Kimberly Elise and Omotola Jalade Ekeinde talk Ties That Bind | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 7 May 2012

Kimberly Elise and Omotola Jalade Ekeinde talk Ties That Bind

Ties That Bind is a story of three women Adobea (Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde), Buki (Ama K Abebrese) and Theresa (Kimberly Elise). Though the three are from different backgrounds, they are bound together by the shared experience of losing a child. In a destined meeting in a small village in Kroboland, the women journey together to redemption, love, life and forgiveness as they renovate a dilapidated clinic for the villagers. 

In  this video, Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde, and Hollywood star Kimberly Elise speak with Herve Clemont of Celebville 360 about their characters in the movie. Continue to watch the video...

The award winning film hits Nigeria with a special pre-release release on May 25th ahead of its June 1st 2012 cinema release, and is slated for November release onto Blu-Ray and DVD worldwide. Till then, Ties That
continues to tour the world with screenings and festivals wins to include: Best Diaspora Film at the San Diego Black Film Festial, Official Selection to the American Film Institutes New African Films Festival, Official Selection to the Samsung International Womens Film Festival in India, Official Selection to the Pan African film Festival and 9 wins at Ghana movie awards, Best Screenplay Win at the AMAA's among others. Ties
That Bind is also one of the few independent films sporting a predominantly African Cast that has received major mainstream distribution in Hollywood.

74 comments:

the white enchantress said...

woooow nice one. kim and motola def suit such roles.

Where can I find this movie?

Nice one Omo Sexy

Very cool, I can't wait to watch it. Omotola and Genevieve always repping.

Its a
very nyc movie. I'v seen it. Omotola did so well. *proud of u bbz

i love u omotola but that nappy ass weave though?

Omotola, good job you are soaring higher and higher. Oh my Kimberly Elsie, how can i forget you in one of my best movies ever--Diary of a Mad black Woman. I have to see this Ties that bind.

Why is omotola always looking for a publicity stunt each time Genny has a break through,Genny is a tough gal Omotola just BOW

Really???? So no other actress should do anything because Genevieve got a role as mrs Adebayo in half of a yellow sun lmao! The things people say can be so stupid and thoughtless sometimes. Please Omosexy ride on with your bad self in a starring role :)

@anon 11:01 how pathetic.Is omtola d promoter or marketer of d movie dat deicides when and how d movie should come out or did she take d camera and started recording she and kimberly na wa for some dumb mo-fos o,genny getting a small role compared to omotola lead roles in 2 major hollywood movie(aminaa nd ties dat bind) even dat dr bello omotola rejected d script while it was been written.Omotola i soo adore u,u can tell kimberly elise also adores/likes omotola

@ anonymous 11. 01. Mennnn ur stupidity knows no bounds sha. So omotola n oda actresses shd stop living their lives coz someone got a brief appearance in half a yellow sun. Fool.

This is more like it. Kim is a great and This is a wonderful collabo

Anonymous@11.01: do u usually think the way you just wrote? smh

Omotola and genny are the best in nigeria have to offer so I don't think they should compared just encouraged. Nice one omosexy.

Kemi said...

I love that she was true to her accent in the interview! Cos nowadays all this nollywood actresses....have a tendency to fake it to make it!

anon 11:00am you are so right, the whole world needs to freeze coz our cute little genny has just landed a waka pass role.......well said hun u deserve a medal for such an insightful observation.

Ms Dee said...

Nice one omo sexy nd my sweet kim, I love d way u act wv passion.

I can't wait to see dis movie...Miss Elise,I love ur movies... "For coloured girls", Diary of a mad black woman...etc... Omosexy, u re one lucky chic...

Shadow said...

Kimberly Elise does pose a striking resemblance to Deola Sagoe, not so?

Try n see her(kimberly) in "for coloured girls" n u wld make a potrait of her...lol

I can't wait to see dis movie...Miss Elise,I love ur movies... "For coloured girls", Diary of a mad black woman...etc... Omosexy, u re one lucky chic...

Shadow said...

Anonymous @11:01am, bear in mind that both are in the same profession and will have agents who basically do similar things, i.e. promote their principals. So, if an actor goes into modelling, emceeing, etc that means any other actor doing same is copying the 1st one???

Omotola is such a natural beauty!

That anonymous person that said OmoT is running after Genevieve bu oney iberibe. When did Genevieve get the cast? Was it not just recently?

When was this Omotola's movie shot? Sometime last year I presume....so who they follow who?

I am Ibo, I love Gene, I also love Omotola...please, please, stop comparing these two women...they each got their SWAG and they are using it to rep themselves.

Just stop it!

@anon 11:01am:- una no dey tire? Gosh Genevieve's p.r needs to slow down on this madness! Its now getting annoying and ridiculous ! Haba na wet in? Omotola is good, genny is good they are both working hard but in my opinion,omotola makes better choices....they should get what they can . Can't wait to watch Ties tha bind.

I prefer genny to omotola anyday,i dont like omotola

ETHAN said...

Must u guys always compare OmoT wit Gene?

Anon 11.27 See how devilish and backward you are. So other actresses should put a hold on their lives and career because of Genny.

For your info if Omotola was single and had parents alive to take care of her kids while she globe trotted all over the world to promote her career Genny will not see her back.

So with all the responsibilities, she has i say well donr Omotola. As a married woman to another you dey try....

You sound so ignorant. Ode

Genny 4 life, Omotola is just a wanna be seeking publicity at all cost

You are such an ignorant fool, just reading your comment shows how much so. You should hide in shame and cry for yourself for displaying such stupidity

Great work.. Will be sure to see the movie ..

Lessons from the interview .. Kim vs Omotola .. clanging bangles distract from what you are saying .. Sit up in your chair!!! Talk slower .. Learn to cut out the Jennifer-esque "you know" type word-fillers ..

Will help take us all yet another step higher ..

I don't know why you bothered to respond to that silly comment.

watevs said...

Omotola is a very good actress. Her acting is not forced. I find Genevieve sometimes struggling to interprete her roles so please stop comparing them @ Anonymous May 7, 2012 11:01 AM who said anytime Gene comes out with something, OmoT also feels she has to come out with something. And I'm sure OmoT had no say in when this interview was supposed to air. Gosh

anon 11:01 am bad belle! you and ur genny should sit ur ass else where why doesn everything have to be about her? pscheww its people like u dat create unneccessary rift.

Keep soaring high baby, Genny can't hold you back and you can't hold Genny back as well. You two are good. Any film that has Omotola, Genny & Funke Akindele is a must watch for me. You haters shouldn't create uncessariry enemity.

DireDayo

@anon 1:50pm am telling u.I dont knw if it's genny fans or her PR but they tend to react anytime omotola is being mentioned and also does greater things and dey are evrywhere.People say it's her PR though na wa o,agressive marketing

sweet_angel said...

u are so rite DireDayo... u guyz shldnt create unnecessary animosity btw Omotola and Genny... I personally dont really care for any of them, but I applaud their talents, which are both unique. no one is perfect. I also agree with anon 4:13pm...
OmoT should try and comport herself a little better next time during such interviews... anyway practice makes perfect.... keep flying !

wow omotola is stunning!! im wowed

Onelove said...

Africans, is it possible to simply celebrate ourselves without comparing, and causing division.

I have followed and Omotola Jalade and Genevieve Nnaij's career over the years and fallen in love with both of them. These are two beautiful and talented women who are different in their own ways and it has nothing to do with tribe because they are both representing Nigeria as a country.

I admire Omotola's naturalness and realness. She's just herself. I love this movie, her role in it and her delivery. She did a great job. Kimberly Elise is one of my favorite, if not my favorite actress and she's truly underrated. Beautiful women all around, and great message.

tith said...

This is about omotola. Y bring Genny into it? Mtchew

Chai....see Beauty! Nne Nigera women dey try Abeg! Beautifullllllll

to all you ignorant mumus here who dont know, OMOTOLA and Stephanie OKEREKE both got into hollywood before yur beloved Genevieve and this movie Ties That Bind is already in theater, but that movie where Genevieve got a waka-pass role is still yet to start production. Stop talking rubbish and exhibiting ur total ignorance and foolish here. O! Stephanie did a stage drama alongside Meryl Streep, and no be waka pass role o! That was years ago no be today. Keep your stupid sentiments to yourselves cos these women are not looking for publicity but doin their jobs like you would if you had any (referring to anonymous 11am May 7,2012). And besides it Genevieve who likes publicity by snapping foto with american celebrities every opportunity she gets. Linda, na your way, if you like no post my comment.

@ anon 3:08 ou are so right ou know, I was in a forum recently, and a lot of people said the same thing. Despite omotola juggling a family and all. Body changes and all. Truly, if that babe was single? All these noise for truly no dey as dem for no see I'm back. God bless omosexy. God bless Naija women.

Chai people don vex oh. I beg make una pity genny forgive am na? YOu see when you over do things what can happen? This omotola bashing has gone on too long and people are just fed up.

@anon 7;45 lmao right on point dear.We need to stop all dis genny hype it's getting annoying

@anon 7:45 right on point.Stephnie okereke is even more popular in hollywood dan genny but she nor dey shout.Omotola we all knw doesnt blow her trumpet and i wont be surprised if she has an undergroung movie also.At a point genny took d idea of taking pictures with american z-list celebs thru PR t,am sure she stopped cos her PR told her to due to pple's reaction,genny's camp are evrywhere it's like dey split eachother to different blogs.Linda u berra post dis also o na ur way lol

One thing i've always luved abt omotola is dat originality.This woman is too real.Her accent is soo true dat u'll be able to detect immediatey dat yes she's African.I think dat's why kimberly adores her,stay true to urself ha nor dey form accent.

Madam Rose said...

Omotola displayed great eloquence in this interview and i was very impressed. I can tell she has greatly improved on her public speaking. I expect more from this beautiful damsel. Omosexy your best years are ahead of you. Congrates beautiful one.

Linda, abeg when is it released in london? Can we get some info? As usual, there is nothing on the internet...

Seriously i dnt dig gene at all she finds it hard to interpret sm roles she is only gud at luv roles. Even prefer mercy to her. WONU

Ofilispeaks.com said...

So happy that we have started pushing for quality movies!

Wow, I am seriously happy that people are eventually seeing the light and being real. I noticed this gang up against omoT a long time ago on a site called naijarules where omotola was constantly bashed to lift genny,and a lot who came to her defense either disappeared from the site or were overrun . I love them both but it's obvious there's been a calculated conspiracy at least online and people are only just noticing. Oh well... Congrats on this movie

Yewande said...

1st and foremost you people can't insult Genny based off of some ignorant fans comment. Some fanatics are the ones creating a rift btw these two actresses where most likely there's none. Insult the writer of the comment but why go on to assume Genny or her PR are the ones behind the comment. Then in that case all of you lashing out must be Omotola. Use your common sense noooow...!
2ndly, NO NO NO NO NOOOO.... Omotola and Stephny never got a chance to smell a role in the Chimamanda movie. Don't think they made the auditions either. I know a bit about the production so..
Every actress gets what's due them and what they can handle. If it were by judgment of mouth that we gauge talent and success then Omotola and a few others should be the ones in Genny's position. But no be so life be!! Dislike Genny all you want (for reasons I will NEVER understand) but please don't let your hatred blind you to the obvious truth.
Genny might not be the best actress in your eyes because she is not overly dramatic like the rest or whatever..but what you don't understand is that her subtle ways and style of acting is what hollywood is looking for..GO FIGURE! At the end of the day her success is ours so what's with the "Pull-Her-Down" syndrome??? Is it because it is not you or your own blood?? I really want to understand what some people derive from hating on the blessed?!!

Yewande you have condemned yourself! You said we should desist from the pull down syndrome and stop according to you,the hatred...yet you are quick to put down others and do what you came to do ...extol Genevieve. Pls quit with the hypocrisy we are not babies. Stop pretending like you were here to make a fair statement!!! Rubbish!

@ smell a role- this is definitely genny's way if talking. Miss genny is that you? Hmmm na aw oh! I know your way of talking/ writing...coming online to diss your fellow artistes, hmm wayo wayo o....

Yewande said...

Oh there we go again!!!! Give me a break I begggiiii!!! Why does anyone who speaks up for Genny have to be her or her pr? What's your point exactly?!! She is not worth defending?! In addition to that how do you know Genny's way of writing and talking if I may ask? You are stating here that you know her well which also forces me to throw your accusation back at you. Why are you here condemning someone you know so well? See how this works? Give it up already jor!! I have not discredited anyone in my post only said that which I know for sure so stop with the beef it's not worth it is all I am saying. Appreciate every actress's individuality.

Madam yewande, guilty conscience wan kill you abi? Dem don catch you. Lol...... So you agree now you were standing up for someone? But you came to give the impression. You were neutral is what anon 10:35 is saying. Smh at all these genevieve rambonisation wherever omotola's post comes up oh! Na so una do with taking pictures with Z list celebs till everybody shout una down! Overdo always...u people have started again always desperate to prove something! Big hiss....complex of the highest order! Trust omotola she no send una.

Madam Rose said...

Its no longer news that Genevieve sits behind the computer to diss her fellow actresses especially Omotola and that's sooooooooo lame Genny.Its so low life. Keep. Its obvious you are intimidated by her. ou cant stop other artist from shinning. Keep changing names to Yewande.....i know YOU. Remember how Leila Djansi exosed you????????

Adviser General said...

Nollywood is not for Genevieve alone. Other actresses have a right to shine too and please stop hating on Omotola, she is working very hard in the profession she has chosen for life. Let her be. Its God who is blessing her and no matter how hard you try to bring her down you wont succeed. Genevieve i hope its not true what i have ben reading that you go online to diss other actresses, please if you have been doing that stop it. The sky is too big every star to shine. Its the same God that causes the increase so please stop hating. Linds keep up the good work. You are just a sweet lady

na wah for una. the world does not revolve around genevieve Nnaji!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

its not now that you people will disparage Kimberly Elise because of common Nnaji. have you seen Kimberlys body of work before comparing her to Vivica and Chiwetel?

My point is this - to all you Genevieve lover to the death, apart from carrying Nollywood to America to shoot a movie, other actresses (Stephanie and OmoT) already broke into hollywood. Check the matter now! Acting along side with Meryl Streep in a Broadway production in America (I say again, no be WAKA-PASS role) years ago (at least 5yrs) and other acting roles she's had and not blowing her trumpet about it. The same for OmoT. Only this Chimamanda movie Genny got a waka pass role, everybody is hating on the other actresses. Genny is coming in late to Hollywood thats what i am saying. None of these women i am crazy about at all, i dont even watch their movies cos i cant stand most of naija movies. I am just saying, stop the bashing of other actresses cos of Genny cos they have achieved way more than her especially in terms of projects they have and all. All i see Genny do is to snap foto with American celebrities, except for international waka pass role she just got in this movie that hasnt even started production. So make una rest i beg. They are all good actresses but none is my favorite.

I kno the only way i can get my comments posted to directly call Linda's name. So linda, post my comment u hear. I kno it is very difficult, but pls try.

does genevieve also sit in in theaters to make her film top box office? you people are so retarded to believe genevieve does not have fans.... you cant stand the pwoer she has. who is leila djani??? na human being name abi dry attention seeking bones??? mstchew!!!

ode. you have come here again to lie that omotola rejected doctor bello role. lmao!!!! na genevieve go kill you. go dive inisde canal jare!!!! okpolo!!!

bad belle pikin!!!! which nigeria actress don smell for bfi for their lives? wait till you see what that 'waka pass' role will do to her career. bad belle!! mstchew!!!

calculated conspiracy plotted by genevieve or her fans? *smdh* you guys dont still get it. genevieve fans are like football fanatics. they can kill their seleves for her. she cant control their love and support for her...... no be her fault if people gang up against omotola..... her fans are fanatics correct die-hard

look at the anger in your post *smdh* who got into hollywood before who??? abeg no nollywood actress is in hollywood this film is not even hollywood. are you okay at all....you think ignorant people na im full here???? na genevieve matter go kill you finish.... mstchew!!!!

thank you yewande for making hundred percent sense. dont mind this oloshi's that will be accusing genevieve's fans of being her or her pr. they wage war against genevieve and if they get it bumper to bumper its the handiwork of genevieve. retards!!!!

you sound like a dim-whit i mean its only someone who is sick in the skull that will write what you wrote. mstchew!!!!!

i see some nollywood members here that hates genevieve coming here to bring her down and lift omotola.... they were on BN and i gave it to them bumper to bumper. its an open secret that actresses and their managers have formed a gang against genevieve.... all of you who are in the industry that posted here to bring genevieve down.... may the evil you wish her follow you!!!! may the lies you tell against her destroy you and cause you more misery than her success will..... what wickedness!!!! linda I beg you to psot my comment. this people cant always tell lies to make genevieve look bad in public its not fair!!!!

dont mind them yewande.... have identified with some of the people here as those from BN and some of these people are in nollywood industry. i know them.... they are blood maggots!!! anything you say they must use to wuruwuru answer and call you genevieve or her pr like genevieve fills theaters to make her movies top.... bad belle!!!!

genevieve no send you how do feel about that ms???? you better shut up before i expose your fat shapeless self here!!!! which kind shameless woman you be eeeh??? mstchew!!!!

Na wa o it's only one person dat divided commnt like dis frm anon 12:49pm-1:02 lmao.You genny fans are always starting shit,didt u see dat one mentioning genny even when we all comment to wat we see on the video.That one dissed omotola to lifet genny and we bashed back.Omotola fans dont starts shit unless u genny fans to it.The funniest part is she doesnt even care abt u pple,she only comes on twitter on her b-day to receive wishes and promote any project she has.If any of her PR is reading i hope u wor kon that,let her interact with her fans just like superstars do lmao,she's using u pple for her selfish interest.Linda post it o

thenigerianexperience said...

Wow...the human mind is quite puzzling...This article had no mention about Genevieve yet the comments have turned into a, "team Genny versus team Omotola" and even Stephanie Okereke talk too...I wish all our Nigerians actresses who have been hustling
and enduring in the hardships of the Nigerian film industry...all the best in their acting careers :) Its not easy to follow through with your passion especially in an 'environment' like Nollywood...these women have tried...no be small.