22 year old domestic worker found dead in his boss' swimming pool | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 30 October 2012

22 year old domestic worker found dead in his boss' swimming pool

22 year old Onyeka Kingley Raphael (pictured above) was found dead in the bottom of a swimming pool in the home he worked as a domestic help. His body was removed early Saturday morning from a house on Babatunde Asimi Street, Ogudu GRA. 

His family, suspecting foul play, has petitioned the police, asking for a thorough investigation because when Kingsley's body was removed by policemen from Ogudu police station, eye witnesses said there were no visible injuries on his body except a twisted neck, suggesting that the domestic worker may have been strangled before being dumped in the pool.

What the family also found odd was that the dinner Kingsley made for himself the night before was still on the kitchen table, with his cap near it, and also the fact that the security man who was home at the time of the incident said he didn't see or hear anything. The family also claimed that Kingsley and his boss, a retired accountant named Tunde Williams had a misunderstand a month earlier which almost got Kingsley fired. Kingsley had wanted to leave his job but his elder had begged him to stay because he needed the money for school.

The police promised Kingley's family that an autopsy will be carried out to determine the exact cause of death and told reporters that a thorough investigation will be carried out. The police also mentioned that Mr Williams was so far 'not cooperating with the police'

57 comments:

Oh my good Lord
Help us

this is callous and inhumane!!simply ridiculous..such a young child..what could he possibly do that his neck should be twisted and dumped in a pool like that?

So sad may his soul rest in peace.

ugochysom said...

Haba. Naija pple, chei! Hope The killer's brot tu justice. But come oh, 'suspecting "fowl" play'... 'had a misunderstand'... No proofreadin?

Ugo Boss™✅ said...

R.I.P Kings. God knows all... #sobering

I comment my reserve till d police concludes its investigation.btw may his soul rest in peace.

igbos and yorobas will nt kil us in dis contry!

Gyor

Linda has come again. Which one is "fowl play"? And "he had a misunderstand with his boss". Please hire a proofreader. If you like,don't publish this comment.

Dr. Rukevwe said...

The police better do a THOROUGH investigation on this one...man and his persistent desperate wickedness!

That Girl said...

Linda 'Fowl' play?!

How do you twist a neck? i'm not expecting Pulitzer Prize winning journalism on this blog but the story doesn't add up

Oya,people shld stop working in house with swimming pool o

macy said...

fowl play ke?

Sad news. Good write up. But pls check the 'fowl' I think it should be foul. No offence meant...Niyi

slimzyose said...

D police shld investigate dis case wel cos i strongly believe he was murdered,i mean aw can he b strangled n dumped in a swimming pool in d same house witout any one in d house knowing abt it? mst definitely there is a fowl play...hmmmmm poor boy,RIP

Linda... 'Fowl play' ? Tut tut.....

franni said...

Sad story.
Further investigation needed.

Linda, no be only 'fowl' play. What of duck play?
Foul play!

OSHODI said...

@ slimzyrose,y wld u strngly blv he was murdered when u don't even know what actually happened? Pls allow d police 2 investigate, instead of your judgment being based on what the family said.

All they need to do during Autopsy is check for water in his lungs, it will tell us if he was dumped in the pool after he died or he drowned. Twisted neck Ko, broken neck ni...Hiss

So sad!

ENGLISH PLSSS!!!!!!

Unilag linda,fowl play ko chicken play ni. Lmao

The sage said...

They probably had too many fowls in the compound...

Adele said...

Very sad... Looks like it could have been an accident though. Maybe he slipped and fell into pool, breaking his neck in the process. Unfortunately, even if his death is indeed suspicious, our criminal justice system doesn't favour people without means to push for justice. May his soul rest in peace and may God comfort his family and loved ones left behind.

CantRmbrMyName said...

What do the police mean by the boss- Williams isn't cooperating?! They should take him in for proper interrogation. They are there saying he isn't cooperating. If na rich man pikin, will they say he isn't cooperating? Wont he cooperate by force? Or if it where the boss found dead, will they say the domestic staff isnt cooperating?! No hope for poor man in this country!
Some of these ogas are drug addicts. They can do and undo! The poor guys family should do a private autopsy-if they can afford one that is.
I wouldn't trust the autopsy report from the Nigerian police. Especially when a rich man with swimming pool is concerned. #walksawayhissing&smh

Jason said...

This is terrible.
may his soul rest in peace

Chop Chop said...

Osenobua, have mercy on us, Investigators are working harder nowadays and this case will surely be unraveled. I smell something.

@anon. 2.17, linda never wrote fowl play, she wrote foul. Come to think of it, what u should concern yourself with is the understanding of the story and not to be looking for typographical blunders cos anybody can do the same mistake as the way you write might be different from the way you type and that is why the phrase 'typographical error' is in existence in the first place.

U leave the main story unattended to and u r buzy looking for blunders that can be made by just anybody. #versyllabus like you#

write a coment pls instead to correct minor mistake.

hmmmm....people shouldn't jump to conclusions until all the facts of the case are clear...not jus by hearsay...

Linda, to chop "fowl" been dey hungry u when u posted this "news"??? Its sad! RIP bro!

Oversabi, go there and check the lungs by yourself. We all watch crime series, park well

Some people do not understand that if you cannot swim, do not get into the swimming pool. Some people look at the water, do not realise how deep it is and then end up drowning. Many home owners with pools find the odd houseboy or security man dead at the bottom of their pools. They need to warn staff seriously about this crap.

u hausa boko haram descent...shut up ur fowl mouth. Do u fink wtout d ibos n yorubas u'll xist? smh.....mmttcchheew***

He couldnt hav gone for a walk while his dinner was ind kitchen, this is wat happened, he saw a fowl nd he ran after it, he fell into d pool nd twist his neck gbam*

May his soul rest in peace. Amen

Nw dis' a comment i like. Av actually learnt smtin. Nice1

Rip

Anonymous 4:06 abeg leave my BONARIO.Mr Bona I dey gbadun u baje baje

tonye said...

Lol @anon 2:41... Don't even know what to say. Buh the 'the boss isn't cooperating' part is annoying me seriously! Fowl play or foul play, all join! U get the gist, free error!

Janie said...

Someone has a big question to answer..dats no accident

Mr tunde hmmmmm,bad man

LWKMD

Umu ode.

Rest in peace boy. but if he has been working for the man how come he chose the night He prepared food for himself to drown himself? Sha hope the boss had nuffin to do with it.

quin said...

@cantrem.... U are right, d family just have to stand on dia right n do d investigation thems selves.

veeon said...

chiiimooooo rich guys steady using other peeps for juju.
May he RIP sha

veeon said...

that person that said igbos will not kill us, thunder fire your dad

Smell чσυя tribes Wickedness "Esan" fool!!

Anwuli wuli...u don reach here again...cari go

Tomi said...

@ veeon, whatever he culd av said does not worth u firing his dad wit thunder. Is his or her father ur mate? Imagine somone firin ur own dad wit thunder? U will like it, isnt it? Dis social network fins av made many people mannerless n lost respect for elder ones. O ma se o

sweetchoco said...

RIP SO SAD#CRYING#

And u left d main stori to attack d versyllabus? VersyllabusX2

From my point of view dont you think he decided to go for a swim while his boss wasn't at home????? and got drowned many people think swimming is a small deal, look at the Gulder ultimate search many of the intending contestants during the try outs said they could swim, but had to be rescued before they got themselves killed. Bottom line, there may be no foul play.

Chop Chop said...

Anonymous 10:20 PM, ode, u get serious mental issue.

i think its because there is freedom of speech in Nigeria that is y some of u just open ur stinking mouth to throw up words. If you have nothing reasonable to say, simple write RIP and go ur way not to leave unnecessary comments here, it's not time for that ok.
King may ur gentle soul rest in the peace of the almighty.
whoever that is responsible should no that nothing on this planet can ever be hidden under the sun.
However i do appreciate the comments of some reasonable friends.

veeon said...

@ Tomi are you stupid? Someone insulted my tribe.. i should not insult back? Take a seat biko