Man sentenced to death by hanging in Abia state for killing his wife | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 5 June 2013

Man sentenced to death by hanging in Abia state for killing his wife

Culled from Punch
An Abia State High Court has sentenced a banker, Mr. Theophilus Ajakaiye, to death by hanging for killing his wife, Theodora. (pictured above)
The convict allegedly murdered his wife on October 12, 2009 at Azumini Ndoki in the Ukwa Judicial Division of Abia.
Until her death, Theodora was an employee of Guaranty Trust Bank Plc.

The legal battle between the deceased’s family and the accused began soon after the alleged killing until the judgment recently.

The Presiding Judge, Justice T.U. Uzokwe, said in his judgment that having heard from the accused person, learned counsel for the accused and the prosecuting counsel, the offence carried a mandatory sentence which is death.

He said the court had no power to reduce the sentence and that being the case, he had no option but to sentence the accused.

The judge said, “Though the accused was not seen killing the deceased, I find that the accumulated circumstantial facts found proved that the accused indeed murdered his wife, Theodora Ajakaiye.
“Suffice it to say that I find the accused guilty as charged and I convict him accordingly.”

The sentence read, “Theophilus Ajakaiye – The sentence of this court upon you is that you be hanged by the neck until you be dead and may the merciful Lord have mercy on your soul.”

In the allocutus, counsel for the accused pleaded for mercy on behalf of his client.
He said, “I thank the court for this well considered judgment. The accused has no criminal record. We plead for mercy. There are two children to the marriage and they have already lost their mother.”

It was learnt that the convict had yet to appeal against the judgment.

105 comments:

Pity

Kill your own wife? Dear lord! Well, justice served!

hmmmm what a shameful end.
you kill by the sword,you die by the sword.

Nawah for naija oh. Tufia

Candy Rex said...

Lord save us from the hands of wicked people.

Aunty Linda ohhhh, the sad news too plenty abeg

he who kills by the sword must die by the sword. let him go and face God!
Killed his own wife?
imagine!

For me,this is not right.the judge shld hv shown mercy..since they have two children left..now d kids whould bi fatherless and motherleSs..wat a pity..*sad*

He should have been given life imprisonment, S̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴͡ that he can watch himself suffer. Nonsense!

Oh my days, God help us!

So he should remain alive and tell the kids when they grow that he killed their mum and you expect the kids to do what? clap for him and say "good job dad" abi?

pls such a man is not worthy to be called a father! I want to believe the wife has a loving family that will take care of her kids pls!

* the late wife I mean

Oh Poor kids. Lord have mercy

sharp sharp, very good judgment andno time wasting. can this judge preside over akolade arowolo's case. its been over year, this how they would drag the case is thrown out of court.

the counsel for the accused has no point, d man is unfit and incapable of raising those children, he is a murderer. if he could kill their mother, then he can kill them!!!

this incident happened this year and the sentence was passed this year. if only all nigerian judges can be like this, nigeria would e a safer place to live in.

June said...

OMG! Pity τ̣̣ђё fool of a Husband for τ̣̣ђё children's sake and let GOD be τ̣̣ђё judge! Let him be sentenced for Life..

June said...

OMG! Pity τ̣̣ђё fool of a Husband for τ̣̣ђё children's sake and let GOD be τ̣̣ђё judge! Maybe sentenced for Life.. Or smfin...

Nigerians have started acting up. Please leave this behavior for white people.
shop-with-didi.myshopify.com

Precious N said...

He should have tot of his kids before he robbed them of their mother, nw he cares tht they will b parentless. Phsssssss, oh please.God will watch over those kids he must go answer for his sins.

Hmmmm...we have worst people in the society and polical sector who has done worst things than him.I don't think he deed it intentional.Nigeria have mercy on him for the sake of his children.

Repent from your sins all workers of iniquity. The Lord and saviour Jesus Christ died on the cross of Calvary so that we may all have life. Jesus is waiting for you with open arms for all sinners to repent and give their lives to him. Jesus is the only way to heaven. The kingdom of God is at hand and we don't know the day or hour he shall come to take his own. Heaven is real and so is hell. Please choose life. 2 Peter 3:10, Hebrews 9:28, John 14:3. God bless you all.

How can u convict n sentence to death on circumstancial evidence? Dat is worse than murder if u ask me!

MYRAYA SAYS said...

Stories like dis makes some people dread getting married... Clear case of Love gone sour... God help us.. God help d children...
MYRAYA

Death for death,God who created us loves us how dear u kill what u create not,then you shall be killed.one catch the judge need to be hundred percent sure he did if not.....

Na waooo !!!!!! Dis one pass mi

What men do to women in the name of marriage is heartbreaking.from cheating to bartery and then to murder. Nigerian govt shld help and save women from this agony.

Sure he killed her out of envy or may be thrs a girl he s seein somewhere. Its always gud to get ur fact right b4 marrying a divorcee! If hs released now he wld marry another girl nd would neva say what he did nd sad enough he might do it again!

orange said...

This is kangaroo judgement. The judge didn't even give a thought to the children. Who will take care of those children, especially in Nigeria where there are no social services. Te judgement smells of tribalism. The woman was Igbo, married to a Yoruba man. The judge is igbo. He also said there is no circumstantial evidence that he killed his wife. In order words, no eye witness account. His judgement is based on hearsay. What kinda sick judgement is that. Nigerians are so ludicrous and this judge is a clown. Haven sentenced the man to death, the judge should adopt the two children.

Oh my father lord save us from this wicked world,humanbeing like yourself oga o.

Iyaana said...

If he can kill his beloved wife, then am sure he can easily kill d two children in a day. Let Justice occur please.

God riddance

He should be finally and permanently discredited in abundance and emmh finish d animal. (The mafia king has spoken)

Common shut up. U re very foolish. Of course pple like u will bring sentiments into everything thereby drawing dis country back. Ewu Gambia. Animal

folah said...

Sun re o,mr ajakaiye

Lıfe ımprıson wld ve been better. I usually watch CSI and those Oyıbo pple hardly gıve death sentence to all d murderers ınstead d normally gıve them lıfe,

An eye for an eye period

We need the full story pls. What led to the act if it's true. Just like the Komolafe story.

Yes o, An eye for an eye, but let's tamper justice with mercy for the sake of the children life imprisonment with hard labor will serve him right

he has done wat is wrong of hm. Can u imagine a barister involved in d case of muder. Al i do pity is their children who wld bcum fatherless nd motherless notin we can say cuz justice hav already been done. hmmmmmmmmm!!!

a tooth for a tooth
an eye for an eye
a kill for a kill
hehehe

I pity the two children, such a sad story.

Is a pity men don't have regard for their wife this days,may God help the innocent children.

HEALTHY LIVING said...

Hes a murderer. He cant take care of the kids.

Theofilus and Theodora! What names! And why is the defence counsel thanking the judge for ' a well considered judgement' when his client is about to be hanged???

Is pathetic

Naija men have developed the habit of killing their wives and girlfriends, na wa o God help us o

What makes u think that he's not capable of killing those kids?if he can kill his wife then he's capable of anything

RIP in advance bro....

¤

from wat i heard, the two were involved in a car accident wen d wife died. so y are they accusing the husband or do they want the kids to be orphans?

Kelkay said...

Were is d evidence dat he indeed murdered his wife?i.e'Though we ve nt seen d accussed murdered d deceased'.Nigerian Judges wit their asumptions.B4 We Pass Judgement on D Wictim,get Sum Facts Pple#I Rest Ma Case#

Modupsy said...

" U be hanged until u be dead"
I dunno if its just me but dat sentence sounds like something Captain Jack Sparrow would say

My cousin has finally found peace. RIP Theodora Ebi Ekpen

Mr Theophilus Ajakaiye was yesterday sentenced to death by hanging by the Abia State High Court. He is accused of murdering his wife. The sad incident happened sometimes in Oct. 2009 while the couple were involved in an accident that resorted in car plunging into the river on the boundary of Uyo and Abia State. The couple have 2kids. The wife's family swore that they would ensure that the guy is killed, they are close to their dream and have gotten a death sentence. I need us to speak as one voice, an accidental death cannot be punished by state execution. Some influential people are obviously working the wheels of the judiciary in Abia State. Death by hanging is unjust and disproportionate. Support our cry for fairness. Add your voice to stop the execution of Theophilus. Keep circulating till it gets to the appropriate authority and the judgement reversed. Say NO to THIS PROPOSED EXECUTION AND JUDGEMENT

Let God take control.

Nilla said...

Justice served!

Oga it's "live by the sword and die by the sword" not kill. Yeah yeah u r welcome.
OMOTENIOLA

He beat his wife to death!Which is more grievous? His offense or his punishment?

Go n hear again! Ask dem to tell u again

kunle said...

Death by hanging: thought that per-colonial law has been scraped. Is synonymous with beheading. What a strict law. Anyway, it will scare potential abusive husband.

discover secrets to losing some weight and eating healthy

we need ur mercy Lord

#sadMuch I pity dem 2, I wonder hw dey will feel wen dey r older n knw d reason bhind d death of dia parents

The judgement was based on 'previous circumstantial evidences'. This shows that the marriage has suffered violence and they have been managing until the 'unexpected' happened. In such a terrible accident, why was the man the only survivor and the wife dead? The man has had the motive to kill the wife and only used the accident as a ploy to escape justice shd he succeed. Alas, justice may be delayed but cannot be denied. He deserve what he got for even laying hands on the wife!!

@ Gozie metto...I tried not to laf..which one is "RIP in advance"?

seems like akolade arowolo might get such a sentence cos his case is similar.Gosh and hes actually alright oh...i met him in the prisons during a lawyers visit.

A death sentence based on 'Accumulated circumstantial facts', as a law student I would be surprised if this death sentence is upheld by higher courts because according to my studies murder must be proven beyond reasonable doubt!

So sorry

It will serve as deterrence to potential abusers. Mafia king is here and mafia king has spoken.¤

Do u know hw to read?he killed his wife in 2009,it took 4 years to give a verdict.next time read b4 commenting.

U ar wat is wrong with Nigeria.grow up nd think with ur brains,dats y God gave dem to u.

JACKSPARROW SpeaKS---"=)) =D =D ♒ђåª•ђåª•ђåª♒=D..madmoiselle,thanks...for speaking...on..my behalf"##may he.. and...his wife..settle...dier discre..pancies 6feet under d sea#

U ar plain foolish,hw is dat possible?smh

Till you view the evidence, quit your baby lawyer rubbish talk on the Internet. Which law school taught you that one can't be convicted on circumstantial evidence? As far as the prosecution proved its case beyond reasonable doubt! That's the standard required

Jay said...

Exactly,and d story is dat they were involved in a motor accident dat lead to d wife,s death.dats not murder,unless he intentionally drove into d river.but who is a mind reader?who knew what he was tinking at dat moment b4 he plunged into d river?about d kids being made orphans,its a sad situation.d man can be pardoned and still d kids will grow up hating him for life.*signs*a sad situation I tell u.God have mercy

Jay said...
Hajjo said...

Modupsy, I swear down mehn! Its nt a laffing matter bt I cnt help it. Lmao, dat phrase sounds ancient.
Still on d matter, I am glad he ws sentenced accordingly. Although I hv a strong inkling he will appeal n hv it reduced, wch is still ok. Killing him will nt bring her bck. Bt living as a convict? Na him go carry him hand hang himslf last last

He shortened her life for crying out loud....he deserves d same!

Jay said...
Nekky said...

He should have thought of his kids before killing his wife.Now the poor children will become orphans cos of an insane man. Mscheeeew

Please tell us what happened.

So they should leave the kids to be raised by the man who killed their mother? You are a hippopotamus

e bonto said...

My. Country people,when will this kind of thing stop.It happens ev eryday.Pls always do a check on ur spouse b4 going into marriage.

ZainieB said...

Omoteniola,over sabi,housewife.. U kill by the sword,u die by the sword is correct. Where u invented ur own,I dnt know. B sure b4 u correct another person,ITK

http://www.unn.edu.ng/ said...

justice rightly served....

Sharrrrp! This shit happens everywhere. Not a pericular case for naija.

ivanimpeccable said...

d Question is...where is deir soul going to?

One keeps hearing of murder cases like ds...hmmm D end is near

What really happened?

Such a sad story but Justice must take its course. My heart goes out to the children :( ... in other news, Linda u had better start posting happy news on this blog o. Abi u want all ur readers to grow old before our time cuz of too much crying.

#FANESTFAN

Its ur duty to thank d judge whether or not d judgement is in ur favour

Nenny said...

If u are not a lawyer or a judge, don't come here and blab about Judges convicting on wrong evidence or the use of capital punishment. The Nigerian Criminal Code say" punishment for murder is death". The constitution says " the right to life can be taken away by law if a citizen commits an offence punishable with death". Even the Nigerian Evidence Act says that a person can be convicted on circumstantial evidence if the evidence is cogent, unequivocal and compelling. So please y'all should leave your sentiments outta ds. Or do u prefer he be sentenced to 80yrs imprisonment with hard labour? Trust me, u wouldn't want it for ur enemies.

Great judgement!

I thought that was Maryam Babangida for a minute! Phew!

Olatunji Awe said...

What for, what do we call this love or madness, can that judgment make any +ve impart in the lives of their children if any.

O please are you saying that u are unaware of what happened? It was premeditated and he also tried hard to cover his tracks.He told everyone that they had a car accident he lost control of the car and drove into a river and she drowned. Investigations and Autopsy reveals that she was killed and the car was driven into a nearby river... That's all I would say now.

We will take great care of the children. Deceased Wife's Family

Lmao@ hippopotamus.....jesus!!!!!u r sooo funny

The late wife awaits the man, to drown him in his own river.
I hope the 27yr old gigolo that killed his lady is reading this to know what awaits him when he is finally caught.

Shyla

Nenny said...

@Anon 10:04am, u r a law student not a Barrister. The law says beyond reasonable doubt and not beyond every shadow of doubt. Go and read the Evidence Act 2011, it says that circumstantial evidence can ground conviction if it is compelling and unequivocal. Moreover, u weren't in the court tru out d trial neither were u one of d lawyers so don't make hasty conclusions. Bad for a Lawyer and even worse for a law student.

Asiin,this same judge should preside over the aluu4 case..d pepertrators deserve this same verdict.

I'm left in utter bewilderment at incidents like this...Lord have mercy!!!

pwincess jummie said...

Dis is serious... May d wife's soul rest in peace. I rily pity their children, losing both parents at a time #sadq

Kindly tell us what happened so people can learn from it.

He does not deserve to have the joy of bringing up kids.

Let his people go and appeal even up to supreme court, that judgment must stand.

We are tired of violence against women (and children).

emeka dollar said...

said what about this politicians that kills every day
with evidence