CBN reacts to Premium Times report on Sanusi's sexapades | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 5 June 2013

CBN reacts to Premium Times report on Sanusi's sexapades

If you missed the Premium Times report on Sanusi Lamido Sanusi's sexapades and abuse of office, then read it HERE. CBN has reacted to the allegations. Find it below...
 3rd June, 2013
The Ag. Managing Editor,
Premium Times 
Our attention has been drawn to the libelous story posted on your website on 2nd June, 2013, on the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), and which has now been circulated by other online websites and blogging groups.
The post was full of fabrication and inaccuracies. Ordinarily this would have been best ignored. We are however constrained to write to you on account of the severe implications of the allegations for the integrity of the CBN, as an institution.
 Continue...

It is also important to reaffirm our long-standing commitment to due process and international best practice in the discharge of every aspect of our statutory mandate.
We wish to state that CBN is an equal opportunity employer, which prides itself with having female members of staff that possess the highest qualifications, competencies and skills. It is rather reprehensible for anyone to cast such aspersions on the qualifications and integrity of our female staff.
In the publication, you made the following false allegations:
  1. That Dr. Maryam Yaro is a staff of the CBN at the level of Assistant Director and that she was recruited without due process, as  she was not qualified for the role.
  2. That the CBN Governor introduced Dr. Yaro to the CBN and exerted pressure on the Human Resources Department to recruit her.
We wish to state the fact as follows: 
  1. Dr. Maryam Yaro is not, and has never been an employee of the Central Bank of Nigeria. She was one of four consultants (three of whom were male), hired by the Nigeria Incentive-based Risk-sharing System for Agricultural Lending  (NIRSAL) Plc; on a one year contract, renewable on the basis of satisfactory performance. NIRSAL Plc is a special purpose vehicle (SPV) set up by the Federal Government of Nigeria, through a partnership between the CBN and the Federal Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development (FMARD). 
  1. In the course of establishing NIRSAL, the Hon. Minister of State for Agriculture and Rural Development, through a formal letter, recommended Dr. Yaro to participate in the project as a Specialist on Rural Finance Access. 
  1. Dr. Yaro was hired after a rigorous selection process conducted by the the NIRSAL Project Implementation Office. This clearly contradicts the claim that Dr. Yaro was brought in by the CBN Governor. 
  1. Contrary to allegation that the Governor expedited recruitment of Dr. Yaro, the PIO’s recommendation to hire her as a Consultant, was written on March 30, 2012 but only received final approval on June 20, 2012.  
  1. It is pertinent to add that Dr. Yaro’s academic qualifications and experience eminently qualify her for the job. She is a Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM), who speaks three Nigerian languages, and has extensive experience working with farmers across the country on different agricultural programmes. She has also been a consultant to the Food and Agricultural Organization (FAO); and was one of the experts working in the National Programme on Food Security before she was engaged by NIRSAL. 
  1. Please find attached, the relevant documents in support of the facts stated above and we hope you will give this the same publicity you gave your initial story. 
We have noted that the other allegations in the post border on the person of the CBN Governor and are consistent with previous attacks. In line with the Governor’s usual practice of not responding to these libelous comments on his person, we have decided not to respond.
The CBN shall remain resolute in the pursuit of its statutory mandates regardless of any attempt to distract the institution or its officers.
Thank you
 Ugochukwu A. Okoroafor
Director, Corporate Communications,
Central Bank of Nigeria
Reacting to the statement, , Premium Times Acting Managing Editor, Idris Akinbajo, said the paper is standing firmly by its story.
“We knew the story was going to shock a lot of people. We were under no illusion that Nigerians would hurriedly swallow the bitter truth of the revelations made in the story. We have discharged our responsibility of providing information we believe citizens need to hold officials accountable.
“Our job is done, as we will only continue to provide additional information as necessary. It is left for Nigerians to either demand accountability or live with, and celebrate the indiscretions of their leaders.
“We stand firmly by our story and look forward to the moment the CBN Governor will boldly look Nigerians in the face and say the things we reported in that story did not happen.”

113 comments:

Hmmmmn!! There are always two sides to a story, but again, there is hardly smoke without fire as to rumours about top shots in Nigeria.

neny said...

Ghen ghen I know dis premium times must ve had a concrete evidence for them to leak such info. Wahala dey ooo!!!! Otherwise cbn would ve sued them. Sanusi u r a confirmed serial lover cos we avent heard ur response concerning ur romance with dat woman. Waiting for part 2 of dis

This just gets more interesting....

Whatever mehn... First to comment btw.

Very empty reaction. Did the sex actually happened, yes or no? My answer is Yes. Mrs Yaro is a sex toy, period

↭PRINCE JOBLESS↭ said...

I really don't get the hang of this story, really. I think Barack Obama should send the US Drones to Nigeria. It's time to wipe out some ***holes in that country. Starting with GJ.

Well, no smoke without fire, its now left for Sanusi to make a statement, but he is doing his duties as a CBN governor so far, if womanizing is his hobby,let him be, only God to judge.

How can the CBN Governor dare say he won't respond to this allegations when he's holding a public office and allegedly used taxpayers money... Well, it's only in Nigeria
And pple r saying its not their biz, then which one is your biz??

Of course he will deny. But only God knows the truth.

You have decided not to respond but u ended up responding. Τ̣̣Ñ’Ñ‘ truth is known to only Ï„̣̣Ñ’Ñ‘ Accused and his persons.

I have seen (imagined) the sex tape...on photoshop from Adekunle Gold.

A̶̲̥̅be̶̲̥̅̊g forget ds pple,didn't ‎​u̶̲̥̅̊ guys seee d date on gej statements 2103,dats †̥☺ show ‎​u̶̲̥̅̊ how unserious ds pple are,sorry for bringin it here though

ammy said...

I like Cbn response and also dat of Premier times.In d end na dem sabi, nothing has changed dy r all living d life,while d masses are suffering. God's judgement is coming soon.

Rubbish!!! Oga Sanusi e true abi e no true?

#fanestfan

I rest my case!

This is serious! A story: the Truth, the Lies, and the Revelations. Fingers crossed for now for the President & other political heads to act on this story.

Ngozi said...

Story story. All dis grammer didn't clear anything. I didn't see Sanusi defended himself or threatened to sue the paper for libel. If he's not bold to do so, it means he is guilty of shagging another man's wife. Pls what would his Sharia brothers do to him? Will they cut off his JT?

Martins (GlossyMart Tech Gadgets 07037317400 or 08116202737) said...

that's how they will always keep denying but at last,they truth will surely unveil

No comment

I would like to see him refute that "Alhamdulilah" part.

MILOLI said...

wahala dey o!

Kels said...

Ghen Ghen!!! Ding Ding Ding!!! I'm enjoying dis part 2. Part 3 and 4,pls(Adjusting my wrapper)...CBN,no be to speak grammar o! Punch,if u like,go take bribe,kill d story...Ndi ala!

Kels said...

Sorry,premium times..

There is definately no smoke without a fire. Linda if I hear... They think they can confuse U just like dat? No not@all!

The dog that refuses to listen to the whistle of the hunter will definitely get missing.Premium Times is nearing the exit door,mark my word,and in their own words "Our Job Is Done".

Andy Dickson said...

An interesting movie waiting to be premiered. Script writers and movie producers...take note.

Ada Igbo said...

False news every where, leave My Sanusi alone

Abeggg.....e happen, e nor happen, who we go ask?..

He's entitled to 4 wifes so make una allow d man.

Efdee... said...

If the CBN Governor is sure the publication was fabricated, then let him defend himself, in a public statement.

Efdee... said...

Abegi, Let the CBN People go and rest, Premium Times knows the risk if the news was not genuine, Since Premium Times is insisting the story is true, Then its true or let the CBN Governor make a publication to deny the allegation, with evidence... PERIOD

K-REX said...

hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm! what a shame if this happens to be true. 2 side story. I think i almost agree with the first comment. God will help us in this country.

hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm! what a shsme if this happens to be true. 2 side story. I think i almost agree with the first comment. God will help us in this country.

jewel said...

Truth is am sure there's some credibility and or merit to the story if not the CBN administration would have sued for libel,defamation of character with a huge amount of money as compensation. Instead what they are defending is the woman's competence ie her level of educational qualification that led to her recruitment. That's not the story...the story here is scandalous nature of the CBN governor..!!! Defend that. Don't try to fool intelligent nigerian's out their by putting up a cover story. Msteew!!!

Ta! It has to be true...all dis ones na story! They should keep doing anyhow... God will judge them...

Gbam! I hail premium joor. If cbn n sanusi has anythin to context let them seek redress in court. Shame on this mallam who want 50% of working population sacked so he could have more money to squander on his lovers at d expense of taxpayers.

This must v put a strain to their sex life.... sadly. They'll start hiding now, fuckitudes.

WHAT HE DOES WITH HIS SEX LIFE IS NOBODY BUSINESS.WHAT HE WAS APPOINTED FOR SHOULD BE THE BASIS FOR CRITICISM.NOT HIS PRIVATE LIFE.

I think the story has some merit. Knowing SLS if it wasn't he would have viciously denied it and threatened to sue. But he has to be careful, he doesn't know what evidence they have and the motive behind it. I bet you a lot is going on behind the scene. The above save face attempt by the legal dept of CBN is to help repair the damage reputation of madam Yaro and perhaps help salvage her marriage. In all, like some said previously there is no smoke without fire. Only a mad man will make up stories about powerful people in that country without proof. My theory is that madam yaro's husband or one of SLS many GF suspected. something, had access to their cell and forwarded the text transcript. It takes all of 10 seconds if someone was in the shower. The rest was just fluff that premium times added to sweeten it. You may also want to look towards madam shagaya. His ex lover. He seems to like the madam sort. But only someone with power with attempt this. A scorned partner will go to any extent.

If you notice, he response was to the claims of nepotism, he didn't refute the sexual relationship between him and her nor his sexapades. Sanusi and almost all our leaders have zero discipline and a leader without discipline can't instill one. Period. That day Nigeria will be better ...... I cannot wait!

What u seek,u shall find and might not survive. How will u call a whole president 'asshole' ??? Respect that office fucking bastard!!!

too much talk

No my brother. His duties as a CBN governor doesn't end in making policies and decisions to affect economical or financial growth and stability. He also has TO BE VERY RESPONSIBLE AND DISCIPLINED.

jinx said...

So wat? This is not news. Who the hell givs a fuck! His entitled to more than one wife, and his love life is his and his alone, even if its true and then wat???? None of yall kan do norhing bout it..

Your Sanusi? So you two are one of his "Alhamdulilah"? Okay.

If u ask me... Na who i go ask? D matter wey u see so, e heavy 4 mouth... na dem sabi

This premium whatever people, I don't know who paid you off to publish this story. I do not care if its true. The man is a womanizer.he won't be the first. The woman Is a whore. Your mom probably is too. Why not investigate the bad things that affect this country rather than trying to ruin a mans reputation because of his sexual appetite. Look at politicians laundering money doing all sorts of illegal things. Yet your spineless stupid self did not have the caurage to investigate and bring these ones to the light? Fuck off. Attention seeker. We have bigger men causing bigger problems and this is the one you picked to air. Hadassahcole@live.com (´⌣`ʃƪ)

Habi sanusi with all d detailed information obviously d story is 100percent true. The txt, calls nd even d hotel address can't b wrong. If he says it is a lie then I tink d press should sue him. The hotel till has records, same does d network provided she uses they can help us to remove d spoilt milk. Sanusi should be sacked. He has overstayed his welcome. Is it nt time for d older generation should make way for we d youth. We can all put our hands 2geda to sack him afterall we did to 'my oga at d top'.

Irresponsible journalism. CBN's response is very candid and professional. Who sabi Premium times. To gain popularity they r doing this. Mr. Sanusi has nothing to respond to publicly because it will just make the premium times more popular unneccesarily. If queried by his bosses, he can duly respond. Yes he can go to court for libel but he sure knows d justice system in Nigeria would drag and drag and drag. From what I have read and known about Sanusi, he is an intellectual and he has discahrged his duties competently and professionally. His personal life remains personal so long as it is doesn't encroach on his official assignments. Chikena

mschewwww! where they going to own up before?
abeg make I see better things jor!

He can't deny DUCKING Mrs Yaro. Oga Yaro watch your wife O! Alhamdulahi. :) LOL.

Eve said...

Am sure all the instances reported by premium times are all true, and for fear of the evidences been brought to open, the CBN governor and DR yaro cannot openly deny it. I so pity dis country cos I know no disciplinary action is going to be taken on them. God help 9ja.

Hrm paul ojeih said...

cbn is just speaking grammar if they have a point let them sue for libel and defamation of character its a simple question mallam sanusi did u tap that booty yes or no did u give her your banana yes or no
no need for long grammar if the woman na animal doctor who care wetein concern vet doctor for cbn rubbish people any how sha na hausa tinz of course you idiot he is entitled to 4 wives but he should stop forming mr righteous holy holy

She was Lamidoed

Eve said...

Then he should marry her legally like a responsible man and stop sneaking around. What he is doing is a taboo before God and man and in all religion.

Y didn't de mention anything about the infidelity ,y r de talkn just about d process used to employ mrs yaro .

maryfaith said...

let the CBN governor come out boldly and address this issue full stop

the key phrase here is "WE HAVE DECIDED NOT TO RESPOND" sanusi who takes on even those who say the most trivial things about him saying this, the man has a lot to hide. i didnt believe premium times before but now the is GUILTY AS CHARGED!

Well,i can tell you that sexual harrassment goes on in the bank but those involved knows such reports must not get to the governor because others have been punished for doing that.Therefore,its highly doubtful the governor would be that involved with someone working in the bank.
Second,i was serving in the bank when Dr Yaro was employed as a contract staff,and i have to say;i'm sure she was hired based on her qualifications. You only need to hear her speak to know how intelligent and competent she is for the position.
True,there's no smoke without fire but these retards shouldn't make it seem like she's some bimbo(because she's not just to get more readers for their paper!

Abegi, it is true!!!! No be sanusi??? Mk dem shift joor!

staff of the CBN at the level of Assistant Director CBN , consultant hired by the Nigeria Incentive-based Risk-sharing System for CBN , kini yato (watz d difference)?? no be same connection she need to reach both position ?? y una no appoint,abi dem talk say me self no get qualifications ni?? abeg ,make una clear make i see road jare.....*red face*

Na d married woman I want mk dem disgrace sef,nobodi dey talk abt her. She nor even get shame.

He doesnt owe any of u jobless wretch any explanation on how he conducts his personal live, as long hz he doing his job. Cz if he ws fucking y'all mothers n sorting her am sure u wont b here chatting shit.

And it is d responsibility of the US to purity Nigeria? Ignorant child. T

kwis said...

Its only in naija that something of this nature will happen and a public figure will remain in office unrattled...abeg we should stop using face value..yes sanusi looks like an upright man but his junior did not go to school and doesn't have sense and respect for position...let him speak up else we will be forced to believe that premium times crew are. Saying the truth.

What kind of a stupid story is this? Leave the man alone. Men are dogs we all know that. As i type this, there are various married men and women in hotels with their lovers doing it right now. So this is no story. Show me a faithful man that has never cheated. Talking about this is really annoying. What do you want his wife to do? Leave her alone. Did they report he stole money? Then that will be a more interesting news to feed my eyes on. Men cheat everyday. They also reported he won the best CBN governor this year too. Which married man no get girlfriend? Talking about this , is making the man’s head to swell. Sanusi as a muslim is entitled to four wives. Pls if he stole money that is hidden somewhere, dig it out. This one no be news abegggg. May God help all cheats. Its truly painful when your husband or wife cheats.

bbm pin 23409153 said...

Linda plz can you kindly live Sanusi out of this, he went to my secondary school kings college lagos , and I believe he wouldn't do such a thing. Floreat to all the kcoba

this whole saga must end in naija

Gbam gbam!!!part two live

Editor said...

Personally I think the CBN governor owes Nigerians some form of explanation. Our leaders should be accountable to their people( if they should be honest with them selves). Have we forgotten so soon what happened in France the other day when a top public officer had to step down and clear his name because of a scandal. All of u saying its non of ur business and e no concern una make una dey there, later una go open mouth say government is corrupt, Naija govt bad, na una sabi. He should clear his name becos na d same person go come contest 4 president 2morrow and una go vote am in.

*actually happened ke??*

kele said...

Come oh are just insensitive or u are looking for a way to curry favour from this guy. What is private about his private life. The chartered jets were paid for buy public funds. Ok let him not respond. Infact he should start booking hotels abroad encourage. him.listen to urself if his boss ask him he should explain. I feel sorry for cowards like u

AFRICAN said...

Too bad CBN doesn't know the rules or how to play the media frenzy. Just an interesting rumour, false or true doesn't really matter prompted them to reveal confidential behind the scene activities within their organization. Great Low blow!!!! and how does it feel.... it hurts!!! What happened to NO COMMENT!!! THEY HAVE JUST FLAMED THE FIRE WITH THEIR ILL DAMAGE CONTROL. THE REAL DRAMA HAS JUST STARTED.... I LOVE THIS COUNTRY!!!

Haba CBN!!! This is not a good comeback punch....You dont send your response to the blog who first breaks the story!!! Where is a good publicist when you need one?? THIS IS 2013!!! THERE NOTHING BIGGER THAN A PRESS CONFERENCE TO ADDRESS THE THE ALLEGATIONS. LIGHTS! CAMERA!! ACTION!!! Premium times has you on the ropes and its not looking good. Get out of the corner and start swinging......

@adeniyi ure a fool, libido koor, who cares bout ur stupid gists, dnt ever post dat nonsense on ere again

@ anon 2:06 purity Nigeria??? Its in d blood

@eze, ure dumb "if womanizing is his hubby, he him be" wit tax payers money abi, cnt blame u sha, since u dnt pay tax, u wuldnt understand

Who cares??? Dumbie

Ask google... Mrs defende himself

Fool

Ure a fool!! U jst had 2 use "alhamdulilah" dere rite?? Dog

Linda, this is why i dont like commenting you don't post most people's comment. Pls post my comment about Ugo Okoroafor abeg.

AFRICAN, it is young people like you that ought to move Nigeria forward by thinking progressively. So, it is right for a married CBN Governor to have an affair with a married managerial member of staff? Jumping from hotel bed to hotel bed is not exactly what the Nation's top bank chief should be doing while supposedly attending conferences. And, have you even thought of the woman's husband and Sanusi's wife and children?We must learn that when you are a public officer, you must conform to a certain level of moral and personal conduct.The "Oga at the top is always right" mentality is killing our country, and it needs to stop. NOW!

Danz said...

Abi o,me too, lmao!

From ur comment u guy bearing African is a Dog. Hear urself. Sin na sin big or small. Probably u don't pay tax or u r not a Nigerian if not y should he play office fling with our tax money renting hotels and sleeping wit married women. Na people like una dey spoil dis country dey support bad thing nonsense guy.

@ AFRICAN DOG.SHUT UP.SANUSI SO U DEY KERE WAWA ANOTHER MAN WIFE YOU AR A PURE THEIF.IF U CAN DO DAT YOU WILL STEAL MONEY SOON.

Purity abi purify? Smh!

Pj d more u comment on dis blog d more dumbness u display,give it a rest alrdy.wonder how ur gf copes wit u.

Hmmmm...hope say u neva vex!*chews carrot*

My dear help me tell the foolish coward!

Geeez!me sef taya!

C'mon sharap dere!you were serving there,so wat?do you knw what happens behind closed doors??you're here speaking english... keep vouching ya eye go clear!

Shut up u fool!retard!

Chei God,I pity u?can u reread ur comment?he went 2 ur secondary skul so he can't do such a thing?! ODE+OLODO+HYPOCRITE+FAMZER=U!

Waito,what are u blabbing?hw can he marry sm1 elses wife?hiann!

Chei God,I pity u?can u reread ur comment?he went 2 ur secondary skul so he can't do such a thing?! ODE+OLODO+HYPOCRITE+FAMZER=U!

Shut up u fool!retard!

Sanusinis to disciplined for this sort of trash.

Ode lelei

DownUnder said...

You are an infidel

This story is a waste of time and I believe that the premium times has nothing concrete to use as evidence. this shows that some people are against the governor and are in all desperation fabricated this wishy washy story against him. If I were the CBN governor I will not comment as it will just be a sheer waste of my time.

Wetin cncine us ni?..
#teamcommentorulv#

SANUSI BOINKED THAT WOMAN.PERIOD!

No be Abuja?

How do people think?
First and foremost,CBN can't sue for libel/defamation.it is a tort committed on a person not organization.only a person can( but I don't blame people for not knowing that one sha).

What is ridiculous however is people justifying the act of Sanusi.the said act.fine!what a man does with his penis is naturally is own business,but not when you put yourself in the public eyes.if you check the appointment clause of many jobs in the constitution; there is also a clause of good conduct.and I'm sure its even in CBN staff appointment.no one of bad conduct,or fraudulent and scandalous past will be given the job! That's howv these things go.so for mr Sanusi to be accused of spending public funds in amorous escapades,absconding from meetings all to be with a member of staff,of the same organization is not good for his reputation.hes not replying probably cos he knows the news will die down.and of course,it's very common practice in their political circle.people do worse.he's Muslim.who will accuse him when he wishes to take future political steps?didnt Dino melaye do worse,bla bla bla

Then those saying he can marry 4 wives?pls show me the part in any Quran and Hadith where it was said you can sleep with someone's wife.islam frowns at adultery.thats the fact.im xtian tho but it's clear nawwww.

Then as for these CBN people.this attempt at PR is piss poor.damage control for the weak in intellect.1st you told us she doesn't work for you.shes no staff.bla bla.but she works with you by the way.a contract staff is still affiliated to you and as long as you looked into her CV and choose to appoint her,it's still same.what is being contested is not the nature of her job with you but the nature of her appointment.

Ok,they were mentioning 'Sanusi' through out the article.when it was now time to say who wrote her letter of recommendation,they called him P.I.O abi wetin.do we look like learners?letter written February approved march.that is hasty for your standards sef.
Besides,the paper didn't say she was not learned!but that the content of her cv was not the 1st and paramount reason for her appointment.you published her cv,why not publish the other candidates' own.you make it seem like they were primary school leaving certificate holders.im sure they may even be better.knowing Nigeria sef,those qualifications may be I'll gotten.afterall,web she leaves CBN,she'll add that one to her cv evn tho she was on her back for most of the duration.na wa,
I like Sanusi sha.hes bright and mordern

When one is accused of lying and he says he is ready to provide facts and he stands by his assertions, then the world will surely give that some respect. Freedom of information comes to play here. This is good. Really good.

No comment, waiting for part 3 of this movie script,1luv

This woman has a family o ... so sad the one thing is the way Premium Time gave details of her meetings with Sanusi, she would have to explain her exact travel details to her husband

Pls what did the management of CBN just say? That was an empty letter as opposed the allegations....#LIARS!!! Why can't they just speak basic english; No he did not do it,the pictures are fake or Yes he did it. All this he said is TMI...

theodora said...

hmmmmmm,....more of this please...www.unn.edu.ng

9jadeltapikin.. said...

Naijadeltapikin...Yes Ooº°˚˚°Âºoo this ÈŠ̊§ getting more interesting, I had Τ̅☺ go n buy coke α̲̅πϑ gala before I read Ooº°˚˚°Âºoo take ma time Τ̅☺ read lindus I trust U̶̲̥̅̊ 4 part 3

Excuse me. Organisations can sue for libel. I think YOU should check yourself. Smart ass. And yes im a lawyer

e bonto said...

Abegi,make una leave d man alone.What if he wants 2 marry d woman as wife no ??? Nko?What we need is how well he can manage our economy and ffinancial system.