Comedian Basketmouth apologizes after rape joke enrages people | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 5 January 2014

Comedian Basketmouth apologizes after rape joke enrages people

The popular comedian broadcast a joke highlighting the difference between a white girl and an African girl and included rape in his list (above) on his Facebook page which enraged a lot of people ...and they came after him.

Basketmouth has since taken down the post and apologized to his fans on his Facebook page. His apology after the cut...

251 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 251 of 251

The point is nobody turned him on his back or against a wall to buy those gifts, why should a lady endure such for receiving a gift?

Sorry but i aint gon support bmouth even after his apology and for those of y'all ladies saying "theres nothing wrong in his statement" then obviously u have never been raped or any of ur friends subjected to such. My close female friend was raped 5 yrs back and it took her more than a yr to recuperate from the shock with the help of shrinks! If she read bmouth purported stupid joke then that would uncover healed wound!
By the way, stop looking down and making a cheap jokes outta our women ...its just totally disrespectful. We aint no white, WE ARE BLACKS and thats our culture.
Am not human right activist but i have a sister i would die for, yes, DIE for.

#daveydave

You sound stupid,how is it dat people emphasize what they do not encourage? Pls explain it to us madam/sir dearest

@blog queen " African girls are more materialistic than their white counterparts " like serzly ??? I bet your ass wouldnt say the same thing when they go through divorce and had to take whatever penny they could to squeeze him dry - child support, house mtenance etc ...pls dont come here with that coz of ya non exposure.
Waste of time , u wouldnt even know i replied u ....
Linda, please work on the "comment reply tab" ( if possible)

#daveydave

All i will say is that he is lucky to be African, and the same Afrian women would still worship him a thousand times over. And he ha so revered the white ladies that, the African women are next to nothing. If he had said this about white ladies, he would be made a persona non granta to most of the developed nations in the world and he would be called a racist! So he should just ignore and move on and never make such errors anymore

flante said...

Bright shared a joke not meant for the public.I don't see him as a rapist. He's just shared the wrong joke. Now that highlights a salient point. Eye contact and cyber viewers.never merge them together......

Yes its a joke,but was taken too far,african dignity over sex and rape is sacrosanct...we dont pre..marital sex and rape as a way of quenching sexual tension is a taboo.something are meant to be left the way they are,we are africans we strong roots and traditions,not outlaws,we must not be like the westherners who have sex after the third date.bad one@basket_mouth. @mezinna

FOLAMMY said...

People are just getting emotional unnecessarily, it was just a scenario analysis. it doesn't mean he supports rape. it's even an eye opener for ladies who go after material things. of course RAPE is not a good thing and anybody in his/her right sense would not support it. Nigerians should be objective in their reasoning.

pple should know dat basket is a comedian not a politician,activisite or doctor. so any broadcast massage with similar content should be taking as a joke nothing more! more over the joke in question did not rape any body.....haba Naija,we have other pressing issues dat are more important and obviosly defiling our rights as humans...basket i beg if u get another hot rape joke trow make i laff.

CHARLY CHAMPAYNE said...

THE FACT IS HE HAS ACCEPTED AND APOLOGIZED,I HOPE THESE JUDGES WILL ALSO WRITE OPEN LETTERS LIKE THIS TO OUR POLITICIANS? BCOS IT WAS JUST A JOKE N EVERYONE HAS SOMETHING TO SAY EXPECIALLY THE LAWYERS WITHOUT SENSE OF HUMOUR.BM I HAIL JARE BUT PLS U DON SEE AM NA? READ AM WELL B4 POSTING NEXT TIME

I guess his coporate sponsors find it very funny?

hey pals,wasnt offended...twas only a joke,maybe wrongly articulated. well said

FOOLS! Na Ordinary Joke joor , makw una get lost !!!

the joke doesnt imply that white people are cheap, it implies that they are loving and true to their feelings while black women are fake, materialistic and stingy with toto

I agree with u tots!

I agree with you tots!

Agains nigerians being hypocrates,ezekewesili as a minister den wot did she do to stop rape,dis r tins dat hapens daily nd yet dy dnt do anyfin abt it,yet some1 makes an innocent joke nd dy flare up,c dem articles of no commercial value...abeg basket mouth no mind dem, give us more jokes....ceo

linda happy new year, as far as am concern basketmouth doesn't have jokes noting reasonable to joke on. if is not sex, it will be kiss, if is not kiss it will be rape. is that what he want the youth of this day to learn? thank God he has a daughter.

Plz post my comment.

Nigerians nd dia poor sense of humour...smh4 all dose who see it offensive,he jes stressed dat 9ja babes lyk moni nd deny d guys...same tun dy av been acting wif all d funi skits,he ddnt mean anytin insultive...jes unfortunate pple lack a sense of humour

Africans dnt lyk JOKES...mayb dats y he's hosting shws in london,nd any1 who tink itz offensive lacks an iota of humour in him...none at all...(•_•)

Thank you.
Very well said indeed.

for Christs sake there is absolutely nothing wrong with this joke,that is why its a joke,what the heck is wrong with nigerians,this is not the first tym such joke has been made...to me basketmouth shouldnt have apologized.....

lexusgs430 said...

Attempted sex is not rape !!!!

I am not a fan of Basket Mouth, I believe his joke has been taken out of context. He certainly isn`t encouraging anyone to rape. I believe you all know what he meant by the joke especially you Nigeria girls who turn Nigeria men to their ATM machines. Stop condemning him and stop being a hypocrite.

I'm a woman, that has endured the trauma of being raped! And trust me it haunts you for the rest of your life.
But even I know this is a joke! And in all honesty there's some "realness" to it. That's really what nigerian girls do! And after chopping the man's naira, instead of them to go to their father's house and sleep, they "sleep-over"!
They create the avenue for "rape"!.
Na we dey cause our problem.
Everyone should stop getting their knickers in a twist! It's just a joke and NOT a tasteless one. (if I do say so myself) (speaking as a victim).

Nigerians wit dia problem,basket mouth was only crackin a joke,u'all misundastood him....abeg SOL SYLVA was here

Rapist camouflaging under anon. Flipping idiots!! I think Bright's joke rather shed some light on the degenerated state of things in Nigeria where a man feels he can rape a woman just because he's been on several dates with her and feels justified. I can definitely understand how a rape victim would find this distressing but more importantly, I think Nigerian men need to take a deeper reflective look at themselves and honestly decide where they fall in the grand scheme of things because at the end of the day, they all came out of women too. And at anon 9:47, I just pray you get caught during your next attempt to rape because you seem to think it is ok after all the gifts and failed attempts. #smh

You are really daft!

Honest Nigerian said...

Abeggi all ds hypocrites shuld go and jump in a lagoon. First of all, it was a joke. There are loads of jokes that are more offensive. Personally, I do not even see the offense in the joke. What he stated is a fact. Not that I condone such, or rape - truth is, some girls bring it on themselves. I still reiterate, I DO NOT CONDONE RAPE!!

Secondly, the dude apologized and he's still being crucified. Why must we always behave like this. WHITE pple would not do that. They would even laugh at the joke, cos that's all it is.. A JOKE.

There are all kinds of jokes, about religion, tribe, accents, school, sex, etc, but they are all as stated... JOKES.

Abeg make we hear word. Some of the pple complaining, have even raped someone before. The girl does not need to bleed. Once she dint want to do it and u convinced/deceived her, it is rape.

What is even more surprising is the number of females who see nothing wrong with making a 'joke' out of rape and who continue to venerate basketmouth. The problem here is that basketmouth has normalised rape with his 'joke'. Thankfully, people are actually speaking out against rape which is a great result

Rubbbbish.....so madam babara u are now a vivid advocator for
ladies parasiting on men for money they don't knw its origin...its
a two way thing o...basketmouth is even sensitizing the public
on the dangers of continiously eating a mans money and coming
back without reciprocating, u sud giv anuda 2hrs lecture note to
gals advising them to stop eating people hard earned money and
inviting the person on.....I see u as a hypocrite , let basketmouth
be joooooor...and take the joke as a joke which it rightly
is...goooooooosh!

Honestly, I luved d joke and laffed abt it. Km on peeps, lets nt alwayz act as victims here na. If nt uncle sege for don finish many comedians by nw na. I also think his kmn out to apologize wz kool and shd be well appreciated and accepted by all. Cheers y'all

Nice one bro nothing is wrong with it anyway it is a joke why are you people taking it P

Nice one bro I don't thing anything is wrong with it anyway it is a joke don't no why you people are taking it P

Best said...

What is wrong with the post, he was not encouraging rape rather pointing out one of the reasons that results to guys raping girls. Good he apologized but if you ask me, I don't see need for that because there is nothing comedians don't joke about. A decent girl don't accept gift from every man let alone unnecessarily demanding from a guy who is not your father. Diss me for my comment, who cares. Linda, do justice to this post

Best said...

If you have ever been raped, I am very sorry about that but why were you raped? If you were raped for the same reason basket mouth posted the joke, then you should learn a lesson from it. I have attempted sleeping with a girl I spent on, if I had succeeded, it would have been tagged rape if she takes up the matter but when she was milking me, reducing my wallet, she never thought of the fact that I might make my demand in return. Lets be sincere to ourselves. I am not saying this is the only reason why girls are raped but one of the reasons. Linda, this is a fall out, add it to my initial post

Frankly, I don't see what's ao offensive about this joke. People just want to make a big deal out of everything n give a bad name to celebs. It makes them feel somewhat educated when dey have to write a letter of displeasure. Yeah WTH! I actually laughed wen I saw d joke. Maybe cos am a joker myself...hehe.

Frankly I do not see the wrong in this joke. Some people just like being the grinch that stole Christmas. Give jr self a heart attack cos someone who we know is a joker made a joke...yes...duh!
For many taking a hit at celebs is just a way to feel important since u dnt get noticed often n so you can also seem educated by writing long ass letters. Well hell, add Basket to d long line of jokers... Eddie Griffin, said Nigger. Basket, said Rape.

Mofe said...

Is it yur money aw be spending by goin for his shows? Anofia... Y dnt u advise a death sentence for him nw.... Bush man

Olekanma Prince M.

I still do not understand why people will get annoyed over a joke? Whatever is said there was intended to make people laugh and nothing more-that's why its called joke.

Abeg make una talk serious thing and free the young man.

Mtwwwwwwwwwweeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!

You even have time to apologise; them dey yab mama and papa for yoke nobody dey yarn, e mean say mama and papa no be serious thing?
make una hide face jare.

Na me say so. keep it up brother.

I still don't get why people are offended over a real joke?

Its what Nigeria girls do to be frank; some will tell a desperate man that they want a relationship but on the condition that they will only be partying, no sex. Who dey fool who? Yam or Goat?

Moreover it is called a joke, na comedy. People say possible things to make people laugh.

Make una free my bros jare, haters should try hugging a trans4mer. He even had time to say sorry. Only dull brains will complain.

If we continue to get annoyed over nothing, soon there will be no joke bcos if you yab politicians u go go jail, you yab police u go cell, etc.

Wise up naija.

I have a terrible sexual abuse past and even I wasn't irritated by the joke. Esther and all the other career hungry people need to chill. After all the rants, what has been done to help us victims? Nothing. They were silently pushing their careers enough to be appointed ambassadors out of a comedian's mistake. Shame.

chill people... Basket-mouth is a professional entertainer who tells jokes or performs various other routines DESIGNED to make people laugh.
C O M E D Y!!!!! a comedian is a joker anytime his job is to amuse.....shouldn't take what they say seriously... dats y he is a comedian anyways.

Na joke nah... Nawa Ooo

Why nigerian girls talk dis serious.... It jost an ordinary joke, so pls accept his apologies

Really?! Nigerians got offended about this joke? I mean we've heard countless of such jokes and we laugh over it! It now appears like I'm a stranger in Nigeria, Naija youths that I knw even prefer to joke over more serious matters! I fink Basketmouth really needs to pray against his enemies that might want him faceoff this year. This joke isn't worth the rejection. It remains a joke from a comedian and nothing more!

Azzinn eh! Na real ode e be!!!

Gerrout Saddist!

This is all bullshit!! ... Nigerian girls and their wahala... For heaven's sake the guy calls himself 'Basket Mouth' this is not the 1st time he says something like this.... Kai!! I can't believe am a Nigerian self (˘̯˘ ) .. All this mumu girls pressing ctrl P on what does not make sense.. It just a joke.
Awon eda sha!! ( ˘˘̯)

nigerian flaw said...

abegg nigerians are annoying dat joke is the absolute truth african or rather nigerian gals themselves trigger rape how many rape cases ar recorded among white gals?few off course xcept india anyway so abeg basketmouth is sayin d truth

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 251 of 251   Newer› Newest»