Girl forced to watch her father/brother killed by Boko Haram tells her story | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 22 May 2014

Girl forced to watch her father/brother killed by Boko Haram tells her story

15 year old Deborah Peter, a Chibok indigene who now resides in Virginia, USA, was at the Capitol Hill, D.C yesterday May 21st, where she narrated her experience in the hands of Boko Haram. Deborah was at the US congress in her capacity as a Boko haram survivor, to lend her voice to the #bringbackourgirls campaign, as members of the congress debated on how to effectively win the war against the radical Islamic sect that abducted over 200 girls in Chibok on April 14th.

Deborah told the story of how her father, a Christian pastor who had been asked to deny his faith and her brother were both killed in a singular attack on the evening of Dec 22 2011 by three members of Boko haram. She said the men shot her dad 3 times on the chest and as they deliberated on whether to kill her brother, her dad breathed his last when he heard gun shots fired at his son, Caleb.

Deborah said she was then asked to lie in between their corpses. She laid there until the next morning when she was rescued by a local Pastor who paid for her to be transported out of the region. Sadly, the pastor who assisted her was also killed in 2013 by the sect men. Continue...

During her presentation, Deborah held up a paper sign reading “#BringBackMySisters” for video cameras and photographers.
“I decided to tell the world my story when the Chibok girls were taken because everyone needs to know how horrible Boko Haram is. They kill innocent people who never hurt them. I want the world to understand what happened to me. I hope the kidnapped Chibok girls will take courage from my story, and know more of what God says, and know what it means to stand strong in the face of bad people.” she said
Deborah was asked to describe how she felt about Boko Haram after all she had been through and she replied "It’s a hard question. I think they’re bad. I can’t judge them. The Bible said do not judge.”

86 comments:

Omg.... so heartbreaking.... God please come to our rescue

chia chia deris God ooooo

Heartless idiots! They'll all pay, just a matter of time.

I really feel for her But we all know how mean BH are,giving them more attention via the media will only boost their ego and arrogance.

I fought back tears when I read her story and that of the boy that escaped from the camp of Boko haram
This evil has been going on unheard, thank God for the #BringBackOurGilrs project which has helped bring world attention to their plight.
I thank God for her life and pray the Chibok girls would be returned alive.

It's a pity.

Hmmm. I'm just speechless. Dis evil act has got 2 stop.

Na wa ooooo..this is very funny ooo...and we are flexing in the west-east-south and people are just dying like rat in the north...GOD have mercy oooooo..people are now heartless.....this is just too much......Solomon....

Sorry young one..may God bless u..well said..see what she responded "don't judge"..dis single statement shows she has sense more than most readers here that comment without even thinking..God will keep u girl..as for BH d end is near........................#King

imagine d pain she wud av gone tru nd still going tru...... thank God for grace......

May God rescue the girls..... Linda they said lagos is their next target o how true is that cos me scared o

diamondblinqZ said...

Faithful God!!! Wow!!!

These are the same people some miscreants wants the FG to negotiate with? Some even are asking for them to be tried instead of waging war against them! Bigotry is bad man! Let them wake the dead, patch up the roads, heal the wounds, repay all the losses they have caused before they can expect pity.

May dere soul rest in peace dis act is so wicked and cruel may the Lord grant u the wisdom u need to go trough life without ur family

Peejay said...

Sad.

Looks like a scene from the movie SOMETIMES IN APRIL..
I never imagined Nigeria would ever be at war. I fear for the future.

God will continue to strengthen her.

Kia! Fine black girl! B/haram has cause a lot of souls unforgetable sorrow. So painful. Keep ur faith strong God will nver disappoint you ok. (RIP father & son)

....CYNTHIA....commenting from my TOYOTA CRICKET

Americans doing what the know how to do best exploitation if the want to help get back the almost 300 girls kidnapped by Boko Haram and stop using young Nigeria girls for there media addiction.

Well @least green pastures continued

Very sad.

Very lucky girl. Thank God u are alive to today to say all this. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Fada pls hear our cry!!

She's such a strong & brave girl,thank God ur now far those deadly vampires *fashionista LeOnOrA*

Truthfulness pays said...

Am short of words.

Truthfulness pays!

wow... I hope she recovers from the horror. She will live a better life in d USA now, her brother and dad paid the sacrifice. let's pray for Nigeria...

chai Linda this one is small, i know a man and his 3 kids were killed that were killed in the north, then leaving the wife a widow with 2 kids left. Lives have been snatched away Linda, so many lives. I wish Nigerian government can understand how sad people are crying.

Mature words from a little girl. I pray God keep and guide you always and may the souls of your loved ones rest in peace, for Boko Haram members, their cups are full already, God's anger will be upon them soon

ASHANKA said...

Sorry

AJ said...

N dey waited dis long to bring her out to tlk? I smell fish.....
Dis world now....i dnt trust nothing any gvt says/does....capitalists erywhr....why is Somalia still turbulent? why hvnt those self-appointed superhero countries gone to save em? I smell fish.......issokay

she doesn't look hausa.

Vry sad. Boko boys Amadioha from mbaise will visit unu vry soon

Lloyd said...

What's truly going on in Nigeria? God please harken to the voice of good Nigerians .... # Where our girls at ...

God will heal your heart dear. Put your energy into becoming one of the world best.

FunmiD said...

Thank you my sister,may God bless you for voluntaring to speak out.Ihope that useless Muslim Cleric that shared a fake picture to drum up sympathy for his boko haram trainee will read your story and see the evil his students are pepetrating.

Hmmmm God help Nigerians. #CHERRY#

oilandgasdissertation said...

#Goddey

bbm 7439955a said...

Ties.... God protect your children or we join them cos it is like your hands are now smaller and Ur ears are close. ENGR Emy

JESUS CHRIST OF NAZARETH!!
What is this?!

* My R1.50c comment *

Oh!!..na wa!..

*Nita Briggs*

Touching story, your father and bro were victim to the islamic militant. Eventually the chibok girls will be found. God. Will defeat the BH in our country

God, this people are so fucking evil and heartless and may the souls of the dead always hunt them to their graves....

see how fresh she is looking after only a few years in America.

This naija of a country na run down

Pretty young lady with

This is ridiculous and will be traumatic for the poor girl.May God comfort her and give her the fortitude to go past the experience .

Pretty young lady with a sad experience yet very far from hate. That's a true nature of a christian.

Iraq 2.0. Nigerians watch out

What is Nigeria turning to!!
My condolence

#Pesty

na wa oh. if u hv not there u cannot tell. sorry debby, thank God u now live a better life, may the soul of ur father and brother rest in peace. Amen.

via official intercom

Boko bastards, ur time is near, dnt worry bloody bastards, God will visit u pple n ur fucking sponsors unannounced. Young girl, God bless u n ur lovely heart.

halimsy said...

So sad what a pity

Bonario Nnags fought back tears, awww. Linda he seems to be a very soft guy. i Like soft guys and i want to meet him. #eyelashes#. #THATGIRLYGIRL#.
P.S........i also fought back tears, we have something in common already.

mide said...

Etinosa Abi eti osa shut up. She does look hausa. That's how people from far north look. Abi ure intimidated by her beauty? Ode crawl back to your rat hole.

MECURY said...

What about her Mum?

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Yeye dey smell ..!!

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

It's well . You are alive to tell the story !!

Sorry ooo!!, i want to ask, did anyone really listen to the girl spoken English and her ascent?

its ALL false! wake up pple

its all false! wake up blacks wake the fuk up

May God help her.

Sylvonce said...

Wow! Heartbreaking! This has rele got to stop!

Speechless.. May God help her.

LEEZ said...

Saw dis on CNN..the little girl speak so fluently. Pretty girl, thank God for ur life. God will fight for us IJN

@mide. Hausa is d major tribe in d north, bt dat dia ar oda minor tribes wic ar nt hausas nd ar mostly christians. Wic I am one of dem.

May God help her.

America's propaganda to justify their increasing readiness to set up Africom in sub sahara. This is stage managed. Very obvious. Nigerians just believe anything we are sold in the media. Question everything.com

Shut ur dat gutter u call mouth! God forbid!!!!! Its not our portion

AND WHAT DO HAUSA PEOPLE LOOKE LIKE? IS IT ONLY HAUSAS THAT LIVE IN THE NORTH? YOU ARE PROBABLY ONE OF THE IGNORANT NIGERIANS THAT THINK, IGBO, HAUSA AND YORUBA ARE THE ONLY TRIBES IN NIGERIA

Fidel castro, STFU, stop displaying so much stupidity!!!! U cray???? Mtchewww.

Mide must u curse???...ur just like bokogharam...d diff is dat dey ve got sharp weapons yle u ve got sharp mouth.

I love u girl, God will be with you.

Can u pls listen to d intonation of this girl. Could she have so fast change her tongue in 2yrs. Dis is d gal dt her parents were killed 2yrs ago by boko boys. Y shd ds whites fool us all d tym?

Hmmm dis girl did not speak like a Northern raised girl..... Hmmmm I'm not doubting it dat it is stage managed but I do not belive this.... I stayed in de North a lil I could farthom dia spoken Oyibo level....
I thot dat immediately de Almighty American ninjas arrives dey will rescue de girl..... Hmmm Oyibo and dia cunning ways immeasurable like Bar Beach dept.
BH said we are not same but different in many ways biko Ejoor is it not better Dey listen to him and share Nigeria..... Mek person sleep wakeup without bloody News eeeh even Sadam Hussein said it...
Cunning Oyibo forced merged diff Nations together go dia place dey watch dem as Cinema.... And intervening with interest...
Its well my heart goes to thousands of Nigerians huz loved ones never came back bcos bigots blew dem..... Jesus Come and Help us!!!!!

I don't believe this story for a minute!

Looks like another staged act similar to the teenage girl actress back in 1991 who lied before congress claiming to be the daughter of the Kuwaiti ambassador to the US in which she stated that invading Iraqi soldiers were killing Kuwaiti babies in their incubators. Who is this Deborah Peters? How did she get to the United Sates? What is the end game here? Nigeria don enter one chance!

And those idiot want govt to release the prisoners, no problem if they can also return those pple dey ve killed. God will not forgive u. #Bringbackourgirls#

Looks like another staged act similar to the teenage girl actress back in 1991 who tearfully lied before congress claiming to be the daughter of the Kuwaiti ambassador to the US in which she stated that invading Iraqi soldiers were killing Kuwaiti babies in their incubators. Who is this Deborah Peters? How did she get to the United Sates? What is the end game here?

Nigeria don enter one chance!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bch_4Zv_j5Y Her accent isn't even Nigerian!

Looks like another staged act similar to the teenage girl actress back in 1991 who tearfully lied before congress claiming to be a nurse when in fact she was the daughter of the Kuwaiti ambassador to the US whereby she stated that invading Iraqi soldiers were killing Kuwaiti babies in their incubators. Who is this Deborah Peters? How did she get to the United Sates? What is the end game here?

Nigeria don enter one chance!

Hausa Muslims has been killing Christian before Boko Harram came.
pls if you are not a Muslim get out of their mist.they are the killers .they are all vampire.they are blood suckers.they are not human.they ate animals.their emir and politician are the one sponsoring them.they have no God.they are salvage.they are monsters.they are devils.are they the only Muslims in Nigerian..they are cows.they are backwards.they are beggars.there is no dangerous disease in the whole world they do not have.pls if you are not boko harram like them pack your load get out of their mist.sodom and Gomorrah did not do up to them.get out .heaven will opened liquid,molten fire will pure upon them all.get out .come out of their mist.blood will figtt them.weeping will fight them.ghost will fight them.demons will fight them.Earth will fight them.water will fight them.Evil angel will fight them..there camp will become desolate.God will scatter them all over the world and anyone that sees them shall kill them
boko haram is hereby destroyed for ever and ever.in JESUS NAME,AMEN

My people, una look that gal well? U see her skin, accent and composure? I started wondering if na d same naija we all stay. At first, I thought she was a black American until she started her. Pls tell me if am wrong?

Is that all you have to say? Idiot!

They are bastards and will pay

SAD SAD VERY VERY SAD

Oskirin said...

My dear,,words cnt xpress hw my hrt felt whn i read ur story.pls take hrt.God will surely b wit u n make u som1 2 b beta in life.amen.as 4 dos cannibals dt killed ur loved ones,God is watchin n He will gif dem d appropriate punishment dey desav in ds world n d hereafta.uncle joe,pls we knw u r tryin,but u can still do beta.God bless all.

Mind u, it does not take so long for accents to change! If she is around so many whites she will obviously wanna talk lik them.n b4 u know, she gets used to the accent. Bless the babe tho. There is God o! Hmm

This bunch of infidels are receiving their rewards already. The curses in deuteronomy 28 will follow them from now henceforth in Jesuas name, Amen!