Riot at Anambra State University after two students are shot dead by robbers | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 5 June 2013

Riot at Anambra State University after two students are shot dead by robbers

There was riot in Igbariam campus in Anambra State University this morning. Heard things have died down a bit. According to unconfirmed reports which I am getting from students of the school, who are also sending in photos, armed robbers invaded the students' lodge last night to rob and they ended up shooting quite a few students. One student died last night, while another one who was shot died early this morning in the hospital.

Some students decided the best way to respond to the incident was to riot against the school and state government, blaming lack of security for their fellow students' deaths. 

Students say they pay N135,000 per session for new students and 107,000 for old students and still don't have security or even a functioning hospital, plus no light!

The rioting students went on the streets insisting on speaking with Governor Peter Obi. The students calmed down after the school Vice Chancellor addressed them about an hour ago.

93 comments:

↭PRINCE JOBLESS↭ said...

LOL at Nigeria

Opeedo said...

Why are people this brutal? ....... ...... Pls click HERE for hot naijagist

Unfortunately Nigeria has got to a stage where it needs to "Get with the Program." May God almighty console the families of the deceased and may the deceased make it to heaven, the ultimate gift, Amen.

All institutions of higher learning in Nigeria should have armed security guards to tackle all these vagabonds that have seemingly taken over the country! Hopefully, things improve o!

So sad, poor kids aiming for a better life!

Martins (GlossyMart Tech Gadgets 07037317400 or 08116202737) said...

sad incident....but having this riot wont solve anything at all..why can students just learn to leave some cases for the authorities to handle

Its quite unfortunate,may the souls of the dead rest in peace.
I pray the appropriate authorities find a way to address the issues raised by the students as soon as possible before it degenerates into something more serious.

So Sad!!!

linda who told u d riot has calmed down or that they even cared to listen to d so cald v.c? Look at d amt they ar payin as sku fee yet they cn't even boast of skul hustle, radio station, skul hospital, electricity, bolehole n wot av u. Pathetic! Kudos 2 u though. Nice job

sQo said...

Ibo pple. rme

Na wa oo with dis plenty money no security hmmmmm may der soul RIP

oh my alma matar

Its so true.....there is no light in my school,no good network service....the school is dead and our school fees is way to much......no security,thievies come dere all d time to rape girls,stab n shoot people..God help us

This is too bad,then school authority should do something fast about the security issues in the scholl to prevent another incident/attack on the students.May the souls of the departed rest in perfect peace.

posky said...

stupid robbers na student una go attack, una no see banks go attack, shameless fools

Lol @ "things have died down" ..Naija English 101.

No hospital, no electricity, and armed robbers can enter and kill any one at any time without deterrence. Disgusting! This country is destroying its own future. The people must stand up for themselves. Of the billions of Naira Nigeria receives in oil revenue, a few, for God's sake, can be set aside to protect students!!!!!!

wow... that school fee is painfully huge mehn
and yet, our education sucks as hell.... the Nigerian leadership needs total overhauling. from the presidency down to the primary school headmaster/mistress

Another bad news. How long will we continue to be on our toes scared about what will happen next. Linda u too u can be a point of contact for this country. Pray that in d next few months u will not have to post any news of death. I imagine u too are not happy about this. God answers prayers. RIP to the lost ones :( :( #fanestfan

Uche said...

Things r hapning o, 135k is too much for no security na...

How did dis pics get here so soon........things are normal now but students are still in pains ......im also student dea......rioting is d best way to pour out our sorrows to the government

That's really pathetic. Every day nigeria' student die 4 no reason. Government need Ï„̅☺ look in Ï„̅☺ dis and also try Ï„̅☺ repair Ï„̅☺ solve d lapses. Cupcake in d building.

Darling said...

Dats vry bad, after colecting dt huge amount for fees, u stil can't provide dem wit security? Dts so unfair in govrnment path...

I seem to be writing RIP almost everyday.

am no longer finding this funny.

everyday a sad passing. every freaking day! am tired of hearing such bad news.

all schools are poorly managed in dis con3. Smtyms .one is tempted to ask wat has apen to govt conscience lookin to d huge amt paid as tuition fees n notin to shw for it in our campuses

Esanemma said...

itz true.... Vehicles travelling had to boycott d express and pass through where i dey do my PPA, awkuzu.

Stupid govt, all they care about is to loot and embezzel money. TO even guide the lives of their citizens they can't.
Is high time we stand 9ut for our rights and fight for it.
RIP to the student that died what a pity!

ANAMBRA STATE GOVERNMENT SHOULD DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS MESS. U TAKE 135K FROM STUDENTS U GIVE THEM SECURITY

dats too bad,d govt shuld do sm thng about it pls is rily impotant so dat sm thng lyk dis wil neva happen again,wit d amount d studnt ar payin they deserve a wel organise security men.

maryfaith said...

STUDENTS SHOULD ALL THESE AND FOCUS ON WHAT TOOK THEM TO SCHOOL.

I SOME STUDENTS MISSING OUT AT THE END OF THE DAY

♍Æ” dear linda rioting for security is nessasery in this country. Abe I no fit shout

IkwerreBoy said...

Good students... air your disappoint shake the state very well....

Must something bad happen before those in authorities do the right thing this is sadden may the departed rest in peace amen

Nkem said...

Nigeria is such a jungle.

T girl said...

this is sadly the state of the nation we're in. may they RIP. Linda hope im first to comment oooo

Owner said...

i did ma prescience in this school 2008 and am from anambra state, its very sad to see that education is made affordable to only the rich, just imagine the amount for school fee, that's not right, is there any cut in the school fees for the natives of the state..... cultism in that school is high as well... one cant sleep without the fear of being robbed or killed what a school.... u dare not open ur windows while @ night..... is that a school?

Naija school system is wack,you pay money but you don't get good services

kele said...

Are u insane? Or u lake something to say.those dead students will they come back from their graves to focus on what they went to school for. Probably if ur brother kid wife or husband is murdered in cold blood. U will foget it and focus. This is the dumbest comment I have read here

bitch please,did the government kill the students.they should better face their books and stop making trouble

Na wa oo.. So state universities pay dis much?After paying so much...RIP to d lost sould...

Chinedu said...

imbecile

Good call! The time for siddon dey look has passed. We need to act for our needs to be met. Not riots, violence never solved anything. But time to sit and watch is over. But come to think of it, the robbers might be fellow students.

God help d poor ones we don suffer 4 naija oooooooo

Owner said...

fighting ourselves will not change the situation, peter obi shame on you... i cant believe ma state has such news.... and this is may still happen again, as this is not the first of its kind of story, we have heard even worst

I teach in a US college and I really feel for students in Nigerian institutions, such as ASU, that lack the basic amenities that signal a civilized society. The tragedy is that it has already been amply demonstrated that there are simple solutions to problems such as steady access to water and electricity. The problem with Nigeria is not, as we all know, a lack of resources but rather a lack of will and, of course, the appalling diversion of funds. I applaud these young people, trying to learn under truly horrible and unjustifiable circumstances. How do they do it???? God bless them.

SIMPLE BABY said...

Anon June 5, 2013 at 2:17 PM

Its a pity your understanding is limited. Of course the government killed them indirectly by wasting much needed funds on useless things Hence leaving the place desolate.

If your relative had been affected you'd be rioting too.

Shut up! What has ibo pple got to do with this?? Akpa njo ofemmanu

U are very stupid..wch cultism...ur jux a stupid baga..idiot..don't go and read ur books..anuofia

U r a fool, it can happen any where in Nigeria. Stop been tribalistic.

How I wish its ur relation †Ð½Î±† was shot in this riot..stupid son of an imbecile..u †Ð½Î±† av read ur books..wat av u achieved?..don't go and sort out ur miserable life...*spits*

bubbles said...

Really sad o, just like that with all they get to pay nawa o. The money they even pain me...abeg make una go federal schools.

sexyboocalher said...

V U̶̲̥̅̊ heard anytin like"correction"? Put d correct 1 n move on.....mtchewwwwwww

ivanimpeccable said...

God have mercy,insecurity al over,signs of d end tim,dnt tink der is goin to b peace anywhere n dis word again bcus even d bible said it and i tink dis is d tim for it to b fufiled,sinners repent,christians hold on to ur God

You must be part of the thieves,or your a thief by profession

It is quite unfortunate that Government of our time still don't care for the masses. Only God can help. May their soul rest in peace

@Anon 2:17pm! May this evil visit Ƴöΰ and ur family member for making such comment. Because they dead are n☺Ï„ ur relations.....imbecile

The Blessed one said...

My God!!! This guy what's with the lol? *smh* u r just so horrible! I desperately hate u from the bottom of my heart!

bubbles said...

Nawa 4 d both of u...anyway sha english isn't your 1st language.

bubbles said...

Really sad o, just like that with all they get to pay nawa o. The money they even pain me...abeg make una go federal schools.

Arow norsemen, God help us all

Very sad! That is how one 500L part-time student in Uniben was killed by a police woman and the police buried him without allowing his parents to even see their son's remains. They later claimed the boy was with a gun, why bury him if something is not fishy. Robbers and police they are both killers.

June said...

Igbariam campus, is hell...no power, water, high fees....even people(sars) that re meant to protect Ï„̣̣Ñ’Ñ‘ students harasses them! Even wen they riot, nothing changes ..Gov Peter Obi, Ï„̣̣Ñ’Ñ‘ judgment btw γφυ nd Ansu students, na heaven e dey! RIP to the lost lives.

Odeh Owshii,LOL at you,a waste of effort by your parents.Why won't you laugh? An absolute idiot like you has nothing to do but laugh.Intellectual handicap,What a Waste..

#135,000 just for a session, pls ANSU is a state Uni not Private Uni, upon dat, no security, no lite, no enough accomodation for students. D issue of insecurity in dat sch is much, no session dat students are not being killed. Pls Linda, Tell Mr Peter Obi to do something, those students belong to someone. Is so painful.

Hmmmmmmmm,that was my school peter obi shame 2 u. Anyway May they soul rest in peace. AMEN (NG BLACK)

Linda which kind of commentor is this Prince Jobless, can u stop acting like the child u are and consider this people who are in crisis. idiot.

As in ehn robbers going to rob students? Nawao

4 heaven sake 135k per session is damn too much in d 1st place as school fee, I don't get! If a govt school is already charging 135k how much do dey expect a private school 2 charge? Dis govt doesn't even want d poor 2 go 2 school again oh n d painful part is they re trying 2 stop corruption wen dey knw fully well dat dey re d corrupt ones...#smh# very soon thunder will begin 2 strike each an everyone of dem..

Ben

ejikebiggerdick said...

Thievies? With this, I think u need more english teacher rather than security

Melisko said...

Why press dey fuck up,a police man shot a student dis morning@d riot,i can't see it here why?i have d picx d video oh

ejikebiggerdick said...

Thievies? With this, I think ur school needs more english to security

Melisko said...

A police shot a guy during d protest

Am a student of Ansu but at Uli campus. The robbery at Igbariam campus z becoming sumtin else. My kid broda z at dat campus nd he complains all d time of their lodge bin robbed. He buys new phone all d time cos of d robbery. I thk GOD notin bad has happened 2him nd I pray God kips him safe till he z thru wit his studies there. As 4 Peter Obi,d man or rather woman z jst a disappointment with no conscience. If only his kids can be exposed 2d risks dis kids re bin exposed 2,maybe he will hv a rethink. Am truely sad 4d souls lost as a result of all d robbery,even though some of dem re caused by some terrible students who hv sold their soul 2d devil nd feels they hv d right 2tak human life weneva they want 2. May God deliver dis country 4rm dark forces nd may d souls of d departed RIP.........Makis

Kai, na wa o. Try and read a book once in a while to improve your English

franq said...

Gush!!! Its a painful story...bt if we examine dis story very well we might find out d@ its their fellow students...nevertheless may their souls RIP.. Amen

Wen I ws a student of dis sch my fees were neva more than 38k n I graduated in 2009 n in les dan 3yrs its ova a hundred...too bad menn......

*crying* so sad dats my ex school(2011) I tout we had security dats really bad my last school fees was close to 90k. I wonder wat gov.peter obi is srzly doin! Cos to me he is nt promoting my state.judgement day dey come RIP

Ode wat is funny abt dis ish#smh

Finally d Governor came, promised 2 provide security and 2 take responsibility of d student who was shot by d Nigerian Police 2day, I salute all Igbariam campus students, not even d police bullets could stop us. RIP 2 frnds, will forever b remembered.

Brandengineer said...

live from Germany...a top oil-producing state yet dashed by corruption and breath-taking unemployment levels :-( may their souls rest in peace...

Hmmm....it is well..

Leo said...

The headline should rather be "Riot at Anambra State University after two students were (not ARE) shot dead by robbers"

sQo said...

Calm your dirty ibo tits. lol

JayDizzle said...

God bless you too... #RunsAway

Cult infested east

You this sexy boocallher*i bet ure a big busy body...pls try and rest nau...*wipes sweat.

Lmao...the both of dem are struggling wif deir english....nawa!

What is paining u?wats wrng wif wah she she sed???Nawa 4 pain body!

Sould ke?Nawa O!

Lmao!!!whr u running to?

Sould ke?Nawa O!

What is paining u?wats wrng wif wah she she sed???Nawa 4 pain body!

Lmao...the both of dem are struggling wif deir english....nawa!

missy said...

SQo,ure vry stupid!pple like u r d reason ds country is d way it is!..n BTW,ure ugly.