President Goodluck Jonathan's message to Nigerians | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 5 February 2013

President Goodluck Jonathan's message to Nigerians

Our dear president posted this on his Facebook page this afternoon. See the full message after the cut..

Dear friends on facebook,

The determination of this administration to create wealth in Nigeria and for Nigerians has led us to focus our investment drive towards attracting Foreign Direct Investments in manufacturing and the service sector to ensure that jobs are created. And this drive is not an exercise in futility as Nigeria is becoming the preferred destination for FDI. Just last week, General Electric announced a decision to invest $1 billion in setting up a manufacturing plant to support power generation and oil production. Their plant, to be situated in Calabar, will provide jobs for thousands with multiplier effect for tens of thousands more and will make Nigeria a hub for power equipment in the region. The end result of this investment is that Nigeria’s power generating infrastructure will be expanded meaning more power for Nigerians which translates to even more jobs.

While we continue to encourage the Private Sector to help grow our economy and create jobs for our youths, we will do all within our powers to also keep our youths engaged. In this regard I am happy to report that the 600 bed Federal Teaching Hospital in Abakaliki, Ebonyi State which this administration began working on in February 2011. This project has reached 95% completion and when commissioned later this year it will provide jobs for 3000 people. Similar projects are ongoing in other geo-political zones and I will keep you updated.

Similarly, ongoing massive investments in the rehabilitation of our railways are being carried out with direct labour, thereby providing jobs to thousands of our youths especially around the Ilorin-Minna-Kaduna-Kano corridor of our rail network. In addition to the regular Lagos to Kano service, the Nigerian Railway Corporation has introduced new routes including the Offa-Kano intercity service. These initiatives are generating employment and providing an inexpensive means of travel as well as an alternative means of hauling heavy goods and petroleum products to the hinterland.
Rehabilitation works are also ongoing in the nation’s pipelines to ensure a resumption of the supply of petroleum products by pipelines all over the nation thus reducing the pressure on our roads and railways and freeing up space for hauling other products. Jobs are being created as this is ongoing and moribund services are being resumed.

Just last month, the Benin Depot of the Pipeline Product Marketing Company (PPMC) was reopened after a successful completion of rehabilitation works. Products can now be transferred by pipelines to this facility.

And it is not just in the service sectors that we are seeing construction and rehabilitation. During the maiden meeting of the Executive Council of the Federation meeting, the Federal Government approved the establishment of three new universities in Yobe, Kebbi and Zamfara states. Apart from the jobs that the construction works will generate in those states, value is being added to the local economy as more citizens will have access to tertiary education with its attendant effect in wealth generation and improved health.

My dear friends on facebook, may God bless you, even as I pray for Almighty God to bless our country, Nigeria. GEJ

139 comments:

This is d 1st time am even moved to comment and what I can say is plsssssssssssssssssssss make we hear word! Gud riddance

Abeg free grammar,...compare result to the level of corruption. Compare what he is claiming as achivement to the 1billion budget for designer rice . Or the budget for first lady .

****yawn yawn , stop sugar coating this useless administration

Asking for foreign-direct investment with the insecurity in Nigeria? Why would people leave their safe/properly functioning countries to come and subject themselves to armed robbery, BH, kidnapping, lack of electricity etc? Deal with those problems first and FDI will increase exponentially. Instead of spending N7bn on Abuja gate(na magical gate?) and N4bn on a building for the first lady(who doesn't hold any office), spend that on infrastructure development and everything else will follow suit.

sexy mama said...

thunder fire him!

Who are his dear friends? *RME*.... Make we dey see... No be by talk talk talk!! Action abeg ...m5on diddy

same old story by Mr President. Do something about corruption first then we would believe in whatever you post on your Facebook. Never believe all this corrupt politicians, they are liers.

If Ge is 2 recide in calabar,dat wld really open calabar up. Dat City is blessed,bt pls dey shld nt come n cause traffic oh.

chukky said...

Why didn't he talk about corruption. PIB? Jonah I pray God arrests you, changes your DNA gives you wisdom so that you can rule this nation. STOP LYING ON CNN. It will be there forever.God bless Nigeria

Richard O Osibanjo said...

Our President has good intentions and May God give him wisdom and courage to do the right things at the right time. Nigeria is moving forward, there is no turning back. For more inspiration for the day checkout www.fisherpersonality.blogspot.com

VICKY DARL said...

I like dis our president and i dont know why........

theLASTMAN said...

knuckle heads...it is a known fact that foreign direct investment will be the only thing to drive economic development in Nigeria given the current stagnant and lackadaisical nature of the current regime... this has been a fact since the recession. Nigeria is the world´s pot of honey and thy are coming to lick it dry. The shame is that most Nigerians are still going to be in serfdom. Imagine it it like a malaysia or vietnam where there is a huge investment drive based on cheap labour and locally available natural resources. this development is not without benefit albeit inevitable.

no doubt nigerian economy is growing, but the masses are still suffering. GEJ is indeed the best president Nigeria has ever produced but CPC/ACn are working hard to tell us otherwise.

Who is he?

Uchechi said...

God bless u too mr president and may the good Lord continue to give u strength to move our great nation forward.....

Kai, the m$g I$ too long biko..
http://meenahz.blogspot.com

Pls dnt forget about Mtel/Nitel 25months outstanding salary.... pls dey have children oooooo nd dey need to pay school fess and also home upkeep.... thank you.

(˘̯˘┌П┐ Mr. President.

May d Almighty God continue 2 guide, protect,bless u, in all u av bn doing 4 dis country in Jesus name say a big Amen.

tnk God our president is wakin up frm sleep.

God bless u My President,dats why we've been clamouring for d good works to always do d talking.
With developmental projects like these,there will be no need for d likes of Reno and Abati.

All I can say#it is well ooo# 1st to comment

*Yawns* ZzzZzZzzzzzzzZzzzZzzzz summary pls *TEE*

oge said...

*yawns* K

Who is your friend? Jonathan, abeg carry ur life go.

wen shall words meet action in this country 2much talk nd no wrk makes naija a dull country

zubi said...

Its official! Jonathan is CLUELESS AND DUMB. Which Nigeria is he talking about? Is he a learner? Mshewww! No job for millions of youths , they have been signing contract since fada notice. JOKE OF THE DECADE - Nigeria to become power hub!

i honestly want to believe him but i am already getting tired of all their shit.....

May the blessings of God never depart from Nigeria.... The dream of nigerian must come to pass i belive in nigerian nt our leaders CFR

Tiwa, time to come out of the closet, and tell the world he is your husband.

Story story story!!!

Peters said...

Jona, is the most unserious and unreasonable President the world will ever produce. I don’t blame him for his stupid message because he doesn’t even know the responsibilities attached to the office of the president. He is just an opportunist but messing around with the opportunity of a life time given to him. He is boosting of employment opportunity while more than 80% of Nigeria graduates are unemployment – 3000 people out of millions of unemployment Nigerians. That is why he was not ashamed to travel from Abuja to one of the middle belt states to commission a rehabilitated LGEA Primary School. He is boosting ofpPipeline rehabilitation contract that he gives to MILITANT to enhance their preparation toward 2015 election thungery – you think we do not know? Ur cup done the full don’t worry.. God is watching…

more universities?...how many do we have now? 200?...what exactly is the power generating and oil manufacturing plant?...like a refinery and generator rolled in one? i'm confused....didnt know we had a lagos-kano passenger train...and na bus i dey use since. well done sir.

stories,na today

If I read dis thing make my eye blind :| it can't pass empty promises dat d joker go put der.tufia

Edohe said...

Amen o o.hmmm,God will remember us one day,

Pres Jonathan is a big fool,yes I said so,summary of dis whole gibberrish is FAILURE and MORE CORRUPTION.idiotic president

Blah..blah ..Blah.. where is the electricity and good roads you promised...? deal with Boko haram and kidnappers first...

Whatever dude! Until the wealth reach me, I no send you

Ice Princess said...

Ok I have heard. I would prefer if I saw for myself. Till then!

lol. www.boimingjobs.blogspot.com

nobody is perfect my broda just do ur best nd leave lest 2 GOD.

Well thank you C Amanpour.

Well done GEJ, but he should address the virus that's eating the economy and making every work seems futile. Discover the Secret to losing weight and burning tummy fat

Sir, we pray for the betterment of our nation too, but for a country of our size and capabilities, all we need are just BASIC things to be functioning well, why is that too much to ask for in Nigeria? Water, good roads, good health care, good educational system, jobs, adequate electricity and at least an average man being to feed his family without stress, that's what is basic in countries of our class. We are tired of paper work projects, we wants to feel for real them pls.

MINE said...

Go hug a transformer haters, I love my president

All na LIE

Bless you too.....GOD bless Nigeria...benchichi

He sounds desperate. Abi na the merger talks by opposition parties dey fear am??Lol.Jona Jona.O ga eme gi vaaam n'anya.

deborah said...

Story

so

This man is daft

This man has started again....

Another "I had no shoes deception!"....we ain't falling for that this time Mr Presido....

By the way Mr Presido, Christian Amanpour don bust your bubble say na lie you tell for CNN last week o...I don talk my own as a patriotic Nigerian...

All the FDI we get will soon vanish when General Electric and the likes find that corruption cannot sustain their investments and all the wealth created will end in the pocket of the "Untouchables"

Can the President please respond to Oby and lets have a thorough debate on how our resources have been utilized? Can he please address the nation on the justice system that blatantly favors the rich?

Nothing else will matter to Nigerians if these issues are not tackled first.

captain Hafiqz A. Munir said...

daFaq wat? Soo we shud all assemble in a straight line and dance Azonto mr.president pls growup! We are nt blind wen d project is completed we'll see it! Stop d lies and stories cos ur admins will still loot 4rm d booty soo finish d job n' let and us see d light... Punk ass presido *Long Live Nigeria*

GEJ Please just try your best to make Nigeria Better for everybody. May God Help you Achieve your Transformation Agenda. AMEN.

DADDYSWIFE said...

Campaign for 2015,until I see them come to past,its all campaign,no be today

sexylove said...

Yinmu...na tuday?onto the next one abeg

How do u reconcile 3thousand with 0.15billion? Anyways, more palm oil to your already shinny lips...

*Cheechee...

ok oh...

Linda and Abati. I smell a rat, a BIG rat...

Abeg this one to much, I get Law textbooks I never read finish...All dese na bobo drink jooo....Linda post my comment ooo, if u no want make I come steal ur new car...*smiles*

Good job mr president.Keep up with the good jobs.very soon your name will be back to Goodluck & nt Badluck.

I hope they don't steal the cash as always,i also hope boko haram doesn't kill people working on those universities!!!

pretty diva said...

Abeg dis man shld go nd slip

ooh well -_-

Bb smiley*talk to the hand*

Long n boring!

Li li li hav u seen dis http://bit.ly/12qyezx =))º°˚˚˚°º‎​L☺Lº°˚˚˚°º‎​=)). No wonder he wrote dis crap on his FB page...Nonsense!

Amen mr president. May God give your subordinates the heart to use the monies approved for the rite course not to end in there pockets

Queen Bee said...

Oga ,u go on Facebook and write an epistle of just promises huh????So what do you want us to say to u Mr President?
We should tell u oh welldone Sir you are working hard?.......*clapping my hands*!!!...but No you are not!
Just go home and rub ur balding head on Patience's laps till ur works speak for u!!
Rubbish!

Story!story!.....story! And nothing ever moves!*smh*

These r d kind of things I wud like to hear my president say and these r d kind of things reuben abati and the likes shud be doin. Not just lookin for unnecessary beef. This really is a step in the right direction. Hope u keep up with it. We need light biko!IAI

LMAO @magic gate but well said

check other posts comments are 50 and up. take a look at post about president jona. what does that tell you? it screams Jona is a failure! nobody is interested in his cock n bull tales. he can even go to twitter as well to tweet, who cares?

17 comments only shows that majority of us are not interested in fake stories told by a shoeless man

Jonathan carry on man,to hell wit critics n jobless politicans.it can be better mr president

jumaima said...

Its radiance come on! The president can't solve ur problems if u won't spell right ugh!!

jumaima said...

Don't be a bully, it looks like he's making an effort so give it time before thunder fires him

Honestly, I am baffled at the way things work in this country. So Mr. President is trying to say all these spending of billions on unnecessary projects aren't worth talking about? They just wake up and decide to squander billions of our money without adequate explanation? And yet some people still cheer him on? Gossh I am beginning to think maybe all what we hear and read on these blog sites aren't true stories. I guess I have to stop sourcing my news online and stick to the newspapers.

When will South East begin to enjoy railway?

Wel, I know he's doin his best but dre're some group of individuals dat doesn't want d growth of Nigeria by causin problems upon problems 4 President GEJ

LMAO! Anti-christ

allenjay said...

God bless our president!

Pack of lies again from GEJ, keep promising with nothing fruitful. If u believe in anything GEJ says you are on a long thing. Mtscheeeew.

kelly said...

The Man is really trying, buh ppl are so biTter n ill-mannered dat dey hurl insults anyhow.

Corruption is not something that can b tackled in a day or year. A tree dat has been crooked for years cant b straightened in a day. I jx pity d poor man, ruling ungreatful n bitter beings we have in dz country.

Having devoted your life to cursing the leaders n Nigerian esp on LIB n ur bed room, what change has come out of it. Has it stopped corruption?? Has Nigeria bn any better?

Most talk of revolution, don't u knw its still d poor masses dat will sufer.

Most here are even more corrupt dan Jonathan, dey swindle money out of ppl at any lil opportunity dey get. For christains here, how many tyms hv even prayed for ur president. Don't you know its in d bible??

Any well-bred being here would know dat hurling insults is uncalled for. unfortunately, we hv few dat belong to dat class..

Since cussing em has brot no good, y don't u use dat God-given brain and fink of how to build ur country. Dat's y, I don't follow d likes of el-rufai and co on twitter. All they do is rant, n yap lyk dogs. Whereas, they are no better

Infact, Nigerians need Rochas, He is very eloquent n v got many sweet words dat guillible Nigerians need. All he need do is to sweet talk everyone. Make promises, start lil eye service projects and then leave y'all to ur own peril.

Its quite an epistle, buh I jx v to comment after reading most comments whenever d issue of Jonathan is raised.

Blah....blah...blah....on to the next!

As a foreigner working in nigeria,I can tell u the truth,almost all of us don't like this government just because of corruption!All of ur guys put ur eyes on our pause!Nigeria is a good market for doing business but ur guys have made it be the worst place for investment in the world!

DOVE said...

Not only is dis embarassing, but disgraceful and pathetic. Pls check out dis link & see how GEJ disgraced us durin the Christiana Amanpour CNN interview days ago:-
http://video.ak.fbcdn.net/hvideo-ak-prn1/v/724979_10200113193106015_26858_n.mp4?oh=9ead53a2dcba4eaf1dfb0e8ac858cd07&oe=5113719E&__gda__=1360229818_d5c134e58b0b5bbea31d4c5b06c0bc11

michael switch said...

GEJ why now...u no end diz ur message very well o,it shld av ended with VOTE FOR GEJ

I hear all of una!

palo said...

Keep deceiving urself, is it CPN/ACN that made him budget 4billion to build an office for †̥ђε̲̣̣̣̥ first lady? An office that ought to be ceremonial, is it †̥ђε̲̣̣̣̥ said political parties that has made his government one of †̥ђε̲̣̣̣̥ most corrupt ever in Nigeria? Plsss go take a seat and stop commending mediocrity..mtscheeew best president my a**

Mr president stop giving us message! give us light!

GEJ is a great man i like him,he is humble,smart and intelligent,He will do alot if given chances,its not easy to rule Nigeria

Radiance kwa! U blind? B4 u correct sme1 use d dictionary

campaign 4 2015

Mtscheew! Same old story! Corruption no go let them implement things.

Hottest money making homebusiness opportunity recomended by Robert Kiyosaki, visit www.buildawealth.robertkiyosakivideo.com

ALL TALK AND NO ACTION. ABEG CARRY GO. I'm sure he didn't write this himself, when did he become educated

God bless our dear president Jona

Jumaima!!!!u shld b d one to learn ur spellings right, including gettin more understanding of english!its actually riddance(good riddance to bad rubbish)!!!!

Let ur works do d talkin...I've neva xperience any administration dat. Talks xcessively ova little tins...at dis rate ure goin,u might neva get a 2nd term. Pls mr president,retrace ur steps n get ur priorities right! D noise stinks. Linda post my comment Oº°˚˚°º

Juju u stupid oh! Who tell u say na "radiance". Do u know what a dictionary is and does?

lord Eze said...

@princecharming. What a sincere one u have got there nobody needs all this stories Sir just do ur job and u will be appreciated.am out

What is wrong wit u madam jumoimoi? Anonymous is correct.its "good riddance to bad rubbish" a common nigerian saying so don't come here trynta b porsche went u r just a kabu kabu. See your head like radiance

Oscar said...

Did i hear someone say ppl are hurling insults on him? whatever he`s getting is definitely brought upon by himself. Nigerians have been patient enough but seems there aint no good in the house of GEJ so long he`s comfortable then he believes we all are. No wonder Reuben could open his gut to say most houses eat well more than the president....sure everyman has a price. This is the most unscrupulous regime of our time!

We have been hearing this rubbish since the days of Lord Lugard, now we are 100 years old nothing to show for it, than a deteriorating Nigeria. if you are working your good works will speak for you not you opening ur tramp to say rubbish. Stupid people.

Jumaima, he's correct. Riddance nt radiance. Go look up both words b4 u start formin english teacher. Chai!

Ure foolish Jumaima! S/he is right and you are wrong.Its "riddance" not "radiance".

PEOPLE DECEIVE PEOPLE said...

the issue of creating jobs no b today e start.who dem dey create jobs 4?me,u or foreigners.they bring in foreigners to handle projects that well meaningful 9jirians can do.after that the foreigners now come in with technicians as expatriates to come and oversee what a masters holder in Nigeria is doing.using CCECC as a case study.make dis pple no dey fool demselves and make dem no think say dem go fit fool us.well sha i no blame dem na their name dey speak for them...PEOPLE DECEIVE PEOPLE.oga joe wey no get bata ohhhh.na God go judge all of us.

Pregnancy Concierge said...

Actually it is riddance, which makes u a complete nincompoop for "correcting" someone. Please don't ever comment again, on anything.

Dis jumaima is a CAPITAL fool o!....I'm sure u feel very stupid and dull now...#smh

Jumaima leeee..it's actualy riddance and not radiance..olodo like u..ode

leo4life said...

I just want to change one of the lies he told: 'While we continue to encourage the Private Sector to help grow our economy and create jobs for our youths, we will do all within our powers to also keep our youths engaged'. what he meant to say was ...While we continue to encourage the Private Sector to help grow our economy and create jobs for our youths, we will do all within our powers to loot the economy with ignomity, impunity and reckless abandon!'

I dnt v time to read this epistle of lies instead let me read jokes and lol ai no get time for lie lie abegi let him act and lets see

Hmmmmmmm,jonah u tink say evrybdy na foooool lyk u?I knw wia u dey go.pple make una unda dis demon oooooooo.he dey campaign 4 2015.surely dey go start som of d contract bt dey will nt finish it on tym,until after d election frm there dey start stealing afresh.& dey no go luk @ dat contract again.if u lyk giv 149.9million pple wrk I knw go vote lyk my whole family.see hin daft head lyk DONKEY.Linda!linda!!linda!!!hmmmmm if u lyk.........

BIG FISH * said...

Weldone Mr president....now cause the opposition is merging alot of things will be put in place.... THE MERGING OF THE OPPOSITION IS THE BEGINNING OF WORK

Goodluck .. you have become a bad luck to Nigerians . what is going on in the south ? east ? .. why everything north and calaba ? what about your home town . mu mu president

Mr president be wise! We should not sell our birthrights all in d name of FDI. The crises in Jos is as a result of close 2 dis. Let be concious of "sustainable development".

a persimist too ehn!? To tell u d truth, our Nigeria will nt b/come only a power hub in the sub-region but a continental/global hub for manifactured good.let's join mr president nd other well-meaning Nigerians to remodel d future of this nation.

Make una free jumaima now, am sure some of ‎​Ʊ didnt knw too and ‎​Ʊ are there accuseing her and saying its riddance not radiance. Make una park well jo.

Na wa for all this english grammar o. Radiance, accuseing and manifactured goods. jonathan see your life, see what you have turned Nigerians into.. God go help us sha.

Tell d idiot! As sum1 said on a previous post"we need a revolution"....I'm ready

Million dollar question

souvenirworks said...

lol!...i fit bet my left ball say no be Johnny boy write all this grammar...*sigh* Abeg!,biko!!, mbok!!!, ejo!!!! GEJ..your time haff come and gone, its time for something new. We dont need your administration anymore!!!

JEG should loan some brain from where ever,my advice to you is,first restore power,Nigeria has large presence of gas that has't been tapped,there our too many ways to archive permanent power supply,gas,coal,solar,we can use all this so when one fails we have the other.Connect rail systems across Nigeria which would include cargo trains as well,this would help reduce cost of transporting goods from one state to the other by manufactures,would eventually reduce the cost of these goods when it reaches end users .Let the government provide the rail tracks and let private firms provide the trains and pay their taxes to the government.Each states should be encouraged to produce rice,get the polisher,is a machine that can polish rice as well as parboil,this way it meets world standard,we can also export,we are a consuming nation,what do we export?this is really sad.the government should mount powerful satellite that covers the nation,every street and every house and have a monitor station.The police should have an helicopter this will help them combat robbery,they can see robbers from the air and be able to engage in a combat with out fear.Each police division should have an helicopter.Generator sellers will ensure we don't have stable power,that is the only way they would sell their product,and our government buys into it by accepting bribes from these guys.We supply power to other countries,and their power is stable,how come ours is't? it raises an eye brow.Dear God pls let us have a good leader,we have suffered.

Investors,so they would use Nigerians and pay pea nuts.Better increase the minimum wage to at least 60 thousand,which is just few dollars.And ensure our citizenry are not maltreated by this foreigners.This government is not making progress.

abeg make jona close ehh mouth make i see road pass jare nansense

The corruption created by your greedy and diabolic tribesmen... Liars of the Federal Republic (LFR)!

U better do mcheeeeeew

Palo - d liar and deceiver! After your kinsmen has wrecked 9ja for abt 40yrs with with their great wickedness and lootings, you still had d guts to write disgusting tins abt GEJ. You are most likely bitter bcos GEJ is exposing your corruption and it is no longer business as usual for you and your greedy kinsmen. Nemesis shall soon catch up on you!

Peters, u cant deceive d rest of us with ur propaganda and lies. Jona has done creditably well than all your useless, greedy and lazy tribesmen put together. D likes of u hv creatd d problems bedevilling dis country. How dare u mention God? Soonest u shall reap d fruits of ur wickedness if u refuse to retrace ur steps.

Watch out this year, you have already dug your grave with your hands...

U ar nothing but a bloody liar!

Y won't u b yarning okpata wen your uncles and relations have looted our treasury. By now u shd all b cooling off in d prison. Bitter souls!

C'mon gerrout of dis blog u liar! Nigeria is more conducive for biz dan d previous corrupt govt. U are probably one of those ripping Nigeria thru oil bunkering. Nonsense foreigner!

D 2 yr of Jona is far better than d 8 year reign of your callous and wicked uncle, Obasanjo.

Unscrupulous Oscar, go and hug d nearest transformer if you can't accept that GEJ has performed well. Bunch of ingrates!

Madness in action! U shall soon find ursef at Yaba left hand side...

Demonic person like u, from a frustrated family of bigots. U are just good-for-nothing!

Trent said...

Nervousy!!

Goodluck Jonathan