Question of the day: Would you give your kidney to someone you are dating? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 13 September 2013

Question of the day: Would you give your kidney to someone you are dating?

Say you love them and you've been dating for a long time (but not married) and they need a kidney, would you offer yours? Why and why not?

712 comments:

1 – 200 of 712   Newer›   Newest»

How sure am I dat he will marry me? Abeg o!people are so dubious lately! No be only love!

As far as you truly and deeply love the person you wouldn't even think twice, its a decision anyone in love will take unequivocally!!

Linda, odikwa very risky o.

NEVER !!!!!!!!!!!!! Won't even give it a 2nd thot .

Never! I can't even give my kidney to my husband. The only people that have proven over time that they deserve my kidney are my parents and siblings. Every other person should bounce. My husband can never get my kidney. Not in this lifetime talk less of a bloody boyfriend. Most Nigerian men are bastards and after you die he will simply carry your kidney and marry someone else within 7 months!

Women shine your eyes. Abeg.

i dnt tink so.. But 2 my wife nd kids.. I can

Ɣξα̲̅ђ ℓ̊ can..its a sign of true love

Why not?

FIBROID AND INFERTILITY

I will offer mine if we planned to get married.

Sure I will,,,I hope

it depend on how the relationship has been all these while....

If he has been a loving guy and has always ruined the lipstick not the mascara, why not????

if the relationship has been a clean one, so much love, honesty, no betrayals, no negatives, a score of 95/100. Sure why not????

if otherwise....OYO is his case! #straight face

I D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣γ̲ cwaze? Guy wey fit abandone M̶̲̥̅ƺ the 2nd dae of the kidney transplantation....choi!! I ŊO̶̷̩̥̊͡ D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣γ̲ do oooo.

RhodiesWorld(http://rhodiesworld.com/) said...

No, i cant give to someone i am dating. because, the person might walk away with my kidney. But i can donate to my spouse.
More @ rhodiesworld.com

follow @rhodiesworld
www.rhodieworld.com

No way. He didn't drop from the sky,so his family shld donate theirs.

My honest answer..yes if he worth it.

Lucyblings said...

Of cos I can. B'cos I believe it goes beyond love it a matter of life and death. I cld even giv it 2 a strenger so y not wit som1 I truely love. It doesn't dere's a breakup after that d most important tin is dat I didn't lose a loved one to kidney failure.

I doubt if ill do that o except im married to him. The guy can decide He's no longer interested and thats my loss.

Hell yeah. No questions asked. My girlfriend would do the same in a heart beat, if i held on to my kidney and she died i would NEVER recover.

I am sorry if this sounds odd to some, but love is real and true, and understanding that part of yourself that needs another does not make you weak, it gave me unprecedented to make it through my darkest hours.

So yes, whats a kidney when she has my heart.

Very funny! I can't love to that extent jore..... So long as we aint married I won't try that shit. Love ko dating nii *yawns*

Yes because ı date d person ı love,am marrıed now o

Considering how stupid and ungrateful men are, I wouldn't, i cld be a looser at the end.

yes i would. first, donating a kidney will not kill me. secondly, i would be probably saving a life and most of all...for love's sake...hmmm...i will give it a good shot! ...bless u!

Mich said...

Seeing that I can survive on one kidney,I could gladly give the other to someone I love if they needed it to stay alive.
But the underlying factor is LOVE.
Can I ever love anyone that much?

sdk's first lady said...

Hell to the No,wot if my oda kidney fail 2mao..is he goin to give me my kidney back?i cant oh,his mum shud be able 2give him nd if he doesnt av parents den may God see him thru,a guy wud neva attempt to sacrifice any part of his body for any girl,its only girls dt love unconditionally Guys dont SHIKENA

no i cant,cos were dating.he can always walk out of my life at any point in time.i can only do such if we were married,or engaged planing our weding arrangements

Yes i would give my kidney to save him/her. However, since we have been dating for a long time and i am willing to give part of my body and risk my life to save his/hers, it may make some sense to get married first so we are one (as they say 2 come together in marriage to make 1. This way, i ll be giving part of my body and risking my life to save whats mine... (my husband / wife).

It should be titled "Question for the gods".

@Bobo_Edo

I can't oooo bcos I dnt trust men

I won't even give my husband. I can only give a sibling or my child. All these men that are not trust worthy. If he leaves me for another woman nko? Or starts cheating. I can contribute money for my husband to buy a kidney but I will never give mine. Never!

Pastor Kingsley Onyekanna said...

I can give my kidney to anyone whether I will marry her or not what matters is to save a life

Give ko, give ni

Ehhnnnnn? Dating ooo.. So i shuld donate today and 2mrw she starting telling stories hw we were never ment to be together.. ahhhhhh Kojooorrr mehhnnn..
~PHANTOM ~

Anyone in need of my kidney,reply me. I donate for free!! Not kidding

Of course I can..I'll do anything to save my man from dyeing!!

What kind of question is this? do you mean key or kidney? ok i can give my key to someone i am dating....

God forbid bad thing

CAPITAL NO. Only if we are married, not dating tins

For whr I fit giv my family bt nt someone who may decide to leave me tmorrow,biko aku luo uno

Givers club ni...no way...maybe my husband but not a boyfriend. What if he dumps me later...LOBATAN!!!

Yes, if he is a selfless person like me. Some pple deserve the world

Janelicious said...

Yes if am really in love with you,but if am just dating u for dating sack nay noway

NEVERRRR ..nt even my husband let him die

DoubleV said...

What ever you D̶̲̥̅̊ø, you D̶̲̥̅̊ø for L♥√ع.If̅ the person involve will marry you in future ȋ̝̊̅§ not bad at all but Linda think ☺f̶̲̥̅̊ dis, what If̅ d donor ȋ̝̊̅§ abandon later in future? Babe e risky sha.

JJ said...

Linda, dating relationships come and go. Sometimes they work, other times, they don't. I would say, no marriage, no kidney..haha.

Tough dilemma here, well I can if I am 100% certain she will be my wife but if na all these naija boys wey dey Malaysia, my dear u miss road(those niggas can be so desperate and dont mind selling the entire two)

No I wouldn't. For no damn reason. But really. It's not guaranteed we would end up together. Tuoyo.

Y not

Dating. No.
Married. Def, yes.

A lot of things might go wrong, healthwise. We may break up, if we do will I get my kidney back?

Fikky

Me I want to fall in luv,it bin three years now no bf am tired...I need tender loving care...

Odikwa risky.
No I can't. datsall.

bitchplis said...

No...in life there are no guarantees!

Unto wat nau?lets get married first bfor I start thinking of it

ME&E said...

Mogbeeee!! Kidney its nt a thing 2 joke with, I will but defntly nt 2 the kind of girls around these days...they r nt worth it..speakin as a guy tho? Am a livin witness

Never,ever,ever, Ever never never ever never never Ever will I do such, for someone like me who's gone through a lot. I won't and I won't advice woman to do such

Ayoade said...

Someone I'm dating? Mo sorry gan ni oooo, abi mo ti fun ni?

Femi Coker said...

Yes, If she deserves it.
Some girls are not even worth the tot, speak less of the attempt.
While some are worth even more than a kidney.

chyko said...

I won't unless we are married! Love is not foolish.

Anne said...

NO..so that after that he'll probably dump me abi!

OKUNRIN3 said...

Not married? A confident NO! I can do it and w'll still go our seperate ways afterwards...that's how cruel/unfair life can be. But if it's a married partner Oh Yes!

fikky babe said...

No.

Anne said...

NO..so that after that he'll probably dump me abi!

Pple do it 4 less... So givin Som1 I luv nd care about is no bigge...Even if we eventually don't get married be glad I help save a life....

chyko said...

I won't do that unless we are married,love is not foolish.

Kidney lohun lohun? Is it biscuit?

I don't know if i can or not. But if i would have to, him and his family will have to promise me with wotever they blive in never to betray me cos guys can really be funny.

No….not to someone I am currently dating, not even if he has proposed…..There is no actual bond….

#M Bush said...

Of Course, I will, even for a good friend I will donate.even doh its not easy, I wil and believe God for a perfect healing

Alcohol Hangover: What You Need To Know said...

For my spouse, it's possible but for my date...it's hard.

nma said...

U kno d hat of man is very evil..u can give dem nd lera I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ life dey turn dia backs on u by marrying anoda person sayin u're incomplete...A̶̲̥̅♏ jst saying oo...

yes yes i will donate ma kidney to Him. not because i am in love with him but because i want to safe his life. Once i am medically fit, i will gladly assist.

NO! Because they will dump you!! He'll feel like he jas a new life and he will wan2 live it to the fullest..he'll say he wants to explore and shit!! "But thanks for giving me a second chance" will be his last words! Take it from someone who knows...you will be left with one kidney and a broken heart!!!

↭PRINCE JOBLESS↭ said...

Well, she would have to earn it unless she's my wife. I wouldn't want a situation where we would part ways with my fucking kidney in her stomach.

No way!!! I won't do that for any man in dis world. They r not worth it at all. Rubbish.

Hell NO,why the prolonged dating, believes his not an orphan, let his family member donate theirs.

Mab said...

No fucking way

Linda said...

No

Hell no.we jt dating not yet married so I can't guarantee notin yet

A resounding YES!!!Cos if I have to date u,I must be in super love wt u.nd of course if we had planned to spend d rest of our lives together

Hmmmm. 1st,I wouldn't o. That's how my sister had someone she was dating. When she mentioned it to us,hmmm,it didn't go down well in my mum's ears o. Even when I thought of it,I couldn't imagine it o,like my sis wld be left with just one kidney? Hia! May such nevr be mentioned again.

Ajaero T.M. said...

Donate my kidney to someone i am dating? I must be very stupid to try such. The last time i checked, my name is not Jesus Christ.

No...so that wen he gets better her will carry my kidney nd probably fall in love wit anoda..if we're married,no problem...pls guys are not d best behaved nd yes Maybe in some farytale whr all things r guaranteed 2 end with "happily ever after" then I"ll gladly do it by in reality, I need some guarantee that I won't regret it. So if we're married and I he ur kids, I"ll give you..if u lik carry it nd still b cheating as long as u carry my kidney nd still return to ur family..

Rough Diamond said...

I won't !
Amoye love!

Ehhhnnn, for what??? Abegoooo, mk man pikin no go put hand for inside fire. Linda, dating kwa.#clappibg my hands 2geda and laffing like patience ozokwor#. D best wat to answer dis question is to 1st ask urself,What will my mother do to me if my mother were patience ozokwor and she heard me considering donating my kidney to sm1 im DATING? Honestly dt wil guide ur approach to d ansa of dis questn.#laffs# Mmadu ga nwu oooo

NO never not for someone I am dating

What am I smoking? Dusting powder?? I'm certainly not high on grounded egusi n achi! Dating you say,we are not even married n I'd be donating my kidney. When we get married that's if it ever happens I'd be donating my soul. SMH

That's really a tough one, I would do so depending on the level of commitment.females r usually soft hearted tho, most guys CAN'T do this for their gf no matter aw the love is
P.s am a lady

Hi Linda. Good question.I will say a very Big yes, on the condition that it will be done in a very good hospital. Cos it's better for a life to be lost than both....

OKE... said...

No No and No...the heart of a Man is full of deciet,nt running a charity service with my body parts.

Never!!

..........jay1

OKE... said...

Linda why aint u posting my comments na???

N O. Unto wat na, spare part dealer? I av not started smoking dry shit yet nd don't plan to.

The only person I owe my life to is my Husband, no1 less.

Lol linda nwa ikeji who doeset that..you been dating me for long and your brain didn't tell you there is something called commitment and you want me to commit my kidney. Unto wetin naaaaaaaa

If I hear..

As for me my own love no reach that level for someone am just dating even if he has proposed. His farmily should help him out with that. Sorry I cant.

Beulahkalu said...

Never!! They aint worth it...

If I'm fit 2 donate,yes I will because I believe in helping somebody in need.

The person am dating now, nd we've been together for 2years is an angel, he took me from nothing nd I know where I am now, in cases like mine, I won't bat an eyelid! Yes I will donate!

BELLA! said...

Hell no! Let's get married 1st.

byeola said...

y not? once true luv is dir and I can survive with the one left.

KSmith said...

Since she is not wife yet and no in-laws, I can't sacrifice my Kidney. It is not like blood donation. Click to view my Art works

kiki said...

NO

Yes I will if I can give my blood 2 someone I don't even know I can give by kidney 2 my love because if he dies I will not 4give my self

If am sure i really do love her, I will consider it. though a tough choice but I will if I can really live with one

Yes I can..if it dosnt affect me

Join the dance for peace flashmob ff @9jaflashmob and like www.facebook.com/naijaflashmob

@Linda....Never...I will not......

My Love dey wear ''contact Lens oo''

If i gv him my Kidney,,,den he will leave me and marry anoda

Men are nt to be Trusted

No o i won't try such mistake.instead she should just die since there are enuf women 2 replace her just like goldie

hmmm If really Ioove her i may consider it..... but it is a tough choice

Sure,if my kidney is a matching one,I will donate because human life is involved.

Brothers Deli Peabody said...

Onlyhesitation inain time in your life are you allowed to make this type of decision. If you had asked me this question even just a year ago, I would have said no. At the moment however, I have a strong yearning to start a family. This yearning would drive me to save the life of the one person I choose to begin this part of my life with.

In short, I am ready to say "yes" to the person who I choose to start this part of my life with, regardless of the approval of my church or a piece of paper that states I am legally binded to them.

:D

Any hesitation answering this question means you are not ready and should say "no" to save the both of you from the serious emotional trauma that would follow a break-up after such a life changing decision.

You literally have to feel like you would die for this person, as it might actually happen if you are need of the kidney you gave away in the future.

I don't fink so wats d probabilty dat afta givin him he won't dump me 4 anoda gurl? As u av said we r still datin. 1st 2 comment hahaha

givers never lack ni

Tunji said...

NO

I reserve my comment

Dr. Me said...

no unless we sign a contract that we marry immediate she recovers and that she'll pay me severely if she leaves me. can't afford to suffer a heartbreak with a kidneybreak

LOL ABI MO TI GIVE ENI

LOL

Reserve my comment

BUKOLA SAMUEL said...

If I live the fast life - Drink, smoke, party hard- then giving one of my kidney might not even be advisable, but...

If I don live the fast life, why not! Apart from being my lover, this persn is also a human being and has the right to live life to possible fullest.

Its more health than emotional.

Thanks.

Beauty Queen 19 said...

If i can gladly donate to a stranger, i don't see why not.

Am always RIGHT said...

first, that would depend on whether my two kidneys are intact (its obvious i wouldn't give out my only kidney). Secondly, (lets say my two kidneys are intact) what is the definition of love in this context? infact linda, if my kidneys complete i fit consider ooo, but if my kidney na one I NOR DE GIVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i will not since its dating

sarah said...

Hmmm! With dis kinda characters guys of dis days put up, I don't think so.u might just do it n u get a broken hrt in return...(thinking)I can't

never absolutely not. i ope i am the first comment

give kor, take ni. Infact, Make hin carry gun come collect am na. pesin i never marry.

i will not since its dating

kunle said...

This sounds tough. Someone i am not sure will be my everlast behalf and in-laws. Love get degree. Learn 2eat healthy, the right way.

temi said...

Ermm... Hell no!! cs d world is rotating....he can abandon me 2mao & when he does dt pple will say 2 me y were u stupidly in luv. Preventn is beta dan cure. B4 u marry a prsn sef he shld be complete i'm not supposed 2 be doin wat his family are meant 2 do bh I can support him financially.

I could, but nothing lasts forever including life and love.

Never. Women can never be trusted

Hia. This is tough... If we are not married, it would be tough..

Ah ah,Ơ̴̴͡.̮Ơ̴̴͡ m̶̲̥̅ε̲̣̣̣̥ Ơ̴̴͡.̮Ơ̴̴͡ trouble o!He N̶̲̥̅̊Ơ̴̴͡ get family?Why would I give ♍y̲̣̣̣̥ kidney to him?Hian!..If I give ΐτ̅ to him and he dumps ♍y̲̣̣̣̥ ass,what happens?I will now be the single lady with only one kidney.God forbids!

Yomi said...

Kidney? I'll gladly give it out if that person is close to my heart. But if not, that will be an enigma to give it out

Yomiprof.com

I can't,cos d probability of him/her nt marrng u is 100 percent .

No....and let another woman enjoy my kidney.

1st 2 comment//if am so in2 him sure I will donate ma kidney buh if he breaks ma heart I will drug him nd take it bak asap.@sassylisle

4 waitn nah? D guy no get relatives? His gf msn't b an option abeg. Sefini!

if and only if am the last resort. www.aktor365.blogspot.com

If no one wants to, I guess I could donate
*orlanda*

Rockstar said...

There was this Hockey coach, who normally comes to watch some talented hockey players train every week. He noticed a particular dude who was really very good at his game. One day he noticed that the guy never had not shown up for training for more than 2 weeks. He inquired from the coaching team and was told that the guy had been in and out of hospital due kidney failure, and needed a kidney transplant. No relation of this guy, this man quietly donated his kidney which was a match, so that this young man could live again and have a chance to pursue his dreams. He didn't broadcast it, not sought for compensation in anyway.

I guess that answers your question Linda. The moment we loose our humanity, that is the day we no longer deserve to exist.

If you have love, you have everything. Imagine living in a world where the only acceptable currency was love... Imagine living in a world where the quality of our lives is measured by the amount of love we gave and received...spent between friends and strangers generously?
It is the missing link we all need to make our lives whole. So yes, I will donate my kidney to a total stranger, not to talk of the one i love.

Nilla said...

NO!!

Even with marriage will have to think twice not to talk of just dating....its a No

Depending on my luv for d person gbam. DD

All of you that replied No. Think about it if it is the other way around i.e you asked for a kidney and your partner did not give you.

Anyway, this one that they are saying for partner, my friend's siblings refused to give their dad a kidney. Their own father!!!

first to comment........no i would not because they might later leave you

I will if I love d person involved

For What !!!!
Never except for my wife......

nzubeizuu said...

Dating? Not even married!Mtcheeew! After, he will take my kidney and go and be enjoying with another woman?God punish am there!It's only the man who deemed it fit to take me to the altar that is worth considering. I will even think twice before giving him my kidney cos if anything happens to me in the course of the operation, once he gets well, na to go marry another wife sharp sharp!

xtinexxx said...

if u say married...YES...but dating NO NO...coz men re ungrateful SOB

Lindodo......if u don get boy friend u should give him ur kidney u hear good girl

Wahoo! 1st to comment. U need to think before answering dis Question.

U said long tym. Y d delay. Hopefully I will use my head n say no. Coz dre is agud chance he doesn't luv me enuff 2 marry me. Den wat? Walks away wit my kidney while I m stuck wit 1. Wat of if my own immediate family need. I will say I gave 2 an ex. No way! Just sayin...D Curious1

charis said...

Yes, I can give him my kidney. Not because we are dating or because I love him sooo much but because I am saving a life.

NO THANK YOU!!

grace oni said...

kidney, is a very important to human, I can't give a kidney because of Boyfriend girl friend love. I will give because it is the right thing to do. But I will not give becuse we'er not married

Wel,it depends on the level of luv n trust we ve 4 each other

I would not tell a person I love you, if I don't mean it. So, for me to have said to someone I love, it means I have plans of living with you for the rest of my life. So, I will not let this be a setback for my happiness. I will give her my other kidney.

Y not? If d relationship get head nd I can live perfectly wel with only one kidney, and d operation would b complication free

Yes I would if he truly loves me,but any attempt to misbehave afterwards or jilt me,na to collect my thing back sharp sharp!

Of course i can't cos anytin cn appen

*+ONYX GODWIN* f I really love d person,I can.. Can't stand d fact dat d love of ma life is goin 2 die while iv got wat can save him!!!! Love is a funny thing really!!! "Wat wud it profit me not donatin my kidney 2 ma love and remain forever frustrated hun?" *ONYX GODWIN*

Well........I would do so without thinking twice about it.......if u say u love someone ,then I fink u should be able to make any sacrifice for a gal u love......for me I don't relatively care if she loves me or not.....but for the fact that I love her and she need's it....then I woudnt fink twice....if she's happy and well am also happy and well....kwning I gave someone a chance at life is enough happiness for me

Mrs E said...

I would have, but thankfully will not! Feelings change. What of if I did it only to later realise that the man is a rat. Men are mostly ingrates that have very short memories. Die in the process of giving your life for a man and 2months later he'll rebound with someone else. Men are opportunistic creatures

Chinevu said...

No!!! Maybe if she is my wife

jay said...

Appyling the question to my present relationship....yes I definitely would as long as it doesn't endanger my own life.. Coz I dunno how I'd ever live without him.

i will bcs of d love that esist btw us, bcs if that person dies i wnt c him or her again n dat will make unhappy, n wats life without happiness n d one u truelly love

Linda, let start from you, will you?

I will....wholeheartedly

it depends, i believe when in love you can do anything to make your partner happy see a true life story CLICK HERE.

I will and also make sure we get married immediately..whos gonna tk care of me?

Yes, I will if I am very sure we will get married at the end of the day

No I won't *Strolls away*

i dey mad?make i give her mae she no marry me again...sae na only 1 kidney i get

Hell no! Dere must b a reason we were not married if we v been dating for that long....

fuck no

GODWIN said...

No hOW ABOUT if he dumps you.LOOKING FOR BUSINESS CAFE IN LEKKI 1? LABONITA COPY CENTRE, MAINSTREET BANK BUILDING LEKKI 1. LAGOS

Kay said...

My point is if you have been dating for that long, why has he not pooped the question. Something like giving a kidney away is very serious. This is not borrow me £500 and I will pay you back….this is my Kidney. Then a couple years later if it does not work out, what will you say. To be honest to myself I don’t think I would…..humans can be wicked

pearl said...

Love never fails nd love is kind. So yh.

All these yeye guys around. hmmmn, you will give him your kidney and a year later he will tell you he just met a new babe and breaks up with you. Men are not worth the sacrifice oooo..................

For what na? If we are married sef, I go still think am

may said...

Lai lai!! I'm nt married to him remember? There is always that probability that he might leave me for someone else....

Absolutely not!! Which kind love be dat? My Aunty survived wit one kidney for only 10yrs.. Do d math' if he no marry me Lata.. I might not live long enuff to find anoda love..

I will never do that. Cos men r not to be trusted, they r promiscuous in nature. If I give him my kidney n he never really loves me, he will marry me out of pity and still be carrying small girls

If am married to her.....linlin abeg post my comment oo

No be only kidney...... I go donate my pussy join. No man deserve dat kain love na. linkkoko abeg no try am o

Yes I will

Flora said...

Linda listen to urself, some1 ure dating, nope

Why would I wanna offer mine? So he can then suddenly realise that I'm not the woman of his dreams and go to marry some other babe wit my kidney. Men are too treacherous to deserve such generosity.

Yeah Sure why not! As long as am gonna Marry her. I mean Yolo right!

Question is would they give me theirs? For me, hmm, hmm, I don't know oh! Depends on the kind of relationship, if it's a relationship that's going somewhere, why not? What better way to begin a life together than giving her a part of me. But if it's that kind of relationship we are in till something better comes along, I will help her look for a donor. At least life is not Gray's anatomy.

angel said...

I could do that becos d main tin is helpin sum1 in need when u can as Jesus tot us......its a tough decision though

Hehehehe nobody wants to comment on dis one...passin by wit high speed

Yeah Sure why not! As long as am gonna Marry her. I mean Yolo right!

treKnaija said...

Unnmmbaaa, eewo orisa

daisy said...

no way ooo.i nr do

Will not try it. Cos u r not married to d person at d end of d day after he/she gets better he will get anoda soul or he/she may pity u n get married to you even when they feel they don't want to.

Bolateetoh said...

I can only if he's willing to keep it between d two of us. Like a secret thingy!

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 712   Newer› Newest»