TOBI takes Hollywood and Nollywood by storm, Premieres in Nigeria on May 18 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 15 May 2012

TOBI takes Hollywood and Nollywood by storm, Premieres in Nigeria on May 18

The Nigerian movie industry has taken yet another huge step of progress with the movie, TOBI; a Nigerian movie shot in the United States of America.

This is not just one of those movies where the producer or director sneaks a camera into the streets and shabbily shoots a single scene and merges this into a Nigerian picture. Rather, with an American lead cast (Mark Williams) and a cross section of other foreign and Nigerian actors (including Chet Anekwe of Monique’s ‘Phat Girls,’ Chisom Oz-Lee and others), Nigeria’s U.S-based producer, Emmanuel Ijeh delivers a movie that takes a giant leap into the halls of Hollywood yet retaining its Nigerian essence.

The movie has been scheduled to premiere in Nigerian cinemas on May 18, 2012 at Ozone Cinema in Lagos, Nigeria.

The movie centers around the life of 21-year-old Tobi Akinola (Mark Lavan Williams) who deviates from the upright path his parents (Chet and Chisom) once guided him along and yields to the tempting antics of the dark side; giving in to the allure of a gangster life… and then a grave mistake occurs on the streets, which threatens his very existence.

His brother, (Jimmy Allen); a handsome and outstanding lawyer is torn between loyalty to his dream firm, ‘Lourdes & Myers;’ where he has now been employed and defending his brother on the other hand - in a case where Tobi’s life hangs in a balance. He must take a stand that would shake the proceedings to its very roots…

The producer of the movie, Emmanuel Ijeh has assured that plans are in top gear to ensure that the Nigerian premiere of TOBI lives up to expectation in every

21 comments:

Who is Mark Williams?

mary gift said...

Pinky swear anyways fingers crossed .

Cee_Bill said...

Hmmm! Ok! UnTil d premier itslf.I rily hope its as gud as how u've rated and described it,Lynn!

NYC-1 says: There is no theater showing it here; so, there is no storm to talk about. It's a Niaja movie and that's it. I wish them success though.

syron said...

lynn... abeg leave matter for mathias... d story line seems basic and watery... 'm nt eager @all cuz i noe it gonna b one of those few tries!!

Everything lagos nawa oo! I'll really love to watch...some people can be so negative at everytin sha must you condemn everytin u see? pass d mic joor...

How does this move have anything to do with hollywood?? The movie didn't do well in america and he decided to try his luck in nigeria. It has nothing to do with Hollywood please! Anyway u guys can help the producer make back the money he spent.

Hairess™ Human Hair said...

Y'all should see dis movie!! Its a masterpiece

Who are all this people, local American based actors....what is Nigerian about it, oh ok...the director?

Y is it dat Nigerian don't like dem selfs?

the first dude's lips mayne>>>>>drooooooooooooooooool

Ok cool.

Dcns ur here.

smiley said...

Okay, i am a regular on Linda's blog, but this is the first time I'm posting a comment and that's cos of the coincidences...So, my name is Tobi, its my birthday on May 18th(I'm really excited) and I'm a lawyer...so out of curiosity for more coincidence(s), I ll go see the movie.

THE OC SHOWBIZ REPORTS said...

The writer of this Press release is a complete idiot.

lol...huge coincidence at that.

Nigerian Recruitment said...

Linda leave all this jist,Cinema ko,Make we go Alaba 1 day after it premieres in Hollywood we go see am.

Hehehehheheh! Now we have a goat in the house..@THe OC showfire, I hope u were not refering to our dear Linda o before we gbege for ur head! Razz fatherfucker.

masterpiss

Has google been deleted from your fone application or browser?

Wow! Zing!