Veteran actor Justus Esiri bitter about not getting national award | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 1 April 2012

Veteran actor Justus Esiri bitter about not getting national award

The veteran actor, who played the Village Head Master, in the popular 80's TV series of the same name, and whose career has spanned over three decades, is not happy that he's yet to receive a national award.
I feel very bitter that of all the progammes I have done, I have not been recommended. While those people who took part in Samanja, New Masquerade, and other Yoruba programmes have been given national awards.
I think he's right to be bitter. If Aki and Paw Paw, Stephanie Okereke and Genevieve can get national awards, he more than deserves to get one too. In fact, it's long over due!

67 comments:

MY VIEW said...

You are absolutely right!

i definately love justus and think he surpasses most of the people who have gotten the award. it just shows again that the process of selection in naija is skewed towards popularity not hardwork. what is aki n paw-paw's contribution to the growth of the industry? what is the level of their professionalism.go watch esiri evolve from village headmaster to soap operas. he is a movie legend. -newyorker

Dr. Dr. Sid

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Too Right!!...This man is not only a Top Nigerian Actor but one of International repute..he's that good to play certian roles in those Hollywood or any English speaking Film...A legend..never knew he hasn't been acknowledged..
The shame called Nigeria...where mediocrity is worshipped..I mean look at Tinubu's hero worship!!

Chrisblack said...

You mean to tell me that Aki n Pawpaw have received national honours award for being fools on tv?? What a shame!!

Croixxx said...

Yup he ought to be unhappy....a̷ veteran yet to be acknowledged...

Atobatele said...

Sometimes I wonder waht is d criterion for qualifying for this award bcos the ones that are suppose to be given have bn ignored and the least expected are the ones geting the award! This man deserve it long ago and to me I wil say even if they decide to give him next he shud jst try and ignore them! Abi dem don dey runs National Award ni.

Dr Sid's father

Uch' said...

He does deserve an award. But i guess with the 'caliber' of people that have already received this so called national merit , he is better off without it with the likes of chinua Achebe and the rest of us commenting on this blog!!!!!

the white enchantress said...

yeah so so right.

Does he have a Puccyy.if not our president won't give him anything at al at all.JEKOMA ROTATE

oscar said...

Why are you bitter, what do you need award for . Chinua Achebe of Things Fall Apart is rejecting National award and you are here bitter about not receiving any. What is your personality and integrity in your immediate community like. You dont receive award just because you are an actor. There are so many Doctors and Lawyers who have practiced for more than three decades. Would they now start to complain about not to have been honoured .

Landmark University 2012/ 2013 Admission said...

Na by force? When it is due it will come.

Jamb Nigeria said...

I think it is well already good for him to get it. He deserve it.

Neco gce result said...

I think it is well already good for him to get it. He deserve it.

QF
Some guyz r jst lucky... SMH

dis is serious and not fair atall wat rubish? pls sir dnt mind them those celebrity ladies that got it just only buying there way in wt there legs open,God wil surely gv u ur right u are a good actor and i love u.

Susan Peters said...

I agree with him.
The cabals in Nollywood are the ones nominating each other for National awards leaving out deserving A-listers like us who have worked hard to make the industry what it is today. Its just not fair.

follow me on Twitter @RealSusanPeters

Maureen Declan said...

that is absolute right,but let him not feel bitter since evil thrives high in our today's society n the likes of him rejects their recognition of which Sir Chinua Achebe is one. the truth is dat evil will shine for a long time.so Sir esiri we know the professional,those whose works will outlive mankind and you r one of them

Sad this is to show the kind of sociaty we are living in. Celebrating people that don't worth celebrating and leaving people that are talented to suffer

Admin said...

National Award, bitter? Hum! when some actually reject it. Someone Like Chinua Achebe Things Fall Apart , "One man's food is another man's poison"

Justus Esiri is singer Dr Sid's father. Only people who have long legs get national awards in Nigeria.

He should thank God that he trained his son very well and he is still kicking or doing fine. That is what matters in life.

Nonsense, non of them deserve it. Maybe genny sha

Ah ah...guy wetin be ur own?na wa 4 u sef

He shld be cos he's one of †Ñ’ξ few that built Nollywood. If Aki & Paw Paw can be honoured, how much more Justus Esiri. †Ñ’ξ selection na ojoro as everyfin na ojoro for naija. Sir, God'll honour Æ”☺U̶̲̥̅̊ joor.

DireDayo

mischief said...

The day I said it on twitter that aki& paw got national honors for always acting the fools on tv. I got d insult of my life. Wut hv dey done to help d development of dis country or nollywood? Smh

The awards are now devalued. He shouldn't sweat on it!

What a country, aki n pawpaw who promote retardedness given national awards yet dis man isn't acknowledged

true talk!!! a shame

What kind of sense of entitlement will make you demand an award? It doesn't matter the work you think you have done people still have to elect you for any award. YOU don't demand for it.

This just doesn't smell right. Not saying he doesn't deserve and award ... talking about the principle behind insisting that you deserve one

bee said...

May his son Dr. Sid not get one before him oh....that one go be bittersweet.

But truth is there is n calculated process to giving national awards. If there was, pple like him won't be missed, and be won't be getting honors they alreayd received in the past

He should ask Stephanie Okereke why she did not put his name on the list. We are clowns in this country

Very sad indeed that justus esiri is yet to be honoureed .An actor of international repute yet to be recognised!!!!.I pray this will be remedied soon.

eeya. He's Dr Sid's father sef...

I love this man with so much passion. He reminds me so much of my dad in every single way.up till now my friends still call me to tell me my'dad'has acted in a new movie and even my dad acknowledges the stricking resemblance.

It is sad but Nigeria is a place where technocrats, professionals and people with high cerebral dispositions are treated with disdain. People who have pedigree, anticedents and impecable reputations are always ignored and sidlined.
Uncle Justice, you are all these and much more as you have consistently influenced the lives and development of many through your work.
May God keep you sir.

He certainly over-deserves it! Aki and Paw-paw got such an honor and he didn't?! SMDH

Award my foot! Justus is bigger than any Award that would rank him and the likes of Aki N Pawpaw in the same class. Come to think of it, those issuing the Award, have they lived up to the Oat of Office. It's just a Circus Show.

now this is DR SID FATHER

I've followed this man right from village headmaster and I can tell that he's a master in his art. These are the pple that didn't stumble into acting, he learnt and mastered in long before these nollywood pple appeared.

I have nothing against Aki and Pawpaw but as far as acting is concerned, the are talentless. God forbid I be a hater, its just a fact. Primary school kids can act just like them...

Anyways, Justus Esiri has every right to be bitter. Only God knows how these pple are selected. I hope he's recognised while he's still with us. Our govt has become an expert in celebrating pple wildly when they die but totally ignore them while they are alive.

Considering how meaningless that award has become, he should be happy he does not have one. He is too good for it.

he shud know by now it is a sham. i know ppl who have used money to get it. he shud even reject it like chinua achebe. justs esiri u r worth more than a facking award jare.

The award signifies that he is being recognized for his role as a veteran actor. Unfortunately, Nigerian government does not award people on merit most of the time.

So can one of U Nollywood buffs name something other than the village headmaster that he's been In

Dr Q said...

True talk, you deserve it sir. My useless husband Senator X doesnt deserve his. The guy is the biggest theif. I'm tired of this fake life. I'm going back to my former base before EFCC picks him up! Very soon, they would give Alfonso, my cook award for cooking peppersoup for him and his useless friends. People change, trust me!!

yeah but Chinua Achebe was offered it tho!!

Let him pray harder. What about olu Jacobs

What a shame!...i cant belive Justus Esiri has not recieved a national award,despite his great works and being a veteran in the movie industry,its hard to swallow...wonder what the criteria really is to giving such awards.#PLENTY MONEY...LUMY.

Do u really c urself as a nollywood A lister? Girl, I knew u wen u posted dat ur new bb porche with ur horror n dry hands n terrifying make up, not as an actress o! If u re an A listed y com here to beg pple to follow u on Twitter? Abi u c genevieve dem dey beg followership on LIB? The same Linda Ikeji wey u curse belleful the other day, na her blog u com dey advertise urself? I beg go and sit down under tree make fresh air blow u so dat u go kno Wetin u dey do, cos u lack perspective in ur life.

Jim Iyke said...

Sho? Is susan. Peters now an LIB commentator? You have to be an impostor... I no gree. L̃̾Õ☺Õ̾Ô=D:D=));)ÕÔ☺ÔÕ̾L̃̾

I marvel at d rate illitrates get access to d internet n spill crap on LIB...r u for real? So Dangote, Aki n Pawpaw and other male awardees have p**sy? *faints*

#Queeny!

Oh shut up...I bet u would feel same if u were in his shoes...Let him be presented with d award first then he can reject it...mtcheeeeeeeeeeew!

#Queeny!

Lol @ the rest of us commenting on this blog. But actually that's my thought too. He should be happy cos the caliber of people collecting the awards these days are simply not worth it

Makeover by T.E.J.U said...

@ Dr Q....#Lobatan oooooo

Lmfao!

Makeover by T.E.J.U said...

He is Worth more than their fake award, some1 shud please give him that Orientation

The fact is that they didn't even consider him at all . Which in itself is sad

Award wey some dey reject na some dey count. It think we should thirst for God's award.

He has a national award OON officer of the Order of the Naija giving to him by the Yar adua regime

Tola Abegunde said...

( -̩̩̩͡˛ -̩̩̩͡ ) why evuls??? *LMAO*

He has our award - the people's award. He is an extremely talented actor and is very versatile in his roles and well spoken.

he should think of other things, award will not bring food to his table. Award that good Nigerians are rejecting that is what he is crying for

He has every right to be bitter. He had given so much in the movie industry.
I know how it feels for one's effort is not recognised.

I don't know why this man is being so bitter about not getting a national award- in fact, he should even count himself lucky that he is not in company with all the other thieves and robbers who have been given such national awards- i mean, who wants to be in the company of the likes of Obasanjo and IBB???

Choi!! i cannot stop laughing. "Aki n Pawpaw have received national honours award for being fool on tv" this is bad.

mama somtee said...

Dr Q , but you enjoyed all the comforts the senetor's money bought oooh , maybe cos he is seeing other babes and the attention is longer there , or perhaps he decided to marry one small uni abuja babe , you are now angry.
No let person drive you from your load , since they established EFCC how many senators have been jailed , aaabeg do not let Alfonso cook peppersoup for another person oooh , no take yanga and sakara lose oooh ----- me i don talk .

Richard Mofe Damijo said...

Jim Iyke and Susan Peters, me nko?

orange said...

My first degree was in Theatre Arts and second in Mass communication. So I speak from a point of knowledge. We thespians know that Justus is a legend. I feel very disappointed that he s angry at not being nominated. If he is expecting the likes of people who nominated Aki and pawpaw, Genevieve and Stephanie Okereke to nominate him, then he has rubbished his contributions to the Art and his talent as an Artist. The calibre of people who nominated the aforementioned people are not knowledgeable. They have no capacity to recognize raw talents when they see it. Where is Genevieve's professionalism. Where ia Ajki and Pawpaw's. These are people who are stuck characters, who deliver lines like poem recitals. If they were looking for raw talents, where did they put Bimbo Akintola, Akin Lewis, Funke Akindele, Oga Bello (Yoruba genre) to mention but a few. Imagine Stephanie Okereke playing a mad woman and see if she will be able to dance palongo with her straight jacketed, aristocratic mien. Soon now, Omotoal Jalaade will pay her own quid to be nominated. We all know their games and are following them doggedly. The award goes to the highest bidder. Why haven't Nigeria given this miserable award to Professor Adelugba of U.I. The grand commander of Theatre itself. Who looked his way when he celebrated his 70th birthday. Why wasn't the ward given to Professor Osanyin posthumously. Nigeria watched the man die in abject penury haven given so much. Why haven't they given Professor Duro Oni, with all of his contributions to the Art. These are the people who taught the Arts in its raw state and gave Thespians a pride of place. Or are thier rewards in heaven?. My people, Nigeria is full of shit. (apologies). And cannot be better until we stop gratifying flesh and extolling mediocrity. A nation rule by average and plagued by self will remain crippled forever except a miracle happens.we are too full of SELF.