20 Best African Stand Up Comedians 2013 - Do you agree? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 8 September 2013

20 Best African Stand Up Comedians 2013 - Do you agree?

Another controversial list, compiled by popular comedy site Officiallaughs.com (not Nigerian) listing the top 20 best stand up comedians in Africa. The cute guy above is apparently the best in Africa, followed by our very own Basketmouth. See the top twenty below and tell us if you agree...

1 Trevor Noah (South Africa)
2 Basketmouth (Nigerian)
3 Michael Blackson (Ghana)
4 Riaad Moosa (South Africa)
5 Klint The Drunk (Nigeria)
6 David Kau (South Africa)
7 Daliso Chaponda (Malawi)
8 I Go Dye (Nigeria)
9 Eric Omondi (Kenya)
10 Eddie Kadi (Congo)

I don't really have much of an opinion here because I don't know who some of these comedians are... but Bovi should definitely be in the top 20 best in Africa. See the remaining after the cut

11 Loyiso Gola (South Africa)
12 Ali Baba (Nigeria)
13 David Kibuuka (South Africa)
14 Kasambwe Mpulamasaka (Zambia)

15 Nik Rabinowitz (South Africa)
16 Foxy P (Nigeria)
17 John Vlismas (South African)
18 A Dot (Nigerian)
19 Daniel Omara (Uganda)
20 Gbenga Adeyinka (Nigeria)

299 comments:

1 – 200 of 299   Newer›   Newest»

How the fuck is A-dot on the list. This list is possessed

Crap

diidy23 said...

D mumu dat is writin dis shit shuld beta stop. Wher is bovi(akpos), wher is Julius d great agwu, wher is okey bakassi, wher is infact......wher is everybody? I was listenin to a southafrican comedy d oda day & shit.....dese guys were repeatin basketmouth & bovi's jokes. So how com?????

Rough Diamond said...

Klint ke?
Ali baba *dry*
Abeg who be A dot?
Truly where is bovi? Sheyi law?
Abeg I disagree!

Ali baba should be 1st and basket 2nd then d trevor guy followed by I Go Die....the rest dey back sha

Happy for Basketmouth..... Long time coming

Gbenga Adeyinka ought not be on the list abeg.....

Where's my BOViiiiii d Fish?????????#ChopPedChampion????

Ali Baba and Gbenga Adeyinka shouldn't even be on the list sef.

jokers list.whoever compilled this list is a huge joke.am in ghana,never heard of blankson whoever.infact ghana has only one comedian..funny face.foster,oscar and the local comedians will not even make top 1000 list.mainwhile where is gordons?i go save?pencil?elenu?youngest landlord?bovi?abeg na yeye list.make them go sleep.

Hajjo said...

My thots exactly; didn't even finish d list before thinking BOVI!!! Dat guy na #FreshFish

Are u guys seriouse with this list? Where is "Bovi"? Even "Julius"

I'm just glad AY is not there!

Favourmoyse Blog said...

Biko bovi should replace klint* jus saying*

Favourmoyse Blog said...

Linda Bovi is not funny, he tries too hard! Better post na comment.

daempress said...

What the hell is gbebga adeyinka doing there,and who's foxy p,why can't I find bovi on the list

Olumide Samuel said...

I've heard of all Nigerians there except that foxy p. I'm a fan of basketmouth anyway...

Favourmoyse Blog said...

Ali baba shuld b no. 5 and klint shuldnt b on dis list @ all (˘̯˘ )

Im sure they re just kidding.....who is foxy p? and who says gbenga adeyinka is a comedian? Abeg enuf of this list jor afterall dem no go share money give them....where bovi? where elenu ,and why is i go die on d last list...dis list na wash jor...Linda i go face u if my comment comes out last....Arios

ckice said...

who d F*&^% is foxy p.......

pwitie B said...

Linda ur rite bovi shud replace gbenga adeyinka his 2 dry jor btw our basket mouth shud b number 1 d guy is good#justsaying

Foxy P has no business on this list! Top 20 in Africa? Really? Foxy P? You've gotta be kidding me!

JOJO said...

And where is Julius Agwu in dis list? They should fuck off with this silly list jare!

#TEAMBASKETMOUTH

Princy said...

Ur rite linda,I shud c bovi.and who is even A dot and foxy P,wateva sha atleast my basketmouth is in

Shieks MINA said...

where is A.Y? Bovi and akpororo nko? na so dem go juz dey combine nonsense list... mmtcheeewww. d list doesnt count 4 me

I am more conversant with Basket Mouth, so I am ok with his position, for me he would be number one though. Ali Baba is too down the pecking order pls!

Who is a dot? Ad were is bovi? D list Is not complete wit out him

Bovi ke,dat guy is not a comedian joor n basket mouth deserves dat position,2 me he's d best n niaja.so I agree wit dis list

SilverDam said...

What is Gbenga Adeyinka doing in that list?

Mariam Babatundem said...

Who does this compilation sef....i don't agree cz even based on popularity,the listing is wrong!

Why is the list full of Southafricans,another fowl play by southafrica to show superiorty to the rest of african contries.Yeye list.

Klint da drunk does not belong to that list! I also find it very strannge dat julius agwu is not there! As far as I am concerned he is the funniest comedian in nigeria.

luvly ! said...

Please remove Gbenga And put Bovi. Thank God Tèé a and Julius Agwu didn't make it*pheww...biko who is A dot again??

Bovi
Ay

I cldnt help buh comment abeg who said gbenga adeyinka is funny.......... very dry jokes. Pschewwww. Rubish list

JimCaddy's Blog said...

If this list is for Veteran comedians, then I agree in its entirety. But based on 'current form' A.Y, Gordons and co, should be there.

Bloomandgrownaija said...

But gbenga Adeyinka can't even make a jester laugh!

I don't agree wit the listing....even based on popularity the compilation isn't fair.

wats wit all dis crazy list coming out like seriously is it top10 countdown for trending music we ll call it trending celebrity b4 my food cold make i chop jare.

Which criteria? Do not agree

Basket mouth should be first on that list......big ups to other nigerian comedians on the list but BOVI is really good now and may appear in next year's list
OBA says so from NSK

Chizzy said...

This is utter rubbish abeg? Ali Baba is old news, I've not even seen Klint da drunk perform in years, Gbenga Adeyinka is neither funny nor popular and who da hell are Foxy P and A Dot? Bovi and Seyi Law should be among the top 10 and our Basket Mouth should have been No 1. This is a useless list. They should have conducted a poll before publishing nonsense.

scezj said...

LMAO. This list was probably created by a South African. Wat kinda joke do South Africans 'crack' ????

Nigerians like entertainment sha! Most of the commedians are Nigerians. Thank God that AY is not on the list because that guy is a dry commedian. He is only good at displaying nollywoody stars during the so called dry AY show.

Onye wu foxy p nd A dot??oma ga ooo

Where Gordon's dey??? Na lie.

elo tasha said...

Another controversial list indeed...waiting to see their tweet of blasting each other

Na mumu list. Shey una don see wetin forbes caused..... I need to create my list of top10 wankers on LIB. Bonario no worry, u aint on top of d list

money in the bank said...

How do will evaluate people that will don't even know,but I think Nigeria should have dominated that list because when it come to entertainment in human ability to man another laugh will should led other follows.

Abeg enough of all dis senseless ranking.Who is Foxy P in Nigeria?I never even heard abt am b4.Ali Baba D God father no 12.,i dey laugh.What about AY,GORDON?Henceforth,i will not believe in any of this yeye Ratings again.Na Modern day slavery.

Nonsense list..height of joblessness

Bovi shuld def b on dt list

Sweet me said...

Even though I don't know some of these comedians, I strongly disagree!! Where is Bovi and what is Klint The Drunk doing on the list?

Madam linda sorry bovi is stil a baby wen it comes to comedy wetin who be bovi is it bc of dose stupid comedy skirt d guy is dry his jokes hmmm mayb for rich people who hv notin troubling dem not for hustling minds thy r predictable and apear fake u can awys tel d outcome lilyb say so

Linda don't u have any crush in d comedy Industry lyk d Rap Industry.. As for me Klint da drunk shouldn't be there, Bovi should be in the top 10 n AY also in the top 20. Basket mouth deserves his position. Ali Baba tym has passed so wats he doing there. Beckhy

I dnt knw much abt oda african comedians,bt I sure knw abt my country nija! I tink gordons is suppose to come b4 basket mouth.am out

Mumu list

kellie said...

Who is Foxy P abeg? I go die shud be higher dan 8. He's really gud.

Why should Gbenga Adeyinka's name be dere?that guy is just a boring vessel!what happened 2 AY,Bovi?who's Foxy P?

Abeg abeg abegiii who compiled dis list? Wots Clint d drunk doing der? No bovi, julius agu n a host of odas. I don't agree samsam!

Nonsense even klint d drunk made it..dats nonsense were is bovi?

adewumi said...

another rubbish list where iz bovi;peteru n odas.back 2 u linda i knw u wil nt post ma comment n am so much in luv wif ur blog bt posting comment iz ur wahala.

arrant nonsense were is BOVI??? EVEN KLINT D DRUNK MADE IT HERE...NA WA O

Lyk rily,wat z Gbenga Adeyinka doin on dat list!!!!!!!!!!!!please,Bovi deserves a spot on dat list..

obianuju said...

The only thing right about dis list is dat adeyinka is d number 20. He shouldn even b dia @ all. And wia is Bovi? Ay nkor? . #sad face#

I wouldn't Have Commented bt I jes Saw gbenga's name wtf!!thank God AY is nt Evn On The list...#1 B.Mouth #2 Bovi nd odas.

Who is foxy p,A dot and gbenga adeyinka??? Wia did de emanate from???

Gbenga adeyinka ke,dat's 1 of d wackest comedians in nigeria..with those is dry jokes and AY didn't even make d list
..who's foxy p pls

Yea I agree wt u linda.bovi shud b der...evn ova gbenga adeyinka sef.hu re these; A dot n foxy P bikonu?neva heard of dem at all.
Gudaftnun linda n y'all..am havn a boring day here.
Chika.

Linda i agree with u, bovi should have been on the list. Julius agwu is no where to be found.. That nigga is as dry as an old womans pussy... Lmao!!

Prince Charming, please change your profile picture for the sake of my teenage kids and their peers that are addicted to reading this blog even with all our parental guidance and control tactics. Please, let's us help one another to do the right thing. Linda, please my kids love you, don't endorse this. A picture of a female grabbing a man's penis is totally inappropriate for an amazing blog like yours. Please, even my 18 year old daughter thinks likewise and would love you to tackle this matter. Thanks for your kind attention.

where is akpos?i dnt agree wit d list ooo

I no agree oh! Where Bovi? Ali Baba is very dry nw Wetin him dey do for the list? I disagree with the list.

Gbenga Adeyinka?... I reserve my comment

I love Trevor....he is so funny.

All dis list sef don taya me oooooo, 'I go die' is d best anywer anytime. Wat is Ali baba doin on dat list sef? Hah!!! Dis list is fake.

Who are this guys???Ali baba is number 12 on d list??

No BOVI????? Blasphemy

Am not beefin but I av heard oda africa jokes and I hardly laff.

Where is AY, Dandoki, Bovi and the rest... Can u imagine other countries plenty pass

Who is fOxy P again

Wizzy said...

Gbenga Adeyinka? GBENGA ADEYINKA? Are these people on drugs? That guy is so dry. With his loud voice. Using shouting as a means of over-compensating for being in the wrong profession. Yes, he could brash and unintentionally humorous, only when he is MCing. I don't know about stand up comedy though.

Wait.... that Loyiso guy, wasn't he featured on Comedy Central? He was so unfunny! And I wasn't aware that Ali Baba was still doing stand up comedy. I mean, not as of 2013 though!

And this list is supposed to be for 2013, so it is B.S!!

The real comedians are the people that compiled this list. Jokers.

These people probably put up the names of the ONLY continental comedians they know, so i do not think they are judging based on talent.

Fame, yes... Talent NO!

Klint Da Drunk was never funny (my opinion). The drunk act definitely used to get on my nerves, and it is/was sooooo 2005! At best, he was a gimmick. and we all know gimmicks get old. Plus, is he still as vibrant as before?

Basket mouth is Hilarious, though I feel he was way funnier years ago.

I'm sorta pleased that AY is not on this list. He is not that funny, in my opinion. He is just slightly good at comedy sketches, and that is completely different from stand up comedy. In fact, if we've learnt anything from American and British entertainment, it's that you do not need to be a comedian to put together comedy sketches.

This list is just NOT it.

Ms_Oyinkansola said...

I totally disagree.au can klint b beta than bovi or Ay

t.boi bassey said...

It not fair AY is nt on d list

Linda. You are so right. No Bovi but yet Klint da drunk is there???!

Skimpy said...

Klint da drunk bawooo? Purest lie and ojoro. My own opinion dou

Sean Manuel said...

I think Trevor Noah is the most popular outside of Africa. But he's not necessarily the best. No mention of Julius Agu? This list is arguable at best.

bitchplis said...

Klint d drunk? D ppl dat did d rating are obviously drunk...

Mtchww d officiallaughs.com is obviously a south african site!dunno wossup wif dis top dis and top dat list nowadays o..!t'has bcom a trend and ᶥᵗˢ always wack..!#continuesReadingBible!#doctorbobby

And where's ay? Its a lie joooor ay shld be in d top 5!he's really gud

What is dis..How can Adeyinka be there? Where is bovi, ay, akpororo, seyi law..Ali baba is gone...

seno said...

I agree

Who d hell is foxy p abeg??!!...never heard d comedian..oshi list!!...in other news,am single,9ja gals don taya me...na only money dem sabi...KINGPIN says so!

Wetin be this na? Just another list to stir up controversies.
Gbenga is just an MC.

Nonsense na bovi be first

Where is my akporororo?!!rubbish list

sucre Escalada said...

Well dat one na dia own! Basket mouth is d funniest man on earth! Gbam... his face alone is funny! LMAO.

What is gbenga adeyinka looking 4 here nd bovi, seyi law ar nt here.... SMH

i somehow agree, basket mouth would have been first followed by bovi, then others fall in as they want

When ws d last time klint d drunk made ppl laff abeg??!...c wetin forbes don cause!!awon oni listi rada rada!

Wats klint n gbenga doin on dat list#bbangryface#

maxrowmeu

What is gbenga adeyinka looking 4 here nd bovi, seyi law ar nt here.... SMH

Klint d drunk??!!..his he stil doing comedy??..dat site dem stil dey in der oldies!

obiora said...

wack list...no bovi, no seyi law....and when was the last time alibaba and klint d drun perform? and pls whos a dot and foxy p...rubbish

It's bullshiiiiiii... No bovi??? It's all bullshiiiii!!!!! All these list compilers should grab some sense already ( ˘˘̯)

@Bobo_Edo

Yea Lin I agree wt u....asides basket mouth,bovi comes next in line.

Wetin gbenga Adeyinka is doing on that list; he's very unfunny.... And julius Agu no dey there?! Ok o! *floetry in montion*

I've seen some of the number one guy's special on Showtime and either his comedy or his delivery is very elementary. I'd pick Basketmouth over him anyday.

When ppl we're callin Prince charming "d patrick obagbion wannabee" d ode wld b smiling...grow up dawg!

Adanna said...

me dnt knw sum of em o

Erm whres my bovi???? Abeg abeg ds list is nt complete!!!!

End time things!

Agreed

obiora said...

no bovi and seyi law....and when last did ali baba and klint d drunk perform and pls who is a dot andfoxy p...wack list

hmmmm na only naija comedy m dey listen tooo

Basketmouth is there, that is all.

❾₡€ ₱ЯI₦©₤ said...

i wonda y bovi iz nt der

OyEn said...

Haba we in d pheriphery sha............NA Basketmouth suppose cum first. His jokes are not only funny but realistic n less abusive and dose r d basic features of comedy...........I only look up to God

Someone_special said...

Another irrelevant list

Topdawg said...

Trevor Noah is definately a good comedian. South Africans see him as number one. Basket Mouth and I go dye really merit to be on the list. However, A Dot is never a good comedian. He makes mockery of himself thinking he is a comedian. Loyiso Gola in South Africa is not worthy to be on the list. They guy is not a nice comedian. His weekly 30 minutes show on ETV in South Africa does not get much audience. The Kenyan guy is good. Others, I do not know much about.

Mtcheeeew!

Don't really know much but I agree Bovi should be on that least. And WTF! Is Gbenga Adeyinka doing in that least. That guy is as dry as Panla in Mile12

ADEDOLAPO said...

Linda I really agree with u on this.. Infact Bovi should be number one

Whts Gbenga Adeyinka doin on ds list,d man no fit dey top 50 sef noh 2 tlk of top 20... Yeah mai guy basket mouth! Thumbs up

Dis list is bullshit

This is a no no list for me. Even Gbenga Adeyinka, who is so dry made the list.

lie ,dis list is wash,all nigerian comendians should be top,do u knw what it takes to make people laugh in nigeria with all dis wahala

Mtcheeeew!

ebimor said...

Who is gbenga adeyinka bovi shld definitely b among top 10 ds is thrash joooooor wt of gordons,ganddoki elenu seyilaw.abegi dy shld stop all ds fake rating cos na wahala e sabi cause

Bovi not on d list? Na lie. Which Ali baba $ Adeyinka d 1st are they funny? â„“̊' dnt think so.

Klint gini? Abeg pass d mic

In Davido's words "Officiallaugh balu"
I dont agree wit d list @all

~Jslimz~

A Dot kwa?hiaan! Is it d noise -making Gbenga from 'shine-shine Bobo'? Even AY should hv made d list.

Seriously??? This list's a joke...No wonder its a comedy site... What says u Bonario?

This list must have been complied by someone without a sense of humor. Who is Adot n adeyinka? Ds list no b am at ALL.

I guess since ali baba is kinda not very active no.12 is a uhmm for me,i go dye doesn't even make he giggle.ay's steength is only packaging that guy is over dey.basketmouth,bovi,buchi,those that my people.foxy p is also hilarious on his youtube channel.A dot is not near funny either.my opinion oh

Gbenga adeyinka ke

Wch kain klint d drunk..

My thoughts exactly! Klint the drunk from which century?

As long as AY's name aint listed .... am happy!!!!
That dude is such a bore ...

Basketmouth ..... my best comedian .... aint surprised he is the best here in Nigeria

Whrz bovi and seyi law, who the hell is foxy p

Eddie kadi's joke. "Africa is so hot, bottl water they hawk in traffic sweat azwel"

How come akpororo no dey on this list. Wetin dey happen now.

klint is far from funny, his drunken style of act is lame

As long as Ay's name aint listed, am very happy ... that dude is such a bore ...

basketmouth has always been my Fav in Nigeria, so I aint surprise he tops the list

Rough Diamond said...

U n ur daughter shld goan take several seats!
Tackle wc matter? Lol u make me laff!
Like mother like daughter
Mtchew!

i go die is number 1

Rubbish list, wtf wat is Ali baba and klint abi naa clit doing in dat list. Bia Linda dey don't deserve anyy space there let alone adding pepper to injury Gbenga Adeyinka. They must be mad walahi where's d Ay, Bovi, I go die, btw basket mouth's joke is as dry as a dog's sneeze he shud be number 15. They shud recheck dat God forsaken list, thank u!

U gotta luv Trevor, he's the king of African comedy (my opinion). The "Day Walker" classic! Sad a lot of my 9ja ppl don't know him.

That picture is no where close to what you think it is. Click on his link & check the picture out properlly.

I think the peopl putting this lists together are just trying to advertise their products, services or both cos the lists are very very ridiculous.Alibaba shouldn't be on that list really,Gbenga Adeyinka too.I'm very sure Basketmouth would disagree with where his name is on the list..

Klint shouldnt even be on dat page. Bovi d best anyday

I TOTALLY AGREE WITH THE COMPILER ON NO.1.TREVOR NOAH IS THE BEST AND NO.1 AFRICAN COMEDIAN.NO 2-10 SHLD ALL BE MY NAIJA COMEDIANS.BASKETMOUTH,GORDONS,BOVI,ALI BABA,JULIUS AGWU AND OTHERS....

Dnt knw about other countries buh what are Ali Baba, Foxy P and A Dot doing in that list.

Wow! Trevor Noah is HILARIOUS! Just watched his videos on Youtube! Classic! Nigerian comics need to learn how to be international in their craft! Like crack jokes in english and not only pidgin. Kandi is also very funny!

Ezems said...

Nonsense!

michael blackson always saying mutha>>))??...trevor noah is just a little funny not much personality...basket mouth should be on top...how could they put alibaba at no. 12

Where is Bovi? And who is foxy P?

TREVOR NOAH IS D MOST FUNNIEST AND POLISHED AFRICAN COMEDIAN I HV EVER LISTENED TO..PLS CHECK HIM OUT.D DUDE WILL MAKE U LAUGH LIKE CRAZE OH..I BE CORRECT IGBO BOY,I NO BI SOUTHY OH

Once I saw Klint as no. 5 I knew this list was a mess

This list is a joke, where is Gordons, AY n Bovi. Lol

That's why all the dry nign artists are on the list. South Africans are not funny

As in ehn, u can say that again. If AY made d list den I wld knw dey meant list of suckers

Double Vee said...

Abi o, Ali baba n Gbenga Adeyinka definitely shud not even smell d list- we appreciate Ali Baba as d fada of comedy in naija but making list of 20 best stand up comedian in Africa is just a no no. Btw, where r d likes of Ay n Bovi even Teju baby face?

I don't think he tries too hard.maybe you are confusing Bovi with SeyiLaw.Bovi is a natural but its ur opinion though.

Okay, went online to watch a few of Trevor Noah's clips. He's funny. I'd still place Basketmouth at number one but it's not my list.

Banikudi said...

Abeg , alibaba is past it, while gbenga adeyinka can never be funny, all in all most of the naija were their best before dem get money

stannyharry said...

Yea, AY is d worst comedian eva

Julius agwu and bovi is missing in top ten! I can pardon the soft sell,the lack data.fyi+ Julius is even verified on twitter and most of those listed are not..(laughable)

No
Basketmouth 1
Bovi 2
Then others

My own top 10
1)Gordons
2)I go dye
3)Julius Agwu
4)Bovi
5)Basket mouth
6)AY
7)I go save
8)Elenu
9)Seyi law
10)Linda Ikeji
Linda u berra post this OR! :-)

D only way any sane person can laugh at Klint d drunk's jokes is if laughing gas was released in d atmosphere.

As long as there is no Bovi there is no list.

Bovi should be on the list basket mouth and Klimt the drunk?! Omg! Not funny at all

Tha Poetic Hand said...

I dnt feel anyfin cos any nincompoop can jx write bunkum but U're swallowing it without water is amazing. I wud send you my own list so people can comment too. Makes more sense.

I think the list is based on comedian that first came to the lime light based on present performance they got it wrong

Dlapikin said...

Linda Trevor noah is extremely talented. He has international appeal and deserves by all means to be on top of this list, he's done tv shows in the US and the UK. He is an allaround comedian and actor, but there are some people there that just make me shake my head.

I guess u mean age not jokes cz Ali baba is sooooo old school and has dry jokes. Basketmouth is way better

Bovi my foot, with his dry series on TV

Alibaba, k lint da drunk, gbenga adeyinka no way. bovine should definately be top 10

bovie is the funniest comedian in naija right now. i go die is very good in stand up comedy. Gordon, basket mouth good as well. Julius agwu , okay bakasi , alibaba and the rest have lost it

to me i go die is the bomb..Gbenga adeyinka is dry

I agree with their number 1 tho.trevor Noah is hilarious!!

I guess Michael blackson is not on your local level!!he is international google him

aY nko?

this your profile pic na wah, so na thumb the girl dey pull . Tot it was something more interesting. o tie le, mtchewwww !

Onye wu foxy p and a dot??huh..whoever dat made ds list wants publicity!!#jstparkwell

Michael blackson is suppose to be No.1 That dude is on BET& Comedy Central and he's really Good and funny. Wow I really congratulate BasketMouth to come before Blackson. I agree Klint is funny too. I go die is funny too though he cannot combine good English with Broken English . The rest are just there. My opinion , don't hate the player, hate the game.

Seyi law is number 1

Where is Seyi Law? UNdoubtably the funniest comedian in Nigeria!!!

At the moment they said... The th is Ali baba and GBENGA ADEYINKA !!!! Doin on dis list... And like u rightly pointed linda, bovi so deserves to be on dah list and Julius agwu

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 299   Newer› Newest»