Meet America's longest married couple. 80 years and counting... | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 7 February 2013

Meet America's longest married couple. 80 years and counting...

John (101) and Ann Betar (97) of Fairfield, Connecticut, tied the knot on Nov. 25, 1932. They've been happily married for over 80 years now. Together they have five children, 14 grandchildren and 16 great-grandchildren. They have been named the longest married couple in the U.S.

John and Ann Betar told ABC News that they considered themselves "blessed."
"We are very fortunate. It can be repeated and repeated," Ann, 97, said "It is unconditional love and understanding. We have had that. We consider it a blessing."
They said their secret to so many happy years together is simple: compromise and don't hold a grudge.

108 comments:

Awwwww.bless them. This is really lovely.

I feel tru love mks 1 look younger,kos he looks in his 90s 2 me.

DATSHAPIBOBOY said...

This is Linda Ikeji & Jim Iyke in d future.
Comment Signed, Sealed and Delivered by DATSHAPIBOBOY

DATSHAPIBOBOY dat ws a nice one. been missing ur comments wia went u

Jade8221 said...

Congrats to the oldest couple...but she's right marriage comes with a lot of compromising, and holding grudges won't get you anywhere.

I made a comment as regards d diff peeps I observed dere comments on dos blog n Juma iama wanted 2 swallow me.
Babes,I am nt u,n wld neva b u. Plus I dnt hate people ok. N if ur fada paid 4 harvard,wetin concern me nah. Shooo na school dey put money 4 pocketam

Any which ways, bitchpls tanks 4 ur reply. Good radiance(in jumaima words).lol

N I am anonymous,so I fall under d confused bunch. Love n hate. Lol

Finally, i love me some old couple.

Dancing alingo off d stage.

WOW........ that gives anyone hope, 80 years that's a lifetime in itself. Well done and CONGRATULATIONS TO THEM!

Those were the days when broken stuff were fixed and not thrown away.

awwwwww..I pray for the same in my marriage amen

Awwwww.... How lovely and inspiring! Longevity personified!

bitchplis said...

I pray for dis kinda marriage too IJN.

This post brought tears to my eyes...they are indeed blessed. Mine will be like this in Jesus name.

Spend some moment with God everyday. Visit www.thebanquethall.blogspot.com your Online Christian blog. God bless you richly in Jesus name.

Wish you both many more years..God help us all.

Diz is so sweet. I pray for diz kind of everlasting love

Awww* now this is marriage, forever, "Till death do us part". They understand how sacred vows are. I want this*

This is wonderful

wow....really happy for them! mine is gonna be greater n blessed too....

1 To my Guys: Love your lover like Romeo, Fight for her like Spartacus, Rescue her like Michael Scofield, Protect her like Jack Bauer, Don't cheat on her like Tiger woods, Never beat her like Chris Brown, Splash money on her like Manchester City, Don't be stingy like Arsenal, Win trophies for her like Man United, Boast about her like Chelsea, Have confidence in her like Barcelona. Don't disappoint her like Liverpool,Don't promise her things u cant fulfil like PDP, Don't keep her in darkness like PHCN, don't be 2nd in her life like bayern munich, never relent afta gettin her like real madrid, Don't cause her pain like Boko Haram, Don't go 2 convention 4 her like Jonhatan, neva tink u can control her 4ever like Gadafi, Win gold for her like Usain Bolt, impress her well like crixus *wink*be funny, be as wise as solomon, don't sell evrytin u av 4 her like Ac millan, Neva tink of her status lyk Arthur{merlin} Always make her happy like JOHNRISKY, Don't change ur girlfriend like chelsea, bt don't act Foolishly like Akpors. ADD YOUR OWN

http://docife.blogspot.com/ said...

Now that's love :)!

Check out talks on Life, Love, and Relationships on

http://docife.blogspot.com/

wish couples of these generation will learn from them....God bless them

80 yrs!!!!! Dis z incredible. Thou itz all by d grace of God

They are truly blessed I thank God for them.

Wow dis sooooo cute...I pray mine would be like dis....#gbam#

They are truly blessed.

AWWWWW so sweet God has really shown them favour modern day Abraham and Sarah, God bless me and mine also with this kind of great favour , and longevity.
Sassy Stardust

Wow!very exceptional!pray for such long love. Lived marriage too!

Wow!!!....Nice!

ÈŠ̝̊̅ pray ♍Æ” marriage last longer than this ijn amen

Happy for them!

Wooowwww!!! Their wedding picture even looks painted...they married in 1933!!!!

God give us this type of love ooooo!!!

Even my China Phone battery life last more that Most marriages now. This is my wish for my marraige.

Such a lovely couple and an inspiration to this generation

Wow!I love this!

This is beautiful. I key into this testimony.

Awwwwwwww... *love struck* Eyi wumi Oluwa! Now that's wat I'm talking abt.

darmie said...

Wow...80yrs nd counting.God pls I want dis for my future hubby nd I

@Koonley said...

A.W.E.S.O.M.E!!!!!!!!

Abundant blessings!!!

Sexily Endowed said...

Omg. Dis is wat i pray for, “long life/prosperity” love is α beautiful tin......

This is the best news have read all day,and the best america has ever given me since i was born.... Haa now i can shout HALLELUIAH.. The right one we always obtain add favor to your yrs. I'll wait for the right guy,no be joke

Toksyb: Nice one only in america will dis happen

I tap into this blessing in Jesus name. Me and my hubby shall live long together and see our children, grand children and great grand children.

Wow, the man was 21 and the woman was 17 when getting married. Even 27 year old girls are "too young" (read immature) to get married these days. How times have changed. Congratulobia to them!

onepageafrica said...

They are truly blessed to be in Holy Matrimony for 80 whole years!
I pray that marriages can be like this! Not the 1 week to 2months types we see about the place.

moris4uall said...

Whaooooo... This is real nice, i love it...

Wow! Lord almighty I pray that you'll grant me a successful and long marriage like this plus happiness. Amen.

Myne said...

I love this couple, so cute. And I their tip to a long marriage is something I've heard before from success stories of marriage.

http://www.mynewhitmanwrites.com/2012/02/success-stories-of-marriages-20-years.html

I swear,those 2things are key!I always tell my man.my making up fast afta a fight isn't out of desperation bt knowing dat holding a grudge won't help ny relationship.knowing u can't sleep a day witout bin in goodterms.dats pure luv,am grateful 2b blessed with dis.I pray2av dis kind of marriage

Jumitebabe said...

This is REAL LOVE....!!!

wow,God is good, i tap into this,may my home be a testimony,amen

nero said...

waoh...unbelievable. i pray dat GOD will bless me likewise.
on a lighter mood...d old man must have been tutored by ADAM himself on the secret of marriage. hahahahahaha

lovely.God bless hubby and myself this way

Her Majesty said...

this is my Portion in Jesus Mighty name, I tap into this Blessing! Amen!

Wowwwwww bravoooooo luv dis nd I tap frm it IJN. God pls see us tru.so gud to hear nd behold

God I tap in2 dis grace.Amen,80 yrs 2geda? Jeez dats owesome

Tell dem ooo! "Compromise" oooo! This woman is a "super-hero" she deserves a thousand medals. She held her man down 4 dis long unlike all dis chewing gum gals of nowadays with der 'gal-power' n foolish feministic ideas, small thing dem don run, always under the illusion that der is a 'better man" out der not knowing that a real woman transforms her man to whatever she wants him to be........T.....

deDelphian said...

We shld emulate them and stop the divorce madness.

confessor said...

Don't ever write such epistle like wole soyinka (˘̯˘ )

deDelphian said...

What a gud,joblessly written comment... Yu shdnt v stopped now! Mtschew!!!!

How wer u able to see datshapiboboy's comment already? U posted ur comment a minute after him and its not like u r replying to his comment?? Fishy....

deco_slim said...

I claim this in my marriage. IN JESUS NAME, AMEN

Omas992 said...

This is a very good news in a society where divorce is the order of the day

This is the true definition of "for better for worse" see the ring still on his finger till now. Isn't this love? I love you grannies,wishing myself the same long love

Natural B

80 years and still happy ever after...WOW! Their recipe is so solid.

http://theglamfile.blogspot.com

Wow this is lovely

In a country that is high in divorce rate, these couples deserve a great standing ovation. True love seems to enhance longevity, they have lived a fulfilled life seeing their grandkids and great grand kids. The problem with couples nowadays is selfishness instead of selfless love, remember find someone who loves you equally as you love him or her and definitely you will probably beat the 80 years.

Saythetruth said...

This is what Happily Ever After is. This is what it looks like

Wen I see long cooments like dis,I usually ignore dem,bt dis stopped me. Cool. I love.

Mumu nigerians...everytn is prayer

omola dammy said...

now u gonna make me cry.......am so next by GOD'S grace.....

Yeah! You are right..these days, even cracked stuff are thrown away: not to talk of broken

Oh yeah..make the wonan cobtinue to endure abuse in other to transform you..clap for your self...may i ask you what was the duty of your mother?..tranform ko;.translate ni!. Continue to wait for the lady that will come and spend her useful years in life to come and transfom you...as for me, i am intrested in men whose mothers have done their duty excellently..life no get duplicate

Eya Ayambem said...

I receive that grace IJN Amen o!

If na naija Dem go say dey re witches and wizzards stealing other people life span. happy 4 them ,I tap their blessings

wow,i pray for a union like dis,dis is so beautiful

Road2Great said...

Wow...Beautiful. I tap into this blessing. Amen

Stupid fag! U just replied urself below. U shud have at least spare some seconds. fag!

Bitch! U are not funny. Sit here......

Wait! Who cares? The should just die already. Winchy winchy!

She gt married @17, obviously pure/innocent. All u agbayas dt have lost ur value,treatn men lik tissue paper. Keep prayn o, God would answer ur prayers.

This my portion in jesus name....amen

Do really need the attention that bad?

JustPorsh said...

R u for real?

JustPorsh said...

loll! Wats d diff. Bt 90's n 101?

JustPorsh said...

R u for real?

Chidozie Mario said...

This is really inspirational. Don't know what has happened to marriage these days.
The 25-Year Old Virgin: Part II

Jannie said...

Go to Asia and you will be amazed.

Jannie said...

Deep!

Jannie said...

Go to Asia and you will be amazed.

Linda paste this on ur twitter so that all those yeye,wife beaters and cheater(so called stars/baby distributors)and those who never wants to graduate from being boyfriend,and i like looking skinny and fair can take a cue... They need this inspiration Walahi

Queenie said...

Am sure his wife gives him peace at home too,she doesnt nag.Just ignores his flaws,compromises and thereby makin her self happy too.

Dee said...

BEST POST I'VE READ SO FAR ON THIS BLOG, VERY INSPIRATIONAL.

Gozzy said...

WoW,dy are blessed indeed!

Bastard am sure you where born out of wed luck,that's why you are so bitter.idiot

Why hate on them,or are you a result of a broken marraige?get ur stupid self out of here you stupid moron,Just cos ur mother was thrown out of ur fathers house for been unfaithful to his,doesn't mean you should go about hating on those who are enjoying marital bliss.

Bastard am sure you where born out of wed luck,that's why you are so bitter.idiot

i pray for such a marriage.getting married to your best frnd is d best relationship ever.Congrats to d oldest couple

Asaa said...

This is called GRACE of God! amazing! god please keep my hubby and i alive and healthy to share our own testimony too! God bless your souls! Marriage is a great thing!

Na dem cause ur parents divorce

Congratulations Sir and Ma. I pray God keep ur home and bless u more and more. U are an example to our generation... I also wish u d very best

Yemooooze said...

Everyone saying "i claim this,', 'i tap into this', etc.....sweerie it doesn't work that way! A great and solid marriage takes hardwork ,smartwork and most def prayers; not forgetting the abundance of Grace available on any union. U dnt claim a great marriage, its not one of the fruits of the spirit or gift of the spirit....it is 2 people that have come 2geda understanding and acknowledging the value of their convenant and vows and are committed despite all odds to give it what it takes to make it work and not just work, but work excellently well! So lets all wake up from the mills and booms 'make believe' halucination about relationships and marriage. May our generation and more to come celebrate many Greater, Glorious and enviable marriages IJN Amen! and Linda sweerie may ur marriage be one of such IJN Amen!

As deres a diff btw late 20s n early 30s in a woman,dats hw dere is diff in dis 1. Lol

OMG!!!this is so cool and dey r still wearing their wedding bands.... phew! for naija now, one month after wedding and dude takes off his wedding band saying, 'i know i'm married to u, i dont have to wear a ring to prove dat'....God help us ooo

Shut the Fuck up!!!if u'v fucked Someone b4,u sef be agbaya....#ode

Many more years ke?lol.....hw much longer do u wnt dem 2 Live,lol..... 9ja celebs dis is wat u sud copy and nt wats happenin in hollywood.....

Incredible points. Sound arguments. Keep up the great effort.

Check out my weblog e-commerce web hosting