Dear LIB readers: Can I buy my own engagement ring? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 8 February 2013

Dear LIB readers: Can I buy my own engagement ring?

From a LIB reader...
I'm engaged but I'm not wearing a ring. My boyfriend proposed to me during the Christmas holidays but didn't give me a ring because he couldn't afford to buy me one he knows I will appreciate. He told me he will get me the ring before our wedding in August but it's becoming embarrassing because whenever I tell people I'm engaged they look at my fingers to see the ring and there's nothing there. Ever since I saw Tiwa's engagement ring I've been feeling really sad. I make far more money than my fiance and can afford to buy the ring of my dreams. Should I go ahead and buy my own engagement ring? My man will be mad and disappointed but I'd rather that than the way I feel at the moment.
What do you guys think?

347 comments:

1 – 200 of 347   Newer›   Newest»

All this ring thing na nonsense!

You are silly and impatient the type that will want to opress her hubby coz he dsnt have ......mtcheeww

Lot of girls, out there buys their rings but pretend to be their man. It ur choice girl. U need to do what makes u feel happy

Errrrrm nooooo u don't have to show him you have more money than him.if he genuinely can't afford an engagement ring then stick by him like that ..what people think is not your business ..I'm engaged but I dnt wear my ring..I don't think it's a must...and besides ur relationship might even be happier than some other relationships u r looking at who r wearing engagement rings ..so babe just chill

He said he can't afford 2 buy u one now & u don't want 2 be patient..if ur fingers are itching u that much get urself a ring!

Stay with the man of your dreams and don't let dreamers who are back bitters spoil your dream.you dnt need the ring you need the heart.

JustPorsh said...

Nne, no try am!
U see where wahala starts, 'u make far more money than him'. If u do this he will feel slighted n u myt not need that ring again (if u knw wat I mean).

He said he can't afford 2 buy u one now & u don't want 2 be patient..if ur fingers are itching u that much get urself a ring!

U av concluded d matter, y bug us wt it.

Are you using the ring to tell people that you are engaged? How sure are you that ring is a true symbol of genuie love? And buying it yourself will not be appreciated from your fiance you only want to give way to bad conception in your relationship, WISE UP JOOOO.

Shebbi u just said u wld buy it despite hw he wld feel,madam go n rest biko. U dnt av topic

Tell him to buy you any ring really. Its his job and you should be content with what he can afford

Are you crazy? Of course you can't buy your own engagement ring. Don't make him feel inferior. You already make more money than him. You don't need to remind him.

HmMmmmm,wait 4 him,God knws best! Den secondly,no hurry in life cuz all fingers are not equal ok

Errrrrm nooooo u don't have to show him you have more money than him.if he genuinely can't afford an engagement ring then stick by him like that ..what people think is not your business ..I'm engaged but I dnt wear my ring..I don't think it's a must...and besides ur relationship might even be happier than some other relationships u r looking at who r wearing engagement rings ..so babe just chill

I am engaged,n I am nt wearing a ring. N i am nt dead yet 4rm embarasment.plus do u want 2 buy tiwas type. U b real mumu sha

Nooooooooooo. Don't buy o my dear. Men have way too much ego to deal with something like that....and if it is because of what people will say, remember that people will always talk!

JoeManto said...

very inspirative and i like rhis womeno

Dont buy it,allow him to do that with the one he can afford,dont just look at what people do,your created different.Allow him to buy his choice..later you can change it when everything is settled.

I think there ntin wronge in getting urself a ring ,if ur guy is not gonna take offence in it .relationship is all about communications talk to ur guy nd find out what he has to say .............

Jumitebabe said...

<:O
)(>
_/ \ _shuoo nor buy oh!

Jumitebabe said...

<:O
)(>
_/ \ _shuoo nor buy oh!

Oh girl u can give me ur fiancée if u don't need him ..

Don't bother. After I got married I bought the ring of my dreams to go wwith my wwedding band as the one my hubby gave me was drab. Just wait a till after the wedding

LOL lol lol lol lol lol lol ever since you saw Tiwa's ring? hehehe
Girllllllllllllll dont you buy your ring yourself please. You will hurt bruise his ego. Are you a considerate woman and mother to be? If the answer is yes, let him buy you something small or cheap for now just to wear on you finger since it will give you peace.When he has enough money for what you want you will get it. Be patient there is more to an impending marriage. Meet him halfway girl

Jumitebabe said...

Btw
PLEASE VOTE IKHIDE ISAAC for best actor in a comedy: SMS 5E to +27839208406 N15 OR ONLINE THRU DIS LINK: http://awards.dstv.com/amvca/nomineeList.html?cat=204 once every hour until march 3rd

I Feel d same way at times, m also engaged without a ring nd its so embarassing.

stefine said...

Talk to him about the way that u are feeling first and make him understand how embarrass u are when people hear about ur engagement and they don't see any ring then go ahead and get urself one.to me is not somehow to get one for urself.

No let ur guy buy it even if its nt ur taste u should appreciate it more dats d sign of good wife. 1st to comment ( 4 my mind oooo). *1stlady*

If u love & respect ur man then allow him get d ring at his time.

Relax my dear,Relax

Jumitebabe said...

PLEASE VOTE IKHIDE ISAAC: SMS 5E to +27839208406 N15 OR ONLINE THRU DIS LINK: http://awards.dstv.com/amvca/nomineeList.html?cat=204 every hour:*until march 3rd

he engaged u for 2 year nd d wedding is nt forth coming, my dear kindly remove the ring ur finger is nt a key holder...ring doent mean anything to me..
Chizzy

I Feel d same way at times, m also engaged without a ring nd its so embarassing.

Na so the marriage hungry you? Take a chill pill ma sista.. Haba!

But what kind of man would propose without a ring. Even if it is a promise ring till the real ring comes, it's better. Since wedding is in August, he could have waited a while till he had the ring.

Some girls can be annoying & desperate sha! Did you engage yourself?Ask your guy if you can buy yourself a ring,why ask us?You will only prove to him that your higher pay will be an issue in marriage besides not all engagements end up in marriage so spare yourself the embarrassment in case it doesn't work out.He has already promised to get you a ring,why wud you flaunt his poverty in his face?A word is enuf...

Giving your partner money is normal so give him some money and he can buy a ring of his choice for you, simple! I don't think its cool getting one for yourself.

no you can't. don't insult your fiance by getting yourself a wedding. we know he's not rich but don't rub your money in his face. An engagement ring is something he alone should buy for you. You can then buy a wedding ring of your choice. You don't need a ring to make you feel engaged. I'm married & i rarely wear my wedding ring - and it doesn't make me feel less married. I'm female incase you're wondering.

you are quite silly...as a guy I wouldnt settle for someone like u...i dont mind having a girl who earns more, but to go out of your way to buy a ring, cos i can't afford what u would appreciate???well, if u loved him, u would appreciate whatever he can afford to get for u.

Stop telling people that you're engaged shikena.

Watch it girl...

my advice is do not buy your engagement ring cos you'll be termed an oppressor who is likely to be controlling her husband because she is riher than him.

You are going to be married to him for the rest of your life (hopefully). The people you are trying to impress with an engagement ring won't be in the marriage with you. So the real question is do you intend to spend your life worrying about what people think of you?

Whatchu mean by ring of your dreams? Lol, let him buy you the ring he can afford jhare. Wear it. Maybe later you can cuy yours and have two rings. Its not an issue really

My friend bleached 4rm INI 2 TONTO,told her nt too bt she insisted. D guy kalled of d wedding a month 2 d said date kos he doesn't like fair girls. She insisted a man kan tell her wat 2 do,bt nw she has cried 99 percent of d water in her body.

U earn more dan him,n so. If u get d ring dat means u kant live under his authority.

Babes learn 2 b wise,marriage is nt a game.

People dat re looking 4 ring,knt u say u re a Chosen or a Dipper life member.

Must u lack wisdom @ all tyms.

B wise madam!!!,again I say b wise

Nne be wise o! Forget tiwa and any other lady bcos na jhovah give them. Shebi u said yes even when u saw no ring so don't push it. Since u r planning ur wedding, codedly tell him that u want to start searching for a set. That way u both can choose both the bands and he engagemen rings. Good luck o!...............ng owerri

funi said...

I understand your pain. She's not the type of person that will oppress her hubby. You are so wrong. Just exercise a little patience :)

I think you should be patient because if u do get it, it might make him feel less of a man. Just be patient it's suppose to be his job to put a ring on it not urs hun xxx

Why wld u buy urself an engagement ring? Whose biz is it that your not wearing one eh? pls get a grip on urself.

My advice is that You give your man the money and let him choose the ring for you. Try talking to him about why you need the ring on and how it means nothing that you're giving him the money to get it

U said he cnt afford d ring u will appreciate,wat happens 2 d ring he cn afford nd u fall inlov wif d gesture not d ring! If drz true lov it doesn't mata ow much it cost,jes appreciate wat he can afford.tell him 2 gt u wat he can afford!tdai he mite nt b able 2 afford dt diamond ring,u neva cn tell wat wil happen 2mao! He shld gt u wat he cn afford!

Be careful this is a critical move you want to make... Marriage is not a game , it is serious . I will advice you honour your husban-to-be by waiting for him to buy it, and if you truly communicate well ,this matter can be resolved . It's just has to do with understanding . Please take this as one of the early test of marriage life.

No dear...don't buy, allow him to buy you a ring.see forget all the pictures/what you hear about the celebrities,there is more at the back of the pictures you don't get to hear. Be happy with your man and remember you owe no body no explanation as regards your engagement ring.good luck

Lin

Wise up young woman,

Does the engagement ring mean that he will marry you. i don't have an engagement ring and i am married....better pray for better husband instead of better ring o

Dont buy the ring. Let him buy it. the moment you start doing the job of a man in your family, you will do it for the rest of your life. Wait and let him give you it to you. When he does and you dont like it, tell him you will wear it and you are expecting an upgrade. Be patient and let him be the man.

My dear, so many girls out there have been proposed to without engagement rings and are preparing for their weddings this year so why are you complaining? Haven't you seen girls who got engaged with a ring and still didn't get married to the guy? Stop telling people you are engaged. Just tell them you are getting married. Abeg park well jor!

pls pls.dnt buy

Toinlicious said...

You really want to make him mad and disappointed?
It's Toinlicious

What is more important and what u should be praying for is that he marries you!!! and you have a GOOD Marriage.You dont Need a Ring to tell people that u r engaged its none of anybody's business.
I would rather have a man that loves me 100% and marries me and treats me well in the marriage than sport any stupid Ring wether its daimond or plastic.Anyway you must be a very young or immature lady to post this kind od thing dont worry as you grow and experience you will understand whats more important in life...my two cents

Chill till he can afford to get you one .

Pls tell him before u buy. If he really loves u, he will understand. There is nothing wrong with it. I wish I have someone like u.

M̶̲̥̅γ̲̣̣̥ dear there is nothing there.why will U̶̲̥̅̊ buy urdelf a ring?why nt let d love remains? ΨђåƮ is ring if?pls think abt better things aπϑ let Ūя̲̅ hubby ₪☺s wat he is doing pls.

Chinedum Ucheoma said...

Freaking sad life!

When was an engagement ring a proof for an engagement?

Marriage as I can remember is a pact between two persons. Oh! You want to please the world? Abeg Linda tell this babe say her life/marriage complexities are just germinating. Lest I forget, I think she has a complex or better still, NOENGAGEMENTRINGPHOBIA!

i am married now and bought our wedding rings and engagement rings. Bad mistake, bad bad move. I found my husband flirting with some woman on his phone. I took all the rings and threw it away. Part of my conditions for him is to buy me new rings and the ones i want.
the problem is, i have money and i am pulling the weight. Now i let him pull the weight and let him know i am waiting on/for him. With all that pressure from me and demand from the family, hopeful he wont have time to do nonsense anymore.
FYI. i still dont have a ring on my hand. I am waiting and i keep reminding him

Chinedum Ucheoma said...

Freaking sad life!

Marriage as I can remember is a pact between two persons. Oh! You want to please the world? Abeg Linda tell this babe say her life/marriage complexities are just germinating. Lest I forget, I think she has a complex or better still, NOENGAGEMENTRINGPHOBIA!

you better take easy girl.... more news and gist here at www.gistyinka.com

Chinedum Ucheoma said...

Freaking sad life!

Chinedum Ucheoma said...

Freaking sad life!

you are a learner!

O gaa o! This ring issue sef.I'm married and I don't wear a ring cuz I don't want to. To me,a ring doesn't mean more than a piece of jewelry. Let the man show me he loves me through his actions and I'll do the same. People ask me and for a ring and I tell them I don't need one. This ain't cuz my hubby 'can't afford one at the moment',he can even afford rings for all my fingers but I married him with my heart not my fingers. Babe,relax and don't listen to what everyone says about you not having a ring. Start planning your marriage instead!

from the little i have read clearly you are a middle age lady desperate to get married and that seems to be the reason why you are getting married in the first place. The real reasons why people marry - love ,respect, etc obviously are absent here.... otherwise you wouldn't be bothered about a silly thing such as a ring. i am married and i can understand the buzz a ring causes (usually before the wedding and for a little while after the wedding), but its short lived, in the sense that a few months after, e.g you wash your hands with your ring on (compared to a few months before when you will buff and shine and treat the ring like a little prince), more important things take over like running your family and home and learning to live with your husband....the ring buzz is usually all about showing off to your other female friends and making them green with envy...after a while the buzz dies down... PLSSS DO NOT BUY YOUR SELF A RING WITHOUT THE CONSENT OF YOUR FIANCE.....you will be doomed for a rocky marriage if you do, and that marriage wont last because your husband is a man and they have large egos. the fact that you earn far more than him is already bad enough to chip his ego, he will only see your move as a sign of disrespect and will probably hold it to heart and one day he will explode. pray to God for patience, wisdom and understanding...

im suspecting that the reason, he proposed to you without a ring in the first place may be due to unspoken(or perhaps spoken) pressure due to your age and other circumstances i.e pressure from you or your family/friends.....
its an awkward situation, solution might be to stop announcing that you are engaged till you get a ring or if you can't resist telling all understandably, mention that both your intentions is to buy a matching engagement and ring set and you don't want to rush... trust me people will appreciate that view... stop trying to keep up with the jonses...a lot of people who have done so, are no longer married, just after a few years of that mega wedding ceremony...

Chinedum Ucheoma said...

Freaking sad life!

Love has nothing to do with rings.....vanity upon vanity. Wait and love unconditionally.

Pls ђǝ̥̥ can buy Ƌ̲̣̣̣ 5000naira ring FO̶̲̥̅̊Я̩̥̊ Ʊ joor dnt push him away abeg. Who says Ʊ must wear Ƌ̲̣̣̣n engagement ring self?

if u guys are trully meant to be married, speak with your husband to be and tell him to buy you any cheap but nice looking ring, tell him that you are not concerned about round cut diamonds, any will do since its from him... wait a few months or a year after the wedding and let the ring get lost or stolen and buy your self your dream ring.... after the wedding, when responsibilities start jamming the guy, he wont even notice whats on your finger, but at least you wont have hurt his feelings... if u go and buy a ring now and he gets so upset and he cancels the wedding, what will u do? pls be smart abet

My dear u r on a very long thing, u better humble urself from the very begining if u must be happy in ur home. Husband is the head of the house and must be the one to buy ur ring, I am in a similar position, i earn 4x more than what my hubb earns but i ensure we live (i adjusted my lifestyle to accomodate him)according to his budget, i save my money, i will not travel for any holiday if he cannot afford to buy me the ticket at that time.

you buying ur ring is very rude and arrogant. so be wise and know what u trully want, before u commit.

y r u embarrased? u r engaged to be married end of story.u don't need a ring to announce it.a ring changes ur status just as sleeping in a garage makes us a car.

Dont do it...hw can u be getting married to someone who can't afford to buy you a ring and in August again...whats the rush...let him make enuf money abeg before u get hitched..haba...nw its ring...tomorow its accomodation or feeding...be wise abeg!

Hey... Dunno how u guys c it but. I fink u shld jus chill 4 him... If u can't chill tell him to buy any gd 1... Cn jus b a tiny diamond stud ring or gold... Later he cn buy d 1 he rili wants. Babe, sm can men b verrryyy funny. If anyfin happens he'l easily say dat hez wuz not engaged to yew. # Shiekana#

does sleeping in garage make u a car? no! wait till ur wedding for ur rings

I never thot of an engagement ring even after we got introduced to both family. My hubby is not that kind of person considering he is a big boy in the oil n gas sector. babes pls u don't have to impress pipo.

I don't think it wise to do that. You don't want your husband to think that because you earn more than him and can afford to buy things yourself, you can and will, even before you get married. If you are going to marry this man, in my humble opinion, you ought to learn to cut your coat according to HIS size.

Having said that, his financial position shouldn't limit you either. This is 2013, he is allowed to earn less than you, but speak to him first. Regardless of how independent and financial stable you are, you're about to become life partners, a team. Thus you should work together. Tell him how you feel and see. Your husband is unlikely to be happy about your present state.

Good luck.

You are a smart girl. You will figure it out!!

My only advise for u is that the moment u buy that ring things will NEVA be as they used to be. Or if u truly want a ring u cud talk to him to get the one he can afford for now then later when he has more money he wud buy the more expensive one. Be proud of ur man woman!

judith said...

it's not all abt d money or ring.its abt d feeling behind d ring.if u truly love him den don't buy ur ring urself.just be patient & don't listen 2 wat people are saying cos people will always talk.

Chidozie Mario said...

Please show some humility and respect. If you don't wear an engagement ring nobody will cut off your finger.
The 25-Year Old Virgin: Part II

Nwa Mekiri Sense said...

Umunwanyi, na wa o. must it be like tiwa's own. cant u or him buy the one he can afford. marriage is not about material things. i ve been engaged for 3 years now, my hubby was without a job at that time. i can afford a wedding with help of my parents and friends but i refused and bought a 5k ring i know he can afford.
But now he earns twice than me. our wedding is in Nov(my bd) and all bills on him(his idea). so my dear either u buy one and lie low cos table can turn his side tomorrow. i am a living witness.

Inspira-what?!

nero said...

no wahala...u can buy the engagement ring and lose him latter.
even if he didnt give yu his ring now, do yu know his mind. for ya own pocket shaa. i dont tok my own >sleeeeep....zzzzzzzzz>

Nene said...

You know men and their pride.....plus men are like elephants they neveeeeerrrrr forget. So you may have to choose between hurting your man's ego and paying for it the rest of your marriage, or just not wearing a ring. Besides its no one's business whether you wear a ring or not. Also similar scenarios will occur during your marriage and you don't want to make your husband seem like he's inadequate....

Nene said...

You know men and their pride.....plus men are like elephants they neveeeeerrrrr forget. So you may have to choose between hurting your man's ego and paying for it the rest of your marriage, or just not wearing a ring. Besides its no one's business whether you wear a ring or not. Also similar scenarios will occur during your marriage and you don't want to make your husband seem like he's inadequate....

Wak said...

I THINK YOU SHOULD DISCUSS WITH HIM AND TELL HIM OF YOUR PLAN TO BUY THE RING. IF YOU TELL HIM IN A SUBTLE WAY AND IF HE IS UNDERSTANDING I THINK HE WILL AGREE.

OVIA said...

Why not talk to him,I understand how u feel,am sure he knows u r richer,tell him how u feel,nd if he doesn't mind,u can borrow him some cash,let him add up nd get u d ring! Tell him its a Loan,even if its not.

ijay said...

I'm actually married and no ring,people don't even believe I'm married and I don't care,All men to their own,I'm happy that's all that matters!so my dear whatever makes you happy go ahead but be wise so u don't end up being unhappy!!! Its 2 ways baby.

lol,i can go as far as hinting which ring i want or slapping the picture right in his face so he doesn't buy me something I don't like...but to pay for my own engagement ring???ahh, i don't have liver for that one o! I'd rather not wear anything and just wear a nice wedding band...
another option i would suggest is to go shopping together for a ring HE CAN AFFORD, so even if it's cheap, it's something you'd like.
another option wld be make him buy the ring of your dreams, but minus it from your wedding expenses so in the end it balances out.
lol, me I want a nice ring o! i wont lie...i really don't care about the wedding. i'm happy with just a court wedding/civil union with 50 friends at a mini dinner reception...
Z

You are using Tiwa as comparison, let me ask you. Are you marrying the people that are asking you or him?When you answer this, topic closed.

Lol. Women and wahala.
D same tin happened to me so wheneva my friends asked where is ur ring I'll tell dem to go and ask my hubby cos I know dey wouldnt dare ask him.
if u desperately want to wear a ring, politely ask him to buy a ring dat he can comfortably buy cos u still have alot of expenses ahead.

I will advise her not to get ring bcs she won't engage herself. Let her be patient for her fiance to get the ring for her. Thank you

Why dont you loan your husband-to-be the money for him to buy you the engagement ring of your dreams since you make more money than him?!...he's gonna be your husband and he's gonna pay you back, right?

Dont buy it yourself...just give him the money to buy it and propose in front of your friends and family. Chikena!!!!!

come on bee, just tell him how you feel about not having a ring, and you don't need an expensive ring, ring is ring, there are lots of places you can get affordable rings. just talk to him about it. Don't you buy yourself a ring.All the best!

Okezie Kingsley said...

I wish you will read this comment. Act like my girl, let me tell u what she does: whenever she wants me to get her anything, and I seem not to have the money for it at that moment, she will come the next day or wait for a while, when she didn't get it, she will come one day with the exact money that she knows will buy what needs and say my dear, I want to borrow u dis money pls buy me that I want. And she will add, remember this money was borrowed to u, and u must pay back, and believe me, she will in love make me pay back, in most cases I pay, but in others, I pay in kind, but I feel good, I bought her what she wanted, even though it was through a loan, let him be the man assist with the money if u can, but don't buy it yourself u'll kill his moral as a man, he probably hv a type he wants to buy in his head don't take dat pride of a man from him.

Adieu Nigeria! said...

dear, plz dont buy urself any ring, just b patient wit him, if u insist of gettin a ring for urself it might affect ur relationship...best wishes to u.

Let me give you an idea you did try.
I learnt from my mum. Anytime my Dad needs money or his under certain pressure to do a project but can't afford it, it gives my mum some kinda of concern. But my Dad is a very proud man, and won't want to ask my mum for money because he won't accept the fact that my mum makes more money than he does. So my mum will take as much money as He would need and give it to my Uncle or my Dad's best friend bcos those are the only people he can ask for help. Then later that day, he will suggest to my Dad to go to those persons he had given money for the help he wanted, Sometimes he will give the excuse that he had told them before...But mum will press him harder or ask them to call him to come get the money.

At the end of the day, He gets the money not knowing exactly where it all came from. So maybe you apply some of that wisdom to your case, am sure it will help.
But be careful, don't tell them the reasons why you giving out the money ok. Cheers...

But tiwa bought her own ring right?what's the point here?

Let me give you an idea you did try.
I learnt from my mum. Anytime my Dad needs money or his under certain pressure to do a project but can't afford it, it gives my mum some kinda of concern. But my Dad is a very proud man, and won't want to ask my mum for money because he won't accept the fact that my mum makes more money than he does. So my mum will take as much money as He would need and give it to my Uncle or my Dad's best friend bcos those are the only people he can ask for help. Then later that day, he will suggest to my Dad to go to those persons he had given money for the help he wanted, Sometimes he will give the excuse that he had told them before...But mum will press him harder or ask them to call him to come get the money.

At the end of the day, He gets the money not knowing exactly where it all came from. So maybe you apply some of that wisdom to your case, am sure it will help.
But be careful, don't tell them the reasons why you giving out the money ok. Cheers...

Okezie Kingsley said...

I wish you will read this comment. Act like my girl, let me tell u what she does: whenever she wants me to get her anything, and I seem not to have the money for it at that moment, she will come the next day or wait for a while, when she didn't get it, she will come one day with the exact money that she knows will buy what needs and say my dear, I want to borrow u dis money pls buy me that I want. And she will add, remember this money was borrowed to u, and u must pay back, and believe me, she will in love make me pay back, in most cases I pay, but in others, I pay in kind, but I feel good, I bought her what she wanted, even though it was through a loan, let him be the man assist with the money if u can, but don't buy it yourself u'll kill his moral as a man, he probably hv a type he wants to buy in his head don't take dat pride of a man from him.

Simply talk the problem over with him and then stylishly lend him the money for your dream ring. If he picks offence, he has an ego problem.
Day time fun with Don in Abuja. Fullfil your fantasies, sms 08098392778. Ladies only.

Dee said...

DONT BUY WAIT FOR HIM. BE PATIENT BABE.

Those who have caps don't have heads. I've been engaged for a couple yrs with a diamond ring o. I even have a child for him now yet no marriage. I even wanna move on with my life Sef. My dear, don't buy any ring now. wait till after marriage n buy what you want.

Nwamaka said...

Communication matters here. He said he cannot afford the one you will value.Tell him you will appreciate and value any ring he buys and he does not have to wait to buy a an expensive ring.and whatever he gets you value it whether it is like Tiwa's or not.I don't think you should buy your ring though

Towloo said...

My dear if you are really keen on having a ring, there are stainless steel rings that go for as low as 4,500 at bead emporium. I did not like my engagement ring and I went to the store and got this lovely stainless steel ring, and trust me it has lasted. I actually haven't removed it since the day I bought it. But mind you my fiance paid for it. I think you should talk to him about going to pick a ring together. That way he will feel like a man that he is.

If u start now to b buying ur self things,when will u stop. Marriage is a life long committement. If u show 'a lot of indepenses'. The man will tactically withdraw. Be wise. U will gain a lot of respect if u wait on ur 'husband'.

if he can't afford an engagement ring is not a bad tin as u feel say u get money buy engagement ring for am na. e go like to wear ring too nobe only woman dey wear ring o. if i tell my girlfriend i cant afford an engagement ring for now she con go buy wear she don tun lord of the rings be that cos she go wear am for years o

Are you an insecure child that you want to do something so important because of what others will think?
Talk to your guy abeg, let him know that even if he wraps wire into a circle you will wear it because you love him. That's love, after all.

Orisisi.......... Some LIBers get plenty case o.

married my wife without a ring.she sure makes more money than i do.buh she is nt worried.She knws my potentials and belivs in me.So when i tell her to chill ,she does.Dont be in a rush.God will provide.focus on making a good wive and the future of u ,your kids and your hubby.RING NO MEAN ANYTHING.DUDE COULD CHANGE HIS MIND TOMORROW IF YOU START GIVING HIM BAD LUCK.THERE IS A VERY WE REASON.WISH YOU COULD GET ONE OR TWO ADVICE FROM MY WIFEY.SHE IS THE BEST WOMAN IN THE WORLD.SHE DOESNT SEND ALL THAT.IT DOESNT MEAN I SHOULD PUSH IT TOO FAR .I AM WORKING ON GETTING HER THE RING NEXT MONTH.ALREADY ORDERED ONE .GOD IS KIND.HE HAS GIVEN HER A GOOD HEART...SHE IS MY VIRTUOUS WOMAN AND SHE REALLY UNDERSTANDS.CALM DOWN.HAVE A BLESSED DAY.SHE READS THIS BLOG EERDAY...FATI BUMBUM LOVE U.

michie girl said...

Tlk to him about it n tell him how u feel, if u go to dis mallams in d mkt they have some silver rings that's r cheap n beautiful n they dnt fade u can get them for 4k and above unless he doesn't have 4k too. U can wear that one untill he has 100million to buy d one u want.

My dear please dont try it. I bought my wedding and engagement ring because the man was broke.

Now his family claim that after 2 years of marrying that I am not his wife afterall he gave me no ring.

A word is enough for the wise!!!

My sister I beg go buy ur ring o before e go buy u "kpanda"!

O.B.O said...

please don't buy a ring o, just be patient. am also engaged and my boo gave me a ring, well its not wat i hav always wanted and i have the money to buy the one i really want... but i wont becos the one he gave me is from a heart of love and it represents the love we share(i know i dey yarn off point) my point is just hold on till he gives u one himself there is nothing like the one ur boo will give u (runnin away)

ARIANNA said...

Listen to the voice of wisdom ãήϑ wait, August will soon come. Your money can buy you the ring but when you lose his respect (and love if care is not taken) your money can never buy it.
Every man's fear is centered around his ego(that sense of Am The Superman, I can't Fail) and nothing irks them when you show them 'They Can't' which is wђã†̥ buying the ring yourself WITHOUT his sole consent means.
Personally I never believed in the ring "thing" so much coz some guys can use it to keep a lady for years, so when my husband didn't give me one I never bordered until our wedding day.
My advice will be to discuss how you feel about this ring 'ish' with him,who knows he might hasten up. In life the most important things are the ones we can't see o like his love ãήϑ affection not just ring or what your 'richness' can buy. You don't want to mess up your relationship all coz you have the cash, if you weren't rich to afford that nko? So my dear advice yourself n accept him for who he is. Money can buy ring i̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ Naija but not husband, ask so many rich ladies. Goodbye o,

CLEMENTINA said...

LET PEOPLE SAY WHAT THEY WANT TO SAY...MY MAN GAVE ME A RING A WEEK AFTER HE PROPOSED.THE RING DIDNT MAKE IT ON TIME COS OF LOGISTICS...YOUR MAN CLD BE MAKING HUGE PLANS.IT MAY NOT BE ABOUT THE MONEY EVENTUALLY.

My dear go with ur heart. ring or no ring,u've been TAKEN.

My dear, i understand how u feel! U see dat ring Tiwa is wearin? She may ve contributed to it after all dere where in dubai together shoping, if u want a ring nd ur guy cannot afford it nd ur sure he really mean well for u, discuss wit him so he can understand nd allow u buy d ring for ursef.

Thanks dear! Absolute nonsense!

ARIANNA said...

Listen to the voice of wisdom ãήϑ wait, August will soon come. Your money can buy you the ring but when you lose his respect (and love if care is not taken) your money can never buy it.
Every man's fear is centered around his ego(that sense of Am The Superman, I can't Fail) and nothing irks them when you show them 'They Can't' which is wђã†̥ buying the ring yourself WITHOUT his sole consent means.
Personally I never believed in the ring "thing" so much coz some guys can use it to keep a lady for years, so when my husband didn't give me one I never bordered until our wedding day.
My advice will be to discuss how you feel about this ring 'ish' with him,who knows he might hasten up. In life the most important things are the ones we can't see o like his love ãήϑ affection not just ring or what your 'richness' can buy. You don't want to mess up your relationship all coz you have the cash, if you weren't rich to afford that nko? So my dear advice yourself n accept him for who he is. Money can buy ring i̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ Naija but not husband, ask so many rich ladies. Goodbye o,

Mumu,what is inspirative here? Check ur local dictionary b4 commenting.

I got engaged nd did not get a ring, nd ma boo said its abt the heart not the world,u wear a ring to announce to the world nd since I am not too keen abt it I forgot it,so here comes ma lil sis wif a lovely band for me,I gave it to ma fiance nd made him re propose after months of introduction lolss,he found it funny and we laughed it off!!me dear I will not wear the ring cos its abt ur heart,so deal with it!!

This marriage is already crashing before take off. He is struggling to buy you the kind of ring you will like. Manmi, run for your life before its too late.

You better allow him save the money for a WEDDING ring,engagement has passed,my dear AUGUST is very close,if he cnt afford a ring all dis years then you shld be more concerned about the wedding and its expenses!!no be to wear engagement ring and do wash wedding!

chzyme said...

Am engaged wout a ring bc ring dz daz r costly and my man can't aford d pretty ones, so we gunna save all and get a nice wedding band wc sounds hopeful to me, we all differs sa, but b very careful while dealing wt a guy dat u earn more dan, any genuine mistake may trigger dr ego misconception and wahala set inn, y not engage ur self b4 now? Is d ring itself d engagement or wot? Cool down babe, embarrasement is bc u now hv a man else

am honestly touched by both of you guys sincerity but i think it will be best if u can just ask him to offer u any one he can afford for now. maybe with time you can loss the ring and ask for a better one. Larry Bem

amina said...

This must be a man. You need to control your egoistic asses.

odu said...

Stop the criticism y'all,being engaged without the ring can be really embarassing is I fink I understand her plight,however,the fact that he didn't give her a ring cos he couldn't afford what you will appreciate shows that he already feels inadequate buying a ring yourself will further bruise his ego so I suggest that you either excercise patience pending when he can afford "the ring" or make him understand how u feel abt not wearing an engagement ring n that u will be comfortable with whichever one he can afford for now.then if u want you can infleunce his choice of wedding rings by contributing financially but u ve to do this with wisdom.The ring is too small to ve issues over cos wen u guys eventually get married there will plenty things to deal with in terms of choice,taste,neccessities and luxuries....so u need to learn frm now how to handle such issues.

pls thread carefully before you go into marriage. He said he wont be able to afford the one you would appreciate. I think you should be more concerned with that than the ring itself. I think you should make him comfortable and let him express his Love the way and how much he can afford too. if you want the ring, tell him to buy the 1 he can afford and make sure you appreciate it. i am married and i dont have a wedding band, but i wont die because of that i love my man and he would get 1 for me as soon as he can. When i am questioned abt it, i tell them i would soon get it or i dont want or i just ignore them. My engagement ring cost my husband a fortune and al the people askin abt my ring, they are not even wearing correct ring. abeg learn to appreciate your guy.

Yes you can... If you intend marrying yourself

M also engaged without a ring ...i know ow she3 feels, cus i dnt even bother telling pple, cus den,i'ld have to do some xplaining!

True talk anon @ 12.37. Babe, gv d guy d honour to do so. And hw will u feel knowing u bougth ur own engagment ring?

Ekene Akah said...

Buying yourself an engagement ring is bad omen.Don't do it,except you really don't mind jinxing your marriage to him.

But some guys sef! Y propose to her witout a ring? Even if its a cheap ring at first,it can b changed later on. Proposing witout a ring aint fun jare.

Una get tym dey answer her sha after she don already makeup her mind.

Eeya I so feel for you but please take my advise, tell your hubby to please save his money, try so hard and get a laptop with a 2months internet connection and punch it seriously and I swear your wedding ring will come with a BMW X6. Trust me... NO SWEAR pls! its the truth

Hey! Really I can't say u shld not do what makes u happy but get heart to heart talk with ur guy first on d issue, tell him to get u any ring he can afford( I know it won't be that bad) or better still transfer some money into his acct and ask him to get d ring of his choice for u ( its all depend on level of understanding, if he can't afford it today doesn't mean he can't buy u much more in future).

Its fiance...just one e.

Am honestly touched by you and your man's sincerity but i think its best you ask him to offer you what he can afford for now since you obviously want the ring now. You can "LOSS" the ring later (if u know what i mean)and ask him for a better one who knows maybe by then he should be able to afford just what u'll want.

some ladies can be really shallow sha,now ur marriage before it even is already about others..

Am honestly touched by you and your man's sincerity but i think its best you ask him to offer you what he can afford for now since you obviously want the ring now. You can "LOSS" the ring later (if u know what i mean)and ask him for a better one who knows maybe by then he should be able to afford just what u'll want.

Segun said...

To everything under the sun there is a season. This engagement ring of a thing will soon fizzle out trust me. You are not answerable to ur friends and so u dont need their acknowledgment of your engagement. You are embarrassed coz u allowed urself to be. Raise ur head up and tell them a ring does not make a hapi couple.

Please
if you can't get your ideas across without being so rude then say nothing at all. Gosh

Permit him to buy for u the one he can afford. It's the thought of his heart that matters not the type or size of the ring. Read (hebrew 13vs 5). Be content with what u have.

well, i realy dnt understand d fuse abt d engagement ring, my husband propose to me without a ring n we r married now, happily married, though dr ups n down but its wat u feel dt matters, not wat people wil say or see, i'l evn advice u to tell him to use d ring money to add to ur weddin prep, dnt kill his ego like evry1 said, just be understanding and pray things get better for him, its good to be understandin and be wise abt it, all is well.

Who are you buying the ring for, self or others, you've said you make more money than your fiancee. I hope your impatience will not leave you desperate....

Dont buy no ring........ else you will be buying everything else!!!!!!!!!

oh dear,allow him to get one 4 you.i gues u knew u earned more dan him b4 u guys started dating,if u rily luv ur man u wud wait 4 him 2 get u a ring..

From what she wrote, the problem is not that the guy can not afford a ring for her but He can NOT afford the type of ring she will appreciate. Probably she wants diamond like that of Tiwa while the guy can only afford GL. Why dont u give him the impression that u will appreciate anything that comes from him instead of trying to flex ur financial muscles over him. If na me, na d ring u go marry if u buy am ursef.
WACO J

You knew if financial status before you hooked up with him..DONT COMPLAIN..

well, i realy dnt understand d fuse abt d engagement ring, my husband propose to me without a ring n we r married now, happily married, though dr ups n down but its wat u feel dt matters, not wat people wil say or see, i'l evn advice u to tell him to use d ring money to add to ur weddin prep, dnt kill his ego like evry1 said, just be understanding and pray things get better for him, its good to be understandin and be wise abt it, all is well.

PLEASE DONT O

Honestly, I don't think u need it. I have known my wife for 12 years now and have been married to her for 8. I didn't give her any ring when I proposed to her and today we have 2 lovely kids between us and very happy together. Shun trends that could impair the foundation you both are building together and take yourselves as you are.

Abeg buy d ring urself if u can afford it.I bought my own enagagement ring myself after my husband proposed and I shakara my friends wt it.no one knew it wasn't him dat got it 4 me.now I have a beautiful ring wc he gave me afta we got married 4 years ago.

Chioma Erebuwa said...

Most commenters here are missing the point. It is now becoming part of our culture to wear engagement rings. To the asker:the price of the ring does not determine his love for you. Even is it is an $20 ring he can afford,let him put it on your finger. What is this "ring of your dreams" thing anyway?? Set that nonsense aside. Also,DO NOT buy yourself an engagement ring. That is just weird, and you might as well go without 1

womennnnnnnnnn u shd all try 2 b considerate & patient cos if u push ur fiancee to d wall d relationship will b fluptuating so ladies dnt gve ur food 2 cat... enjoy ur wkd
"zanga"

plssssssss dnt

Honestly hun I think u should just let him buy what he can afford for now and then eventually he can buy u something u like when things get gd even if its 5 yrs down the line.

So you cannot stick to your man while he doesn't have money to buy ring and you would rather buy it for yourself so you can show people. Well i dnt think you should marry this man at all. My fiance proposed and he couldn't afford a diamond ring so I told him to get me one that was £5 till he can afford a better one. I respect him enough to respect his feelings. He is a man..... trust me he feels bad that he cannot afford it already now u want to finish his remaining ego.......You are getting into a marriage hun you need to learn to live with the man within his pocket even if you want better.......It is for better for worse oh.

Pls my dear dn.t try it at all unless you want him to feel inferior and ashamed

womennnnnnnnnn u shd all try 2 b considerate & patient cos if u push ur fiancee to d wall d relationship will b fluptuating so ladies dnt gve ur food 2 cat... enjoy ur wkd
"zanga"

Una dooooo all u wit no engagement rings. Bt babe anoda thing,stop telling Ppl u r engaged u really dnt owe dem to tell dem on d day of ur wedding u sure must get a ring 4rm him so ma dear. Suru lolaye o!!!!

Mitchell said...

You guys up there why r u abusing her? My dear if ur guy has a problem with buying ur own ring n u can't convince him 2 let u, just let it go. Don't go behind his back n buy it. It will hurt his pride n hurt ur relationship. Just ignore wat ppl r saying. Shey u will soon get married? U can offer 2 buy d wedding rings (urs n his n den get d ring of ur choice) esp if he's funding the entire wedding. Even if u guys r sharing d cost u can take up d purchase of d rings n wear a stupendous engagement ring on ur wedding day. Good luck.

my dear are u sure his serious about d engagement? cos if he is atleast he should be able to buy u a GL ring of 2000naira atleast he can afford that and ask u to be managing it until his able to get u a bigger ring, cos when my husband proposed to me he only engaged me wt a ring of 1500 cos d man molding and designing d gold he requested for me did nt finished d day he was surpose to propose so he just put anyting on my finger as d symbol of his love til after 4days b4 d man now finish and brought d ring,so my dear buying urs is nt d issue is what it represents that matters u better lend him d money to buy it and put on ur finger it has alot of meaning and wil gv u more respect other than u doing it urself is nt wise dnt be desperate.

A lady can never cherish an engagement ring bought by herself for herself, its a natural feeling even when u pretend or deceive others that it was bought by your gu, the feeling will show.I believe u will better cherish the ring he buys for you so just hold on and wait for him, when the ring is inserted into your fingers the relationship rekindles instantly.

plS dear don'T Even try it na beg i dey beg U

ladybugg said...

ALL YOU SILLY NIG GIRLS HAVE STARTED AGAIN!.. yes i just said that... why people put so much value on nonsense is beyond... engagement is far deeper than a diamond ring... you gone go throw everything away now when you should let the guy who asked to marry you, put the ring on it.. respect your man and let him give your the ring.. geez man, what planets are you girls from self.. #moving on..

Why would you want to buy the ring after he has mentioned to buy when he can afford??
Thats the problem with you ladies, contentment!!! always trying to compare yourselves with other and end up doing the wrong thing.
Its not a curse tho... if you buy the ring, i bet you would be back on Linda sites to seek advice again about your marriage collapsing or not working out...

Seriously! My sister got engaged to a guy 3 years ago. She wore the ring all the time but he dumped her few months after the engagement. She's now happily married to her husband and is blessed wif a kid. She got married without getting an engagement ring from him.. Truth is, if you really love him and if you're ready to stick wif him, then forget abt the ring and spend your time preparing for your wedding. Good luck!

i feel same way 2 ma long time boifriend proposed 2 me but without a ring wen i spoke to him about a ring,he repiled and said,i dont believe in that and i kept shut.told ma friends about it and they said,he is not serrious but i kw deep inside me dat d dude is serious and i am d unserious person cuz i am not taken him serious.Gal,shine ur eyes make u no dey luk dis show show ring people o but if ur finger hitch u 2 much,cut am off.

Linda, I must say its not proper that u used Savannah (Lebron Jame's Fiance's) pic for such a topic. A tad bit disrespectful (even if she wont see it, its just odd cos it denotes she bought her engagement ring). My Two Cents

My response for this gurl is: borrow ur man the money to buy the ring, he can always pay u later since y'all will be getting married but plz dont buy the ring urself. Let him to search for what his lady love wants.

i feel same way 2 ma long time boifriend proposed 2 me but without a ring wen i spoke to him about a ring,he repiled and said,i dont believe in that and i kept shut.told ma friends about it and they said,he is not serrious but i kw deep inside me dat d dude is serious and i am d unserious person cuz i am not taken him serious.Gal,shine ur eyes make u no dey luk dis show show ring people o but if ur finger hitch u 2 much,cut am off.

Ah!! forget wat pple got to say abeg,let him buy it,no matter his income.+u love him dats why u accepted him,irrespective of his income,so dnt 'DO'

Discuss the matter with him first, and find out from him if it would be okay by him. If not, ask him to get u any nice ring he can afford. Afterall, the cost of the ring is not going to be pasted on it.

Buy it dear. Tiwa paid for hers. So did Uche Jumbo and Ini Edo. Stop loosing slip over this. All that glitters is not Gold!

young lady , pls don,t finish what u may not be able to finish later on in life.just be patient.If u begin to make him feel u are capable to handle
things better than him,he may later just decide to be a lazy man and will not bother to make effort again when u,re married believing u will take charge of things.you may eventually become frustrated being the sole bread winner of the house.so my dear, wait .let him be the man .Abeg.

hmmmmmm are u even sure his serious? pls be careful cos i once dated a guy lk that my last boyfriend, he only always propose to me whenever we are about to mk love or if his ontop of me without a ring and as soon as he comes out of me he wount talk about d proposal anymore,i later requested for a ring he told me that there's no need for an engagement ring since everybody already knws we are dating and that our wedding ring and engagement ring wil cm at once in set so that there's no need of spending extra money on buying and engagement ring seperate, i believed him until we broke up i now realised he was neve serious he was just enjoying me,even when i was about getting married few months back he stil want to enjoy me b4 my husband i said thunder fire him,so dnt be decieved if his serious ring is how much abeg?he should look for d one his pocket can afford and gv u if his serious.

Lilly said...

Hahaha! This story reminds me of my friend many years ago in Yankee. Her guy no even propose...just told her folks he wan marry am...the girl's parents started planning wedding. Anytime I go with the girl and she tells people she's getting married, they look at her hand no ring..then they say NA LIE! Lol! It was so embarassing for her sha...she jejely just bought herself an engagement ring lol.
During her bridal shower, they asked her how her fiancee proposed, she LIED he took her on a trip! But we knoew she was lying! LMAO! It was embarassing sha...but at the end of the day, all that matters is that the man married her.

Puhlease! It's one thing if he doesn't mind you getting it. Or you could ask him to buy whatever he can afford. When you trade it up after the wedding, he won't even notice. It's a win-win. Don't try to impress anyone by buying a ring that even him and everyone would know he couldn't have afforded. It's not worth it. I'm engaged..I don't wear a ring..bloke says he'll give me money to buy one..I'll simply double it and buy what I want..lie about the price and stone if u must..heheh

pls wearing an engagement ring is nt d issue cos my girlfriend has wore it 2times for different men and uptil now she's still searching they never married her,they just use it to buy he hrt and pussy temporally and slept wt her d way they like til they got tired and dumped her so becareful engagement ring is nt marriage, guys decieve girls wt it dis days just to buy there pussy whole sale temporally.

Lmfao

Talk to him about u wanting to buy a ring, and lovingly suggest to him to buy u a ring , tell him u'll wear a #200 ring so long as he loves u from his heart. Ring na ring joor whether cheap or expensive.

babe, pls dnt insult ur guy by gettin urself a ring, if u truly love him den u'll undastand dat its a thing of d heart and not one pretty little thing on one of ur left fingers. Wen my hubby put a ring on my hand it wasnt what i wanted bt i took it frm him now we are married wat am wearing now is beyond my expectataion. My point is ignore ppl and face ur love life no be by force. He may even b savin for d weddin ring.

hbo said...

Tell ur guy to buy what he can afford for now. Doesn't have to be 18carat gold, u can go for GL or anything reasonably priced. You can always change your ring later. If you buy your engagement ring yourself, you might end up being more embarrassed when he breaks up the engagement because his ego is bruised. Then will you go back to those same people questioning you now,explaining to them what happened? Be patient and wise.

Omas992 said...

Women and superficial things!

The real Willow!

I concor. People might laf @u even if na iron dem take carve d ring. But wot matters most is a genuine luv. It might not be rosy for him now, but life changes as u guys forge ahead. Best of luck girl.

Jero! If the ring was that important you for no say YES until he buys one for u na! Mscheeeeew ! Go and buy u hear, go and buy o! Dem nor dey tell person!

My dear girl...first of all,you are not engaged..word of mouth statement without a ring from your bobo is a fallacy of ambiguity. if this a guy u want to be married to, you are truely engaged wen he puts the ring on your finger, even if it is a 10k engagement ring. he can always buy you a substitute wen he has enough money.

I fink u shd buy it if u wnt to,but explain to him first b4 doin so,dnt buy it b4 tellin him.

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 347   Newer› Newest»