Lagos state government issues quit notice to sacked doctors | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 11 May 2012

Lagos state government issues quit notice to sacked doctors

Na wa o, this government is not playing at all o. I thought they said there was room for negotiations? Apparently not because now they have ordered all the sacked doctors in its employment to vacate their official residences...with immediate effect. The state government sent out the eviction notice yesterday and it read:
Consequent upon your dismissal from the service of the Lagos State government with effect from  May 4, 2012 and in accordance with the civil service rule 13115, no officer shall continue to occupy state government quarters after the date on which his resignation/ dismissal takes effect.
In view of the above, you are hereby requested to submit the keys to the quarters to the Secretary of Staff Housing Board.
The doctors were given till the end of today to vacate their quarters but the Nigerian Medical Association, (NMA) said that the doctors were covered by the tenancy law and have instructed them to ignore the quit notice.

86 comments:

Confirmed Mr Fashola SAN has totally lost d plot! This tells me that SAN title is based on usual naija politics. How can a lawyer ask his tenants to quit with immediate effect? Is this a military dispensation or what? There are tenancy laws in Lagos state and SAN, u shld know that. Even if ur handbook says whatever, shouldn't u give them notice to move out! And I wonder why he didn't do all this in his 1st term in office...

BLOGLORD said...

issorait.

hmmm said...

This Fashola, I just love him. See him looking like those suffering civil servants. He is one of the few governors who does not look fresher, chubbier and wealthier after entering office. He even has gray hair which shows he is staying up at nite and seriously thinking of how to make Lagos better...anyway Drs. you guys should come to an agreement na. You have served Lagos and its citizens for sometime now and it wont be nice to throw all that away for benefits

So where is NLC now? Or is it only fuel matters they take up being that millions will get into their pockets? Occupy Lagos joor. 2 wks holiday, legooo

Sam said...

This is arrant nonsense. You reach an agreement with someone, you renege on your agreement with the person and when he complains you intimidate and victimize them. What sort of arrogance is the Govt showing? Who would sack his doctor? Nobody, I believe. Govt officials receive treatment abroad so they can afford to sack the doctors for the masses. To think that barely a year ago they were cajoling these same doctors.....who were used as election materials. Now elections are gone, they can act with impunity. No be dem fault.

Now this is extreme...too extreme. Fashola tread softly o...

LyricalMessiah said...

Lord have mercy...What is the government turning into...Yea we know the doctors went really far but sacking and evicting them is just way too much!

But who are these new Drs taking up employment in Lagos. Are they not members of NMA.

Professor X said...

So lemme get this straight. These doctors were given official quarters and had a starting salary of 173,000 per month? Unnecessary strike. Well deserved consequence.

Modupsy said...

This is getting ugly

What an effed country

holly said...

I am a dr.a new one,I used to be filled with a burning passion to save lives,make a difference.Till I saw pple's reaction to the plight of doctors.How can I slave over patients,forget to eat,miss dates,run out of my room like a mad woman to give a child the exact metrically calculated dose of a drug he needs,while his mother(his mother!)Is fast asleep?How can I care about you when you are down,when I know you will kick me when I'm down?I know I'm not alone in this.People are mean and wicked.They repay evil for good.Lagosians y'all don't know what you have done.The effects will show later.

Those doctors seem to care more about money than people's lives..They are always going on strike without having second thoughts about sick citizens. Some of the counterparts in private hospitals do not earn as much as they do yet they are forever complaining. Many people have died due to the countless no of strikes they have embarked on..Dagrin inclusive!

olumayo said...

Chai!!! Fashola don fall my hand. If na that old stupid Tinubu wan do birthday or him wan invite Rio Ferdinand come naija, money go comot. It is well

Janded said...

O ga o.

This is the height of high handed ness

BREAKING NEWS!!! Gov. Fashola has just flown his critically ill father to the U.S. for medical treatment.He was accompanied by Dr. Williams, MD Ebute metta Health Centre who is a brother to Fashola's wife.Pls forward to at least 1,000 Lagosians.

MyBidmonster Nigeria said...

Is this the right way to go? do the doctors not have some genuine demand that requires the attention of the government in a country where there has been so much rot and decay?

The govt is doing the right thing. How could those heartless doctors go on strike and leave sick people in the hospital to die. what if they had family members that were admitted there.

Karen said...

I tire for Naija oh... This Fashola mean sha.
But what I find even more interesting is that from the neatly legally-orchestrated sack to this new eviction notice of the doctors, there are yet many visible loop holes where this same govt is clearly stepping on their toes legally e.g. Their signed agreement, robbing them of their rights to protest, use of diverse manners of threat, not to mention all the media propaganda! (Abi them no know their right?)
Surely, there is tug of war btw the medical & d legal profession in Lagos State; so in the end , it may not really be about who shouts NO the most...,
this war go show who know book pass, lol (while people are dying) *very sad indeed* Only in Naija!

I am, the no Sender. said...

The chicken has finally come to
roost and I say that indeed is deserving of all the hypocitical ACN voters and supporters who in playing thier typical narrow minded and tribalistic politics never know how to look beyond their nose. Now that the all conquring 'eko o ni baje'
exponent no longer needs the votes of his blind and dumb minded voters he believes
he can ride roughshod over them. Imagine the audasity of shunning all known and stipulated fundamentals of labor arbitration to unilaterally sack the doctors
who indeed have legimate demands and now this Hitler inspired action?

Well, like the Americans will say, 'you ain't seen nothing yet'. Lagosians, we should better firm up for more audacious and
undemocratic acts from Tinubu(the defacto emperor of Lagos) as he dictates to his pretentious shadow, Fashola. In addition, I repeat and appeal to all those
Nigerians out there under the hypnosis of sanctimonious Asiwaju and who attempt to package the ACN as a better alternative to the PDP that they better have a rethink. As far as am concerned the ACN use you to dump and forget you.

This party has veiled narssistic tendencies waiting for the time of day to manifest. Suddenly their ever ready PDP basher Lai Mohammed has gone on compulsory speaking leave and is not moralising on our
unsuspecting ears. As much as PDP is putrid and may just
implode on itself, at least they don't act up as if they are too good. They unmask themselves readily. I therefore, dare to say that I may not know the caliber of persons and political party that will emerge to take over the reins of leadership and hopefully not
rulership one day from the PDP but I can hazard to say, it won't be Tinubu and the rest of his mandarins in ACN.

The Great Oracle said...

Pple, Fashola is on d loose. This is wat u get wen u give any politician a 2nd term in office. He becomes d name of 1 of d regulars on dis blog - Mr I-am-no-sender. Mark my words, GEJ will do worse if given a 2nd term 2.

AC o, PDP o, dey are all d same. Let me now start casket or body bag business. It will definitely thrive until every1's sense returns. Peace!

dan says
ahaah very funny. One law fighting the other from the same table. Will see how it plays.

great said...

Fashola
better not try NMA. They have the power to tell all doctors to refuse to work for the state and any that does so will lose his license. How did he think the strike started nma has the power and the doctors here are also suffering ˚♡⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥KK⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡ they were forced to go on strike because if they don't they are beginning a battle they can't finish and then the government comes in and acts childishly.
See FASHOLA every teaching or general hospital MUST have a consultant and like it or not consultants are very busy and very rich. Your fire means nothing and when you re-open you will still hunt them down because specialists are very very few. Now should they decide in their meetings to totally ignore ha you are in trouble. I am in medicine and I can tell you that doctors fear being on the opposite side of the NMA. Fashola stop decieving yourself when two elephants fight the ground suffer and the ground here is your citizenry. Simple say you have forgiven them after they begged you,increase pay or wait you have increased it after you sacked them haba is that wise

Ok. They should use area boys and throw them out. Nonsense. The doctors are stupid bunch. They should go and open their own clinic and pay themselves anything they like.

I really like what fashola is doing!Nigerians can be very stupid!what rubbish! Putting the lives of people at risk bcos of selfish gain! Dey even had private residences sef! What a bunch of ingrates!

This govt wants to kill citizens. Employing barely minted medical doctors in place of experienced ones.

Gboza says:

Lag Govt, pls take it easy with them na. This kain fire for fire matter tire me o.

Oya now, let the war begin! For baba Fash to do this; I'm pretty sure he has gathered more than enough evidence to disgrace these shameless doctors in court. I heard some of the doctors have gone behind to negotiate for themselves and left the stubborn ones outta the loop.

Ghen Ghen! NMA vs Lagos state govt!
#chewing popcorn and sipping Pepsi#

Dave1 said...

D Lasgidi govt aint playing wif u docs mehn! Fash is sooo gangster mehn!...Bt on a serious note,na d poor patients dey suffer frm dz Doc/Govt. Beef. U guys shld pls find a middle ground biko nu...

cynosure faces said...

Haba Fashola!....tink deeply bot dis!

mary gift said...

Oh boy sounds like a big ...............

Na wa o! Fa§hola, don't make me start hating u o! What kind of nonseÑse is his?? Bte, just saw this on twitter a few hours back aÑd u have it on here already. U r really busy linda! Thumbs up

CHIt

I luv fashola but he's stupid.....so they shud pack and go where wit their families.....idiot!

Next time they would know that lives sometimes are in their hands. Doctors plenty we dey find work, they don't know.

jescci said...

Ds one na case of when trouble sleep yanga go wake am.wetin he dey find na palaver and he go get.

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Guess the Area boys/Police would be moving in to bully them out..sad days..Fashola actually went ahead with this!!

Foolish governor u don't know the power NMA has, by the time 20 or more people die maybe then you'll reconsider your actions. Ode! Which hospital functions without specialists?

deekay said...

So unfair. U made a promise to them and they got fed up of waiting and did the only thing they could do -strike. You really think it was easy for them to come to that decision? Take a pay cut if you must and hold up your side of the bargain, Oga governor. What makes you think the newly employed replacements will not strike? Have a re-think. You can afford to increase their salary so pls stop being evil. They have families as well as the public to take care of and they work crazy hours. Have a conscience.

deekay said...

Dem go chop house? Wont they save? Wont they drive car? Abegi!!

You doctors are arses. Gov took an oath to preserve law and order; life and property and dat's what he is doing.

As a doctor your sole duty is to save lives, so pple dying are on u gus not fashola

Fashola is making this move to save his pple

My friend park inside gutter joor! Which yeye specialists? The so called specialists wey no dey gree work for the govt hospitals pass five mins. They prefer the big bucks they make in their private hospitals. Many just use the govt hospital money as bounty.

See u talking about being nice to patients, u public doctors are nasty to patients so Niggress puleeeeez. Most of these doctors have 2 jobs. Ndi aguuu

U talk abt their sole duty as doctors, how abt the duty of fashola's govt to keep to promises. My friend, think b4 u type

dense LIB readers so its now the doctors fault? if they donot pay you well will you work? ode so the doctors do not have families to fend for or what? i blame the government that doesnt pay well, i mean look at the hospitals sef no equiptment...rubbish if i were a doctor i wouldnt work in nigeria simples

EarthShakers said...

I have become wary of strikes in Nigeria because most of them are spearheaded by men with selfish motives. Labour union leaders in Nigeria often times use strikes to enrich themselves. I used to be that gullible until I saw that it is all an insincere game.
Many of us are quick to comment even when we don't have all the facts. So we should get the facts right before taking sides.
I hope the government resolves this but the truth is that most employees always want more than theu deserve. The money beign paid out is not Fashola's money. It is our collective money and sweat so we should be wary of how it is spent.
If you own a biz and pay salaries, u will understand why strikes is a complex issue to deal with and why @ d end, d employer has d final say.

Those of u non doctors talking trash Na u go suffer no be fashola cos fashola no dey use Nigerian doctors,as for your expectations that drs should save other people's lifes and loose their own to hunger and poverty,keep encouraging fashola and let's see who will have the last laugh.Go to Saudi Arabia,south Africa,america and uk,see how Nigerian drs are appreciated and when these fools (politicians) go abroad for treatment they get treated by nigerians and they know how much they cough out.And if you think the drs are asking for too much pls find your way to medical school so that u can work for fashola and accept meager sum to save lives that God can not save,nonsense.as for fashola,u are a bunch of disappointment,I just lost all the respect I had for u.let see where your too know will land u.

I am, the no Sender. said...

Sorry for you.

Shame on Nigeria Government.

They don't care about the citizen, that is why they couldn't reach an agreement.
If citizens are sick and need treatment urgently, they don't care if doctor or nurses attend to them as long as it is not their family.

What a Shame.

i know doctors in the UK do not get accommodation with their contracts, so the govt are trying.... it is highly irresponsible of the doctors. People in Nigeria want to blame the government for everything! the other day Linda posted current conditions revolving around the former boxer, all people could say was he put Nigeria on the map etc n the govt have abandoned him now? but if he was a wise man wouldnt he have planned his future? he did make money then? what happened to it? many irresponsible former stars in the western world have ended up worse than him and what did their almighty govt do to help theses destroyed stars.... noting! Nigerians pls grow some braincells and raise ur IQ levels.

ada said...

i always try not to be insultive but some comments really daft.someone said doctors primary concern is the life of their patients.and may i ask,who is responsible for the lives of the doctors and their general well being including that of their families?did any of us donate to send them to school?is it not some of this state owned schools that the govt has also increased its school fees?a few say they keep going on strike.lets see how many of us will go to work without getting paid.their salaries are what they also need and use to send their own kids to school and put food on the table of their families.the nigerian govt is more sympathetic to lawyers esp tribunal lawyers and those in lagos state cos they need them to push cases in their favour.however they donnot need doctors as they fly their families abroad or to expensive private hospitals with tax payers money.enough said!!!!!!!

ade said...

look at these ppl say doctors are meant to save lives?
go and sit somewhere jooor...

may be you all forget this are human beens with the same social problems in the same NIGERIA where inflation is ridiculous

you get 4yr degree, get a job at intercontinental and start making $200k/month b4 'egunje'.

or better, just get NO EDUCATION, go into politics and start off with millions and various allowances.

these ppl wen to school for minimum 8yrs (add strike) and hardship and bad days/nights just to 'save lives' and cant even earn 200k. In nigeria where a shoe is over 10k.

regardless of money, stop acting like doctors were born docs. these are HUMAN BEINGS like you who hav family and needs and already, they put others first so may be its about time they start thinking about themselves also with the way nigeria is going.

fashola is just crazy and stupid... EOD

It seems some peeps don't really understand the deal...how can u just open ur mouth and say rubish followin previous comments? I don't really knw wht else these doctors wants,their salary is the highest wen it comes to Lagos state workers, they state even send them abroad for courses(biLls on Lagaos state) and yet they come u wit strikes anytime they fill like... I think they have reach the peack. Last year, I lost my fiance who had an accident due to their stupid strike cos private hospitals won't treat him cos of no equipments, so why are we now blaming our dear gov as if he doesn't knw wht he's doin??? I'm so sure most of u would do worse if given that opportunity....SMH for y'all dullards**eyes rollin*

countryvendor. said...

i always thank my God i left that God forsaken country 4 yrs ago to practise outside naija,truth be told,we are not appreciated in nigeria at all.i dont know who is more foolish between the leadership and the citizenry sef,cos i just refuse to fathom why majority of the citizens are applauding the govt on this matter..u see now,fashola papa sick,he don carry am go america,why he no carry am go meet the 383 new doctors wey him jus employ?as for my fellow doctors,you dont need to despair,your services are needed in the developed world,dust your books and go write some foreign exams to practise abroad,leave nigeria alone,it is a sinking ship.dont let the society turn you into a victim of your smartness,seriousness and intelligence,your longstanding diligence must pay off in the long run...

Skandik Afrik said...

Am reading and following with keen interest where the conflicts between Lagos-State government and NMA( Lagos branch) will end. I believe there should be room for negotiation, no matter what. We need to treat one another with respect and listen to others view. I hope Nigerians people and government learn from other prosperious nations.
My love to all Nigerians from Sweden

Segue said...

Great one. Is it not better to have new doctors than none at all given the frequent and long incidences of strikes?
I know people who have lost their lives due to the reckless strikes...are they the only civil servants in Lagos?

The tenancy rule does not apply here - or if my employer sacks me, they would give me 6 months notice to quit my official quarters? Official quarters are a job benefit and would seize once the job ends.

Naija people sha, we just love fooling ourselves...hehehe

Some of these comments are retarded. Are doctors not humans too or do you expect them to work for free. The government back tracked on an agreement. It is like someone telling you they will pay you ten dollars an hour but only pays you five and still taxes that five. The doctors have been working from 2010 and waiting for the agreement to be reflected in their pay. This is 2012 and the government is forming gangsta for them, they too had to form mafia. I am sorry but the Lagos state government shot itself in the foot on this one. The doctors will always find work, if not in Nigeria, it will be outside. I say this because I have 5 doctors in my family, trained in Nigeria who are all under 30 and have left to start practice in the US. Fashola's single action has encouraged further brain drain. As someone said, those in government behave like this because they are out of touch with TRUE reality of the Nigerian masses

dis doctors shld not be dis greedy & serve their cos dis d only country we have,bt pls oga governor,temper justice wit mercy

Nekky said...

i'm not supporting Fashola buh i seriously think d doctors are not different from Fashola cos if they are,they won't leave patients to be dying like chickens. apart from politician,which other profession can say dat wat they earn is justifiable and dat dey are totally satisfied with their earnings? how many govt employees gets an official residence? i give it to them dat they save lives and qualifying as a doctor is no easy but these doctors are beginning to think dey are indispensible caring less about lives. they should hv a rethink cos take it or leave no one wins a war with govt in Nigeria. Fashola is not coming fr 3rd term so he can afford to do any how. at d end of the day,d doctors will loose more dan the govt and they have started loosing already.

Na ur family u go carry put inside ur casket.mmmchewwww

the doctors are trying to be greedy, let them check their salary to stress ratio and translate it to government revenue and need to develop other sectors of the state. Big mouthed nikkas.

I pity those who support the governor's actions. Do u think these doctors will suffer? Far from it? It is people like u that will suffer. Go to the US{if u can) and see how doctors are treated. Sorry for some dumb heads who write all the rubbish about our doctors because they are well appreciated in foreign lands.

Does Fashola think he can win this war against the mighty NMA? Lagosians better start looking elsewhere for your healthcare needs. No doctor under the NMA will undermine his colleagues in this struggle by working for the state for fear of losing his or her license for a month's pay.... We are watching!

You people talking don't know these doctors at all......the whole system is messed up.most of these doctors are a tribalistic bunch of unprofessional beings
My sister schooled at LUTH and is rife with tales of their incompetence.They enjoy striking so they can take a fully paid break.you need to hear what they say in their caucus,ul ask urselves whether these people are doctors at all
Once,there was a strike at LUTH and after govt conceded to their demands,the following month LASUTH went on strike,the LUTH staff decided to go on a solidarity strike with their comrades.Messing with people's lives!they discharged those in accident n emergency,one man was bleeding profusely and a junior doctor was trying to save him,the seniors shouted on him and threatened disciplinary measures on him.they locked the ward......pls don't allow these doctors bully us.they always want more and more.give them and the nurses will demand and so on

Well said my dear.I'm a doc too.I feel ur pain.

Big mistake. So, it's better to have jobless doctors than come to a better agreement that will benefit doctors and their patients.
Fashola, you can do better than this, I expect more common sense from you.

May God give u d means to practice in a more deserving environment abroad or in a more rewarding profession/sector in Nigeria. Amen

No be small speech o but ur head dey there sha

AMEN

M̶̲̥̅γ̲̣̣̥ sentiments exactly! If these doctors were really doing their jobs on a normal day instead of playing ten ten with peoples lives, the public would have backed them up. To all those mumus saying if the doctors go to the US they will be better appreciated.....I tell you, if they carry this their rubbish behaviour and foul tendencies over there, THEY WILL BE DEPORTED....cos many of them no even know pass panadol....that's why lotsa cases are being referred abroad by these our local champees.

Akwa Ibom Ayaya said...

Leadership is considered the ability to take tough decision that might seem unpalatable to some but at the long run be of the overriding interest of the majority. The decision to sack the doctor’s sound irrational but am certain the Lagos state government must have weighed the pros and cons before doing so.

@Sam, do u even know what you are talking about at all or you are only blabbing based on hear-says? Pls get the fact right before commenting! Its not a must you comment!....Meggy!

@Professor X, God bless u! Pple don't really know the story well but they are quick to comment. Infact that sum is the least actually (graduate doctors)... Lagos state pays higher than even the oil producing states in Nigeria! What else do they want? They shld vacate those quarters immediately! Nonsense!!!...Meggy!

@Olumayo, pls pls go to bed and sleep!

You must be a PDP mouth piece! You can't compare death with slumber. Pls bug off with ou PDP

Are u really in the Medical field? Seriously? Wow!!!

@Deekay so cos they want to drive flashy cars, Fashola shld close the treasury for them abi? Pls be reasonable..Meggy!

You idiot! They shld av thought abt that before acting stupid and greedy!

It is you who shld fink b4 typing

U r an imbecile!

Wise words from you...Meggy!

Are u sure u are a dr abroad or u wash dead bodies abroad cos ur sense of reasoning is whack!

Y dnt u pack them all in a ship and take them to your foreign land (dreamer)? Shld d govt die cos of drs? Rubbish!!

Stupid Advocate of Nigeria. What a foolish man. How come he fooled people to believing he meant well. claiming to be a better leader yet looting everyday with his cronies - The Honorable Ashiwere Bola Tinubu. A great thief. Pay the Doctors their due. They have worked and a laborer is due his wage. At least none of your judicial friends in Lagos state lack for nothing. You pay them well simple because you can't go abroad to get your laws passed to always favor you, but for doctors they can cry all they want as you have a jet that is ready to fly you and all you friends and relative to the nearest foreign land with better health system and well paid Doctors and staff.