Kumuyi’s son suspended over his bride's wedding dress: what do you think? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 3 July 2013

Kumuyi’s son suspended over his bride's wedding dress: what do you think?

By now most of you must have heard about what's going on at the Deeper Christian Life Ministry but just in case you haven't heard/read any of it, let me summarize it.

The second son of the General-Superintendent of Deeper Life Pastor William Kumuyi got married on June 15th in Jamaica to a lady named Love Odih. A day later, photos from the wedding flooded the internet - and that was when trouble started.

The bride was accused of breaking the church's conservative dressing rules by wearing make-up, a fitted wedding dress, with see-through sleeves. (bride and groom pictured above. The photo on the right is the appropriate way to dress in the church).

Now, John and Love Kumuyi have been suspended by the leadership of the church for this despite the fact that the couple tendered an apology letter to the church. Continue...

The couple said:

“We unreservedly and wholeheartedly state that we did not intend that our acts or omissions will, in any way, undermine the great works that God has done through the Deeper Christian Life Ministry worldwide and  more especially, through our Father in the Lord, the General Superintendent.We also use this medium to profusely and sincerely apologise to the General Superintendent for the embarrassment and heartaches our actions have caused him, more so that he had earlier declined to be at the events.”
But the church wasn't having any of that (Here's where you ask 'what would Jesus do?) they still went ahead and suspended the couple from carrying out any activity in the church - an instruction that came from the GS himself, Pastor William Kumuyi. The church said:
“The church, Deeper Life, remains committed to the biblical practice and standard of almost 40 years Christian dressing and still remains and does not compromise on biblical Christian dressing. Hence, deviation warrants the displeasure and frown of God and the leadership of the church. John and Love are now under discipline"
My problem with this is - You preach forgiveness but can't practice it! What do you guys think?

632 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 400 of 632   Newer›   Newest»
Blackberry said...

that is a very modest wedding gown naa plus the makeup is not loud....someone must not look like ekaette to make heaven naa...kai...dis one na extreme xtianity oo...n its beta dan the oda religion tho'

No dear Linda that's not a matter of forgiveness. As a minister of God, you are given a directive to also discipline during ordination. Kudos to GS ( He doesn't compromise). I always cherish Deper Life, I think d orthodox churches should emulate this. I dislike a bride appearing almost naked to d alter for wedding in d name of fashion, gush!.

***IKB***

These people are mere hypocrites!

I agree, but I think it is political. He probably has forgiven, but we have to look at what they've done to previous people that have acted this way. If they always suspend, then that should be the right response. If they didn't do that the church will say their partial. I don't see anything wrong with her dressing, and again I'm not deeper life. If you choose to follow something then you follow their rules.

GameSetBet said...

forgiveness and discipline work hand in hand. that you forgive dont mean u cant still discipline the offender. this is just a responce to ur quest.
so as a father to a child he can discipline the child regardless of him playing the role of a pastor. then as a head pastor he can also play same role. he can choose to let go but i think he choose to lead by example for other members. this is just my perception. i might be wrong but i strongly doubt tht.

Smh 4 dis pple ooo....na heart GOD dey look... no b one's outward appearance....na dem sabi oooo

Pst William, pls forgive them after all d ve apologise. who are u not to forgive if our heavely father could forgive us of our trespasses. Afterall d dress is fine and is not revealing at all.

They have not seen indecent dressing at all. The gown is befitting. Deeper life wake up. It is only responsible ladies that put on this type of gown

its never that deep abeg

BEN said...

ROTFLMAO!!! that wedding gown won't kill me! Geez! It's better I just do traditional wedding, and go ma way.

People wake up oo! Christianity is about love....love and kindness and care, treating people with respect and showing love to your fellow human being....GS stop brain washing your members oo. God is watching u. Why are u not wearing leaves? Why u dey use car waka? Shebi u dey use mordern media, u dey use soap baff abi? Your suits nko? What does the Lords prayer say about forgiveness? Answer na? I hope say na river and stream water u dey drink....do not let your members catch u drinking bottled water.. Are u living in a jungle or mud house? Infact change your personal dress code...I suggest sack cloth and it must be turtle neck,long sleeve and colourless! Flowing oo! Shapeless and no shoes make it perfect by not combing your hair or shaving your beards!

this is serious oooooo......even the dress sef looks too churchy for me. it is high time some churches woke up to the reality and stop being hypocritical

This is crazy,the lady wasn't naked after all,this deeper life church people with the crazy laws abegy.

As a christian, I tend not to chastise any other christian denominations because I feel everyone deserves respect to their beliefs but what I feel is this, don't then stick to a denomination and still be complaining about their principles and morals, if you ain't cool with their principles then change! If you don't change then shut up and go by their principles! Its that's simple! Its not a crime or taboo to change denominations is it?

i dont know wat their rules are in the church but we all wanna look gorgeous on our weddimg day and God forbid i look like that on my wedding day *snaps fingers* personally i dont see anytin wrong in the wedding dress !!

Yes oh!!! aunty linda, can u Imagine, all dis pentecosters sha, anyhow sha na dem sabi

Deeper life wake up fr sleep,U̶̲̥̅̊ expect a chick ℓi̶̲̥̅ke̶̲̥̅ her †̥ tie scarf without makeup on her wedding dy,U̶̲̥̅̊ people should change dat law d mistake has been made suspension or N̶̲̥̅̊o̲̣̥ supension d wedding pic is there guy if their did ήǿƮ want U̶̲̥̅̊ again abeg switch over ΨђåƮ matter is Ūя̲̅ relationship with G̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴͡D̶̲̥̅̊ α̲̅πϑ people around U̶̲̥̅̊

Please where in the Bible did God say u are not allowed to look good????????as far as i am concerned she looks very decent. so plsss....on wedding day o!eh eh

She was meant to wear the "costume for ghost in yoruba movies" that other Deeper Life members wear but she chose to dress like a normal person.

W1#D0W$

D bridal train eish! Lmao..

Pls the bride's dress is very very decent and there's nothing wrong in it. we church denominations will just stop worrying over the irrelevant things and start focusing on the right things. what ll it provide a woman to wear the approved deeper life wedding gown and still loose her soul?? many churches r loosing perspective of the whole basis and foundation of Christianity. The style of your wedding gown will not assure you the kingdom of heaven so whether she wore their wedding gown or not, it really doesn't make a difference!!!!

this is arrant nonsense ! so they should dress like the bible days?? its her wedding day, do they expect her to look ugly and wear mary-amaka gown?? wat kinda stupidness...smh God have mercy on dem. d girl try sha cos now she has to be a member e mi ko oh !

†̥ђȊ̝̊̅s people A̶̲̥̅̊я̲̣̥ε̲̣̣̣̥ wicked d groom wɪ̣̝̇ℓℓ wear Suit α̲̅πϑ tie α̲̅πϑ U̶̲̥̅̊ want d bride †̥ sew gown with China white abi na true

shade said...

Seee dress code na lol na wa ooo

Wot I think is dat everyboby wit is own choice....and if u r suspended in church,leave d church nw..wedding is normally done once in a life time..and still u would b denied d chance of making urself happy dat day..make all dis and dat church pack well.y dem allow dier corper 2 dey wear throusers 4 camp...una no b christ abeg

Pastor Kumuyi himself was there at the wedding shining teeth and taking pictures o! Now that the members have seen through the deceit, he's suspending his son to control the damage. Religion is no bondage. It should be about God not about men.

sade said...

But why???? Date a Millionaire In Nigeria, Sugar Mummy and Daddy, Rich Kids and Meet A Millionaire Friend Today

Yehni said...

Oh please let them give me their illustrated bibles where they saw that the way they are dressed is the biblical one. Men where wearing trousers in Jesus days?

Wat is wrong wit churches of today..stop confusing religion wit christianity biko..deres nuttin wrong wit d dress abeg

not only the dress, even her makeup i heard its the "standard" of the wedding generally

Lol, still laffing, nothing we will not see in this side of the world...hmmm. first to comment. Linda post my comment oops

Lool! I can't laff! No be only deeper life,na stupid life! Mtcheeew! I shuld dress like an mgbeke on my own wedding day?

Total madness! Religious fanaticism.....smh!!!

Pple sha,nothing dt is done will ever please or satisfy u...
Dt u ask for forgiveness does nt in anyway eradicate discipline....saying u are sorry does nt change d things dt were done and d effect ur actions and inactions have had on pple...I blieve discipline is needed in dis case to instigate some level of proper conduct on all concernd...judgement must start from d top!
Dammie...

Shepherd said...

Bullshit...what's forgiveness if there are no sins? Even Jesus(not a Christian by the way)asked the scribes and saducees to first cast a stone @the woman caught in adultery if they hadn't any sins. This is why I frown at organised religion,hypocrisy and "holier than thou" attitude are regretably the order of the day. What's a god to an unbeliever? To each his own!

metche said...

The issue is that Kumuyi has to live by example. If he did not discipline his own son, other members of the church will complain and they will copy what the bride put on, and that will mean deviating from their way of dressing.

That is a good example so that another couple will not emulate them.

D bridal train eish! Lmao..

This is ridiculous!

Don't really give a rat A**. Pratice what you preach man of God. #Forgive and forget

Critical Observer said...

the picture on the right is so plentily ridiculous!!!

Church rules r church rules, its suspension not casting out...
This is telling others dat even d Oga's son is not above d law...

Bloody hypocrites!!! They cover every part of their bodies and still do worse things!!! How would you feel showing your kids photos of your happiest day(wedding day)dressed like a slave just because you attend Deeper Life Church?
Let them start attending another church where they will not be judged and condemned by the same people who preach forgiveness.
The bride is even too covered up compared to the beautiful wedding dresses out there!

i beg this is cheating how can d guy dress up kutie and his wife on thier wedding day is wearing cheap white abi chain white gown on d happiest of your life is not fair dressing should be moderate at least i have seen decent christian wedding grown. its not fair!! haba! thou d guy av to be suspected cos this is a law

If the pastor let this go it would ne as if it is bcos it involves his son,i am sure the father knows That his son does not agree with some of his beliefs. The church once called tv,d devils box and they were banned from having Tv in their homes,, i was surprised d day i saw Kumuyi on câble, i was like how are Ur membres supposed to watch.

But whats wrong with dat wedding dress nah?Over righteousness no good oo.

You're totally confused to be mixing up forgiveness and discipline. So if (when) you have kids and they misbehave, you will not discipline them? And if you do, it means you didn't forgive them?? I'm not even a deeper lifer btw, but you gotta use your brain sometimes and stop displaying clear bias against Christianity and moral values.

arrant nansense...they think its by luking haggard...its all about wats in your heart...wicked people/ dry people

Love dat, V good example real man of God I love you dady kumuyi.

I love d gown and has for d other one pls don't even think of wearing it out side. Love and john u did a good job some body must break d law and u did.

Linda let's be realistic In dis case dere is nothing like preach forgiveness. D standard is set wen its defaulted by any1 d punishment is dicipline apology or not. Other defaulfers hav been punishd why shldnt he punish his own? Charity begins at home so pls I luv pastor kumuyi for dat. Keep up d gud work sir.

preee said...

That's wђД† dey sign as members of the church. Ɲφ Ooº° comment on church mata. Evry one 2his own cross. Human beings Α̲̅Я̩̥̊Ε̲̣̣̣̥ 2 judgmental. So I'm indifference.

In my opinion, dere is nothing wrong wit d gown. But den, "wen U are in Rome U act like d Romans" if dey have both decided 2 be a member of d church, den dey are oblige 2 act and dress in ways dat is expected of dem. Suspending dem is just a way of making sure dat dere is order, and protocols are followed. David apolozied 4 taking someone's wife and shading blood, God 4gave him but he still make sure dat he couldn't build a house 4 d Lord which he was passionate about. Adam was sorry 4 eaten d forbidden fruit, God 4gave but still send him out of d garden of Eden, etc.

Seriously!!!?

it not abt been forgiven,but it all depend on the way the outsiders are treating the matter and its a rotine in d church that who ever goes felong is been suspended bt dat dose nt been u wont b coming to church,u wil but if u hav a post in d church u wil stayaway from it for a while and pray for ur life,dat al i know so pls dnt get it twisted.

Rubbish page.

I think they re a bunch of Hippocrates

The church elders were there at the wedding, they even follow go reception chop rice and chicken

Now that the ordinary men and women have seen the double standard thanks to social media

The church elders turn their back on the poor boy and denounce him in public in order to satisfy their holier than thou sanctimonious bull crap of a conscience

for every sin der is punizmt n der after forgiveness.so linda i dnt realy no wat u want to make out of dis though am nt DPL am a catholic

Don't really know what to say in this matter o, but I think d disciplinary action was taken because he is d son of d GS, to show people that no one is above d law in d church.

Poopoo said...

Na wa o. I pity the babe wey marry into dis family. D dress is fine; very decent. They should relax. Times have changed.

Linda post my comment oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooojust sent it startd it with "linda let's be realistic"

It's the congregation's money wasted on the extravagance. The church is putting its foot down under the guise of biblical values.

I think they should have stuck to the church's way of dressing. Moreso that she is marrying the GS son she is not different from others that have wedded before her. The discipline is in right place bcos of other intending couples.

Jumitebabe said...

ummmm na dem sabi, wetin d woman find go whr deeper life pastor son dey. She neva start.

This is just insane, u wnt this pretty gal to look like househelp on her wedding day... The wedding dress is all covered so Whts all d para for, they even had time to apologise.. All dese ndi ishi church dat won't practice wht they preach.. Arrant nonsense..

sandra said...

Hypocrisy in RELIGION.
I totally agree with u linda.
They preach forgiveness yet can't practice it.
For chrissake the bride was not indecent.it wasn't like her makeup was heavy.I prefer her outfit compared to dose two girls who wore mgbeke clothes.I think d reasons why they were purnished was cos d G.O wanted to prove a stupid point and maybe he has purnished some oda member before and thinks he has purnish his son to prove he aint partial.
FUCK HYPOCRIST.

there's really nothing to forgive, she still looked decent. the whole story has been blown out of proportion. e tire me jare.

If the lady is not a deeper life member then they are wrong cuz she wedded in her church.

First to comment!!!!!
im so happy this is happening, the babe is a sure babe joo, u only get married once, why should you look like that sad thing on the right just bcos u want to please church doctrine and not God..... after the punishment the deed has been done it really changes nothing, im even sure they were prepared sef, its not like they will say they should not live together....

Honey Child

wat i fink is y'll shld leave dem alone to enjoy dere marriage.

I wonder if the wedding dress was assessed before the event took place but if it was not then it's really sad. Does this mean that if people offend you unintentionally and apologise wholeheartedly, you must punish them to forgive later? Is this what Jesus would do? or is this His teaching? Everybody preaches "forgiveness" but fail to live the life. I believe this act was done to prove a point, but to who??? We shouldnt be carried away by our church doctrines and forget the teachings of Christ.

Tayo said...

Everything has a twist to it, dont use this to assign blame on the church or thE GO, neither should blame the couples. what we preach as christians is forgiveness. But do you know that GOD forgives us doesnt me we wnt be punished for that sin? whatever sin you commit should be forgiven as christians, but the punishment to not repeat that is inevitable. Jesus a woman in John 8;11 and he said to her "go and sin no more" which means she had been punished for her sin, but forgiven.
This isnt a justification for the church or couples. but i know Jesus christ will forgive them but they will be punished.

its not about forgiveness, the church already have a standard which they operate so if one should go contrary to that then they should be punished. it is just discipline and nothing more. bible permits that.

There is nothing with the dress....this people sha

Jade said...

The couple is fully aware of the doctrines of the church THEY chose to be a part of. If they are being chastised that's their problem not mine and shouldn't be yours either Linda.

Kai!!! Wat rubish is dis, where were dey wen d bride was dressing, and 4 heaven sakes wats wrong wit dat "almost turtle neck gown" haa!! Dis pple r so not realllll.dis case is irritating abeg

fly guy said...

i guess his dad doesen't want 2 be biased, so that others won't follow suite in d future

Dlapikin said...

Ridiculous! Her Dress is more than decent and the make up very light!

I will rather not do a white wedding than for my wife to wear that on my wedding day! God forbid bad tin...VICTOR!

Joycilicioux said...

Linda I was wondering if u are not aware of dis gist cos I read it in the other blogs.these people planned it before their wedding.maybe dey want to liberate their followers.I foresee that in no distant time,one of their ladies will wear a trouser to church and apologize.and u know wat????????

Shanday said...

Linda it is very good. He should be suspended. If other members of the congregation are subjected to dressing that way, Kumuyi's son shouldn't be given any preferential treatment. That's hypocrisy then if he is deviating from what is being preached. In fact, he and his wife should get married again and wear the outfit on the right lolz. Really God needs to open the eyes of the leadership of the church to realise that their doctrines regarding dressing needs to be revised. So if u wear makeup, you are a sinner. God help us

iyalaya anybody said...

Abeg! U dis linda wey no dey go church; no talk abeg..... Na dia church wahala make dem solve am, really dont care

i just hate this! what is all these in the name of church rules and regulations? a bride has no right to wear what she wants on her wedding day?
please what is wrong in what this lady is wearing? all of u need jesus one by one. useless church.

i just hate this! what is all these in the name of church rules and regulations? a bride has no right to wear what she wants on her wedding day?
please what is wrong in what this lady is wearing? all of u need jesus one by one. useless church.

Hell- to the- no. That seems slightly ridiculous to me because her dress is perfectly modest. The "correct" one is just fugly. But to each his own.

patalex said...

What is wrong wirh thesw religion-drunk bigots. Absolute trash.

Joke of the century! So because I'm marrying a pastor's son I'll wear that rag as wedding dress. *rubbish* Iyen gan wa. Olohun nikan lo mo Eni ton sin oun (only God knows his true followers)

orisirisi said...

Rules and regulation should be adhered to however are there other churches in Jamaica or naija this couple can go to? suspended for what???. Would Jesus have suspended them or lovingly corrected them. Churches and doctrines sha. Anyways we thank God. If it was our muslim counterparts, they would have stoned them to death in broad day light

There is nothing wrong in what she is wearing. We need to look to God for our salvation. I really feel sorry for them and what they r going through. The r supposed to start their married life with joy not haters having something to say. It seems like living in bondage if your faith is different from ur parents. If that's what John and love wants for themselves, no one has the right to question them except God. This is why parents need to be careful, u spend ur life and ministry dictating to people what they should do and shouldn't do, when it becomes ur turn, people r waiting to judge you and ur family also. This is what happened when I got married. Both our parents are pastors in a major church in Nigeria, my mother ran crazy,making sure we conform to the rules and regulations of a church we don't attend and not getting married in, at the end of the day the church was pleased and impressed but it ruined our relationship and i hav lost a lot of respect for the church, my family and their doctrine. I pray that John kumuyi and his dad will be able to get past this situation.

i dont even want to imagine the sexual life of the people pictured right. hian

Dis is definately nt makin brains...kumuyi son's wife weddin gown is so decent..evrywhere covered probably d most decent u can get nw.na wa ooooo.who am I 2 judge sha..#lipsealed#

Funny................*smh* for deeper lifeR'S!

Naija babe said...

Another set of crazy hypocrites. What the F? A bride deserves to look her best on her wedding day. Dey want her look like one who is mourning? God forbid these people. And to even think that dey went out of der way to apologise.... The G.O dey feel important, trying to use his own children as scape goats... He must be a freaking joker. I'll totally disown him if he were my father. Thank God he is not. #By the way i am a christian#.

Dee said...

MAYBE DEY BELIEVE IN PUNISH 1ST DEN FORGIVE LATER.

As if it's by dressing. Even if you dress like a masquerade but have no love in you you are just like a clashing cymbal,Making just noise. You guys should take note.

kiki said...

these people are adults and shes decently dressed.i can't imagine how miserable these deeper lifers are

God looks at people's hearts not d outward appearance but I blame d couple because they knew the doctrines of the church and still went ahead to disobey them.esp the GO's son

Deeper Christian Life Ministry has a standard.Ordinarily speaking,the marriage committee ought to have checked the cloth for the bride b4 d wedding.Some people's wedding have been suspended that failed to conform to the standard of the church.some have had to sew up to three dresses before it was eventually approved.So the couple been punished does not mean they have not been forgiven,but sounds a note of warning to intending couples that the standard still remains the same.David was forgiven in the bible but still served the punishment for his sins for killing Uriah(by putting him at the hottest part of the battle) & taking his wife

I wish both of them happy married life. in my candid opinion, the missing link in all these saga is the death of Mrs kumuyi. had it been that his mum is still around, I am sure she would not have allowed that to happen. As a mother, she would probably be there days before the wedding and adjust all that needed to be adjusted. I am sure that it is not the function of pastor Kumuyi or any father for that matter to be checking the dress of the bride. The death of a mother can cause so many vacuum. look at the behavior of prince Harry for example after the death of princess Diana. you will find it difficult to belief that it was the same mother that gave birth to prince Williams and Harry. once again I wish them happy married life.

Nelly said...

Why would they suspend them(couple) now? Didn't d priest dat wedded them see her fitted gown/make up? Why didn't they ask her to go and amend her wedding gown? Medicine after death. If they like let them forgive them, if they like let them nt. No church in heaven.

Methinks said...

sad bunch!

dey didnt say dey didnt forgive dem..forgiveness z one tin n discipline z anoda......u an forgiv but also discipline 2 ensure d wrong tin dsnt happen again....my own z dat it is utter rubbish ...wots wrong bout d dressing nau..dats y i wud neva neva neva attend dat church...deir ways r stupuid ..God forgiv me...de r taking tins too far pls..giv me a break...shit!!

I think they need to re-evaluate what they stand for, God or church doctrine cos theres absolutely nothing wrong in what the bride is wearing. Meanwhile, if the boy is out to serve God then he should go abt his daily biz since he has apologize. If Kumuyi n d elders doesnt wanna forgive for no crime o then its between them and God

What sort of dressing is that for a bride? Shapeless dress with a miserable turban while their men look good in suits?...by the way, what is wrong with Love's dress for crying out loud? Nawa o...onye ara na uche ya (every man to his own)

Ggirl said...

Nothing is wrong with the wedding gown,they shoud forgive them

Oj said...

Lobatun! Practice what you preach!! They give rules that they can't keep. God help us. your heart is what matters and your personal relationship with God

Linda... Ur last statmnt is a let dwn! Thr ar rules nd penlty d church mite av, nd they jst follwn it!

Hehehehehe...LMFAO @ the 4th picture.God Forbid that my ENEMY looks like that on her Wedding day!!!
Thers fucks are jokers mehn!
I can't even shout.
Even Pastor pikin sabi beta tin oooo!
Linda nwa..biko post ma comment.U ma Role Model Of Life.

Linda, its not about they preach forgiveness and dont practice it. Standards needs to be followed. if he wasnt suspended, every body would follow suit and later write a long apology letter. Even when God forgives us, He punishes us for what we did as no sinner can go unpunished, God said that in His word. Adam, Aaron, Jacob, Moses, David, Samson, Cain, Peter and Paul (and many more) were all forgiven but they were punished. Infact God was even negotiating with David what type of punishment He would give to him but God still called him His friend while we all know how Saul (Paul) killed and terrorized christians then and when He found God, he was terrorized and persecuted more than any other disciple. Even when i sin against God and i ask for forgiveness, i know He has forgiven me but men, i always ask for His mercies when he finally intends to punish me because grace cant abound while we continue in sin and keep abusing the grace.
so in my opinion, Deeper Life are right in what they have done.
May God have mercy on us and may our sights never irritate God.

isnt this the funniest thing i have seen earlier. nawa o. all these church doctrines. its them that knows. maybe its by your dressing that you would enter heaven. the babe is fully clothed sef. how would someone wear that satin trash on whats suppose to be the best day of their life

Same here atleast they would have forgive them no matter what

I see nothing wrong with her dress...

Na wa o. Lips sealed kuz a man of God is involved

Nothing is wrong with the dressing at all. What u should knw about Deeper Lifers is that they claim to be holy, but very hard to forgive. Infact they are d most hardened heart i have ever seen, yet, they claim righteous all d time. Image a father not attending son' wedding cos they wore fitted wedding cloths? And u pray God for forgivness all the time. Those that suspended them, i tell you, are d worst if u investigate. Christ said, he that has no sin, should cast the first stone. God's ways are not our ways.

Linda it wouldn't be nice if Libers will start using abusive words on the man of God(Pastor William Kumuyi) because of this issue. People should trade d part of caution in commenting and those who have nothing objective to say should better remain mute. A word is enough for d wise.

***IKB***

I don't think there's anything wrong with her dressing....they should pratice what they preach

Oto ocha.this is very funny. This is the most modest wedding gown av seen. Na wa o

Linda how does what we think affect a decision that's been effected already. U want people to begin to talk crap about the doctrine of a church? Better be careful.

--Teeteelahyo--

Yes, DLBC preaches forgiveness, they are forgiven, but as a norm in the church when you commit an offence you are suspended from the workers team, not the church.
Please don't get it mixed up. DLBC, preaches forgiveness and practice it. God bless you.

provin ....no matter hu u ar nt above d law bt dat dress no bad now!!! Ha ntin i no go see o!!!

Ben said...

Huummmmm, wonders shall never end.......

Karimah said...

My questn is, ws pastor kumuyi nt present @ the weddin. Pls they shuld stop d pretence.

Sheer hypocrisy on the path of the Church, Kumuyi, his son, daughter in law, the inlaws, the officiated pastor that wedded them and the congregation that witnessed the weeding.

I believe that the Officiating pastor must ask the question of " anyone here that knows why these TWO should not be joined together as husband and wife should come out now to disclose it or forever keep his/ her lips sealed", so why didnt any member of the church raise his or her hand to condemn what the lady was wearing as not portraying the teachings of the church?

If u go to the houses of some of these " Deeper Life Church Members" u will hardly see a TV set in their sitting room, if u ask them, they will tell u that its unGodly, but if u peep inside their bedroom, u will see a TV set covered with a blanket. What a way of deceiving themselves.

Can Kumuyi's sons claim that they have not been watching TV in those countries they reside? Will they refute the allegations that they don't use perfumes?, This one that just got married in Jamaica, can he swear that he has not been fornicating with his wife before they tie the knot?. If he presents his blood for test, they could even find tobacco, hard drugs and alcoholic intakes in his blood system.

Pastor Kumuyi should release his Church members from all these shackles. Tell me if its a sin to wear normal wedding gowns?. Is the Holy Bible against wearing of normal wedding gowns?. See how the lady wearing a china white made wedding gown is looking like a corpse from the mortuary, Look at even her chief bridesmaid, looking like a zombie.

Linda, stop talking about forgiveness, rather tell the G.O. to release his church members of this shackles or rather let the church members use this opportunity to untie themselves. When I was operating video club, Bro. Mike, a member of Deeper Life, used to come and hire ADULT MOVIES from me. He was not married then. What does he do with it? What does he used to watch the adult movies? Was it not the same unGodly TV as their church calls it?. In this church, they still watch TV showing G.O. Preaching, is it not the same TV?

Their apologies to me is nonsense. Other church members should follow suit in wearing normal wedding gowns on wedding days and at least making up a bit. Imagine, they don't use flowers during weddings. Are flowers unGodly too? I thought flowers signifies love?. Who is fooling who? John Kumuyi has been with his father for years as a kid, he knows the traditions of their church as it frowns at wearing the " worldly wedding gowns" and yet he went ahead to allow his wife to wear it believing to tender an apology letter thereafter. Linda, who is fooling who? He said it was this indiscipline that led Kumuyi to decline attending the wedding, so does it mean that Kumuyi had seen the wedding gown before the wedding day? Lets assume he (Kumuyi) saw it before the wedding and asked John to retrace his steps. Suffice it to say that John told Kumuyi pure and plain that he would not heed to his word which led Kumuyi to boycotting the wedding. If Kumuyi had walked out of the wedding hall, that would have been a different thing. So, I can tell u LIBers that the guy John knew what he did, he knew from time immemorial that the church members were been held captives by those laws, and decided to do what pleases him when it got to his turn. His apology letter is another act if hypocrisy.

Let Kumuyi change those laws or let the church members, take their own destinies in their own hands period. God is interested in our souls and not what we wear.

Okikiola.

Sheer hypocrisy on the path of the Church, Kumuyi, his son, daughter in law, the inlaws, the officiated pastor that wedded them and the congregation that witnessed the weeding.

I believe that the Officiating pastor must ask the question of " anyone here that knows why these TWO should not be joined together as husband and wife should come out now to disclose it or forever keep his/ her lips sealed", so why didnt any member of the church raise his or her hand to condemn what the lady was wearing as not portraying the teachings of the church?

If u go to the houses of some of these " Deeper Life Church Members" u will hardly see a TV set in their sitting room, if u ask them, they will tell u that its unGodly, but if u peep inside their bedroom, u will see a TV set covered with a blanket. What a way of deceiving themselves.

Can Kumuyi's sons claim that they have not been watching TV in those countries they reside? Will they refute the allegations that they don't use perfumes?, This one that just got married in Jamaica, can he swear that he has not been fornicating with his wife before they tie the knot?. If he presents his blood for test, they could even find tobacco, hard drugs and alcoholic intakes in his blood system.

Pastor Kumuyi should release his Church members from all these shackles. Tell me if its a sin to wear normal wedding gowns?. Is the Holy Bible against wearing of normal wedding gowns?. See how the lady wearing a china white made wedding gown is looking like a corpse from the mortuary, Look at even her chief bridesmaid, looking like a zombie.

Linda, stop talking about forgiveness, rather tell the G.O. to release his church members of this shackles or rather let the church members use this opportunity to untie themselves. When I was operating video club, Bro. Mike, a member of Deeper Life, used to come and hire ADULT MOVIES from me. He was not married then. What does he do with it? What does he used to watch the adult movies? Was it not the same unGodly TV as their church calls it?. In this church, they still watch TV showing G.O. Preaching, is it not the same TV?

Their apologies to me is nonsense. Other church members should follow suit in wearing normal wedding gowns on wedding days and at least making up a bit. Imagine, they don't use flowers during weddings. Are flowers unGodly too? I thought flowers signifies love?. Who is fooling who? John Kumuyi has been with his father for years as a kid, he knows the traditions of their church as it frowns at wearing the " worldly wedding gowns" and yet he went ahead to allow his wife to wear it believing to tender an apology letter thereafter. Linda, who is fooling who? He said it was this indiscipline that led Kumuyi to decline attending the wedding, so does it mean that Kumuyi had seen the wedding gown before the wedding day? Lets assume he (Kumuyi) saw it before the wedding and asked John to retrace his steps. Suffice it to say that John told Kumuyi pure and plain that he would not heed to his word which led Kumuyi to boycotting the wedding. If Kumuyi had walked out of the wedding hall, that would have been a different thing. So, I can tell u LIBers that the guy John knew what he did, he knew from time immemorial that the church members were been held captives by those laws, and decided to do what pleases him when it got to his turn. His apology letter is another act if hypocrisy.

Let Kumuyi change those laws or let the church members, take their own destinies in their own hands period. God is interested in our souls and not what we wear.

Okikiola.

well i think they suspended them so that the church congregation would not feel cheated. already the whole country is spewing hypocritical words on d church and its already a shame that the G.O couldn't put his house in order. what is good for the goose is also good for the gander.

Self righteousness is worrying the church. Next pls

Deeper life is a pretentious church with gossipy and judgey members.....this hardly surprised me...Catholic church is the best
Nonye

They are all a bunch of hypocrites. The couple is only apologizing coz of the backlash. They knew very well what the church standards were but decided to do what they believed anyways. They are Lilly livered for having apologized for what they obviously believe in. Then the church leaders are hypocrites coz they must have all attended the wedding with big smiles seeing no problems till now that their members complained they come up with this bs to deceive their members. All those that follow religion blindly should remember that religion and GOD are different. Our churches are filled with hypocrites who preach one thing and practice another in their hidden places. But surely it must all come to light. Shaaaaaaaaaaaame. Silly somebories!

Fake church, so who cares? They didn't discipline them for probable fornication before marriage, but they will do so for a frumpy, ugly wedding dress? Kudos, deeper life.

Der is nothing revelling about the bride's dress & since the church is angry about it & they have aporlogised they should forgive them

Thank God oh, God is nt man we 4 don die. D guy didn't choose 2 be born a Deeper Life pastor's son God chose it 4 hm nd since he hs been there 4rm childhood he shld hv knwn d rules and told it 2 hs wife. Hmmm heaven ka na wah oh. See hw they wnt mk bride resemble very ugly. Bt see d babe wey d guy pick, very beautiful woman. Am sure she ws nt a member fo DL. They will mk their women ugly, thn instead of marrying them they'll go nd marry winners or othr denominations.

When they have had their beautiful celebration in the church, what else? This is suspension doesn't hold water.
Make dem go yansh down jare!!!

Buhahahahhahahahahaaha!!! Dis guys re sick.....for dis kind generation??? Blood of God

Kay said...

Why do people play God? Are the rules broken not man-made? It has no backing in d Bible. So why make a big deal out of it.

Why anyone would want to look like that mgbeke in the scarf on her wedding day is just beyond me. People just forcing their beliefs on others in this world. Please do your own and let others do theirs. Jeloxi for those looking fine in their wedding dress will get u no where. If it is paining you go and buy better dress instead of looking like sele on ur wedding day.

Kay said...

Why do people play God? Are the rules broken not man-made? It has no backing in d Bible. So why make a big deal out of it.

Na dem sabi.

Hehehehehe.....smh!!mtcheeewwww!!as if holinesss has anytin to do wit dressing

If they forgive them,people will still criticise!

There is nothin wrg wit wat love wore its her day.nd as for d other lady I rest my case

otosyne said...

The wedding wasnt even done in a Deeper life chrch, nd dt lady was very decent! So, what excatly is the suspension for?
They rily need to set priorities strait......

mz mand said...

Anyway when love looks back at her wedding picture she would be glad she broke such rules,imaging looking like a buddah nun on your wedding day.me think nigerians are more christian than the original chiristians at antioch,to think we constantly make the top of the list as most corrupt too.smh.

I think this is very unnecessary. She did nothing wrong. A woman is supposed to dress in a way that she would not cause another human to sin. This lady is covered up from head to toe as you can clearly see. People are just blowing this thing way over the top. Before this, did any member of the church take a wedding gown like this and was told that they shouldn't wear it? They were not told to wear skirt and blouses and turbans for weddings. The former wife of the pastor dressed like that because it was her own style of dressing, and because of that , women in the church followed suit and it became the style not that they were asked to dress like that. This also goes to watching or having television, he never Said do not have one, yes you could have one as long as it doesnt affect your spiritual life, you can definitely have one. But when you have to go to bible study and you can't go because of soap operas you have to watch, then it becomes a problem for you. People are just making so much noise over nothing. I listen and I enjoy his preachings well. All these people making noise should go and think about their own lives and stop pointing fingers at these people. I read something about the limousine and d cake blah blah...pleaseeeeeee get a life people...stop making these people guilty for no reason. If its painting you that you didn't wear gown, go and get married again and wear gown now so that you will be satisfied, as if it qualifies you to enter heaven.. Hypocrites...😡,..

Don't mind those hypocrate they are scared of other member been liberated from thier bondage.for now forgivenessssss is not in thier bible.

if they forgive the same linda will post that the DLCM was bias and preaching what they cant practice. I respect the Church position. God is a respecter of no one!

The Nigerian said...

your last statement is uncalled for. You do realise that if they were forgiven, there would have been an outlash from their church members? People in higher authority should be mindful of what they do.

ObySA said...

Ewu ndaa tara ji ndaa. Uncle goat chop uncle yam.

Linda, make I bless you: You will get a man of your dream in no distant time, but on one condition, on your wedding day, your wedding dress will look exactly like the picture on the right. Can I hear someone say amen to that!

Read your bible well, the bible talks about forgiveness and it also speaks about discipline. Whilst i am not a fan of their dress code, it is within reason that they be reprimanded for their actions.

This is funny

TRYING TO COVER THE DEED? BUT THE REVOLUTION IN DEEPER LIFE HAS JUST BEGAN, WATCH OUT FOR MORE......

OGE said...

Lwkm!she's soooo decently dressed oh.deres nofin wrong with d dressing.mk d church leaders go hug transformer abeg.dey even tried rendering an appology letter.bros change church abeg all dis una nonsense won't tk u guys to heaven oh.all ur sistas dat cova bdy head to toe check well dey fuck sm of ur pastors.90 percent of dem sef aint virgins.I have facts oh.

Suspended for one week abi? Who are they deceiving? All these eye service, so their congregation would say it is good as they were scolded? Tsheeeeewwww!!!!!!

Gidi girl said...

All these things should not matter, at the end of it all, God sees the heart, so if you like wear make up and have a hard heart towars God or dont wear make up and still have a hard heart with an unforgiving spirit....at the end of it all, both people are no different from each other....Take away religion and give me christianity that shows me how to accept and give God's Love!!!

Dey did d wedding wt deir parents blecyns. So both parents wuld ve knwn wat d bride was gonna wear. So diz is nt d genesis of diz problem. 2 b sincere, I fink its tym 4 change in dat church. Was 1ce a member buh d tot of luking lyk a masquerade on ma special day (dats cums 1ce in a lifetym) scared me outta d church. Come on, no-one wants 2 luk like dey're putting on a halloween costume on deir special day. Behinds its cheating!!! Luk @ d men suits 4 heaven sake!!!

Why are most christains practicing religion instead of Christianity.....

Exactly Linda! They preach forgiveness and they can't accept it! God knows the amount of sins those stupid church members commit, but still they like to impose their "I'm holier than thou" attitude on others!

They Ǎ̜̣̍я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ old enof †Φ know what Ȋ̝̊̅§ good for them. They should start attending another church where forgiveness Ȋ̝̊̅§ present!

I think this has gone beyond church p...there's personal story that's related to this that we aren't being told...this man is probably mad at his son for some reason we don't know and is hiding behind church to punish him...

am not a deeper life oh and infact my bum shorts shows half my butt cheeks but an answer to ur question in regards to not forgiving even though they preach forgiveness, i guess in this case they couples have to be chastised first before forgiveness, else every other member in the church will do the same thing and expect to just be forgiven.

bukola said...

Dis religion fanatic sef.

my point is why did they even conduct the wedding if the church tenets where violated? (rhetorical). the oil is spilled already so its hypocritcal to suspend them; that means if it wasnt for the internet critics nothing wuld hav been done. i see it also eye service. people shuld be fair to their true selves.

Dixon said...

Since the bride in question is not from deeper life church whats the fuss all about. www.trendynaija.com

Queen Bee said...

But the Pastor is being honest,if he doesn't act like' he is vexing for the son,others will follow suit and that will be the end of their supposed dress code.
He will still forgive him def'
All na initial gragra'
Btw these deeper life pple dou dem harsh o,in this generation subjecting pple to this stone age way of life,even Jesus says it's the heart he looks at,and not hypocritical piousness in appearance!well,#nademsabio!#@d members

U'r ryt.'Practice what u preach'...dats d way it shld b.

Nuffin is wrong wiv dis wedding nah linda dis second pix of dere members is funny.see dere men r deceiving dere woman look @ d suit dere men r wearing n look @ wat d woman r wearing

Linda shut up if u don't knw wat to say/write...Ure supoz to be more learned dat dis...I guez dis issue is taken overboard n u shd understand dat people have gone thru d same suspension for a lighter offence not to talk of dis d GS son.itz a disciplinary method in d church.is e supoz to be spared n pardoned?.... Den d next tin u bloggers will find wat else to say, n tarnish d image of d church more.pls enouf of dis d couple n d church are already going thru enouf.

Dis is rubbish. Bunch of hypocrites. God! dis peepz nid 2 wake up nd stop bein delusional.

Pls linda is the standard wedding gown for the deeper life made from heaven,was it not design by somebody.why are couple being treated as if they had committed a heinous crime against God.I wonder if they are God

Big mouthed Linda.

This is really crazy. Why do they preach hypocrisy? shaking my head for these people...so sad!

dats thins of de flesh,they should continue worshipin their God,God looks at our heart and we worship him in spirit and in truth,i dont even imbibe or support such doctrine,de Gs shoul forgive dem joor,becos God forgave us

na wa oh...shaking my head for these people! so sad...

direct ticket to hell straight up

This is absurd. I can't wear such hideous wedding dress talkless of the overall. My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge.

wateva

Believe me, its disheartening. Not seen the picture yet o but wetin na? How bad d dress be wey dem wan keeeee d gal besides, its her day? "He without sin, let he or she cast the first stone" KMT!!!! The fact they apologized for whatever act they did wrong, I expect the church to forgive.

Two words: hideous dresses!

Nkechi said...

On one hand Love Kumuyi, on the other hand Megan Good... I guess this is why God gave man freewill so that those that are his will chose him free and fair with no pressure. While most of these new age churches remind me of what the days of Sodom and Gomorra, Deeper life reminds me of pharisees and sadducees that determined a persons righteousness by what they wear. How can we be so heavenly that we are earthly no good. The Lord of heaven convicts the heart, he is not interested in what we are wearing and what we have or don't have. The Lord is in you there will be a manifestation of his love in all that concerns you. We pray for God's guidance in all that we do, no the church directives.
Sorry I don't claim to be most righteous not am I a bible scholar, but nothing in the bible nor have I been convicted by the holy spirit that wearing a garbage bag, covered from head to toe is what will get me to heaven nor does it identify me as a Christian... On that note I will suggest that my Deeper Life brothers and sisters stop overreaching and reading Timothy 2:9 out of context!

They obviously don't practice what they preach, I really don't see anything wrong with this dress, d dress is covered enough,for God sake its suppose to be a wedding dress not a mourning dress, linda if you like don't post dis comment, you've never. Posted my comment I know you are being partial

cutie said...

Well all I can say is if dey wnt to dress christ like dey shud probably start wearing robes,sandals n sack clothes. Den do away with fones,cars and other stuffs n travel with horses,asses n camel. Only den can dey criticise dis newly wedded couple coz I dnt see any tin wrong wit her dress. Btw Jesus said he without sin shud cast de first stone. Am out

Chineeeeeekeeeee!!!!!! Just saw d pics. WTF????? Someone pls tell me wats wrong with dis dress dis lovely lady's wearing. As fas as I'm concerned, na for "Deeper Life Bible Church" wicked people full pass. I'm sorry if u worship dere so mk nobody attack me o. Dem carry Bible for head pass but hell is so ready to receive most of dem cos of dier evil "heart".

Actions produces consequences...forgiveness doesn't preclude the meting out of disciplinary measures albeit I dnt see any thing wrong wit d gown but rules are rules and david in d bible was still punished by God despite God forgiving him...pls post my comment

Good for them to leave the church, that's nonsense

I thought one of d members claimed d pics were photoshopped? See all of them heading for heaven..

what is there to apologize for and what is there to forgive? This shows the bitterness in man's heart! What is their crime? Isn't the bride beautifully and DECENTLY dressed? Or is it unbiblical to look beautiful, esp on ur wedding day? And then their men will always come out looking sharp and refuse to marry from their church! It's such a shame that some supposed men of God have left bible teachings to focus on irrelevant things! Why didn't he attend his own son's wedding? Bitterness and unforgiveness! No matter what it is, you are pastor and a role model of forgiveness and peacemaking! He is your son and u should learn to let things go, even if the wife is a prostitute - and am sure she's not! Very judgmental set of people! How do u people even ask God for forgiveness when u can't forgive? And I don't know any member of that church who is kind and loving, trust me I've dealt with a lot! Their hearts are just the way they look on the outside: haggard and old! Am sure even if the man wanted to accept the apology, the generations of women whom he deprived the opportunity to look good on their wedding day will never agree! AS U HAVE JUDGED, SO WILL GOD JUDGE U

MN said...

Mate get a life why apologise ?is your dad God, he should read his bible in light not in darkness and take Devon Franklin as role model, old man thought,

i swear if my dad should say rubbish about my wife dress mate i wont take it easy, cos his wife didn't get a good dress during his wedding jealous dad.

the girls on that video look like 1940s slaves ..
mr follow Devon Franklin and learn to appreciate your wife and real life.

cyndy girl said...

Stupidity. Hell is waiting for you guys continue decieving yourself in practising religion instead of christianity

God in heaven Himself will have to forgive whoever cooked this up. Why do you people like to carry another person's load on your head&choose to drag your own. That picture above is not the approved mode of dressing(stop spreading what you know nothing about. I can send u pictures of deeper life brides). Besides, the apology was written after their suspension not before as rumoured and they were suspended because John is a pastor in the church.

Dey(de church) av no option but 2 4give dem bcos,if dey don't den dey ar hypocrites n enemies of GOD.

Linda that's ur problem abi?mine is the church is now a family business having all this children in the activites of the church.
God dey

NEKWA NU M'ANYA O! This is a disgrace to the kingdom of God. May I never set foot in that kind of church. They are like aliens.

~ ADANNE

Christians should surely lead in forgiving but these two chose intentionally do have a pretty wedding then apologise and carry on like nothing happened.
Lead by example and every action has its consequences
they should be allowed to continue attending but to take any leading role
err heck no

Other couples should also be allowed to have beautiful weddings with fine pictures and be suspended later.
Who are they fooling? Did the committee not approve her dress as they do with other intending couples?
Why come and form ignorance now?
Let them allow other women too to enjoy looking good not looking like corpses on their wedding day then let them write apology letter.
They are just pretending, if it was a normal couple they won't even join them in holy matrimony they are just shocked at the responses and want to discourage others from getting ideas.

Wao since dey did it lik a child dey should be pardon lik a child.

Linda, sometimes you baffle me with your reasoning. Have you ever been to a deeper life wedding before? I applaud the General overseer for suspending his son (even though it was late). Other "common" brides in deeper life churches are made to look like "slaves" on their own wedding day (the day that every lady is expected to look pretty and happy). Some are not even allowed to have a bouquet and then comes the general overseer's son's bride looking all dolled up on her wedding day. Who is the imbecile here biko?? If you are the bride in the photo on the left, how would you feel???? Try to be reasonable at times Linda, it can be tiring trying to let you see other peoples point of view at times! I still love you thou. Be blessed.

All animals are equal but some are more equal than others. The suspension was after thought because of social media comments. I know for sure that intending couples are supposed to submit their wedding outfit to the church weeks before the wedding for approval so who approved the gown? The wedding was at the church in jamaica, who was the officiating pastor? Pastor Kumuyi did not attend the wedding ? Why ? Because he knew the son was going to embarrass him, so why did it hold? The bobo used a very classy limousine? Why? Because he's been in jamaica for 20years and forgotten that some members at home are still battling to have 3 meals a day. Haba, it's a mess

You like wahala. Leave them and mind ur business. Continue with ur who would u hit & sexy bod post and don't make people crucify & judge their beliefs *rme

MizAnonymous said...

Long ass hiss..... They should all go fcuk themselves, who cares? The boy obviously does want a wife that looks like his deeper deeper women and I understand him.. They say don't do this don't wear this, most deeper life people have TVs in their rooms. Fcuking hypocrites
P.s
Linda if u know any deeper life member u ll know they hardly forgive

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 400 of 632   Newer› Newest»