Mikel Obi, John Utaka, Victor Moses short-listed for CAF African Footballer 2012 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 6 October 2012

Mikel Obi, John Utaka, Victor Moses short-listed for CAF African Footballer 2012

See the full list of African footballers nominated for CAF African Footballer of the Year 2012
1.Abdelaziz Barrada - Getafe (Spain) and Morocco
2.Adel Taarabt - Queens Park Rangers (England) and Morocco
3.Alain Sibiri Traore - Lorient (France) and Burkina Faso
4.Alexander Song - Barcelona (Spain) and Cameroon
5.Andre 'Dede' Ayew - Marseille (France) and Ghana
6.Arouna Kone - Wigan (England) and Ivory Coast
7.Aymen Abdennour - Toulouse (France) and Tunisia
8.Bakaye Traore - AC Milan (Italy) and Mali
9.Cheick Tiote - Newcastle United (England) and Ivory Coast
10.Christopher Katongo - Henan Construction (China) and Zambia
More names after the cut...

11.Demba Ba - Newcastle United (England) and Senegal
12.Didier Drogba - Shanghai Shenhua (China) and Ivory Coast
13.Emmanuel Agyemang-Badu - Udinese (Italy) and Ghana
14.Emmanuel Mayuka - Southampton (England) and Zambia
15.Foxi Kethevoama - FC Astana (Kazakhstan) and Central African Republic
16.Gervinho - Arsenal (England) and Ivory Coast
17.Hilaire Momi - Le Mans (France) and Central African Republic
18.John Obi Mikel - Chelsea (England) and Nigeria
19.John Utaka - Montpellier (France) and Nigeria
20.Kwadwo Asamoah - Juventus (Italy) and Ghana
21.Moussa Sow - Fenerbahce (Turkey) and Senegal
22.Nicolas N'koulou - Marseille (France) and Cameroon
23.Papiss Demba Cisse - Newcastle United (England) and Senegal
24.Pape Moussa Konate - FC Krasnodar (Russia) and Senegal
25.Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang - St Etienne (France) and Gabon
26.Rainford Kalaba - TP Mazembe (DR Congo) and Zambia
27.Seydou Doumbia - CSKA Moscow (Russia) and Ivory Coast
28.Seydou Keita - Dalian Aerbin (China) and Mali
29.Sofiane Feghouli - Valencia (Spain) and Algeria
30.Stoppila Sunzu - TP Mazembe (DR Congo) and Zambia
31.Victor Moses - Chelsea (England) and Nigeria
32.Yaya Toure - Manchester City (England) and Ivory Coast
33.Younes Belhanda - Montpellier (France) and Morocco
34.Youssef Msakni - Esperance (Tunisia) and Tunisia

51 comments:

Yaya Toure should win it.

Laila said...

Nice!! Big huge Mikel Obi fan

I guess Mikel for winning the Champions League. Or Yaya Toure for winning the EPL.
Adel Taarabt? serious LOL!

African Sweetheart said...

Love Mikel.

Check out this site beautiful.
http://africansweetheart.blogspot.co.uk/

Ezems said...

It will be a difficult decision for CAF, but I don't see any of the aforementioned Nigerian winning the Africa best player award.

Wow!! Such a long list buh sincerely speaking, the winner is.... Didier Drogba!!! He did tremendously well with Chelsea last season scoring vital goals and several assists.

cool list

Sociable said...

Drogba or mikel is not bad due to their last champions league and FA cups.

Dr. Pinch said...

CAF should have short-listed the whole African players na. Hmmm I wonder the kind of clubs these african player dey play for so many useless clubs that I can't even pronounce their names. Among all the names, Mikel Obi has a better chance of winning it after he won champions league with Chelsea.

Congrats to Nigerian players dat made d list,but I doubt their chances of clinching d much coveted award. Gudluck to dem.

.lol they nominated all Africans in football lmao

daizy said...

I think dis battle is btw Drogba, Yaya Toure,Mikel & Utaka.

No Nigerian is winning dis title

dey shud hv no headache in givin it otu 2 Yaya Toure

Warri Girl said...

Cool list, thank God some Nigerians made it.

Ak said...

Drogba, Toure & Ba... in dat order. Mikel??? seriously? "we're talkin football u're talkin nonsense". D Nigerians are jst attachments...

Yaya Toure(1st), Drogba(2nd), Demba Ba (3rd), Victor Moses(young player for d future). Which kind mikel when commentator dey yab week in & out "here's John Obi Mikel in UNFAMILIAR territory".How can the 18yard box be unfamiliar to a player(much more midfielder) in over 150 EPL games.Very unadventurous player no balls. Muskerteer says so!

MIKEL african best player? CAF jst wan tortorri naija.Hahahahahahahaha!

MIKEL OBI is the WORST Football player in the History of Nigeria, No Premiership goal in his career. No improvement in his play at all. Poor display day and night during football matches. Nominating him is a flat out rubbish decision....

Disaster Mikel.........

Either "Big" or "Huge". Not both words in the same sentence. Thank you.

Thank God Samuel Eto'o is not here, cos even when he does nothing, his name always comes up, and his chances of winning are high.

The last three are Didier, Mikel and Yaya and drogba takes *Clap hands*

Chidozie Mario said...

Mike is actually doing well in international football now, I guess his chances are bright.

anon October 6, 2012 12:01 PM samuel e'too does nothing? perhaps you need to research him. he's a fab club guy.

what has Demba Ba won? these awards are given based on what you won the previous year.

Ak why would you add Ba? Yes we are talking about football. stop being an oversabi! don't be shortsighted. Mikel was part of a team that achieved a feat last season. so with Drogba one of them can win it.

No Nigerian footballer deserves this honor. We should not be rewarding them for Nigeria's lacklustre performance in the last two years. Particularly Mikel Obi - I have watched him over the past several months. He has no passion for what he is doing. Especially when he plays for Nigeria, his attitude is often laid-back and lackadiasical. If he even comes among the top 5, it would mean that Africa football is failing.

How can u even say mikel when he gives excuses not 2 play when it comes 2 african games...big joke

Dr. Pinch said...

I see is like u watch your own football with your nose, people like you don't know how to play football and they don't know how to watch too. Pls go and learn how to watch football. Mikel might not have scored a premiership goal, but he's a great player anytime any day.

sinzu said...

SONG should win. He did very well in arsenal. Had lots of assists.

Considering chelsea's achievement last season I guess drogba's up for it

Doubt if any of d nominees frm naija is gonna make d last ten. Let's c wats gonna happen

What a wonderful list. Pray for our naija guys on d list.

Go my brother Mikel Obi...u gat d CL n FA trophy. Patto said so

WTF. why is mikel obi even on that list? taaa gerout!

This award is for either Yaya Toure or Drogba.

why on earth does john obi mikel's lips look like that??? his hair is a complete mess too

I really don't know who to give? Yaya Toure is City's anchor and won the EPL... Didier Drogba won the UCL and FA cup contributed a whole lot to that Chelsea side... Mikel Obi is Chelsea's catalyst and had a brilliant game ensuring Barca and Bayern didn't have a smooth play with him is also UCL and FA cup... Its a million dollar pick? I go with Drogba and Mikel

daizy said...

pls pls pls pls u people should leave Mikel for us his fans dat luv him. If he's dat bad, how come he plays in almost all Chelsea's game? Maybe u guys have chosen not to see it but d guy is a wonderful mildfielder. Infact I dey vex o

Topson said...

hope a Nigeria player get to be honoured very soon

hahahaha, dr u re clown...u got me laffin nd rollin

Mikeeeeeeeeeeeeeeellllll! Or drogba..bt drogba has better chances sha

I think he meant to say "hug" not "huge"

i think dey hav to reduce d list to 10 men

DROGBA , YAYA TOURE , MIKEL ,UTAKA AMONG LAST 5

How can he say big hug fan ehhh mmadu aa, ndi 'I must comment'

Yaya, Drogba, and ba for now Nigerians are not yet there, no need lying. iif we want to give nigeria award then Utaka should win

Boyz said...

"Thank God Samuel Eto'o is not here, cos even when he does nothing, his name always comes up, and his chances of winning are high."

It is not by accident he is the highest paid in the world.Hater. Focus on what is on the list rather than your complexes!!

Boyz said...

"Thank God Samuel Eto'o is not here, cos even when he does nothing, his name always comes up, and his chances of winning are high."

It is not by accident he is the highest paid in the world.Hater. Focus on what is on the list rather than your complexes!!

Ucheends said...

Must one be scoring goals before he can win d award?,i thought its on general contribution to team in a season datz bin used

Hello. And Bye.