FG to demolish buildings along Nnamdi Azikiwe Airport Rd in Abuja | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 3 October 2012

FG to demolish buildings along Nnamdi Azikiwe Airport Rd in Abuja

The director of the Department of Development Control, Abuja Metropolitan Management said in a news conference yesterday that the department will soon begin the demolition of illegal estates along the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport Road, Abuja.

The department last Saturday demolished 100 illegal buildings belonging to the Nigerian Prisons Service, Nigerian Security and Civil Defence Corps  and Liberty Estate, in Kyami District along the Airport Road.

The director said the developers ignored the various ‘stop work and quit notices’ served on them and the department had no alternative than to pull down the structures, many of which were at advanced levels.

21 comments:

Biko how r they illegal. Didn't they get approval from ministry of housing n lands before building. No right thinking person will build a beautiful duplex on an illegal land.

BLOGLORD said...

What are they going to do the occupants? my friend lives in one of those estates with her family o! hope a good measure will be taken in terms of relocating the occupants? they had better not render people homeless because Nigerian government always solve one problem and while at it cause 2 or 3 others

BLOGLORD said...

A total waste of funds which would have been channeled into other infra-structural development.

See waste of money. Demolishing govt buildings, with govt money. Demonstration of madness

They only know how to demolish,how many have they built? Wat a wasteful and anti-people government.

free said...

Enough of these demolisions please. I don't understand why FCDA will sell land to people and they get approval to build only for them to be demolished afterwards. FCDA is not penalized for issuing land where they shouldn't. My father was affected during el rufai's regime. Publish the Abuja masterplan, let everyone see for themselves where they shouldn't build on so when such an area is allocated to them, they can reject it outright. I'm sure they were assured that the area was meant for residential estates. The money spent from the budget to build the estates could have been used for something else. How can you tell them to stop work after they have spent millions purchasing and developing the property and not punish the govt agency that allocated the land in the first place? Nigeria is wicked to its own people while foreigners are treated like kings and you wonder why the exodus out of the country won't stop.

rayenter10ment.com said...

Please one reason they wants to destroy these fine structures?

Linda this is a picture of games village now , I leave in games village in abuja and this estate has notting to do with the demolition and to the best of my knownledge I don't think any estate has been demolish along the airport road .

SUE JORDAN said...

GOD ABEG OHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

oya now! Na una dey sale and na una dey demolish. Abeg FCT minister na correct mumu::::::::sit don look after shacking burukutu.::::::::::DNA

i so hate Nigerian government they do little or nothing for the citizens what they do if fill there bank accounts and displace people..... Nigerian government are you guys so blind to see the flooding in some parts of anambra state? pay attention to that before you think of demolishing structures how many have you guys erected for your citizens? and if you must demolish please do compensate handsomely

kcee said...

They were warned so they should have themselves to blame.

Immaculate said...

TOO BAD!!!!!!!!!!1

IVORY CHI said...

AT LEAST SOME LAW AND ORDER IS TRYING TO BE INSTILLED.

Bishop said...

Abeg wey lilspencer, aka omo iwo. Abi his bold 5 don crash, or dem don thief am. E be like say na I'm rebrand to bonario come buy 3310

Thelma Zebbs said...

When will some of our people learn. Government will put a STOP WORK sign on your illegal structure and you will go and bribe some irrelevant persons at the LG and they will give you a go ahead order, then one day Govt will say \'Enough is Enough\' and like a play your beautifully constructed mansion will go down, yakata. Abeg, who is fooling who? Aku fecha odara awo. I pity then sha.

sQo said...

Beautiful houses but if they need to be demolished, then So be it

Y'all visit http://thebroadstreet.blogspot.com pls

El Rufai part two!

Pls tell dem bout d flood #issh in Anambra!! All d silly Govt keep doing is Breaking buildings nd not building any1 back!! Shame on dem!! Nija we hail the!! BaBy WhIZ says so

B. Tols said...

The demolition took place along Airport road, Lugbe to be precised. These developers have all necessary documents in place neither were their title revoked by FCDA before demolition. the true of the matter is that the land was re-allocated to NATIONAL ASSEMBLY members in August this year by FCDA, hence the hasty demolition by FCDA. u can also check Sen Smart Adeyemi's comment on the pg 41 of the Tribune 29-09-12 on it.
kindly be sure of ur facts before u show ur ignorance @ Thelma and Kcee, cos pple lives has been destroyed becos of NA selfish interest. i know someone that lost over 500m and anor that took loan from banks to build over 100 housing units which were destroyed. If u have nothing intelligent to say pls keep quiet. moreover is demolition the answer, if they were indeed illegal occupants, can those places be confiscated by the government ? May God save us from pple we voted into power.

KOK said...

B. Tols you have said it all. I am one of the workers that opened an acct with platinum savings and loans , a major mortgage instituion in abuja for these homes. PSL has been in business for years and has a reputation to protect. They bought this land duely with all documents to show for it, only for senators to reallocate this same land to them selves and sent buldozers last week sat and sunday to bring the houses down! Evil men. Indecent men and stupid lots they are. An NGO is representing us to reclaim our land and get compensation. What do u expect from a country where the president is sleeping.. Lawlessness, jungle justice even from the so called lawmakers!