Corporal turns self in months after shooting | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 8 May 2012

Corporal turns self in months after shooting

Emmanuel Okuju (left), a police corporal accused of abducting a teenage girl after shooting her sister, turned himself in at the Lagos State Police Command on Monday.

Okuju's arrest is coming three months after he was declared wanted by the police for attempted murder and the kidnapping of Patience Isabor.

After allegedly kidnapping 17-year-old Isabor and wounding her sister, Blessing, on February 10, 2012, Okuju went into hiding...

Before the incident however, Okuju was a police officer attached to Ifako police station.
Okuju, who allegedly shot Blessing in the cheek at the girls' Bariga residence in Lagos, blamed the "devil" for his action.
He denied kidnapping Patience, saying she absconded with him after his gun accidentally discharged and a bullet hit her sister.

"I came to the house to see Patience, and Blessing was in the next room, my rifle was in my bag, as I tried to place the rifle on the ground, that was how it fired and shot Blessing in the next room," he said.
"It was in my efforts to adjust the gun that it fired again and shot Blessing in the cheek a second time. I was afraid that Blessing was dead so that was why I ran away and Patience followed me."
Okuju also said that he and Patience had been hiding in Benin City.

Patience, who claimed to be carrying Okuju's baby, also denied that she had been kidnapped.
“Blessing was hurt but we were scared, so that was how I ran away with him because of my pregnancy. Since he decided to come to report himself to the police, I came along with him so we can resolve this matter with my family,” Patience said.

The incident enjoyed wide media coverage, with the girls' family calling for Okuju’s arrest .
In his reaction, the girls' uncle, Steven Isabor, expressed joy over Okuju’s arrest.

“It is the press and the police that made things hot for him (Okuju), so we are happy that they are in the police custody now after months of looking for them,” he said.
Blessing is still receiving treating at the Lagos State University Teaching Hospital (LASUTH), Ikeja, following the wounds she sustained from the suspect’s bullets.

Culled from Dailytimes

24 comments:

the white enchantress said...

hmmmm, nice way to turn yourself in.

Atobatele said...

Shameless pigs...They are not well trained anyway and who knws it might be deliberate and cooked up this story to defend himself. God will judge you for sure.

Some Girls sha!Elopping wit a man that shoot her sister.the girl should be rejected in d family.wat rubbish.

ahahn two mistakes in the cheeks! bobo yi calm down.

ONOME says...........
Young boy.chai.I remember I said it then "WTH is a teenage girl doing following man?I am sure she has no form of education.Na wa.#walkonby#

I hate it when people talk like fools all because they have been given opportunity to talk and they feel they must talk!...."Someone who shot her sister" can you fools ask yourselves what his motive for shooting he's lover's sister is? And why he would turn himself in after realising she's alive? We should try to use @least 1% of our brains before we talk! And also consider the fact that there are 2 sides to a coin!

Brainwashed girl.

Aanty linda is blessn stl reacvn treating or treatment. Lol
Chikito

Don't believe d story at all,how can ur gun accidentally discharge twice.nd d sister dat left her sister to die kk oh,

olumayo said...

Its receiving treatment, not treating. For olodo Linda. Shiooorr

Www.facebook.com/belmondsfashionstore said...

This patience of a girl is sick and thank God for Blessing too. The lie lie lover boy's dick shld be cut off......idiot!
Www.facebook.com/belmondsfashionstore

Who has heard the solarplexus album? Wowzers! I'm impressed! They all killed it. Well done donjazzy, well done mavins.

Why is it that it is only the police that have accidental discharges, this issue of accidental discharges has become an insult to the nigerian police and a popular lie they use to cover for their illegal acts. The police coperal absconded for some time just to go and cook up a convincing story for nigerians, but he could fool a police command not 180,000,000 nigerians. He should be prosecuted. And as for the shameless lady that absconded with him, her family should try in their own possible way to forgive her, ladies have shalow brains a man can never do such.

Ken said...

This guy must be an amazing marksman! Placing a rifle on the ground and you shoot somebody the first time, then you didnt go and see if she was okay after the first "accidental discharge" but you decided to "adjust the gun" again and it fired again and got her in the cheek the 2nd time. Wetin go happen when you now actually aim for her? Mscheeewww!!!
The level of absurdity in the stories that the police cook up shows their level of intelligence! It is only your fellow police men that will believe your cock-and-bull story and give you bail.
Left to me, he should first forfeit all his monies and property to cater for Blessings rehabilitation and after that face the full weight of justice.
One of the things that was not mentioned in this update of the story is the part where it was mentioned that the police corporal was "dating" the Blessing before and then dumped her to start "dating" her own blood sister - Patience.
Where the hell is the Statutory rape laws in this country?

As in eh,,mtshew!!!

Arrant nonsense,Ʊ turned urself in just because there can never be a hiding place for you again. May God punish dat stupid mouth of Ʊrs... As for d sister,Ʊ are as wicked as d devil dat impregnate you... Odoko oshi,ashawo,ole.Barbie J

Y.Tee said...

I smell a rat. He shot her twice. The first shot-accidential discharge. Second shot- "It was in my efforts to adjust the gun that it fired again and shot Blessing in the cheek a second time". hmmmmmm.

I really hope justice prevails. #Fingerscrossed

TONIX said...

NA THEM KNOW
Y I GO TALK PUT 4 MAN N WOMAN MATA?

@ OLUMAYO...

You are an ODE. Real one. Here you are trying to correct someone grammer and you cannot precisely understand that Linda put treating in quotes meaning it was quoted by the father of the girl. And as you can see Linda cited her source....OLODO

BLOG ANGEL said...

And wat do u mean by" as in"nonsence

Patience is a bastard to have decided to get pregnant for d sister's boyfriend,blood is suppose to be thicker than water,why is her own water thicker than blood,omo ale jatijati,olojukokoro,odoko,ole.she didn't see any other boy aside from d sister husby abi,God will punish both of them for making d elder sis go tru this pains,they'll knw no peace,their mother too is to be blaimed,what kind of trainning is she giving to her daughters,does she not teach her girls love,how to love each other and protect each other?olorun a ri ejo da

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Patience..Ashawo oshi..she probably eyed her Sister's boyfriend and opened her legs soon as he made a play..discharged indeed..bloody Bonnie and Clyde!!..
Nice one Linda..we need this follow up stories think you started with dude with the Swollen feet due to Diabetes..now this..its nice cos some are so harrowing and be nice to know the culprits have been caught!!

Nd who is  fool? U̶̲̥̅̊ i guess.must nigerians always b insultive smh.ignoramus

You people missed the part about the gun shooting her while she was in another room. Imagine? He said the gun went off by mistake and shot the girl in the next room,twice. Not even shooting the one in the room with him, the next room fa. *smh* Crazy!