Foremost novelist Professor Chinua Achebe dies at 82 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 22 March 2013

Foremost novelist Professor Chinua Achebe dies at 82

Novelist, poet, professor, critic and the author of the most widely read book in African literature (Things Fall Apart) professor Chinua Achebe, has passed on. Professor Achebe died last night March 21 in a hospital in Boston, Massachusetts. He had been ill for a while. He was 82 years old.

The legend has gone home. May his soul rest in peace...Amen.

251 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 251 of 251

This thread is for civilized people. Please don't bring your hate-filled and pretentious Yoruba mind here!

*crying* Africa n d whole world will miss u Sir. RIP

I'm jus so saddened by dis news. An irreplaceble loss.

Rest in peace giant and pride of Africa

There was a man...RIP great one!

Yemi said...

Great hero you have done well contributed and impacted our academic world.RIP

rest in peace great legend

phalze Ochieze said...

A rare gem is gone. Sir may your soul rest in the perfect bossom of the Lord Almighty. RIP Sir

May his soul rest in peace

VIRTOUSITY said...

Just heard this on the news. RIP great man! You were indeed a living legend! Condolences to your family.

Eyaaaa.......may his soul rest i peace:

Chinua Achebe!!! Though u'r gone but ur works lives on. RIP my solid Novelist. May God grant the family the fortitude to bear the loss. Amen.

RIP...Your legacy lives forever, one of the best things that ever came out of this continent Africa! May you continue to rest in the bosom of our Lord Jesus Christ.

Oh no! Rest in Peace

RIP sir, I pray God brings up many Nigerians like you that will impact positively on Nigeria and the world

The mighty tree has fallen, R.I.P Professor Chinua Achebe

Tribalist.

The centre cannot hold,so things has falling apart. Go in peace my Legend!!!!!!

Iti akwu.

than you ACHEBE for validating our story, may God greet you as a friend

Who b dis with you, you, you... R nor dey ur keyboard abi?? Abeg!Abeg!!Abeg!!!

jennietobbie said...

RIP Legend

Hrm paul ojeih said...

may his gentle soul rest in peace there goes a literary and cultural icon going to rest in the bossom of the lord he kept it real he did not sell is soul for the damn national award that they are now parading an selling like bean cake in traffic God help this country.hisssssss even aki an paw paw has one wen great heroes have none on Nigeria which way foward

He's 82... Stop sounding like he's 32. He lived a very great live n he's a great role model. So celebrate him rather than cry for him.

RIP Sir.

He rejected National honor twice, he rejected a million Dollars from 50cent to use the name "Things Fall Apart" as his movie title. A great man! An Icon! True hero! RIP sir!

Accomplished man may his wise brain and gentle soul rest in perfect peace. Amen.

African's greatest thinker and post colonial philosopher..and most importantly a scourge to the imperialist British in pre and post independent Nigeria..a purveyor and protector of great Ibo traditions, culture and belief,elevating it to global significance through his seminal work :"Things fall apart"..the sun sets today on one of Africa's greatest....though he would be greatly missed, his imprint globally would remain indelible. Adieu Chinua ...la n'udo!

"The Exit of a raregam" may his soul rest in peace amen.

Princess R said...

Adieu great man
35 Fascinating Facts about Chinua Achebe.
http://nwavic.blogspot.com/2013/03/ode-to-legend-35-fascinating-facts.html

CORRUPTION - CHINUA ACHEBE

Chinua Achebe never hesitated to turn harsh words on his home country, publishing a pamphlet in 1983, "The Trouble With Nigeria", excoriating its corruption and condemning it as "dirty, callous, noisy, ostentatious, dishonest and vulgar. In short it is among the most unpleasant places on earth."

"The Nigerian problem is the unwillingness or inability of its leaders to rise to the responsibility," he wrote, words which chimed with the feelings of many Nigerians.

In 2004, he turned down the title 'Commander of the Federal Republic' offered to him by then President Olusegun Obasanjo, replying that he was appalled by the cliques who had turned Nigeria into "a bankrupt and lawless fiefdom".

Undaunted, President Goodluck Jonathan also tried to confer a national honor on him in 2011. He snubbed that one too!

NOW that is a MAN that ALL Nigerians should EMULATE!!!!

RIP Chinua Achebe, the LEGEND!!!

another great lost to ndi igbo ,R.I.P SIR

PeeCeeCee said...

Chinualumogu Achebe... Dimkpa anaaa... Smh. Nwoke ka ibe ya... Giant of giants... Ogbuefi of letters:) Posterity will forever remember and laud you...

My heart is heavy but ur legacies lives on till when I will leave dis world,u are d second African with an Eternal Legacy ur only Rival is Mandela of S.A,though u dies but u are Alive in our memories,can't forget ur last Work 'There was A country! Go in peace d most moral upright Nigerian! Dike alaa! Oko osisi adaa! RIP son of d soil,u made Anambraians proud,ADEIU. JOEL

CommonSense said...

Prof. Achebe RIP, we are honored to have shared this world with you. Hopefully we have learnt from you the principles and integrity we need to move our nation forward. Peace

Dozie said...

may his soul rest in perfect peace amen.. his Good works will always live on

TWITS said...

THE SOUTH-EAST STILL BLEEDING:
THE GREAT IROKO FINALLY FALLS.
RIP PROFESSOR CHINUA ACHEBE.
GOOD NIGHT, "THE FATHER OF MODERN AFRICAN LITERATURE".

uptown blogger said...

thank u professor chinua achebe for ur service to your country and humanity. our thoughts and prayers of strength and comfort to ur department, friends and family. RIP SIR

Rest in Peace Great Chinua Achebe. Though you're gone, your work and impact you've made lives on. Challenging us today, what do you wanna be known for when you're gone?

Alorlondon said...

Adieu Papa Achebe.

Nwoke oma eji eje mba!
U are my Hero!
I luv u n appreciate ur works so very much!
R I P Sir!

It sends shivers down my spine anytime I read the death of any Nigerian veteran or legend, our generation is priviledged to be a part of their existence and it makes me wonder what we (including me) r legacy leaving for the next generation.

Nwokeoma said...

rest in peace PAPA, a great man who love his country and stood against all the bad leaders our Nigeria.

Nwokeoma said...

rest in peace PAPA, a great man who love his country and stood against all the bad leaders our Nigeria.

Dr. Vivien Bello-Osagie said...

Finally. He rested leaving the savanhappy birthday bro and many happy returns as u celebrate dis new year of ur life.na to the ants. The heroes of our past died without any light in our paths now filled with blinded fools. Ask me not what future awaits us all. The answer is on ur mirror. Adieu the pride of Africa.

Click Wealth said...

At 82, he tried, his impact is stronger than his age, a man of the people, who never like . He wishes would spears the corrupt leaders that made our country to be but his hope lingered on because of his love for the . Live on my hero, Chinua Achebe.

Ella Chisom said...

RIP PRof!great iroko!noble icon!great writer!the shakespeare of Nigeria!kai!!you are irreplaceable,9ja has lost a rare kind,once in a life time gem*Goodnight Pa*there was a country,where things fell apart,and the center could no longer hold.I'm working towards being a great and prolific writer like you#Amen.

Dunno why people choose to be tribalistic

That is exactly what the said book is talking about and warning against.

Achebe praised,criticized and lauded all tribes in the book the same...he also criticised ibo leaders.the British.the Hausa faction of the war.awolowo and he praised all.he applauded ibo culture...he said good about how organized the country was when the British were here.how you had faith in the administration.how they rigged the election to put in Tafawa balewa.an uneducated politician who will be accountable to the British.the decadence of the first republic.nnamdi azikiwe,his greatness and failure.he also called awolowo a great politician......what else were you expecting.that he will be economical with the truth just to please the Yoruba people who he never really mentioned in the book? All these legends you idolize,try to do it with a pinch of salt.for when a man dies,it always seems he had no flaws.no perfect man! Most men are devious and our nature is inherently evil.

That being said,the part referenced in the book was just 2 pages.yet the British Guardian reviewed that part the most to remove our minds from the people he criticised the most ''the British".and trust our Nigerians! We leapt and fell to their bait once again! As usual.they keep using tribalism against us.to control us....the day we will unite in this country!it will not be easy for our enemies!

rip SIR,THINGS NEVER CAME TOGETHER BEFORE YOU LEFT US! aT LEAST YOU DIED HONOURABLY WITHOUT TAKEN THEIR STUPID AWARD, THE GREMLIN HAS SPOKEN!

The GREMLIN DOESN'T UNDERSTAND WHY THE WICKED LIVE AND THE RIGHTEOUS DIE EARLY, MAYBE THEY ARE TOO GOOD TO BE IN THE MIDST OF THE WICKED.....THEY COULDN'T TAINT HIS IMAGE WITH THEIR DIRTY LAURELS......THE GREMLIN HAS SPOKEN!

RIP.. Chinualumogu..
Things indeed did fell apart..

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 251 of 251   Newer› Newest»