Kano state finds husbands for 100 women; sponsors mass wedding | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 16 May 2012

Kano state finds husbands for 100 women; sponsors mass wedding

At the mass wedding at the Kano Central Mosque yesterday
I told y'all a while back that Kano State Government is sponsoring a matchmaking scheme in the state where single, divorced and widowed women can sign up to find husbands. (Read it HERE).

Well, the Kano government is taking this scheme extremely serious. Not only have they found husbands for 100 women, they also sponsored a joint wedding for the couples yesterday May 15th.

The mass wedding held at the Kano Central Mosque and was supervised by the Emir, Alhaji Ado Bayero, and Secretary to State Government, Dr. Rabiu Suleiman, who represented the Kano State Governor, Rabiu Kwankwaso.

65 comments:

Boko Haram forgot to strike. Ah no, some of them may be members.

Nonsense. Instead of spending money educating these women, they are marrying them off.

Quite dumb!!! What's the point?

Really kano making women marry men d r not in love tomorrow we'll b talking abt abuse

How is this a responsible government's priority?????I just dont get the way our leaders reason.....

They all look scary thank is white nt black loll.

There will be more cases of abuse now.....no be swear.

CRAZY. BACKWARDNESS. just dnt knw hw people reason.

www.facebook.com/belmondsfashionstore said...

What is the logic behind this? More almajirs/boko haram followers or???? Misplaced priority!

www.facebook.com/belmondsfashionstore

Coach said...

No disrespect to northerners... But their leaders treat them like cattle (my oyinbo mindset).

however looking at it from another stand point what the government is doing is a form of social service, this women will at least not go hungry (& sexually) and they will have some sense of belonging. which is good for them (if its a voluntary exercise)

so is it a right or wrong... only the people involved can tell.

olumide said...

North and South are like night and day in the way we think. I really feel embarrassed to be called a nigerian with these cow-headed fellas. OMG ! in this jet age !!?? Publicly finding hubbies for teenagers and publicly conducting their 'destinies funerals' !? This north shd just break away from the south...

Dave1 said...

www.deygonaproducebokoharamickids.com...Happy married lyf y'all.With al d covering,hw did d guys 'see' wat dey're gettin sef??

ther s no reason why we should continue to co-exist with these pple. we r totally different in every aspect of life.

Gaia said...

Na wa o, of ALL the things the state governor can do for these people to make their lives better and more fulfilling; marriage is the only thing they could come up with????? How can we move forward as a nation with MORONS as leaders??!!! #shaking my head#

pls,linda,where are the pictures of the men??
And hey! Did u hear queen latifah is now a confirmed lesbian? No more hearsey...oya,bring d gist here make we disect am

Looks like everyone here's missing the point. It's the responsibility of government to cater for the worries of its people. At least, It's not an expensive venture

we may reason differently from these brides, but its their choice ( until proven otherwise) . We know many women down south hoping to be matchmade.

This is a social problem been addressed here.

waxy said...

Oh lord! How am I in the same country with these stone age people from the north.

Y.Tee said...

*Sigh. They'll start pumping out future Boko Haramist now like mad. Congrats to them sha. But i think educating these women would have been better.

bluemagic said...

Crazy sick fools,y didn't dey bomb deir useless selves..goats

Is is not better to help them get married than to become prostitutes.
Don't forget also that they are also given furniture allowance of 100k each and their brides 20k to start something.
This might be the most important at the moment but its a step forward in government delivering its social responsibility.
Maybe we should ask other governors what they spend the states money on.

the white enchantress said...

nagwode alhaji kwankwaso..............sanu

jennietobbie said...

And this is theresponsiblity of Kano State government because...... you're not a complete woman if you're not married. GOT IT!!!!!

I wonder how many women there really want to get married and how many more are educated or wish to go to school.

It's a man's world in Nigeria.! Sad, but true smh

misplacement of proirity,cluelessness or a well-planned agenda.

linda post my comment o......see dat yeye woman with black veil on white na wah o..... Are they disabled dat they hv 2 be married off..... In 21st century wen women r becomin wiser n independent o...i am sori 4 them all... Wat ws d wife of kano state gov doin nt speakin against this????

so we are expecting 100 babies in one year.this is not good for our economy at all...expect more almajiries in the streets of kano.

Backward people, retarded governor

Yetinde said...

Dat is wat Islam teaches,to avoid adultery & fornication which would lead to boring of fatherless,motherless children who would end up as almajiris,prostitute & all oda societal misfits,let dem belong to a family,lyk dat d problems are being solved gradually,N.B-dey're nt forced on each oda,dey've d opportunity of choosing who dey want,dey've been 4 HIV screening,marriage counselling & d rest.so stop saying wat u dnt knw.Fools.

linda,you no sign up,i think say you dey find husband

Janded said...

Good luck with that!

Is that all women in the north are good for? I'm confused, how about educating them, teaching them new skills so they are able to fend for themselves? Smh Nigerian govt God help us, I'm speechless

I hope that they ascertained the health status of those men,make women no go marry mental cases and terminall ill men without knowing, thereby making their cases worse off.

Naijabizcom said...

It will take 100's of years before the north get its priorities right in terms of development.
Instead of educating and empowering the people economically, the Kano state government is busy marrying off men and women to produce more almajiri children that will terrorize Nigeria.

Backwardness no be small.......... Na wah ooo, is this the priority of the government now

Sometimes with all these strange things like this for instance going on in the northern part of Nigeria I wonder if they are really Nigerians. Don't they see the other people of the same country? It baffles me. They are just like a left over of the sixties...

No one said...

i'm sure they all felt like the luckiest women in the world,OMFG :(

afta ppl wud say boko are nt afta xtains,if it was i xtain gathering wud boko fail to visit?*long hiss*

CAESAR said...

Why will the state government add more problems 2 the once we have already?those guys will Breed BOKO HARAM in future

So the top priority of the Kano state Government in this present day and age is offering matchmaking services and marrying off its women?!! UNBELIEVABLE!
Mscheeeew! Backward people!

jay said...

Paucity of ideas. Next.

Lord Denning said...

I may not like what another cherish tht doesnt make tht thng bad. Mass weddn is the in-thing in most part of d world...haters find another tin talk jare...kwakwanso way to go!

just so they will breed more infidels and bombers

am assuming d kano state govt go take care f d children too wey dey strt comin ba..d govnur no dey tink

So how will they feed themselves. Have the govt gone about the business of job creation and ensuring people are safe in he state?

All you desperate women in the south should go to Kano and find your husbands instead of marrying other people's husbands.

BLOGLORD said...

i agree with u. really dumb

Like seriously, i wanted to ask same. Whats the aim

human machinery said...

It is not really a bad idea if you all are able to think of it well. A family is the smallest unit of any government. The earlier you invest in a stable family, the earlier you have a stable government. There are social implications of having idle men, divorced women and single children as well. In the long run it pays the social fabric of the state. Lets be real those who live in cities like lagos, ph and abuja are living almost false lives. Most men get married at 35 which by looks of things is not good. the average life expectancy in nigeria is 45 so then u have 10yrs possibly to raise a family ? Our women too chose to wait till 30s to marry and then they only produce 1 kid. If you think about all these things, there are problem which we going to face in the next generations. We will lack quality man power, the social input of family will be lost and all other things to follow.

Mallams AKA eligible Boko Haram dem need to 'enjoy' small before dem head off to jungle.Nonsense n ingredient!Mumu 'womens'

To think that Kano is the Lagos of the north...supposedly a commercial beehive and the most enlightened state there is scary. If this is the best the leaders could come up with. smh for Nigeria.

Am out coz many fools dey here

Damn fool.U r d one who is backwards with ur warped mind n tots.

It is not true that you are not a complete woman if you are not married. That is a false. Anyway, i see more than 60% of these people getting a divorce. In this day and age, marry because you have found someone you love and want to be with for the rest of your life. Not just because you are of age and should marry just anybody. However, was any HIV test carried out on all of them? just asking?

Lwkmd foolish govt & their blind foolish women is that a priority match making a man you don't know & tomoro their is a report of wife abuse

Fearless! said...

Trust me,nobody does!!!

Is this a marriage or funeral service for those women hunn? just asking o. May their soul rest well in both cases and may their blood call for revenge on who so ever do this to them. Foolish gov.

this is a welcome development, it might not b ok for those that lacks religious knowledge who are only intrested in the live of this world ie doing furniction and aldultration, but have forgeting that the year after is beter and more lasting.

OSAZE said...

mass wedding equals to massive production of hungry children.

OSAZE said...

mass wedding,equals massive production of hungry children.

please has anybody been to kano lately n seen the environment?? if u have please help me analyse if this is the scheme they should be taking seriously o jare...i feel like mass weddings shud be best left to regions that have progressed in terms of major amenities and not in places where half of the men earn a living by driving keke napep, and electricity cannot stay a full one hour without goin off, and almost half the men end up piling two or ten wives on top of this one...mr governor here is an idea from someone who's been to kano lately, impose a basic amenities sheme n stop dis child's play, the last man u need to help get married is one that is from kano. I'm from there so i know #gbam

Syca said...

Now they can procreate a new generation of boko haram babies to be used for future suicide bombings. *sigh*

its really true that Northerners hinders alot of development in nigeria, how could dis happen. this only thing they know is islam! i wonder how the marriage will look like. Rubbish and Backward people.@yetunde you must be one of them

these people should get a life jor, one guy said why is linda not there, that he thought she's looking for hubby. meeehn that's more than funny.
i thought she said yes to someone recently. Linda what do you think of yourself being among this animal they call northerners make dem do mass marriage for u too. lolz

Hope u among d iyawo sara rubbish dnt twist islam like dat am nt a muslim buh i knw bata. Skool dey wont go its anoda form of slavery. KMT* WONU

Well said buh dis shud be d'last tin in a country or state where bombin pple is d'tin of joy dere are beta tins to tackle dan dis and d'case of pple getin marry at d'age of 35 i fink everytin as its own season en marriage is nt smtin u jump into cos pple fink u need to dat is d'reason u hv MAD pple on d'street. Sori to say atimes northern pple act like dey are frm d'stone age.

I guess it is compensation to the boko haram members for their job well done & also to entice new members that they'll get their forty virgins here on earth..#just saying