Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 04/29/2012 - 05/06/2012

Monday 7 May 2012

Olympic Gold Medalist Chioma Ajunwa Becomes Police DPO

Chioma Ajunwa Opara, 41, was the first Nigerian to win Olympic Gold. She accomplished that feat at the 1996 Atlanta Olympics.

The Imo state born Chief Superintendent of Police, who joined the Nigerian police force long before winning the long jump gold medal, was recently made the Divisional Police Officer (DPO) of Meran police station in Lagos.

Doris Simeon and Daniel Ademinokan heading to court to dissolve marriage

It's no longer news that movie director Daniel Ademinokan has separated from his actress wife Doris Simeon. What I hear now is that all efforts to reconcile the estranged couple, who have a son together, have failed as they are heading to court to dissolve their marriage.

Chidi Mokeme and mother of his son wed same day

Chidi Mokeme                                             Adia Ukoyen

Chidi Mokeme married Dr Jean Olumba on Saturday April 28th. That same day, Chidi's baby mama, media consultant Adia Ukoyen married Curtis Imodufen. Chidi and Adia have a 14 year old son together, but separated when they boy was just two. Adia, who is still very good friends with her baby daddy, said she learnt of her ex's wedding date after she called him to inform him of her impending wedding on April 28th. Chidi's son couldn't attend his wedding because he was at his mother's wedding.

That photo of Governor Oshiomhole was photoshopped

The porn photo                   Original photo

I'm sure most of you saw the photo and if you guessed it was Photoshopped, you guessed right. A few days ago, a photo that purportedly showed Edo State Governor Adams Oshiomhole in a sex romp went viral on social media. (If you didn't see the photo, good for you! :-))

The original photo that was cropped and imposed on the porn star has been released. As you can see above...naija people! lol. This man has enemies sha...

Its getting serious. Kanye lets Kim K drive his $500k Mercedes SLR

The reality star was spotted in LA (while Kanye is in NY) driving Kanye's $500, 000 Mercedes SLR McLaren. 

Kim has a Range Rover, a Ferrari, a Rolls Royce Ghost and a Bentley...but it must be fun driving your boyfriend's car!

D'banj congratulates Don Jazzy on launch of new record label

Kayswitch, what is this na, eh? :-)

This is from Kayswitch's DP on BBM. Kayswitch is former Mohits Records artist and D'banj's younger brother.

LMAO at this...this beef is becoming somehow sha!

Lagos State Government sack all striking doctors

I'm sure you all know that doctors in Lagos State have been on strike for a while now (Since April 24th). Their reason? They want an increase in salary and a downward review of taxes, among other things. Well, today Monday May 7th, the Lagos State Government announced the sack of over 1, 000 striking doctors in its employ. The government has already started recruiting new doctors to replace the sacked ones.

Is sacking them the way forward? Please share your thoughts

Dangote Covers May Issue of Forbes Africa Magazine

Aliko Dangote on bombs? lol. Now, I'd like to read what he has to say about that!

Introducing Freda-Ann Eko: Naija's rep to Little Miss World Pageant

11 year old JSS 1 student, Freda-Ann Eko, will be representing Nigeria at the forth coming Little Miss World contest, which will take place in Turkey from May 10th to May 20th 2012. The Cross River state born young beauty queen was Miss Gafed in 2006 and is the current Mid-Charming Princess Nigeria, a pageant she won last year. Freda-Ann is also a commercial advert model at Black Dove Modelling Agency.

Kimberly Elise and Omotola Jalade Ekeinde talk Ties That Bind

Ties That Bind is a story of three women Adobea (Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde), Buki (Ama K Abebrese) and Theresa (Kimberly Elise). Though the three are from different backgrounds, they are bound together by the shared experience of losing a child. In a destined meeting in a small village in Kroboland, the women journey together to redemption, love, life and forgiveness as they renovate a dilapidated clinic for the villagers. 

In  this video, Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde, and Hollywood star Kimberly Elise speak with Herve Clemont of Celebville 360 about their characters in the movie. Continue to watch the video...

Don Jazzy sets up new record label - Mavin Records. Signs Tiwa Savage

The ace producer and former CEO of Mohits Records announced his new label on Twitter a few hours ago. It's no longer Mohits Records, its now Mavin Records (Mavin pronounced as May-vin). And he has signed the new label's first female artist; the unbelievably talented Ms Tiwa Savage. Aside from D'banj and his brother K-Switch, all the other artists under the now defunct Mohits records are with Mavin Records. 

Meanwhile a compilation album titled Solar Plexus, produced by Don Jazzy and featuring Wande Coal, Dr Sid, D'Prince and Tiwa Savage will be released tomorrow May 8th.

The record exec also tweeted that more artists will be signed to the label soon. And erm...go to Wikipedia's definition of Solar Plexus. #thankmelater :-)

'I'll Probably Have The Worst, Spoiled Little Kid Ever.' - Jay Z

In a clip from Oprah's Master Class: Special Edition, Jay Z said he plans to spoil his little girl to pieces:
Everyone imagines they'll be a great dad until their [kids are] teenagers. Get away from me, Dad. You're embarrassing me. I imagine I'll take things I learned from my mom and things I've learned from raising my nephews and apply that. Then at the end of the day, I just know I'll probably have the worst, spoiled little kid ever."

Sunday 6 May 2012

The African Kings of Comedy - May 26th Live @ the Expo Center

Sarkozy out. France gets new president...

Sarkozy                                               Hollande
France has a new president. His names is François Hollande. The socialist (first socialist president in two decades) beat Nicolas Sakorzy in a presidential election that held today. Sarkozy was seeking second term, but was defeated by Hollande with more than 52 percent of the votes.

Another matchy-matchy outfit! Hehehehehe

Leopard print dress and shoe. I can't help it, sometimes I like my shoes to match my dress...lol. This was this afternoon...:-)

Pictures from Adaora Couture Launch

Actress Adaora Ukoh launched her plus size clothing line yesterday at Scintilla, Lagos. More photos when you continue...

Dear LIB readers: I can't say no to men, please help me!

Hi Linda, my name is Titi, this is my story and i would like you to publish it so i can get advice. I am a 19 year old student currently studying law in one of the top universities in the United kingdom. Although 19 i look like im in my 20's. My friends describe me as 'an extremely nice generous person' I come from a well to do family and i have never lacked anything in life. Im writing this in tears because im ashamed of myself but at the same time cant stop it. 

Right from a very young age i was molested by several men and some of these men i still see till today and some i even have to call 'uncle'. When people ask me if im a virgin i dont know what answer to give them say no im not a virgin i lost my virginity when i was 5 or i truly lost my virginity right when i was 16 because i honestly dont know the answer to that question myself. 

Boko Haram Says AIT Phone-In Interview Call Is Fake

Islamist militant sect Boko Haram has revealed that a purported telephone call made to the African Independent Television (AIT) by a caller pretending to be a Boko Haram spokesperson was fake.
A source close to the sect told Saharareporters that the no one in the sect or any on its leadership initiated a call threatening to attack Lagos and Abuja in 72 hours.

A Nigerian local TV station-African Independent Television- had played a phone call in which an individual claiming to be a representative of Boko Haram threatened to attack Lagos and Abuja in 72 hours.
The caller also requested that Nigeria President Goodluck Jonathan unconditionally  meet with the sect in Yobe state, without security, to discuss the terms of a ceasefire, but our most reliable source said the call was a prank pulled by individuals capitalizing on the hysteria created by Boko Haram's recent attacks in northern Nigeria. (Sahara Reporters)

Don't do it, Tyra. Don't do it! :-)

The supermodel, 38, was spotted on a date at Disneyland with rapper Drake, who is just 25, on Friday May 4th. A Drake fan saw the pair, took photos and posted it online. Drake has always said he likes older women, but please not my Tyra! Stay away, Niggam!

Lebanese murders bureau de change operator over $50,000 in Lagos

The Lebanese killer                      The victim being rolled into the theatre after the incident
Culled from Vanguard
35-year-old Ali Sani, a bureau de change operator in Apapa area of Lagos, least envisaged the tragedy that loomed ahead,  penultimate Monday,  as he set for his office. Like every other bureau de change operator, Ali called on passers-by to patronise him, in his hard currency  changing business.
Later that day, a telephone call, which signaled the beginning of the end of  Ali, came in with  the caller requesting for fifty thousand dollars. The call, according to his colleagues, came as an answered prayer for the  Kano State born operator  who, reportedly, rallied round to make up the amount. But, unknown to him, the caller had a sinister motive.

Cheetahs Maul Woman at a game reserve in South Africa

Saturday 5 May 2012

Meet the 2012 Most Beautiful Girl in Nigeria

Most Beautiful in Nigeria 2012 is Miss Cross River Isabelle Ayuk   
        1st runner up is Miss Rivers Charles-Granville Damiete

Isabelle gets cash prize (not disclosed), Toyota Corolla from Edo State Government, N1m Cartier wrist watch from Polo LTD.

MBGN Top 5
Miss Osun 4th runner up. Miss Kaduna 3rd runner up. Miss Abuja 2nd runner up. Miss Rivers 1st runner up. Miss Cross River (winner)

Yeah, these are the two most beautiful girls in Nigeria. With MBGN, impossible is nothing! :-)

Late Rashidi Yekini buried

Yekini's mum                                                            During the burial

He was buried this afternoon according to Islamic rites at his hometown of Ira in Kwara state. May his soul rest in peace...amen.

Uche Jombo, Van Vicker, others detained at police station for 12 hrs

Star actress Uche Jombo, actor Van Vicker, screenwriter Uduak Isong, Nigerian youth for change founder Michael Bobby Obodo, celeb stylist Yolanda Okereke and a few others were all arrested around 9pm on Thursday May 3rd by policemen from the Bode Thomas police station while shooting a movie scene at the Censor police station in Surulere.

They were all detained at the Bode Thomas police station for over 12 twelve hours. Their offense? The police accused them of using the Censor police station to shoot a movie scene without due process. Meanwhile the nollywood crew said they had gotten clearance from another police officer before they began shooting. The police officer who gave them permission was with them at the station but couldn't do anything to secure their release. He was later queried.

The Nollywood stars passed the night behind the counter and were released yesterday morning, Friday May 4th. Now I hear they plan to send the police a petition through their lawyers.

Best dressed goes to...? *cough*

Blogger, Linda Ikeji                                                    OAP, Matse Uwatse
                                                 Ghanaian singer, Becca                                               Model, Moet Abebe

The event was Umoja in Lagos, which took place last Sunday April 29th. And best dressed goes to...? Lady in blue, huh? Lol. Photos thanks to Ynaija.com