Police recover Maryam Abacha’s N20 million stolen jewellery | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 4 October 2012

Police recover Maryam Abacha’s N20 million stolen jewellery

The Kano State Commissioner of Police, Ibrahim Idris, on Wednesday said that the police have recovered stolen jewellery worth N20 million belonging to Maryam Abacha, wife to Nigeria’s former military Head of State.

Mr Idris said that one of the suspects who bought some of the jewellery was arrested and his arrest led to the discovery of the remaining items.

The case of the stolen jewellery is before a court in Kano and one of Mrs Abacha’s domestic staff is being accused of stealing the jewellery. The police commissioner said that the jewellery were now in custody of the police as investigation into the matter continued. (ChannelsTV)

37 comments:

Hmmmmmm, and we are complaining of Dame. What will they do with it? Plzzzzzzzzzz!

If it's to find money or jewellery, they will do that one quick. But to sort out more serious issues like domestic violence and rape, they will start to speak all sorts of English until people forget the issue. Anyway, nice that they retrieved the jewellery.

And how does dis help in recovering Naija looted resources.smh.

franceslovesfashion@gmail.com said...

Good they recovered it, but mehn , N20 million just for jewellery? Naija hail thee.

http://frances-diaries.blogspot.com

Linda,pls there is story about a rich guy that stripped himself naked in Ikeja.Please help us get the fullm gist

As told by someone close to them - The staff stole the jewellery as directed by her son (one of the young ones.) He used it to buy drugs. I guess they have used money to buy it back. Recovered my big fat ass.

N20million jewellery?

20 million!!! Why is she not in jail?

Who cares? mshewwwww.Oshisko. the woman still dey alive?

Isn't it part of the money her husband stole that was used to buy the jewellery?

The Govt should sell them and use the proceeds to train some underpriviledged children in school up to Masters level. Nonsense. One thief robbing another. I laugh in swahili!

how this take ocncern the common man, N20M for just jewellery........too bad

naijaopenmouth.com

Mary said...

20 million, she should be in jail first for looting Nigeria treasury. While I don't support stealing , the staff is just taking back a tiny portion of what they stole from Nigeria

happyhausabunny said...

Linda u sef! Y r u reportn half story! D jewellery was apparently stolen from Mariam by 1 of her former househelps! I'm sure she has more than d@!

lovelylady said...

And the 20m jewellry may buy less than 20 pieces oh!!!na wa.

kcee said...

So she is still alive. Its been long since i heard anything about her. Am surprised that she can still boast of a N20m jewellery.It still means that money never finish.

20million just 4 jewellery #godiswatching......oyeshola

sQo said...

Awon oloriburuku gbogbo. All these ones wey suppose don commit suicide

20M........Na wah oh. Where the woman they now?

I bet her jewelleries are more than 20mill. #Godisreallywatching. Jazmin.

CantRmbrMyName said...

No need to return the jewelry o! It should be auctioned & the money put into federal account.. Oh wait, it will only go into some private account. No win situation!!

freeangel said...

Nigerian police ad their tins

mimi said...

goodie said...

K na, they shld come and receive national award

Abeg who REALLY stole from whom? Abacha looted public funds and till now we haven't recovered everything and that's only the amount we know about. His wife now used the money to buy jewellery. She indirectly stole from her staff jo. Nonsense. As long she has more money than she entered Aso Rock with, they can steal her pant sef. They didn't steal from her. They took back. The only thing was that they should have used the money to feed a few households. Please let me hear about people with real problems. Even Patience Jonathan deserves more consideration right now (and I never thought I'd say that sentence). In fact I'm now annoyed for the rest of the day. I'm sure that jewellery means nothing to her compared to what she has stashed away.

Mrs Abacha

Are u sure she paid the domestic worker his or her salary that would have warranted the stealing of her jeweries,and am sure that the money she use in purchashing those jeweries were the stolen money of nigerians, sell off those jeweries u dnt nid them u are too old for it

Na wa o,20M? Blood money...

Ole gbe, ole gba!

«~DORA said...

Since dat yearrr!! Dey r jst recovering it?? Na walooo (in my drivers voice)lmao. Hmmmm some ignorant anuofia go tiff dat jewellery 2moro now, go sell am lik pure water! It is def diamonds, for it 2 be dat expensive!
«~DORA

«~DORA said...

My dear! Der is crazy money in Nigeria! Our 1st daughters engagement ring cost well over $112,000, it wasn't even funny wen we saw the reciept! As far as I'm concerned, all dez expensive jewellery na serious investments for wen d chips r down! Dats if person no tiff am o! Lols. Gold, diamonds etc r all international monies, u can wear 2million dollars on ur neck and cross in2 anoda country comfortably!! Talk about easy money laundering naw! Naija is rich! All u need do is find a juicy well, insert ur straw and suck asmuch money as u can b4 d well runs dry! Shikena.
«~DORA

«~DORA said...

Since dat yearrr!! Dey r jst recovering it?? Na walooo (in my drivers voice)lmao. Hmmmm some ignorant anuofia go tiff dat jewellery 2moro now, go sell am lik pure water! It is def diamonds, for it 2 be dat expensive!
«~DORA

nigeria money stolen by a nigerian. nothing do us.....

Yes na ole gbe ole gba

Linda, pls i need to see the woman. she should be in jail by now. lmao

Ade Sani Obi said...

"Police recover Maryam Abacha’s N20 million stolen jewellery"

Maryam, I such a very wicked woman to have accuired such value and yet so many Nigerians can't even eat 3sqare meal. oops! i guess this part of what she measures as "she can never be as poor as dangote" lol. When will the youth over look those wicked bribes for old smelling, bigotry politicians and, unite and fight the good fight of revolution? lets split NI GE RI AS!!

Nigerian Police is a disgrace to the international honour....

Niajia is such a laughing stuff lols

Linda blog 20million, moji blog 30million whc one is correct? Anyways this is stil Vanity....

Imagine #20 Million worth of jewellery for Abacha's wife alone.Nigeria can borrow money feom Abacha"s family. Anyway d husband has sacrificed himself for d looting.Ah! God is great.