Bishop David Benenoch of Communion Church set to divorce wife of 20 years | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 1 October 2012

Bishop David Benenoch of Communion Church set to divorce wife of 20 years

Bishop David Benenoch is the Founding pastor of Communion Church, Lagos and the President Bishop of Communion Church Worldwide. During a church service recently, the man of God announced the end of his marriage to his wife of 20 years and mother of his three children, Esther Benenoch. Bishop Benenoch said he's seeking for divorce for spiritual reasons and didn't explain further to his stunned worshipers.

Esther Benenoch is a blogger who's written so many articles on relationships, marriages, and she's always written against divorce. See her blog HERE

101 comments:

JAMES said...

Hmmmm..... Nawa ooo, all dis bishops wey dey divorce sef. Hmm... Na only God fit help us

niceun said...

Another one bites the dust.... spritual reasons huh...well it's the grundnorm thingy who/what says what is right or wrong..in as much as we are not God...we are fallible man proposes...

God is watching. first chris okotie, now mr benenoch

African Sweetheart said...

What a shame.
http://africansweetheart.blogspot.co.uk/

happyhausabunny said...

Wow! Religion now has k-leg! I dnt get all dese MOGs! Sigh

NK said...

Western world #things# dats how d do it in America and we all know dat Nigerians are always following d west in everything d do. No problems!

Sasha Fierce! said...

Yea,Yea.Yea.... Holy Ghost directed Him to divorce Her.I hope you will divorce your children also as they must have been contaminated by your union with your wife.
Divorce if you no longer love your wife and don't bring spirituality into this.
Useless people.Divorce her for who to marry after 3 kids?

Catholic for Life!

thenewslately said...

but why

Warri Girl said...

Ha what's up with men of God getting divorce, it surprising. And as for the lady what she preached against is happening to her, it goes to show that no one knows tomorrow.

Hhmmm...@Linda, are u trying to mock d woman or what?

D name self sound somehow...Benenoch

It is well.

Keeping shit real said...

I think Nigerian married women should be honest about married life.

The men, even so called spiro men are divorcing perfect women left right and center for another woman/or man sef

It seems having his children, caring for him, being submissive,even a moral teacher inshort perfect is not a guarantee of marriage or that one will not suddenly turn single.

As for this man and men like him, I believe their parents never taught them the value of marriage or family.

Their parents also concentrated too much on the girls/women of the house

I also believe they put themselves first regardless if society and religion while also brainwashing women to be submissive, counselling women to stay in horrible situations

be submissive, BE SUBMISSIVE MY BLACK BEHIND.WOMEN BE HARDWORKING, LOOK FOR A JOB OR BUSINESS THAT CAN KEEP YOU AND YOUR DARLING CHILDREN, BE CONTENT, HAPPY, SAVE YOUR MONEY AND LIVE FOR YOURSELF, BECAUSE HE CAN DUMP YOU ANYTIME FOR ANOTHER WOMAN AND NO ONE WILL COUGH, INFACT THEY WILL PRAISE HIM. LET A WOMAN DO IT, THEY WILL CURSE HER.

YOUR CHILDREN ARE THE ONLY ONES WORTH LIVING FOR

Myne said...

I don't know why these people shroud their broken marriages in secrecy, surely there are lessons that other people may be able to use?

i am greatly saddened by this news cos i attended Communion chapel for years till i left the country. Always thought they had a great marriage and were managing to make it work with her in Houston and him in Lagos.....guess the separation took a toll on them. Or what could have possibly gone wrong.
I pray the kids find some solace through it all. The devil is definetly at work full time.

hmmm d rate at which men of God are divorcing based on spiritual reasons, we shall start witholding our offerings based on personal reasons. Lolz

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Chris Okotie started a trend i see!!

I see that Chris Okotie has surely passed on the divorce bug to his colleagues in crime...may God help us...God dey really try true!

Spiritual reason in the form of a wanton jezebel. LOL Pastor you are indeed human.

What is this business of announcing that you are getting divorced due to spiritual business? It took him 20 years to know that their spirit was not in sync? Look at yourself dude

At least be honest with yourself and don't insult the woman. by the way I have never heard of them before now so I am not speaking on his wife's behalf

Na wa 4 all dis pastors dem

Marriage is not easy at all,am sure there ia a reason for their separation.

Is that not the job of a man of God? To exorcise bad spiritual influences or is there something he is not telling us?

Don't these people preach against divorce? Many people that like to say the bible says under no account must you divorce, and now it looks like you can divorce "for spiritual reasons"

ZOELANDA!! said...

I really hate talking against Men of God and all bt rly,is divorce the last resort? And then saying its for "spiritual reason"? Beats me!

Pastors n divorce? Its really d end tym.

Becky naka (Beautiful home concept....your sure plug for industrial cleaning) said...

wat are pastors turning 2, wat advice are dere goin 2 give couples dat are havin issues.

sparkles said...

SpirituaL reasons indeed! All this men of God wl nt cease to amaze me. I wonder what his congrgation are still doing in dt church. How can he keep his church if he can't keep his home?anyway it is rly the end of time! No wonda d bible says dt my jugement will start in d house of God. Dearest Bishop I wish u gudluck in ur next blissful marriage!

Anon7:07
Pls leave the devil outta dis.

Our generation don't believe in mending broken things,they just replace it...sad tho

Amarachukwu said...

Pastor abi na Bishop, Just read Malachi 2:15-16. Forget all that spiritual nonsense! If God did not tell you not to marry her in the first place then He cannot tell you to divorce her. He said "He Changeth not!" Dont let that new girl in the Choir deceive you. I have said my own. Remember that the devil was in the choir in Heaven!

I cry.

Dodgy name..Benenoch..that wasn't a good sign

Yes oooooo catholic till I die

Francissub said...

nawaoooooooooo

Francissub said...

na end timeooooooooooooooooooooo

Francissub said...

nawaoooooooooo

NG-me-say-so said...

Na wa oo, y dis trend ppl? For spiritual reasons. Wat hv dey got to give to d follwers den? Lol @ bonario's * withholding for personal reasons too* lord have UR way

One Word Man said...

I just wonder!!!!

Rubbish!!!

I know them wella,they started their church on Basket ball pitch in Amuwo odofin,the wife is very humble,GOD hmmmmmmm na wah oh!but why will he want to divorce her,END TIME

Abeg park well u dis so called catholics. What makes u different. Is it wiv ur gay fathers or gay alter boys...... At least the new generation churches are the devils we know, unlike u people that hide behind pope and commit atrocities! Raaabbish!

Catholic for life biko! The real mother church! Yai yee!

Sociable said...

God is good all the time. Human being is good sometimes.

I'm telling you!!

catholic ke? these reverend fathers are arranging girls left right and centre.
That reverend sister that is also a medical doctor that was kpanshing medical students in her room in the full view of her flatmates. i beg leave matter.

Just read the woman's blog, her pain is very raw and real. Tht is my problem with 'one man church'. No one to call this man to order. Every man is a GO and do as they choose. May God intervene in this marriage and home.

Android said...

bia Olamidae Morgan..I just looked @ ur pictures and U need to shave ur armpit if your;re going to be exposing it in a photo like that biko! U are a pretty girl.

@ Issue at hand...Chris Okotie don blow up the divorce route for all man to follow suit!

NennyD said...

This is really the sign of end time as predicted.....many false prophets shall rise in my name and prophesy falsely in my name ...am sorry to say this but most of these pastors belongs to this end time prophecy ....Many open church to make money and nothing more...some even go to the extent of getting powers inorder to get members.##Godseesallofyou##

Marilyn Oge(Sumtin) said...

All these new generation churches... Hw will u divorce. Ur wife 4 spiritual reasonz... Is it in d bible... Abeg anglican 4 life jareee. I saw a new in ma hood named "JEHOVA SHARP SHARP MINISTRIES"
Before u know it, it will be a big church in naija... Abeg d govt shud try n reduce d number of churches we hav in naija.... May GOD help us all

Kimma said...

another reason i'm glad i'm catholic :)

BLOGLORD said...

Chris Okotie has opened door for all of them. Rapture will leave u all behind. Nonsense!

Keeping shut real,I agree with u sincerely

Uhuegbu, C.M said...

Me dey find babe to date while pple wey get wife dey divorce dem. Irony

i am writing this becos of those who are genuinely concerned. david and esther benenoch very much believe in the sanctity of marriage, they love each other and their kids very much, pls dont get that twisted. their divorce is exactly what it is, an instruction, else they stand to lose a lot, read about prophet hosea for precedence, God has and still demands uncommon sacrifices of great prophets. pls dont talk about what u lack full disclosure on. if u say u knew about them before now, the best u can do is pray. God bless everyone, TCC member.

2bad 4 sm1 dt called himself man of God. Pple shld b care de kind of church dey go 2.

Catholic priests don't marry so they can't divorce. But don't u follow d news? Where were u when catholic priests were been accused of sexually molesting young kids?
Please no one is perfect. FYI, divorcing your wife is way better than molesting young boys. Are u still very proud to be catholic?
God help EVERYONE, Catholic or Pentecostal.

Bonario ur too funny

Shaaaarrraaaaap!!!

The true church of God will always prevail. God is now exposing them d can't stand the test of time. U anon who is saying things about catholic d priests re not married but r more control than d so call married Pastors n their is nothing gay priests.

Pastor an human being after all...the flock just needs to stop glorifying pastors as though they Are God

Catholic babe said...

Yes ooh, Catholic for life! I know no book. All this kin things odi kwa serious. Catholic, way to go

See wetin Chris Okotie start? God is watching. Bad trend

All dis men of God mk me weep,I live wif one and I can tell u dey don't alwys pratice wat dey preach,dey mk der wives life a living hell wif all d God said I shld do dis n dat,and dey also hide under bin principled" 2 do lots of havoc.I hope all dis "POP" tying wives of MOG r watching n learning.Women work work work cos men wil alwys grt away wif any crap dey do.

*get*

Ijaybaby said...

I am not suprised one bit. My husband and I had once attended his VI branch church on Ajose Adeogun and he (Bishop David Benenoch) came to preach. My God you should have seen his female PA/ secretary, very fair, highly sexy and seductive. I had my doubt and wondered why a man of God would have such a lady as a PA/secretary. Its pure temptation. Its that PA/secretary that is the spiritual issue not the wife. He should go and put his marriage in order joor. There is a clear difference btw the wife and the PA/secretary in appearance. Wives look sexy for your hubby don't give room for any temptation, all these spiro spiro of no make up, drab dressing and not taking care of yourself because your hubby is a man of God is pure bullshit. Mrs Benenoch,God would fight for you, the devil would not drag your marriage into the mud IJN.

Stargal said...

na wa ooooo,i will not judge anyone ooo,na God go decide on dat day....so i will just read una comment nd waka pass

Wait o. am i the only one that understands the whole "till death do us part" thing? divorce is a sin!

Dr Y said...

This is so worrisome. I understand they are humans too but what happened to love agape love unconditional love. There is more to this i honestly believe.

Catholic 4 wetin?mother church 4 where?deception.if u dont knw ur church was founded by emperor costanstus a roman gov,dey dont read bible rather buletin,wy wont dey deceive u people to hell a church were 95% per doctrine is deception,traditon,& human inveted,read ur bible u se dat peter whom u claim 2b 1st pope was married .pls my lily dont mind me help tel dose divorce & remarry they are domed already.

The Restless mind said...

This is my church, i have attended for 15 years, my heart breaks...but it is not for us to judge, i do not believe in divorce but i am encouraged by his wife's blog post and knowing she fought to stay...

God knows best.

NG-onye-oma-Jesus said...

@anon 10.03, na u go park ur over-fucked ass well. If u no b gay, hw u take no say father or alter boy na gay. See water dripping from ur ass idiot. Lol. Y wont we pray to b roman catholics for life, wen all ur pastors/bishops do is say one thing n do another. Shame on all sheperds who mislead dia flocks. Mother mary, pls, interceed for ur children.

#word!!

For 20 yrs u dint kno she had spiritual issues with her until now!!! Mshewww... God dey!

Some one was so crude to use the example of Hosea in the bible as an explanation for the ugly divorce.Please whoever you are go and get your facts straight. Hosea in the Bible was a single man that God asked to marry a prostitute, and he obeyed. So dear friend juxtaposing the David Benenoch with Hosea is an unfair representation of this matter and is tantamount to call Esther a prostitute. Please get your facts straight.

The world is actually coming to an end,a bishop/pastor divorcing his wife? gosh! why don't they tell us the truth that the secretary/bed mate wanted to make it legal! with this spiritual thing now, you might be commiting another sin. Anyway God is watching all of us through the Heavenly Plasma TV. Madam take heart and take care of yourself the more, the Lord is your strenght. Madam AJ says so through my purpleberry

Chai this is a SHAME BIIIIG SHAME.

The catholic for life is said because you cannot have a divorce after a catholic wedding unless one spouse dies.

@anon6:47 AM, you are an idiot of huge proportions. Your soul is lost. Pray for deliverance.

NW said...

Lessons learnt....All you pastor followers that are looking to get married and need the approval of your pastor. You'd better wake up and do what's best for you. 'Nuff said!

i saw her blog

she wrote abt marriage http://estherbenenoch.blogspot.co.uk/2012/09/why-stay-in-bad-marriage.html

big big big pity for her current situation. I weep for Nigerian women, cus they have no security. That hubby will measure his divorce actions if they were based in the western world. just try it in usa, she was married for 20years with 3 kids, and in those years his material worth increased, he will pay SOLIDLY for each year she spent with him, all those buildings/finance and other assets will be divided very fairly. yes she will still be a divorcee but at least she will be able to continue her life as she knows it.
ITS A REALLY PITY FOR NIGERIAN WOMEN, LOOSE LOOSE SITUATION

Let us Pray!

Which catholic for life. My uncle is catholic, married in Catholic Church and divorced his humble, hardworking wife of 26 years. Of course na one Kure Kure woman e go marry.

It's more than just religion for a marriage not to fall apart. So, please forget the catholic for life thing when it comes to divorce.

Annie said...

I was going to do a read and drive-by as usual until I came across TCC member's post. Please TCC member do not confuse people. God is not the author of confusion. God cannot contradict himself. He cannot say He hates divorce and then instruct his children to go and do exactly that. That is a lie. I don't know what has happened here and I pray for their reconciliation (in Jesus name. Amen) BUT God did not instruct anyone of them to put the other away. NEVER. It is not possible. You might as well say God could say to you to go and commit adultery (if you are married) or go and fornicate (if you happen to be single. Mba! Not possible.

As someone already said, comparing them to Hosea is a non-starter. Hosea was a single man and that was the old testament. In the new system, God gives us grace to enable us even in difficult times. Again, please do not confuse people.

belloemmaayonete.blogspot.com said...

what that family need is prayer. pls stop mocking them. may the God of peace by all means give that family peace in Jesus name

Linda I always read ur blog but have never commented. I guess the spirt is leading me to do so now... Where in be Bible is divorce allowed? All these fake pastors r revailing themselves for the world to see. #Godforgiveme forjudging#

Lynnajade said...

Lol @ shave your armpit

Gba o! O se love

Linda!!!!!!!! Why did u not publish my comment on the catholic for life issue???????

I just wonder what Bible these fellas read. Complete contempt for God that's what it is. How dare u pastor? U have no God in you. And if anyone says here not to judge, remember the Bible said by their fruits we shall know them. This divorce(fruits)have exposed this fake pastor.
As for women under any circumstances should you agree to live in a different city/country from your hubby. It is an invitation for trouble. If Nigeria is not good and he is there, please remain there with him. This advise is especially for those girls in Nigeria that say yes to every Tom, Dick and Harry that lives abroad in the hope they too would join. Experience has shown that all that glitters is not gold. Enough said.

WHITE PEARL said...

Hmmmmm,God help us all !!!

@ Ijaybaby, Shame on you for making up stories to mislead LIB readers. I asked someone I know who worships there, the bishop doesn't have a female P.A.
Just pray for them okay?

Koshidanu jor! Ofoju oshi!! What God has joined together,God cannot come back and put asounder.. Becareful not to say God said what he did not say,there is a curse for that in d bible.. Be warned!!!!!

free said...

A

free said...

Hmmm...I honestly don't understand how and why a man of God will divorce his wife. How can he then counsel church members having marital issues and encourage couples to love and cherish each order against all odds? Is it not till death do them part? The bible says that God does not like divorce or is my bible different? Anyway I read my bible and it is what guides my lifestyle and decisions not what my pastor or priest says. Salvation is personal, just read your bible and try to live by it.The bible says that "many shall come in my name but are not of me" so let the bible guide us. The Holy Spirit will teach us the rest. Not saying that going to church is bad o, just don't swallow everything hook, line, sinker cos I am not buying this spiritual incompartibility ish.

Dis is y i so lov d bible, cos we re told to work out our salvation with fear n trembling. Those who think dia lives re in dia pastors lives, can follow dem or be disappointed. On judgment day, all man go stand talk dia own, paztor, pope, bishop, rev, etc will not talk for any1 but demselves.

So as pastor dey preacb 4 church, i keep my bible wide open n compare. Na so bible talk.

Ai

God is mysterious and we cannot comprehend Him. God told Abraham sacrifice (kill on an altar) Isaac whom God gave him at the age of 100. But the bible is clear about. "DO NOT KILL". Doesn't it sound like a contradiI'd say pray for them.

Joan says ...(latin mass chant)Kyrie eleison. lord have mercy. chris okotie do im own. dis one too don do im own. shuooo. what message r they impartin on us? okotie's "PRO" justified his case with king xerxes (who didnt know God)in the bible. seriously, people have turned Christianity into sumfn else. i dunno if i wana go to church anymore. well, issokay, God knows those worshipping him in truth and spirit

lets pray for GOD's intervention and all shall be well ijn .amen.

That used to be the,case but we are,seeing increasing cases of "annulment" in the catholic church which allows one remarry... This is the way catholics are now getting around this no-divorce rule.

I know at least three cases. It used to be that you could only annul for bigamy, ie the husband or wife was already married but deceived their spouse, but more reasons have been added to the list now making it easier to annul.

God, please have Mercy on Nigerian Women.