20 Best African Stand Up Comedians 2013 - Do you agree? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 8 September 2013

20 Best African Stand Up Comedians 2013 - Do you agree?

Another controversial list, compiled by popular comedy site Officiallaughs.com (not Nigerian) listing the top 20 best stand up comedians in Africa. The cute guy above is apparently the best in Africa, followed by our very own Basketmouth. See the top twenty below and tell us if you agree...

1 Trevor Noah (South Africa)
2 Basketmouth (Nigerian)
3 Michael Blackson (Ghana)
4 Riaad Moosa (South Africa)
5 Klint The Drunk (Nigeria)
6 David Kau (South Africa)
7 Daliso Chaponda (Malawi)
8 I Go Dye (Nigeria)
9 Eric Omondi (Kenya)
10 Eddie Kadi (Congo)

I don't really have much of an opinion here because I don't know who some of these comedians are... but Bovi should definitely be in the top 20 best in Africa. See the remaining after the cut

11 Loyiso Gola (South Africa)
12 Ali Baba (Nigeria)
13 David Kibuuka (South Africa)
14 Kasambwe Mpulamasaka (Zambia)

15 Nik Rabinowitz (South Africa)
16 Foxy P (Nigeria)
17 John Vlismas (South African)
18 A Dot (Nigerian)
19 Daniel Omara (Uganda)
20 Gbenga Adeyinka (Nigeria)

299 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 299 of 299
Oby Azike said...

I don't really agree with you Linda

obyazike.blogspot.co.uk

Klint the drunk and Ali Baba especially have missed road

top 3 funniest nigerian comedians:
1)basketmouth
2)bovi
3)gordons
and the rest

Bimpe said...

Trevor is fantastic...I watch him on YouTube, he is fucking hilarious....but basket mouth, for me, is the best...no 1!

Trevor is sure the funniest in Africa. If you've never listened to his jokes please look for one of his videos online. He's been on CNN, Saturday Night live and others

pls no offence, ali baba dont tell jokes anymore so i wonder what he'sdoing there,klint da drunk??no comment...whre's bovi???okey bakassi.....elenu...okay dont lets get selfish..its africa not nigeria.....but bovi should be b4 alibaba or...gbenga adeyinka...was dis list a spoof?

JAYISM said...

I BEG.. I BEG .. I JUST WATCHES TREVOR NOAH'S VIDEOS ON YOU TUBE. THAT DUDE DESERVES NUMBER ONE. BASKET MOUTH HAPPENS TO BE MY FAVORITE NIGERIAN COMEDIAN. BUT HE DOESN'T EVEN COME CLOSE TO TREVOR.

The fucking list was done using Twitter clout. Who de fuck is clit? As in pussy? Aliba wat? Gben who? And aside Noah who shld be no 7 the next on the list from 1-17 shld be 9gerians. #drops the fucking mike as nepa cease the light.

And where is AY?

mago mago things! mtchewwww!

X.Tee said...

Crappy crap. Mtcheeeeew....
Gbenga faya, how can he eva be funny? Who d hell is A-dot n Foxy P? Who do they crack up?
Biko, basket mouth 1st, Bovi 3rd, I go dye next......Any other comedian can ff

X.Tee said...

Shush jere. "Funniest" it is, what's the "most" doing there. Watched his clip n he ain't as funny as basket mouth or even Bovi

noblenenye said...

Whatever criteria they used in making this list leaves much questions to be asked.
How exactly did they come to pick these guys?

E.A said...

Bovi is number one in Africa, Basket mouth too. The rest are rubbish. Gbenga Adeyinka is an owambe comedian.Well, lists or no lists, Bovi rocks. Comic list
E says so

Who is A-dot????? And where is Bovi abeg????:s

H S C said...

Abeg the neighs have it! Ali Baba ke...#Rolling eyes#

no bovi for hia>>>>>...tah! fire burn dem

Exactly. Who listens to Gbenga Adeyinka still! Blehh

I think BOVI and SEYI LAW should be on the list....ALI BABA/GBENGA ADEYINKA are past, nothing for them again in the comedy world>>>>

Folu Ire Alabi said...

Klint de drunk 5th? These people are definitely drunk!
Ali baba on the list? Oh please gimme a break!

yvonne said...

Linda pls hlp me remind FG nd asuu abt dis strike o..dey sed we d future generation bt yt we stuck @ hme, no education.pls hlp o..cuz d joblessness of students is resulting 2 many ills in d society. Linda hlp o. Personal msg 4rm yvonne 2 u.

My tot exactly

d list is just a joke: who be gbenga, abegi

1. Bovi
2. Bovi
3. Bovi
4. Bovi
5. Bovi
6. Bovi
7. Bovi
8. Bovi
9. Bovi
10. Bovi
11. Bovi
12. Bovi
13. Bovi
14. Bovi
15. Bovi
16. Bovi
17. Bovi
18. Bovi
19. Bovi
20. Basket Mouth.

This really works folks.... better than any other online marketing stuffs
http://sms.megastoon.com/sms.php?share=47067

SOMETIMES, I TIE MY TWO LEGS TOGETHER AND PRETEND THAT I'M A MERMAID.

THE GREAT ONE

Please, who or what is Dot? And please, are AY and Bovi not comedians? Because whatever it is they do, they should be at the top.

linda is like u dnt hav any news again.

God .....dat website sabi lie i swear, BOVI is the funniest man on earth, asin dis list ix fake with all dos dry S.A comedians

Where is Omo baba. The most handsome comedian in Nigeria.
Froggy T.

dryest comedians in naija are klint,ali baba,a.dot,gbenga dia tym don pass...dem for put UNCLE SAKA seff,bovi,seyi law,julius

biko said...

Gbenga adeyinka seriously!!!!

Prosper Ndukwe's Blog said...

exactly, Bovi should come third if you ask me

Trevor deserves to be número uno. His wits, intelligence, oratory, swag and creativity is awesome!

Yes o!! Trevor Noah deserves to be number one.That dude is soooo hilarious, and everyone can relate with his jokes

Gbenga? How? Abeg put Gordons.
@anon 2:50pm- A female grabbing a thumb you mean? Before he became anonymous, Prince Jobless handed over such profile pictures to Prince Charming.

Ajimoti Ibukun said...

Klint 4 wat?
Ali baba *dry*
A dot?
where is bovi?
I also disagree oooo...!
ajibukun.blogspot.com

The person that wrote this list is from south Africa for sure

Before nko

Linda ur d one causin al dis probs.....if u see news like dis na u b d first pesin to read am n u knw e go cause wahala abeg dey help us edit our own b4 u publish.....abeg list no dey dia jare....dey are towkin abuw comedians dem dey put kenya malawi south africa for list....mtchew abegy make dem shift ma see front

You and ur daughters need glasses this is a picture of a little girl holding a thumb... How many penises have u seen that looks like that.na wa

Broke asses always complain of girls wanting money! Sort ur life out

bovi sud b in top 10 not just top 20, when i read d 1st 10 nd didnt c bovi i already said i dnt agree...i evn think bovi is funnier than basketmouth gan sef

cece said...

I see lists are the 'in thing'..

cece xx

Orughe Gabriel said...

i think i agree withyou 2 diidy23, were is naijas maddest guy Bovi he shud be on that list

orughe gabriel said...

i think these people shud review this list and add bovi

mehnn that klint the drunk guy is BORING!!!! VERY DRY!!!! TUFIA!!!

Theophilus Elamah said...

All our Nigerian comedians ought to dominate that list. This guys copy our comedians. Where is d likes of D'Don of Rainbow fm, Okey Bakassi, Basorge, Julius Agwu etc. Mstchewwwwww

Am sure whoever compiled tis list was prolly high on some cheap drugs and some shekpe.... Tamara White

Eddie Kadi is the best African comedian in the UK yet they put him at number 10. How come?

Linda you need to see Noah Trevor he is very very good. His style can only be compared to that of Russel ( the Canadian comedian)

Gordon,seyi law and bovi should av make d list,,ali baba,gbenga and Adot didnt belong to that list tho they are funny but not over bovi

Trevor Noah is unarguably the best in Africa. Unlike most Nigerian comedians, u dont have to be South African to enjoy his jokes. He speaks good English and doesnt delve into any form of pidgin like most of our own. Attended his show in S/A. It was a blast. As for the rest of the list...cant be bordered

Micheal Blackson should be number one jare........ the guy is damn hilarious and he is international too.

TREVOR NOAH is definitely the best!
Watch him on Youtube!
I have a massive crush on him!
Ever since i discovered him, i stopped watching other stand up acts.

Emem said...

Basketmouth's position is very well deserved, he should even be numero uno but since I have never seen the number one guy perform, I'll leave it at that but please how can SeyiLaw and AY not be on this list??? That just goes to show that as an entertainer or business person, just do your best and do not worry too much about the accolades and awards, as long as the fans keep paying for your services. you must be doing something right.....

LaLa RealTalk said...

i'm funnier than all these lot put together.

Abi oh where is bovi and tejubabyface. Abeg †Ñ’ξ list na crap. #flaunts ♏v̶̲̥̅ eyelashes and walkaway

Abeg dey should replace Klint da drunk with Akpororo.

Basket Mouth is the best in Nigeria,i totally agree with that.Don't know about the others.

LadyF

careers nigeria said...

Klint d drunk? for real?.... God.. this list is not it at all

Madd Customer said...

This list is a joke. Nigerians are generally the funniest people in Africa. Bovi isnt on the list, thats weird, infact they are a lot of Nigerians that should be on that list. Although Eddie Kadi does a good job as well

Exactly why is a dot there but Julius , bovi , teju baby face , akpororo, elenu , AY , emeka aren't there . This is some bull

WHERE'S AKPOS?

Tunmama said...

klint the who?? bitch please! this list is wack!

Mma ino said...

Madam Anonymous, go and wash your mind with Omo. or berra still, use Jik bleach. If you look closely @ Prince charming's profile pix, you will see that its not wat your dirty mind has made up.

Ps: Tell ya daughter to mind her studies. Wait oooo, How she take know say woman dey hold man penis sef....... You shld spend more time checking / watching her. It will do you more good

Jennykiss said...

Hmm
What an annoying waste of time...and a good way to make ppl laff, however not for joyous reason.
Obviously drawn up by people who know nothing about Comedy..Gbenga & Ali? where are Bovi, Funnyface Osca...and comedians who actually make millions laff?
Well next time they choose to display such Bias and stupidity, they should try NEVER to abuse the word "BEST"....Please!

mr endowed said...

choi dis is crao imagine c name no 1 nos dis guyz na hu d fuck z a dot and am a nigerian i dnt no him so how did his name get here where z bovi or ay here mtsheeeeew

never comment on blogs but feel compelled to this time around. trevor noah IS the best comic out from Africa at the moment for a couple of reasons. first of all, his comedy is funny as hell and actually makes you think about the issues he delves on, brilliant satire. second of all, his comedy is exportable. he is not only good in africa, but has been a success in europe,america and australia too which shows his material is not limited. quite frankly i think this chap is one of the best comics in the world today. watch him, he is definitely going to get bigger

People here complaining about the lists, the lists is not that bad. To be a good comedian, you have to be able to structure your jokes and to appeal to all audiences. How many people around the world can relate to "pidgins" comedians. we are too bias

Trevor Noah is a funny guy and probably the most know African comedian worldwide. He is definitely tops for me because of his crossover appeal and originality.

Although based in South Africa, he has been invited to perform on the David Letterman show twice while touring in the US. Basketmouth is no 1 in Nigeria, but certainly second to Trevor Noah in Africa and worldwide.

Rubbish complilation! Gbenga Adeyinka is not and has never been a comedian just a story teller and an MC. He found it difficult to laugh to what he called jokes. Ali Baba too, has never been funny, I remember when he started with Patrick Doyle on "Saturady Nights Life with Patrick Doyle'. AY is just an entertainers. In my opinion the following are the comedians in Nigeria:
1 Basketmouth
2 Okey Bakassi- though off scene
3 Bovi
4 Seyi Law
5 Gordon
6 I go Dye
7 I go Save
8 Lepacious Bose
8 Gandoki
9 Oween Gee etc

See bovi my guy is d best,dat guy too gud,no bovi no comedy

i really would like to know how this list was complied, there's a difference btw a talented comedians and ''life band'' comedians (cracking the jokes of other comedians...which some of them are on your list.

...and i believe there's a difference btw being FAMOUS and being FUNNY.
When you look for originality, Creativity and spontaneity with both National and International standard,CALL THESE NAMES!!!

*Ali BABA
*Julius Agwu
*Baket Mouth
*Bovi
*Mc Abbey
*Holy Mallam
*Owen Gee
*Koffi

what happened to OMOBABA NO1, GANDOKI, MC ABBEY, JULIUS AGWU?

Wayo wayo people!!!

Mekese said...

Is something wrong with these dudes. I've never heard of these guys apart from my Naija Pals.
Where is Bovi, AY, I go die and the rest.
Let them go sleep joor.

lifeofehis said...

SINCE I WAS BORN, KLINT DA DRUNK HAS NEVER CRACKED A FUNNY JOKE.. WHO THE HELL MADE THIS LIST?

Since the crazy bros (basket M) make the the list no wahala bcus, he crack mature jokes a days on stage. But adeyinka too dry to my own like sha

Shut up!

WHERE IS BOVI?? :/

IS this a joke? firstly to many fucking south africans .. Nigerians are, and will forever be the funniest. secondly why is basket mouth number 2? instead of number 1? ok lets just say its technical error. 3rdly where is Juluis Agwu? the baba of all these comedians? and lastly A DOT? A FUCKING DOT? that nuisance? might aswell put me on the list then.

lemme just point out that dan d humorous, romeo without juliet, okey bakasi,

Trevor Noah certainly deserves it! Check him out he's hilarious

Boss kola said...

Ta Shutup.. Klint is the funniest comedian in Nigeria as far as am concerned.. Klint is meant to be number 1 as a matter of fact. What do u know.. Mtsheww

who d hell is a dot nd foxy p, neva heard of them

guys we need to understand that this list is not limited to Nigerian comedians alone,its a whole of Africa,so I didn't expect to see the whole of Nigerian comedian on that list,so I think the list is some worth fair, my opinion thou-M.U.S

wow bovi ke dat guy too dry pass smoke fish if bovi dey dere den ma grandma get hope die....

THANK GOD AY IS NOT ON THAT LIST

Ella said...

This list is a joke, It can't be complete without AY and BOVI

Pls AY is dry, he only has good concepts.

Klint the drunk is my favorite anytime, he does not cram jokes, it flows in him.
Basketmouth, yeah.. Even his appearance makes me laff -default mode
Bovi,, why is he missing? for God's sake, those are comedians.

the list is certainly not rated by the people

the list wasn't rated by the people

I agree with you. Bovi should be on the list. At least AY is not there lol

Foxxy P is a very talented Nigerian comedian based in the USA. The guy is Funnny....

LastnumberSkid said...

Trevor is arguably the best in Africa, the guy is funny as hell. Basket deserves the 2nd postn, Gbenga Adeyinka, Alibaba and Klint shud nt be on the list.
i guess Bovi and Tumi Morake, shud be on the list.

LastnumberSkid said...

Trevor is arguably the best in Africa, the guy is funny as hell. Basket deserves the 2nd postn, Gbenga Adeyinka, Alibaba and Klint shud nt be on the list.
i guess Bovi and Tumi Morake, shud be on the list.

pls someone should find bovi on that list

pls someone should find bovi on the list. this is just a crap

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 299 of 299   Newer› Newest»