiland Govt are following the foot step of the Egyptian Govt

Na wa o no be small thing

The possibility ιƨ there, they might achieve their aim. Hope it doesn't turnout to be like egypt.

I wish such things could happen in naija...

bbm 7439955a said...

I pray this doesn't happen in Naija.. Long live Biafra. ENGR Emy

Truthfulness pays said...

That's is there biz...

Truthfulness pays!

benito said...

The military nees to take over Nigerian Government

benito said...

This is what we need in Nigeria now.

that's what Nigeria need until 2015 ELECTION is over.

via official intercom

Military govt z d best for thailand! Hoping to c some changes

#Pesty

Oya naija follow suit b4 we'r all killed

We are overdue for this in Naija!

MECURY said...

I wish it could happen here in nigeria.

Oby said...

Guys! Be careful what you wish for!!! Military rule? You probably have no idea how terrible that is!

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Coz u were busy watching PORN.. Idiot Fag..

Our Military can't handle power so I pray it doesnt happen here.

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Ok hoping same to be applicable here in Naija...

Bbg Eze said...

Hope same won't happen 2Nigeria?

hmmmm, i dnt pray for this in nigeria, buh will d way things are going, i think its inevitable

May God bless u Anonymous, u got great eyes, I tout I was d only one who noticed...

I no say our millitary will be reading this with interest,make una no try am for Niger oh,instead make police take power...Breeze

HOW I WISH OUR POLITICIANS IN PDP AND APC WILL LEARN FROM THIS. ESPECIALLY , BASKET MOUTHS LIKE, EL RUFAI, LAI MOHAMMED, DOYIN OKUPE , OLISA METUH ETC

Fools, u'r calling for it and when it does come you will be the one that will surfer in it and cry for another system at the same time. The worst set of people on earth are the confused set of people like you. You don't have definition for anything, neither do you have choice; a true example of moses and the Israelis then.May God help all of you, give u long life filled with wisdom that yields solution to any problem.( Life generally seems difficuld, those who work hard/withstand difficulty succeed and those who resign to failure remain failures)

This is certainly what we need in Nigeria, but since the army sef cannot perform.....who will take us to our promised land??

Really??? That is old fashioned.

It was inevitable from the onset. As tragic as it sounds, this is what 9ja needs, unfortunately every nook and cranny of 9ja is already corrupted

Hmmmm d best shld happen in nigeria wateva ll bring peace to our turbulent land, souls ar dyin everyday no peace of mind who knows maybe d pple in power ar even ready 4 dat

This is exactly wat shld happen in Nigeria. . We need it more before we all die off .

D problem is even if military shld take over in nigeria we might av bigger problem cos some top military personnels ar deeply involved in dis boko haram of a thing

How old r u child? 14??

Hmmm,military?

I pity all of you! If this happens in naija,the little freedom u have to insult Jonathan would be seized from you, even Linda wnt blog,so before u type rubbish relax,police will so deal at u,ur rights would be infringed on and you would regret saying u wnt military rule

ST. KIZITO BOUTIQUE IG: @stkizitoboutique said...

I dey pity naija boys wey dey dia sha

They say it is temporarily till a proper election is held.

No Yingluck is d prime minister that just step down

Bloody troll!

Unbelievable!!!! To say that I am shocked or flabbergasted with d comments of those wishing 4 this to happen to naija is just an understatement. When were u guys even born? Even if it were yesterday, don't u guys av a sense of history? In case u don't know, no military gov is better dan any democracy. u're country has had enough of military backwardness 4 over 30yrs. If not for God's divine intervention in Abacha's death. U all wld still be in anguish so I suggest u all reserve all ur silly uninformed comments b4 posting on LIB. Rubbish!

aboki nahma, u are jst arrant nosens, 4 not respecting your president

Dnt mind those fools.they dnt read,they dnt even ask questions.military will take ova only in ur families not in Naija.

Answer d question oLd fool.

Anon 8.57pm, I was already a Graduate under IBB"s regime. I beg to disagree with ur position on this. This current govt is worse than most military regimes we've had (except maybe for Abacha)

Oby, it's not much worse than this. In some ways, it's actually better. And if we r lucky, we may even get a Rawlings!