Don Jazzy sets up new record label - Mavin Records. Signs Tiwa Savage | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 7 May 2012

Don Jazzy sets up new record label - Mavin Records. Signs Tiwa Savage

The ace producer and former CEO of Mohits Records announced his new label on Twitter a few hours ago. It's no longer Mohits Records, its now Mavin Records (Mavin pronounced as May-vin). And he has signed the new label's first female artist; the unbelievably talented Ms Tiwa Savage. Aside from D'banj and his brother K-Switch, all the other artists under the now defunct Mohits records are with Mavin Records. 

Meanwhile a compilation album titled Solar Plexus, produced by Don Jazzy and featuring Wande Coal, Dr Sid, D'Prince and Tiwa Savage will be released tomorrow May 8th.

The record exec also tweeted that more artists will be signed to the label soon. And erm...go to Wikipedia's definition of Solar Plexus. #thankmelater :-)

123 comments:

devour said...

Good for him

Yes oo, am happy for him, he should take it to another level. Aunty Lin tell him to come and sign me oooo. When I sing angels keep quiet. *winks*

sweething81me said...

abeg, no be say i dey yab person pickin, but these gals are just too heavy, wetin? abeg, this is morbid obesity and it is a disease, leave fashion show matter forst, this babes need to get healthy back........and yes i no be lekpa or orobo, i am healthy. GBAM!

Terrence. said...

I Like This. Its Shows Someone Who Is Determined.

Go for it ooo.... You'll still be our Don Baba J.
Yes you guys had to split but you didn't have to fight.

God Bless.
I love you Tiwa.

Good for him! It's about time he moved on and continue making great beats.

Terrence. said...

And To All Of You Whom Dbanj Is Your Jesus Christ Of The Music Industry And Also Those Stupid Illiterates Out There Do You Still Believe That Don Jazzy Used Wande Cole's Twitter Account To Write All Those Things Or Wande Did It Himself? Or Dbanj Was Just Bad Mouthing Don Jazzy. Mtshewww Nigerians Ehen.....No Body Is Wishing Dbanj Bad Or Anything But The Way He Handle The Whole Situation only Shows How Irresponsible and Immature He Is.

Ok, good for him! they all beefin my niga d'bang.

sexydame said...

D̶̲̥̅̊o̲̣̥п̥̥̲̣̥ jazzy again! D̶̲̥̅̊o̲̣̥п̥̥̲̣̥ d̶̲̥̅̊o̲̣̥п̥̥̲̣̥ jazzy! Thumbs up Ƚ٥ U̶̲̥̅̊,u̶̲̥̅̊я crew Α̲̅Ω̴̩̩̩̥d̶̲̥̅̊ Fǿя̩̥̊ the new big artist on the block(tiwa salvage) with God Α̲̅Ω̴̩̩̩̥d̶̲̥̅̊ u̶̲̥̅̊я die hard fans on u̶̲̥̅̊я side, .A̶̲̥̅♏ very positive U̶̲̥̅̊ would pull this off! Welcome on board MARVIN RECORDS!

Nice1 Don baba J.....

Joshua-Chigbo said...

I believe u die! Seriously Don Jazy is da man!

SB said...

its Don Jazzy Again!! Well done my brother. Keep it Up! God go make u bigger ooooo!!!

I wish Don baba J all the best TIWA in the label makes it a perfect one... God go make u bigger

OAU Post Utme exams said...

Good for him. Time comes when a man have to change

Airtel free browsing said...

I hope it become as successful as the former label.

Eksu admission said...

So apparently, dbanj is off the group?

ifedamola says: ok...... the shows is about to begin....let me grab my popcorn and drinks and see as the shows unfolds........

Mr JAY SLICK said...

IDJA........na only you fit o DonBabaJ. Nice one bro. GGMUB.

Lataaro. I don come ur blog like 20 times today. U are too late jare Linda . Kilon shey e ? Step up ur game o. Stale gist. Anyways. I'm team mavin and I shall pray for God's power to comtinue to spark in the house of mavin. God bless you don jazzy.

Angel28 said...

IDJA i klnew he was going to come out strong so happy for him mehn u d boss... lets c wat becomes o dbanj now... hmmnn looks like an intresting battle!

Just whats needed, brilliant move by Don Jazzy ...

allenjay said...

Best of luck(s)

Good move,am sure the other members of mo-hits who have been envious of D'banj will be happy now that it has been split..I pray both dbanj n don j would someday comeback together n be one again

Eskober said...

Life must go on, do ur tin bro

Hen hen.... like play.Dbanj is finally out of the picture.well God will bless them in their diff endeavors.Do your tin

Austin said...

wooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooow! Baddddt guy. i must say i bow. with tiwa savage on this!!!!!!! mehn, nice. nice. Just mek good clean music.

Sandra said...

Am so happy for him. lets watch how he takes over the music industry again and how Dbang would gnash his teeth in regret....

SUE JORDAN said...

THE CHANGE OF NAME ONLY CONFIRMS D'BANJ HAD A LOT OF HOLD ON MO'HITS...I WISH THINGS DIDN'T GO DOWN THE WAY THEY DID...

P90x Core said...

This is great to hear . I think Don Danj are moving foward with their dreams and I wish them all the best .

PoLYMaT said...

W/o dbanj--MOHITS becums NOHITS--itz so obvious, Dbanj eida owned MOHITS or ad a huge share in it, coz d fact dat 1 artist opted out shldnt av made him change his record label, if truly it was HIS..**

busola said...

CORRECT!!!!!!!

nice 1,thumbs up 2 don-jazzy

Now thats great news.Luv Don jazzy, he has obviously moved on.Thats d spirit.Team Don jazzy all d way.

I wish him all d best!Love u DonJazzzzzzzy!

Atobatele said...

What a way to go...Life must continue

I was actually xpcting a restructuring of the record label bt i did nt envisage a rename. This is gud cos it will gv Don Jazzy a free hand & complete control of d label cos the managment will be changed even in documents.The signing of Tiwa Savage is also laudable & i think it is long over due bcos she is v.talented & has this affiliation with the defunct Mohits family. I wish all the MAVIN crew & even Dbanj goodluck (not Jonathan) in all their endeavours. Cheers!
-CarmeloANGEL.

Kudoz said...

Well done the DON, God bless your effort.

Thumbs up Don Baba J!!!! Nyc move, I like !!!!!! Life goes on

JOSTIFIED said...

This is impressive, Im glad they are all moving on. Wish them all the best and im sure we will be getting some good stuff from MARVIN RECORDS.

Fatimah said...

Wow! IDJA should bottle that his signature aloof look and sell it. I like his look on that cover, very Boss like (I'ma Baws!).

Tiwa will be on cloud nine. hehehe. This is going to be magic, can't wait.

Good to see! It's called 'Moving On'

mavin!!! ...nice 1...gd mrng, pls visit and COMMENT on my blog fabproserv.blogspot.com

C'bone said...

Yea...thumbs up to him. He wants to also sign my main man over here. 33030bd0 is my pin

pamela1st said...

I really love this new collaboration...

Good 4 u Micheal. Can't wait 4 u and Tiwa 2 start dating*sigh*.

Osheyyyyyyyyyyyyy! Azonto

adah said...

Why does the prince's glasses look slanted. Well I wish Don Jazzy the best & pls sid shud stop tryna wyn his waist(looks ridiculous), d prince shud sort out whether he's a rapper/singer or just fine boy! Only wande,tiwa & jazzy that I know have delivered

Great Start! Ride on Bruv!!

the white enchantress said...

thumbs up guys

He should not even try it. They should try and be professional.plz Don jazzy,don't break ma heart.

For what?????
That Ofe mmanu girl
Tufia
---Chijioke

don jazzy sha. the guy is just CODED. too much STRATEGY.this guy cannot be trusted (too much sense)....NWANNA carry go sha!

Sir Rashy said...

God bless you Don Boss in this new sojourn of yours through life. You have taken a new bold step into the future and all I can wish you is the very best with all your amazing signed-on artists,,,,,,,, IDJA.

This simply means DBANJ truly owned mo'hits nigeria has a governing body that registers businesses CAC www.cac.gov.ng if DON JAZZY truly owned mo'hits why did he have to go on and create a new label? this is the Qstn u lots should ask yourselves.

if Dbanj isnt the owner and was just an artiste all the business owner needs to do is end the contract or if he dbanj just owned a little share he don jazzy can dissolve it by going to CAC.

Nigerians we need to learn to apply common sense in all we do i love them both DBANJ and DON JAZZY #GOODLUCK

So if don jazzy indeed owned mohits, then why the need to rebrand just cos d banj walked away?

its good for us to criticize but at times let us be constructive. those who know Don jazzy well and his antecedent can already foretell a change of name and re-branding since the ownership and name of Mo'hits was brought into disrepute by the split. the inclusion of talented Tiwa Savage is a massive boost and it will definitely pay off. this goes to prove Don Jazzy as a master strategist. i am for team #MAVIN. i wish Don baba Jay all the best on this one........its @neyopizzle again.

Oga common sense. D banj doesn't own mohits, neither did Don jazzy. It was a partnership with share distribution. If Dbanj has opted out, and has gone away with his records blah blah,is it not just plain sensible that Don J should establish another record solely in his name in order to extinguish any ties with D-banj? That's common sense,I dunno whr ur own sense comes from though,oga cac.

truthhurts said...

Well done!! You did it once im sure you can do it again!!!

Check where you sort comments well.

Nonso said...

please for all of you guys saying that don jazzy didn't really own mohits and thats d reason he changed d label name, d issue is not and has never been about who owns mohits! so? besides that is why it is called rebranding! he created a new brand!!!
#team Mavin

I call this BADASS rebranding and i loves it. GGMYB michael x

Terrence. said...

A name change does not mean dbanj was the owner of mohits. mind you if dbanj really was the owner his pr rep wont have said he was taken out of context during his interview with ebony. Mo-hits was a joint venture. now the guy want him own tin.

All u asking stupid questions it is simply called rebranding! That means everything changes even the name. If dbanj owned mohits, why did he deny saying that when he was being confronted? If dbanj truly owned mohits, why would don jazzy get upset when dbanj made the statement to ebony magazine. If dbanj owned mohits, why would don jazzy say he wants to scatter mohits( atleast dbanj said that in his last interview)Think before u comment please. Btw d prince Looks like lynxx in that photo.

Some ppl re so dull, so wat if Dbanj own mohit wat part of movin on dnt these unreasonable ppl understand. Focus on d gud side nd leave d rest una no de tire.

Dbanj should get over Oliver twist already and release an album. Why the competition again?. Yaaaawn

With tiwa savage it's gonna b bloody hooottttt...that is d best person to get on his label...tiwa baby u rockkkk

Deyinka Onabanjo said...

Yippee*searching I dnt c kswitch*rme* oh I 4got hez wiv Dbanj.

PRO BONO LAWYER said...

IN A PARTNERSHIP WERE ON PARTNER RESIGNS,RETIRES, DIES,ETC, THE PARTNERSHIP AUTOMATICALLY DISSOLVES UNLESS THERES AN AGREEMENT TO THE CONTRARY IN THEIR PARTNERSHIP AGREEMENT. SO WE'LL ASSUME IT WAS A STANDARD FROM AGREEMENT. ALSO THE NAME AND GOODWILL OF MO HITS HAD BEEN BROUGHT TO DISREPUTE WITH THE WHOLE SAGA, SO IT IS ONLY WISE THAT THE NAME AND BUSINESS STRUCTURE OF MOHITS BE CHANGED.

CherryWine said...

Team Mavin all day! The hit maker is back!!!! It is about to be on. All negativity is now in the past. We look forward to the greatness that Team Mavin is about to unleash! Leggo

all u morons saying that dbanj owns mohits.This is what is called rebranding. ode

Great move by Don Baba J, TEAMDONJAZZY all the way!! Ilove Tiwa too!

Don jazzy!!!!!!!!!!! Ilove u!!!!!!!!!!!! *okbye. Bt seriously tho, good movin on.itrust ya.

Ronny said...

hmmmmmmmm, nice 1!

Its ok but dbanj will be missed n d group sha most pple come to d koko concert n d uk cos of dbanj wit dis new group don't think I will be dere only if d music is great will see

pls where was tiwa savage? as in wat label?

please wat label was tiwa signed to previously?

Frenchie said...

So he's back in the business and he managed to get Tiwa on board good!
We're watching o

Let's just wish them the best and move on, lets forget the messy past. All the best idja and Marvin crew and all the best to dbanj. Finish

Producer$

lmao...nothing personal but ##team_marvin,all the way..

Spread the news!!!

Ohw please shut it !! Late asper lastyear or last month?? U are entitled to ur 'opinion' but ur just LYING!

moi said...

Oga pro bono lawyer..na true u talk but abeg, easy wit d capslock...

Signed:- ur professional colleague..

Deep down,I know k-switch wanna be down wiv them,but things u av 2 sacrifice 4 family btw I luv me some tiwa

YoungGucci said...

He neva gave up datz good and i also think the Mavin Records will be very great. So folks browse free with MTN visit http://mikiguru.com/category/free-browse-9ja

ETHAN said...

I love dis group.well done Don J.proud of u much.

Don Jazzy vs D'banj...

Igbo vs Yoruba

lol! My parents always said that these culture find it difficult to be friends long term....talking from experience I am now believing them.

peter said...

BIG UPS DON BABA J! GOD GO ADD MORE GREASE TO UR ELBOW EMSELF!!! ITS SO SAD D'BANJ CUDNT SEE DE BIGGER PICTURE.,AND GOT CARRIED AWAY BY SHORT TERM RETURNS.I JUST WONDER HW FAR HE'D GO WITH HIS NEW ASSOCIATE'S!
ANYWAYS,MAY GOD BLESS BOTH YOUR HUSTLES

They will come because of tiwa

Poor K-Switch.....

BLOGBOSS** said...

D first thing we need is a video 4 witout my heart Tiwa ft Don J..Congratz too Don Jazzy!!

Tiwa and Don Jazzy should not fall in love o! We don't need any more divorces. Keep it streeeektly professional peoples! Maybe Tiwa should be wearing Hijab to work sef..... Linda please forward to Don Baba J.

U haven't heard? K-switch is now with gooder music. Lollllll. See how dbanj just abandoned his own brother. Lmao

awon ti mavin! Nice!!!!
no need for non-sense fighting over bentley. ki onikaluku j"oruko father e!
hahahaha

Wishing them d best, let sleeping dogs lie....IDJA....check out this hot single from Xeroz http:\\soundcloud.com\xeroz\durojaiye

DBANJ MO HITS NO DBANJ NO -HITS!!!! FROM DBANJ'S CHIC :)

cutie said...

I miss d'banj tho :-(
Anyway, I really hope Tiwa Savage improves on her live performances, not the one that she will be screaming hey, ha, listen..and that's the only thing we hear. #Just saying. No one better abuse me o

cutie said...

I miss D'banj tho :-(
Anyway, I hope Tiwa Savage improves on her live performances; cuz she is always screaming ha, hey, listen..I'm still pissed at the way she sang Beyonce's Dejavu during Ice Prince's album launch (posted on youtube), like seriously? She needs to get it together. #just saying. No one should better abuse me. Cuz yes, if I'm signed on a record label and have to perform live, I will not lip sync, I will dance and give people what they deserve. People might as well listen to the songs on their albums rather than see them perform live.

I think solar plexus is a very appropriate title 4 d album considerin all dese beef and pomo surroundin dbanj and Don jazzy.

eze said...

In business, a strong brand name with a solid reputation retains profitability. It would take a while before fans can get used to Mavin records,but all the best Donjazzy.You took a brave step.

rosy said...

THAT'S A GREAT NEWS DON..MAVIN IS D BOMB AND WITH TIWA SAVAGE.., THERES NO BETTER SPICE! LOVIN IT ALREADY!!!

I know all the people supporting Don jazzy are kobokobo.

don jay, u too much ermmmmmmmmm. na u be don baba jay..... mayyyyyyy vinnnn, na who do dis beat.

Nawa o, Linda no information about big brother nomination. wetin dey do u ? I suppose dey blog mhen

Where is ikechukwu? or he is team# Dbanj

Nigerian Jobs said...

Linda,Just checked the meaning abeg which kind ord be that one nah?Solar plexus.....hmn.nah wah ooh

dsicube Godbless you oo...abi good luck to both! even people that donot know them personally or what happened between them are already taking sides...tcheww u guys should find work to do!

DBANJSBIGGESTFAN said...

I am sooo happy for him. Now can we all just move along and wish them well. People should please stop hating on DBanj. We cannot allow emotions to rule in business dealings. You have to take/make decisions that will work for your pocket the most. Their partnership was not a church or mosque where they are trying to save lives. They are entertainers and business men and should be allowed to move to the next level when they deem fit....IDJA this is good business strategy. I pray all parties involved have their dreams come true....

Love the look. Good job DonJazzy but pls people should stop beefing dbanj. pls let him live his life.

Janded said...

Great Move. I love that Tiwa is in the mix.

Nekky said...

@dsicube,wat part of the bush are u from? ur comment is freaking lame nad hungry!! neither dbanj nor don jazzy had sole ownership of mo'hits. there was a glitch and it's only wise dat don jazzy starts afresh since they had gone their seperate ways. Common sense is not so common afterall!!!!

DdeeXclusv said...

nice 1

Onelove said...

I'm not taking sides. They are both in a different place and ready to do something different. I wish both of them much success. Tiwa Savage is a great choice. Looking forward to good music.

Offshoreoffshoree said...

You are intelligent for this your statement. That us the truth,anyways I wish them all the best DBanj and Don jazzy.

troublemaker said...

Cos ur eyes are slanted* just joking*.

troublemaker said...

E dey pain ya eye.

troublemaker said...

E dey pain ya eye.

gab said...

Pls what does solar plexus mean o ? Don't hav time to google it

But why is Wande Coal , the supposed face of Mavin Records behind ? I dont get , Tiwa just came into the picture and jumped in front? Wande , Wande , Wande , how many times I call your name? Dem go use u like toilet paper and throway you , u sef don reach get ur own label ooooooooo..

Rebranding indeed , so if Nigeria wants to rebrand cause of all corruption infested nation that other people see us as , we will have to the name of the country ? People sha , they will say anything just to make their own win... Nigerians and sentiments..

Don baba you are too much...Dont mind kay rubish dbanj family

Wetin this one come dey talk kwanu?

bobby brown said...

I can't wait to hear it me self wan join mavin records

Don Jazzy, I don´t know if you visit Linda´s blogg but I hope you do cos this is my message to you. The decision you took to come back to Nigeria to re-organised your life is the best decision you have probably taken in your entire life. I believe God is the one directing you. Trust me on this and have faith in what I have just said. Dbanj is over encited and feeling he is now the king of the World because he happens to hang with Kanya West. I want Dbanj to know he has just began a jouney on a downward spiral. I wish him well..

What are U̶̲̥̅̊ saying? Linda was right on time, the only way U̶̲̥̅̊ wud get this gist b4 here is if ur ff Don jazzy on twitter. And y don't U̶̲̥̅̊ start ur own blog *mr right on time*