Statement from RMG re: Muna vs Mode 9 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 9 May 2012

Statement from RMG re: Muna vs Mode 9

RMG is Muna's management company. Below is a press statement from the company regarding the Muna vs Mode 9 issue.
It has come to my attention that the unfortunate incident that occurred at the Nokia “Don’t Break The Beat” competition on Saturday the 28th of April 2012, where RMG artiste Muna was a Presenter, and Nigerian rap icon Mode 9 was a Judge, has turned into a media/blog frenzy.

Continue reading...

This unfortunate misunderstanding happened on stage, and the verbal exchange between Muna and Mode 9, even though it started out as opinions quickly escalated into what I’m sure we all have seen in the clip posted on the Internet by Nigezie.

Mode 9 and Muna did not have any pre-existing misunderstanding or “beef” before the Nokia event.  Muna’s brief as a Presenter, aside introducing the Contestants and asking the Judges for their remarks and scores, was to add more banter to the judging process, this she had done very well and incident free throughout the Zonal “rap battles” in cities like Lagos, Enugu, Benin and Abuja.

As Muna’s management, we are duty bound to take care of this situation professionally, issue statements and all that, but as I’m in a privileged position and I know all parties involved personally, including co-judges Rogba (CEO, Knighthouse) and DJ Jimmy Jatt, I had called everyone involved to sort out this unfortunate issue amongst ourselves the morning after the incident.  The clip of the incident surfacing on the Internet only just re-ignited what we’ve been trying to diffuse since the very next day.

Like I said, we all have seen the video clip, and the interviews that followed, and of course the onslaught of comments on the internet, the justified, the objective, the insults, the threats of violence and of course a few sensible and supportive ones as well. Time will tell if Muna and Mode 9 trending on Twitter would prove to be a good thing and we’ll all get together and laugh about it later.

Muna is a fast rising talent in the rap game, this was recognized by Nokia who gave her the opportunity to appear in their TV commercial and also present the “Don’t Break The Beat” competition which was a massive success.  The brand also showed some street cred by employing the undisputed knowledge of rap in appointing Mode 9 as the Head Judge at the Finals.  We would like to thank Nokia and the team at YDx for putting together a successful competition.

Lastly, I would like to reiterate that this issue will not be resolved publicly and played out in the media or on blog pages for the amusement and enjoyment of gossip junkies and gist merchants. I’m sorry to disappoint those who are waiting with their mouths open, there will be no leaked emails, back and forth exclusive interviews or Twitter “gangsterisms”.  At least not from our side, and as you all know, Mode 9 is big a man enough not to subscribe to media hype over something that, quite rightly, he took as disrespectful but not life threatening.  This is Hip Hop, not the Civil War Part 2.

Ayo Shonaiya
The RMG Company

124 comments:

Nice one.

lush said...

HUH???

This guy must be daft and stupid.

Rubbish!!!

What kind of stupid press statment is dis sef? You know what happened simply say we apologise or we do not apologise. I really do not know what the long statment is about!

Ok.love this tho.

Poor press statement....is it we or i?? Just wondering

Amarachukwu said...

Try to manage your clients manners and etiquette before writing crap. Part of managing her is to let her know that her actions on and off stage have repercussions. ONIRANU!!!

uSaveOne said...

This sounds as if to let us know that Muna appointed Mode9 as the chief judge...smh!

muna should fire this management, what nonsense are they yabbing. simple muna and mode nine have ironed things out would have been okay, no need to reiterate nonsense on her accomplishments, cuz no one cares, especially with such an attitude.

vroomangel said...

I will say it again, african and their mentality, this is what happens in USA everytime, they don't fight over it, even in American Idol, is only nigeria we see everything disrespect.

Smh smh smh. Damn you. You so patronising. What a load of crap and meaningless waffle. Smh. Ayo Shonaiya, you no serious. You, Muna, Mode 9 are all attention seekers. You lot staged the so called beef to gain publicity, you tramps. Smh. You lot in Nigeria are amateurs. Smh.

qossiy. said...

Well stated!...a very political statement to prevent further tongue lashing.

Idiot!y wuld ur so called Muna disrespect Mode 9 of all artists?instead of u guys 2 tender a public apology 4 dt annoying public act of embarrasment n disrespect u're here saying nonsense.big hisssssssssssss!who cares if she an uprising or upcoming rap artist?der r pple ontop d game n she had beta recognize dt n be loyal,d fact dt she's pretty dosen't mean she'll misyarn or over do tins.Kapish!

This guy is a big MUMU

So dbanj donjazzy feud is now a role model

Muna is undoubtedly a beauty to behold. It is not surprising that bad belle people who wish they were in her shoes, have ceased the unfortunate situation to insult nwa mmadu.
Muna please will you marry me, I promise to protect you from all these vultures.

i like that....well said

stephanie said...

Rubbish! Munachi should apologise as publicly as she so did when she crossed her boundries as a presenter!

Jay said...

Very good PR! Hope it manages the crisis!
Seems 'fights' would soon have to be staged in Nigeria cause they quickly turn into trends and mediahypes! #justsaying!

hip hop head said...

This guy is a bastard. Instead of him to tell his foolish artiste to apologize to 9,he's here blabbing. The fool needs to realise dat those ppl he's referring to as gossip mongers are the ones who buy the music and make her career. They are the fans since they even care to give her attention. She's not even a good rapper, wanna talk female mc's we call Pryse, kel and d lot not wanna be's like Muna. Shut ur pile hole mr Ayo or whateva u call urself!

This was supposed to be a fire-dousing PR statement but I'm sorry to say that it came off at the end as very condescending and a tad insulting. Lesson for the MD who signed it? Never put out press statements by yourself, dude. You just made matters worse. Silly.

Shut up.

And....?So at the end of the day,what has Ayo said,other than trying to protect his future earnings(commissions) from her nokia deals and,maybe,other deals in the works.
Look Ayo,you are supposed to be bigger than this,i was expecting you of all people to know the difference between damage control and calling a spade a spade.why can't you just handle this situation with a single line stating that she stepped out of bounds rather than trying to blame Nigezie and gossip junkies for airing their minds on your client's dirty behaviour.what would you have done if you were the head judge at a talent show and a compere(glorified MC) starts challenging your decision and asking you to "pass the mic men"?
Ah!Nigerians and the ability to call white black even when everybody can see that it is white.Just from that video clip,it is VERY EVIDENT that Muna was rooting for black Jeez,she asked a question at first and when the crowd responded and pointed at T.K.O,she replied that we are not after preferences because they didn't pick her black Jeez.
Ayo,u just dey make me vex anyhow,you shouldn't have written this at all(and if somebody you hired as a publicist wrote this,please SACK HIM/HER and if it was written by you,then hire a publicist).
What she did was WRONG and Steve Jobs didn't even do as much with the X-Factor judges and he has since been sacked.
All you needed to do was plead with Modo to release a statement that he is cool with Muna,that they even hung out yesterday and that there is the possibility of them coming out with a collabo soon.
Our imperfection is what makes us beautifully humans,just like Asa's sophomore album title 'Beautiful Imperfection'.Most times people admire you more when you are able to say you are sorry

Lmao! So which category do you fall into? I'm guessing "Gossip Junkie".........hahahaha....this PRO is extremely POLITELY RUDE!

Mademoiselle t said...

muna was wrong and should publicly apologise....if she doesnt know what her job is she should watch american idol....learn from ryan seacrest

AYO! YOUR GIRL F***K UP! DAMAGE CONTROL IS NOT WORKING!

ASK HER TO GO BEG!

D person who wrote dis should be sacked with immediate effect.haha y kill her career the more.she was "rude"& she should apologise.dats all y all dis.
P.S this is a warning to all"silence can be golden @ times"#passes mic

Ayo Shonayia needs to learn how to write a press release. This is some BS that is full of unnecessary grammar.

A simple : Muna and TechNine (or whatever his name is) engaged in some friendly banter on stage during the Nokia contest.

It wasn't personal, and apologies to anyone who got offended.

Muna's Mgt

Presido said...

RE: I’m sorry to disappoint those who are waiting with their mouths open, there will be no leaked emails, back and forth exclusive interviews or Twitter “gangsterisms”.

This guy is letting us know that Mo-Hits' saga was immature and unprofessional. I see another war already sef. Issokai

Calling Blogger "gossip junkies"is sure not gonna help Muna's climb in an Industry. Plus, Muna is talented in rap? *smh*
Stupidly condescending Press Release!

Good P.R. response. Now everyone free them.

Gideon Solomon said...

Wow!

FIIOONN!!! I actually watched the video and all i have to say is who cares if Mode9 has been listening to hiphop or rapping since he was in his mothers tummy????? That one na for ur pocket if u have nothing to show for it. Can he boast of atlst ONE successful album that made sense and drew attention in the media. If u combine all his raps i'm sure it can form someones autobiography yet people like MI came to spit few lines and carried the whole nation on their head. KMT! he should sleep abeg. And Linda pls post my comment. Thank you!

Fuck u ayo shonaiya for that jab in d last paragraph...remeba u are nobody in london and don't "form" for my peeps back home in naija

Mischief said...

Ayo shonaiya, you are fired!!!
It is no wonder people under your management are rude& disrespectful. What a preposterous excuse for a press release.

GO AND SLEEP MR TALK PLENTY, ISSUE A PUBLIC APOLOGY TO MODE9 SINCE U CLAIM TO RESPECT HIM AND KNOW HIM AS A FRIEND.

Seriously, RMG Ayo sounds as immature as the Muna they are speaking for. I did not see any apologies in this statement neither did he acknowledge her behavior being rude.

"treading on twitter" really? Seriously?

No one should employ Muna again! She def is not humble.

Gbot!

xoxo said...

All this plenty talk...
SHE WAS VERY RUDE! And she should apologize. Period.

Abegggiii.......*pass the mic*

Nekky said...

utter rubbish.dat Muna is even more stupid than i thought.eat the humble pie babes and apologise n quit trying to be smart. its that simple.wat u did was totally way outta line and unethical.admit that u are wrong and it'l be case closed.instead of this yeye long press release,a simple I AM SORRY which has fewer words will do the trick. u publicly disgraced urself not even Mode9 n now u n ur cohorts are saying its not a public matter.u are on ur way to pulling down the lil u r trying to build,dis one thing can destroy u so do d needful n move on. saying a public I AM SORRY wont harm you,it will rather endear u to Nigerians cos it will show maturity on ur side....

Abeg Mr Ayo, pass the mic joor

na wash, you are presenting a bitch not an artist she is rude.

The idiot who wrote these rubbish is just like muna himself. Pls u guys shud go for life upgrade. Right frm beginning muna is ghetto proud bitch. I dislike her and her lousy stupid character.

nonsense, she should apologies that's all

i used to think highly of Muna until wen i came across the video... sowi biatch u just lost a fan and i will tell a friend to tell anoda friend that i disespected the best rapper in africa

Mebirim. Ikechukwu said...

Iv seen the video, Munaa totally disrespected Mode 9 and Embarassed Nokia. I don't understand what RMG means by saying this issue will not be resolved Publicy, in my honest Opinion, Munachi Abii should tender aan unreserved PUBLIC apology to Mode 9, his and her fans, Nokia and her management Company. I rest my case

iamHighDee said...

RGM: This is nice... But as far as am concerned, this is just a formal way of telling the world ''Shut Up'' about the issue...
Why don't you just criticize what Muna did? Or better still admit that what she did was wrong?!
It doesn't matter if the issue has been settled amongst the parties involved, this happened in public. Mode9 doesn't even have to say a thing about it, we all saw it.
And even though they've settled the matter, we fans feel dissapointed about her act too; the best thing for Muna to do is to apologize, and not her management team nor her telling the social media to keep it down or whatever you had going on in your letter.
And next time, review your words before you post it publicly... I'm very sure you'd think people won't see your insultive words embedded in your letter...

Abubakar Thompson said...

Wah a tosser

ALLTHATJAZZ said...

IT IS A SHAME TO READ THE RESPONSE OF THIS SO CALLED RMG COMPANY WHO CLAIMS TO REPRESENT MUNA,THIS IS ABSOLUTELY UNPROFESSIONAL,YOU HAVE JUST SUCCEEDED IN PUTTING YOUR CLIENT IN A BAD LIGHT.YOU NEVER MADE ANY COMMENT OF MUNA APOLOGISING TO MODE 9 AT ANY POINT TO AT LEAST DIFFUSE THE ISSUE BUT YOU ARE HOLDING OUT TO WHO KNOWS WHAT.,TRUTH IS... MUNA HAD NO RIGHT TO ADDRESS MODE 9 THE WAY SHE DID PERIOD.,TELLING HIM TO PASS THE MIC WAS THE HEIGHT OF DISRESPECT. I HAVE ALWAYS LIKED THE YOUNG GIRL'S RAP STYLE BUT THE OTHER SIDE OF HER I JUST DON'T LIKE AT ALL

Momen said...

As much as I love the Beautiful Muna, I hope she will show the maturity I always accord her by apologizing to Mode 9. Mode 9 was a Judge and she as a presenter in the show shouldn't have talked to him the way she did. I think the Management company should advise her towards this.

In other words Muna won't apologise abi?! We gerrit!

http://www.linkedin.com/pub/ayo-shonaiya/a/547/b46

Unbelievable, AYO SHONAIYA is the CEO. Smh..

On American Idol.....Jennifer, steve and co always tell Jimmy they dont agree with him.......which one be disrespectful inside...every body has opinions...... Even Ryan disagrees sometimes.....
too much drama abeg

she is just one rude spoilt little brat, no wonder she cant even drop an album since ninteen kokoro dat we have been hearing abt her,giv respect to whom it is due n carry your beautiful face to the bill boards n apologiz

hip hop head said...

U r actuallu a disgrace to ur village and ur generation. I'm sure dats how ur mother raised u to talk back at elders. Nonsense! Dats y d west will always progress ahead of us,give honour to whom it is due. 9 is one of d pioneers of naija rap and if not for d likes of him paving the way u wudnt be hearing of MI dat u mentioned. Idiot,next time don't pull out excreata from dsame place words r supposed to come out from. Dense cunt!

Muna miss Nija turned rapper please make use of your intiative and be reasonable.

pride follows before a fall, and the arrogance she showed on stage is reinstated by this press release. Ayo how dare you call fans names, let alone make reference to donjazzy and dbanj, abi when did muna ever achieve their level of fan base. I feel sorry now for muna, because i feel this ayo guy dont want her to succeed, especially with such a press release that affronts everyone. Now He has created more work for muna, because she has more people to apologize to. Anyways goodluck muna, please dont let pride blind you. and a good character and attitude surpasses any mammy water beauty one can have, so be careful, for beauty with time fades.

Bakky said...

Are u kidding me Mr Ayo Shonnaiya? As a PR Major myself (Georgia State Uni), I think ur release only causes more harm than good. If u don't wanna admit she did wrong, or even apologize, fine. But u don't have to insult the public and sound so disrespectful. This is an example of what not to do during a crisis. U just failed woefully. Go back and study ur PR manual or better yet, go back to sch cos its obvious u did not learn jack. As for Muna, fire ur PR person(s).

Dis statement is more damaging than d vid! Na wa o! Is dis wat PROs do? Insulting ppl too, na wa o!

udrimz said...

Dis is Total trash..when mode9 is done wit muna "her menstrual cycle is gonna be d only flow she's gonna have for years"..u guyz should warn ur artist

Who said Muna just lost a fan?? Shes better off without you then. Which normal human being would want to be a fan of Mode9 than Muna? Because he has achieved what? Or because he has made what impact in the Nigerian music industry!?? I don't understand ooh! You'll are shouting she should apologize!! If its you, would u just come out and Apologize? You speak like if it were u you'll immediately do what u all expect her to do. You guys are even demanding for the apology more than Mode9 gan sef. She simply said "I don't agree with your opinion" and then said "but pass the mic" and Mode9 decided to take the whole issue to heart, Mouth, nose, ear!!! Whose fault he's easily affected by peoples comment? Did u see his own response, like no he was fighting a cold war with someone! If he claimed to be old and mature then he should have known a better way of replying her than wanting to eat the mic!! Pls lets hear word abeg!!

Who is this illiterate ?????

Can u calm down please !!?? Almighty psychic salome!

Duchess___ope said...

BULLSHiT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! *drops mic*

Woman said...

Rubbishment mtchew

Monblaze said...

what i like is that the immediate reaction was a press statement instead of going back and forth on twitter like most celebs do nowadays...
n you people complain too much... funny comments tho

mimi said...

na wa for illiterate publicist o. u just made things worse. pls call a spade its name. muna was wrong. if shes not gng to apologise publicly, the least u can do is shut up. and google how to write a holding press statement before ur next one. waste!!!!!!!!

This Ayo Shonaiya is so dumb. This is bull crap! Muna, in your best interest get a professional publicist.

The whole statement is soo unprofessional. The guy cant even write English or apply correct registers. Very sad. Muna get a pro, else, you re career will be dead soon! That's not how to address your offended fans. At thia i rate, u'll loose a lot of endorsment deals cos clearly u're seen as disrespectful and you management team are totally dumb cos they ve done nothing to salvage ur image. They only messed it up further.

Yeye said...

Buullshit. Muna was RUDE, let's call a spade a spade, anonymous 7:05 is obviously brainless. She was paid to be the presenter not the judge, nobody asked for her opinion. She should have enough sense to aplogise even if it's just for the soe reason of redeeming her already tarnished image cos now no show or company will touch her with a pole.

This statement doesn't sound at all professional. Why employ d help of ppl dat will only worsen d situation by sounding so unrefined. SMH

Ayo, this is really funny. You missed the point. Both you and your client should never ever again be selected to host or moderate any event. You just completely missed the point not understanding what has happened and how damaging that is for you both (your client and yourself).

Adaorah said...

Pls aunty muna should either pick another career go and settle down with a rich guy that can take care of her snobby self or just sha disappear or sumthing.She gets worse with each news

No wonder, saucy manager.....arrogant muna. Good pair

Id said...

Muna, we know this is you, Nicodemusly trolling....go and watch yourself again, if you come away proud then come and repeat your trolling on here...

U disgraced youself, overstepped †Ñ’ξ boundaries of your assignment and embarrassed Nokia! That shit right there was crazy..accept î†!

Id said...

You just succeeded in making a bad situation worse, Mr publicity manager..ur tone was sooo condescending..no wonder your client acted †Ñ’ξ way she did, î†'s how you groomed her..

And that jab @ dbanj and DJ was sooo №t funny(I'm sure you thought î† would be)

She was totally unprofessional and no company will touch her with a 10-foot pole now...

Make una free the babe abeg... Some of you people want the apology pass Mode 9 sef...Wetin be una own gan for the matter,na una dem tell say make e pass mic.. Mode 9 gan no talk anything..Make all of una wey dey rant go chop banana till una belle full jare......On another hand,i think i like the fact that this babe doesnt give a shit about what anybody says..She probably just said what was in her mind,i no come know why mode 9 carry am put for head.. make all of una wey dey rant go take a chill pill...Mode 9 aint compaining

This Ayo guy is a complete amateur who has just done an in-repairable damage to his business and as well as to the reputation of his client's image. Anyone who saw the clip understands that she was at her low. She has not be properly managed. She should have got some training on how to moderate an event of this nature. This has clearly not been the case. Sad!

Ryan Seacrest telling Simon Cowell he made a wrong call .. Judge na Judge, presenter na presenter (note the capital 'J' and small 'p'), this press statement big shame on the one who sent it out .. Instead of flogging the girl he's sort of backing her.. Ode

Now who would apologize on behalf of this Retarded PR manager?

anonymous 6.41pm, Please we all watch American Idol. No presenter belittles the judges. We all know judges disagree amongst themselves, that is why there are 3. Ryan does not disagree or protest a judges decision. He keeps his opinion. Probably after the show he might say a few words on who he thought could have won it. SO PLS, WE ARE NOT BUSH PEOPLE, RYAN DOES NOT PASS HIS BOUNDARIES AS A PRESENTER.

Nice write up man. But you missed that tiny yet important part where she needs to apologise to Mode9 and the us the public for insulting our sensibilities.

Ok. scratch that part about the public. But come on, Mode9 aint no kid in the industry.

sensebabe said...

Vroomangel u r daft I swear. Have u ever seen Ryan Seacrest qtn d judgement of Randy, Simon or Jlo? U r a local taut claiming civilization. U're not even aware of how irritable the western public are sef, u're here talking trash.

Janded said...

It was just a misunderstanding. they should let it go. I cannot believe they issued out a statement over such a trivial issue. This all ego talking.

LOL!!!! Why am i not surprised at Ayo?! In his mind, he's managing Niki Minaj and he has arrived. Always been an arrogant, condescending, rude TWAT!

So you think your client is as big as D'banj and Don Jazzy? For your mind!!! Leaked emails? You have some nerve. Continue like this and you will be biting the dust in no time. Na today? Your Delusions of grandeur wont last, for how long can you ride on 'ex beauty queen' glory? We shall see...

I doubt if this dude knows what PR means sha.

Your artist still has so much to prove as an artist, left to me Eva is the best female rap artist in the game right now.

Shey we are the ones waiting with our mouth open? You will need Gossip merchant like us to buy her CD abi? Talk about damage control... SMH

one of the most important part of good crisis management is apologizing when you are wrong, that is what the audience want to hear and it will improve the already tarnished image. this is bad publicity.

D G Herbert said...

Your artist is just a picture of your company! You shouldn't have even issued out this statement! Just " pass the mic " to someone who could just say Sorry! You're now calling people who are sharing their opinions as "twitter gangsters" or some rumour mongers right? I'll have to let you know this that it's part of our culture to be respectful and from all indication, you don't feel sorry instead looking for a time to settle this over bottles of wine. Artists should be responsible cos we that follow them or buy their music are not daft. They should be very careful! You just added more fuel to the fire! You want to kill the girls career too with this statement! I'm sorry but this doesn't make any sense to me. It's abusive and very unfortunate...

Ayo Shonaiya pls "pass the mic" mehnn!!! LOL

allenjay said...

please what does this man really think he is? I was getting irritated the more as I read his words of arrogance and lack of managerial psychology which was what's supposed to be his job anyway...

This is called what?... Fucking bullshit!... And the poster is a what?... And abysmally daft human!

ETHAN said...

VroomAngel dis is Nigeria not US and we Nigerians love respect and dere is nothing u can do about dat.Muna fuck up big time u guys shld stop makin excuse for her.

U r very daft and don't know ur history. Ur asking what impact mode9 has made in d industry? Dat guy paved the way for naija hiphop b4 little cunts like muna ever dreamed of stepping to a mic! They laid d foundation for naija rap n now ppl like MI r reaping d benefits. And if ds guy is right abt u being Muna den ur more daft dan we even imagined. Ur asking y any1 wud pick 9 over u, u aint shit! Just a pretty face wt no brain. What do u even have to offer? Stupid hoe.

Agudosi said...

No be her fault...Na Nokia i dey blame to even put Modo and Muna in the same show. Who she be sef...wetin dey her catalog or repertoire?? because she do some rubbish shallow meaningless singles like pomporompo sinpopo she now thinks she's an authority in Rap now abi.Beauty and no fucking brains

muna donot apologise abeg! Wetin sef? trust LIB readers to carry the thing on top their head..mscheww... mode 9 was too childish he should have just let it slide.!
but seriously oo i thought she insulted the guy like you are mad or sth like that based on the comments i read here so i was watching the video waiting to hear the insult but for where...alll i heard was that i disagree but pass the mic and then instead of him to give it to the other judge to talk he just started giving us his life history! guys and their egos sha! ordinary matter don turn to world war 3 nawa ooo

Agudosi said...

One more thing..Nokia pls get another Compere, am sure you have put in so much effort and time into this event to allow some little brat bring some negative vibe to this show. she has shown her ass and now the world knows she doesn't know anything about Hip-hop and Rap to be even a compere on this show. Reserve her for any beauty-pageant related gigs you might have in the future.

is like the clerk in a court room arguing with the judge about his decision, Muna need to know her place, as it is Nokia need to find someone not smoking something to do this job, she is fast rising and so she want to show her empty head before she gets there. gutted

benton said...

I '' nvr heard abt this bush meat -muna with a stupid forced american accent,why can't we just be ourselves?this attitude has put me off and no matter how interesting her album is...l will never be fan!

If ever there was an epic fail in terms of a PR release, look no further. I wish Mina all the best and I'm not one who waits for the downfall of others but this statement can only make things worse.mmaybe silence was a better option or a decent one liner to end it all peacefully. Goodluck to both parties

Producer$

Obviously people here didnt watch the video. Modenine was just unnecessarily proud and thats why hes not successful, as far as I'm concerned hosts argue with judges even on american idol, she asked just one question and modenine started going on about him knowing what ghe's talking, he seems like the proud one to me.

@ Muna, if u know ur rap very well, then u should b a Judge not a presenter lasan lasan. And can you pls quit d accent thing? No one in America talks like dat. Be urself.

tunmi said...

Mode9 WAS unnecessarily proud. What Muna did was simply banter. I saw the video and she was not that rude, she was not even rude. Naija and their oversabi respect sha.

Who is the i***t that wrote this, that how people will be encouraging bad thing. stcheeeewwww...

Hian!!! Ayo, there's a difference btw damage control and making a bad situation worse. YOu just made things worse. Maybe you need to go back to PR101 or something. You should always put yourself in shoes of those that would read your message. You did exactly what Muna did - take things personal! Why can't you just apologise for your cllient, say that she and Mode are working things and that you are even looking fwd to future collaborations btw them? Why can you not learn from the likes of Command PR and the likes in Hollywood enh? This is why e go tey before we get to Hollywood's level. Mscthewwwwwww

Ayo Shonaiya, PASS THE MIC MELNNNNNN... LOL

I am very disappointed that Muna would act in such disrespectful manner. Ayo Sonaiya should do a public apology to Mode Nine, not call a closed door meeting for an act that was publicly done. We know Muna pays his bills but professionalism requires him to be objective and objectivity is lacking in the statement above. I will indirectly state a campaign against Muna eventhough i loved her to bits but she was very crass to Mode Nine her 'senior'in all respect.

The person dat wrote dis shit is a fuckin bastard. Muna opened her dirty mouth to talk shit to a rap legend, instead of apologizing ur talkin shit. Muna is just a bitch who should watch her fuckin mouth or else next time she might loose all her teeth. My name is Cino!!!! Fuck u Muna and all ur fuckin Managers! I'm sure u learnt it from dem or u never got home training from home! Nonsence. Mode 9 dont have your time! Biaaccchh

Ayo Shonaiya..u need a publicist urself to apologise on your behalf for this rubbish u wrote.
As for you Muna, u need a better PR company. You can hire Bobby Taylor, she is a good PR Person. Don't know her personally but I have seen her jobs!

Naijarian said...

According to one of my friend's, all women give wahala but it is easier to forgive the wahala of a beautiful woman. So therefore, Muna, I forgif you. You bery bery beutifuru. Omalicha nwa.. Chei, i ga egbu m o... Obi m na eme so so paulina paulina. Awota m na obu obere miskate. Emezikwa na ya ozo o...

you are just plain stupid and as for your girl muna; its the last we'll ever see of her as no sane producer will ever give her disrespectful mouth a shot on tv ever again.

rubbish PR.............if he did nt want media & blogs why publish a press statement????? Mr RMG the media could be your friend or your worst enemy as a PR man its up to you to make them your friend & they are the same route to douse any tension btw your client & her fans.........if you no knw b4 beta knw nw

Whoever posted that comment wasn't using his/her head, they must be drinking something, and i need that stuff..lol...poor message. They just made the matter worse. 'Twitter gangsterism' shey??? Dem neva see anything... The same twitter wen hold the nation at large hostage for many days....Please he/she shud be warned, dnt mess with 'Tweeters'..

babatunde said...

Really sad day this. I was there live, sitting right beside DJ Jimmy Jatt and i saw the whole thing. And lemme tell you, I WAS SHOCKED! I've never seen or heard anything like that in my life! Okay picture this: Munachi competing at the MBGN and the host (let's say I. K. Osakioduwa) throws a fit at the judges and says " Yo this ain't cool bro! I mean dis geh no fine nah? Wut are you guys saying?" Imagine the scandal! Or Ryan Seacrest doing something like this at American Idols? IT'S. JUST. NOT. DONE! The roles of the host and the judge ARE VERY CLEAR even if they are not put in writing. Muna committed a MAJOR faux pas that night in disrespecting the judge. Mode 9 is NIGERIA's DEFINITION OF HIP HOP. He wrote the source code for all these cats on the scene now. Muna? She's a rookie who would do better trying to gain credibility and acceptability in a music genre powered by testosterone. You don't disrespect icons. It's like a young fuji music upstart taking on KWAM 1. ABOMINATION! This is hip hop. In this game, you kiss the ring of the godfather. And as far as Nigerian hip hop is concerned, Mode 9 in Don Vito Corleone.

Abeg tell us more i am waiting with my mouth open

After reading the press release twice I must confess dat am very disappointed. Am glad to see that Nigerians know their onions. As a communications graduate and professional I must say I strongly disagree with the wording of the press release. To start with its suppose to be a press release not a rejoinder so there's absolutely no need to insult the audience or those expressing their honest opinions. He started well but I dnt knw wat happened along d way. Am nt sure he read wat he wrote or sought the opinion of oda pple. He really goofed cos I don't understand y he wuld insult d same pple he expects to buy Muna's album(if and wen she finally releases one). He acknowledge d fact dat his client stepped out of line dat's y he said dey ve been trying to sort it out,dat being said he shuld ve just apologised on behalf of his client to all parties and move on. Seriously am disappointed beyond words, if dis is d best u can do to manage to simple matter den dere's a problem o!

Christine said...

This press release is the poorest and worst I have ever come across...to say it is very badly written is mildly stating the fact.

Anyway, Muna or whatever she calls herself should go and watch American Idol/Xfactor and other reality contests to try and understand what the role of a host/presenter should be....(UNBIASED most importantly). Just because she was miss kinikan and speaks with a phony american accent she thinks she's "above the law"...hiss!!!!

Mode needs home trainning phase 2 kmft

Dollar said...

but Muna y u f... up naa! upon all the love I have 4 you.Anyway, i will continue loving you,but dont do it next time. Ok?

Beebee said...

Muna was wrong and very rude judging from the video clip i watched online...

And Ayo "i like to type shitt" - such poor PR...go bak and learn the rudiments..

NOKIA - hire a professional compere please!!!

*my 2 cents*

Very nice comment. True talk

A Concerned Nokia Consumer said...

Ayo Shonaiya is supposed to be a lawyer - not a PR expert. And sometimes he thinks defensively, without understanding that not every situation requires activating the "attack is the best form of defense" mode. Yeah, Ayo has an Napoleon complex, and to make up for this he tries to falsely project a smart facade. This statement of his only shows how immature, rude, and uncouth he is - but hey, he's the CEO - a UK-based lawyer, so he surely knows best. in my opinion, Muna can shove her apology up her beauty-queen crack - Ayo should be the one apologizing to the public for his condescending tone - but I suspect he would rather deny having penned this statement than apologize for its contents - he'll look for an innocent person to lay the blame on - he's sneaky like that, trust me. he would say "this statement was drafted by so and so, and was dispatched without my approval".

now, for those who are calling Mode 9 out, and comparing him with the guys from the new school. may I remind them all that hip hop is a culture - it's a way of life - and you don't need to have achieved mainstream success for you to be revered as a bonafide hip hop authority. think of Talib Kweli, Mos Def, Craig Mack, Nas, Rakim, Common, and even Dr Dre - for hip hop heads, these dudes are titans. it would be an insult to try to compare any of them with commercial/mainstream rappers.

MODE 9 is a force - he is hip hop. and yes, he will always have our respect whether or not his albums sell as much as you expect.

yeah, now back to Muna - the perp in question. hmmm. "pass the mic, mehn" - utterly DISRESPECTFUL. a compere should never instruct a JUDGE to pass the mic - that's a no no! a presenter must be unbiased, objective, and modest. yes, you're a rapper, and may have felt underutilized on stage - but there are 3 judges for a reason - it's their job to disagree with each other, and not you.

she was wrong to have told Mode 9 "I don't agree with you, but pass the mic" - no - she should have kept her opinion to herself, until after the show - disagreeing with a judge on TV questions the credibility of the show you're presenting - it raises question of bias and favoritism, and unfairness - what she has done is put NOKIA in a compromised position, as a company that supports "Ojoro".

what NOKIA should do about this is DENOUNCE Muna's actions publicly, and defend their appointed judge's position. because Muna's actions have undoubtedly cast doubts as to the Nokia's competence is appointing Mode 9 as judge - because NOKIA is stupid, abi? well if NOKIA isn't stupid, they should resolve this issue immediately and withdraw all the commercials featuring Muna - a brand must dissociate itself from such arrogant utterances, else it would lose its appeal.

to check how objective this blog is, I'll be checking to see if this comment was posted.

Sensebabe you are the daft one, seriously what is the fuss about these anyway, and yes it is only in nigeria you see all these rubbish, everyone is entitle to there own opinion, so is d presenter.

After reading all dis,dere is ntin left 2 say.muna was wrong period n mr Ayo or wateva his name is needs 2 re-learn his job over again cos he jst added salt 2 an open wound.

Gossip junkies and gist merchants

Nhm linda na we ur blog readers and u this ayo guy yab like this o, call us gossip junkies and u b d gist merchant!!! Lwkmd

who wrote this press release or what it's meant to be, I am pretty sure never went to school and decided to borrow words...