Question of the day | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 2 April 2012

Question of the day

After working and saving for over two years, you're now worth 5.7 million.(Cash balance in your account). Then you now find yourself on the other side of the law.

6 months in prison or five million naira fine. What will you do?

145 comments:

Can i stay in Reddington hospital for those 6 months under hospital arrest?? if yes, i'm keeping my hard earned 5.7M men!!!!

6 months sharp sharp! It's not a death sentence lol

Atobatele said...

Wil i because of money go to jail? If i can save the money then dere's possibility of getting anoda moni in the meantime. I would rather pay the fine than goin to jail.

Jeph said...

Definitely I'll pay the fine because living free outside guarantee hope to make more money.

@_deyemi said...

Buy treasury bills and take d 6 months all expense paid vac in prison

Shay na goats dey go prison?. But goat no fit worth that amount. So ama visit the prison, come back to ma cool cash turn the story around with a mad /lucrative business success. YUP!.

Aminu Tukur said...

hahaha! Linda, I ll go to that jail, come out and become Naija's President QED. inspired by OBJ.

Oge (NR) said...

Abeg give me the 6 months jare.. I will use it to think about what I'll use the 5 mil to do as soon as I get out of jail

Kelly said...

Linda which akin question is dis one...so I shld go n dash a country's government am sweat? If dey find me guilty I will quietly go n spend d 6months in jail o... After all was it not just yesterday we were shouting happy new year ..we r Already in d 2nd quarter of d year.. No time... Kelly

Are u fucking kidding? I can never give naija govt my hard earned money! I will do my 6mths n come out wit a tattoo n a rap song!

6months in prison biko. What is 6months of doing nothing compared to 2yrs of labour. It's not even as if going to prison in Nigeria will hinder your employment prospects. 6months jare....which kain question be this sef?!

~ Menakaya's Baby.

wtf linda....i ll gladly serve d 6months in prison...lol

Kanyinulia said...

This is very tough...if u choose 6 months in prison you become and EX CONVICT when your out...You better give them the money after all u saved it up in just a couple of years...With a lot of zeal and hardwork, more will come.

Wil pay the fine, criminal record is worse trust me. Ha!

bunmi237 said...

I'D PAY TO AVOID JAIL FAST!

the white enchantress said...

hmmmm...wat did i do to get behind bars? dat will determine spending or keeping the hard earned cash....but e hard sha.

bunmi237 said...

I'd pay fast! i can't drop "MR" foe "EXCON" lai lai. It would work against my political ambition!

SIM said...

you are actually spending JUST 90 OR MAYBE 92 NIGHTS in prison against 10yrs of saving dude do the math 3MONTHS AGAINST 10YRS...I'M SO GOING INTO THE PRISON AND DON'T MIND SPENDING 500K TO BE THE BOSS MAN IN THERE,TOSH MY SPACE AND BALL IN MY BOX.....

i won't even think twice about it. Will do d time....6 months in prison shekena. Afterall no be 6 yrs

â„“☺â„“ dis question is funny oh,(thinking)6months in prison she,mmmmmm,5million niara????and i saved it for two years,ha will go to prison oh â„“☺â„“, ♍ε̲̣ too like money,lind oh why dis kin question na,come to think of it i fit go the prison i no go come out,wat will now happen to the money???ngo

This people don't know what they re talking about,a day in naija prison is going to b like one hell of a year.abeg I go pay the money o!

With my 5m in mind, 6 months will be lyk 6 days... Time fly, Lol

George A said...

LINDa which kind quastn b dat na,,,, Me i go go jail ooooo.... Waitin happy

dboymeme said...

Paying the fine also puts you into the
records FYI. So why not relax for six months and come out with a bang. Lol

dboymeme said...

Paying the fine also puts one into the records, so why not spend six months in the prison and come out with a bang..lol

Dhayorr said...

Pls ooo, i wld go for the 6mths, wats d guarantee that i wld make bak my 5M even in one year.

kwase said...

6 months Jor Linda.In Naija,prison doesn't stop any appointment or political career oo,infact it boost ur chances.its not even up to a year sef.

ephee said...

what is the probability that after 6 months you wunt be accused again and moreova hw will u work hard to save another 5 million after being an exconvict.

my own opiniion is i would prefer to spend the 6 months in prison then come out and set up a business of my own which could yeild me another 5 million.

Go 6 months jail sharp sharp abeg... with rent free and no bills to pay mean while 5 million is yeilding some great interest in the bank... Nothing Spoil jor!

@anon 6:22 naija no be d place ppl border abt criminal record.obasanjo enter prison but e come later b our president. check all d rich and respected guys in naija majority of them got criminal records. so trust me doin 6months will even groom u to be sucessful in naija. so linda ama do 6months shikina

Oyinkan said...

Even if u pay d fyn,u r stl an ex-convict dts d law.prison calenda is shorta.na 2 go do my 6 months o.

Prison isn't an option and especially in Nigeria.
Kanyinulia; touche!

So long as u've been convicted, paying the fine or spending time in jail doesn't make any difference, you are an ex-convict unless a higher court determines otherwise. I'd rather go to jail that give up 5 mil 4 some govt official to embezzle. Lekwenu m eshishi.

I would pay the fine, I don't need a bad future record so that banks and family won't trust me. By God's grace time go dey to may 100 million.

Kityqueen said...

Looool,i rather pay fine

Gbemmy said...

6 months in prison abeg.

Laila Ikeji said...

6 months for me oooooo

www.lailaikeji.com

Oyenike said...

6 months of course! My money is my money o,nobody should play with it or take it away.

Whether u pay fine or u go to jail, u are an ex-convict once found guilty of a crime. Salisu Buhari cannot vie for public office unless he gets amnesty and it was just N10k fine.

I will jejely go to jail and think of how to erase my conviction record with the smallest amount of money.

@Kanyinulia, only ex-convicts make it in Nigeria. Read: OBJ, Bode George, Timpolo

Croixxx said...

Am so gonna do d tym nd keepin my money,,,cos either ways I'd still av a̷ criminal record so wth

TRENDS by Bukchris said...

Abeg give me the six months ojare. after all prison time is day and night so 6months is 3months.

Ezems said...

Please, let them come and cuff me! 6 months will definitely come to pass.

I'll fix the 5.7 milla in the bank or invest it in something else and go to jail. When i'm out of jail i'll have even more money waiting for me.

Critical observer said...

6months in prison baibi!! b/cos any which ways ill still hv ex-con to my credentials.. im a lawyer so dis-baring go join choi!!!!!!

6 Months in prison if I will also get back to work-__-

Critical observer said...

5.7m can never be commensurate with 6months in prison so its too easy!

Admin said...

LINDA-LINDA, There is an adeage in Yoruba that says, "Oruko rere o san Ju wura ati fadaka lo" A good name is to be more desired than great wealth, also its better than silver and gold.. Once a convict is always a convict with the Tagged EX-CONVICT. So someone should have a second thought.

6 months joor

Y.Tee said...

lol @deyemi. Even if na one year, make i go. ill think of it as taking a break from all the hassles outside. Make the best of the situation and come out with some smashing ideas. 5million ko...

ONOME says..........................
Lollllllllllllllll
The reaction from my fellow Nigerians is hilarious.lolllllll
I can tell that a lot of people would rather go to jail.THis is serious o.I hope say una dey joke o;if not our kids are in trouble o!kai!!
Well in a country where an ex convict became governor and prisoners released became president I see the rather shortsighted reasoning.lolllllll
The question get k legs.First you save for 3 yrs to get 5.7million??Then you are in trouble with the law?Then you have an option of bail 5million or 6months prison time?
Sorry dear,I choose not to answer this rhetorical but k legged question!

jeff said...

i will rather spend d six months in prison than giving them 5m

I prefer 2go 2 prison them no build dat place 4dog abi

Spending 6mnths in jail or paying d fine will make u an exconvict. Payment of d fine render u guilty of d offence,it's a penalty also just like d jail term. Thus it's a matter of preference. I wuld rather do d time!

Uchlady said...

Linda...U no specify which country the prison dey....

Cynthia said...

Linda i hope you are not the one going to prison ooo! Some people said if you stay in jail u will become an ex convict but if u pay the fine u won't.
Are u not paying the fine for crime committed? Will the criminal record be totally wiped off from d police record? So whether u spend d time in jail or pay the fine, u still have a criminal record attached to your name!
As for me, its better to spend that 6 months relaxing in jail at least with the money i will be able to bribe the police to get a personal room. When i come out, spend some thousands on myself to get back in shape. 6 months is not too much.

Well, being a convict is all about being convicted in court, doesn't matter if you go to prison or not. My take though!

no need to think twice on this nah 6 months all the way you think say nah beans to have 5.7 milla no be small thing ohhh for this naija way we dey

This shouldn't be hard. give me 6 months Ma. period. C C

Ofcourse i'll do the jail time. In naija prosin, u can enjoy in jail o. believe me. See Al mustapha na, he was waving and blowing kisses and looked like he just stepped out of his house when he was sentenced. Abeg, i'll spend max 2m naira to make myself extra comfortable if need be. That still leaves me with plenty money. By the way, in naija, being an ex-con can make you become president sef. Check history.

6 months in jail probably get off in 3 months with good behavior, and you come back to your 5.5 million naira or pay 5 million naira avoid jail term but you only have .5million naira gosh which is better? Hope that helps

Pay d money ke hahaha if I hear,wud rather serve d jail term ojare. Yinka

kadri Ayobami said...

I'm I still gonna retain d job dat earned me 5.7million , if so. Jail it is

temibiggs said...

o mehn !!!! hard to choose tho

Going to jail is not something that has no price upon its head especially in Nigeria. An ex-convict is an ex-convict just as a shovel is not a spade. Your career is worth more than 5.7million especially when you have been tagged an ex-convict its difficult getting a job.For the bigger boys plying into politics,no room for ex-convicts even for six months there.

olabanke said...

It isnt 10yrs -life imprisonment..its just six months.i'd'rather do the time than get broke in one day.

I am, the no Sender.

Tufiakwa. Make people tag me jailbird? As kpe say na maka why? If I get brain make over five million once, I go get more brains make upto even ten million. Abeg nothing like good name and flying around as free as a bird, yeah.

Haba Linda if na you nko? Abeg na 6month o no be 6yrs

What made you to be at wrong side of the law?without mincing words ur sudden wealth is I'll gotten that offer is called plea bargain.

Tomiwa said...

Jail? Then I become an ex-convict with a severely bruised a$$hole and a criminal record to lug around?? No thanks!

Lmao!u re just a big clown!

My broda/sister u r an ex-con even if u pay the fine cos u must have been convicted before the sentencing.

QF
na wa ooo...ds is a hard sayin,,,i cnt giv my moni 2naija govt, absolutely impossibl. Havin said dt I thunk il go to prison...pay d officers there a lilttle moni nd bcom d boss in there...wn I com out il make more moni so dt dos dt snt me to jail wil bcom jealous.

Allegra said...

Pay up.........what use is the money if u become tarnished with a criminal record. This is a no brainer.

Pyrexzy said...

prison cant be d best option. For y'all want 2 serve d jail term, wil u b hapi 2 b tagged an ex-convict?

QF
I change my mnd...il pay d moni cos a gud name wt no criminal record is beta dn anyfin else...as long as there is lyf we cn make more moni,besides naija prison is lyk hell. On a second tot or third...y do somfin dt'lll put u on d oda side of law...stay honest nd u can avoid d both.

kiz said...

lmfaoo....see qweshun.as in,ma account dey run away???see this babe oo.nah to serve the time and gerrout and meet ma acct intact oh.

kiz said...

lmfaoo....see qweshun.as in,ma account dey run away???see this babe oo.nah to serve the time and gerrout and meet ma acct intact oh.

i go too go th prison, i will use d 700k to bribe the full prison official so i can live like a king in jail!!

why shud i waist 5m that i suffered so much for abeg 6mnths in jail jor its not 6years!?!?!?

Pay the fine. The money will still go away in something frivolous either way. Ain't spending time in Nigerian slammer for that matter.

Lmao @ "com out wit tattoo n rap song" burst my head!

Chizy K said...

Lol... U just spoke my mind. I'll pretend it's a holiday

Olori said...

Lmao, I didn't have to think twice, 6months in prison ooooo,give dem d 5m ke? I drink? Wats 6 months, not even long enough to carry baby for belle,given that dat one is 9 months.

Bia linda wetin u commit this time?

Lmao true talk

Hahahahaha lmao *die*

I will choose prison first. Then I will take approximately 500K out of that 5 million, to bribe officials to make that 6 months, 1 month. Voila!
I spend 1 month in jail, 500K poorer, but still have 5.2mil left..

just settle yr self with like a million....sebi na naija....u can avoid the jail jo.....i dont think u want to mess with naija prison....have u ever been detained in a police cell?

NorBekee said...

Frenchie said...

6 months in jail is NOTHING
I go do am I'm so not giving shit

6 months come back. Cash bigger. Then go into politics. Become gov or president. Money triples. Chikena

Babe,howz ur blog? I'm a regular visitor. Pls dere is nuffin lik ex-convict in naija. Infact if u go sanko finish,u fit become our country's next president! Lol..Aijay

Looooooool!!!!!! Time flies abi? U too much jor. I concur

Zicolo said...

I will pay them the fucking money. I ain't going to jail o. Who says I can't earn more within 6months?

Lol @ Kelly. Tempting but no, I'll pay the fine. 6 months in prison and I'm an ex-convict and its on record and that may affect my ability to make more money thereafter. I'll pay the fine jor and look for ways to double my money. Valerie.

God 4bid bad thing! Bur i will pay d fine bcos i will def make another money with clean name.iruko rere san ju wura tabi fadaka so we were thot.once a KONVICT always a KONVICT.

easy pay the fine and use the .7mill to make 5mill again, you did it before you can certainly do it again.

Whalai best ans...its just six month I will stay in that prison

Nafisat said...

i will do the time o...money can't waste lol

It will shock u....rem its money that makes money...u can't double it with no cash

my dear u can't save up that money in 6month..rem it took u two years mbut. After dat six months ...u can double that 5m..think again

Hmm 6months I will go and dnt forget they count day and night so its actually 3 months, I will keep my money go do the time and out.

Which part of Nogerian law is worth paying #2 for? How much OBJ pay? And how much did Babangida pay self? As far as I am concerned , those are the worst criminals Nigeria ever produce. How many Nigerians get Identity that could be honestly tracked? Oya ooo, I am keeping my hard earned millions, Prison, I don't give Adamn! What ur surname is, here I come. Linda please post my comment.

Definitely the 6 month in prison.

Sope Edwards said...

Abeg joor 6 months na beans. I will rather stay in prison for six months. If I pay the fine it will be like staying in jail for 1 year 6 months.

God forbid me from spending one day in prison, i will pay any amount to be a free man..

Linda a thin freedom is better than a fat slavery, my dear people Nigerian prison is not a place to be for even a day. The memories of those six month will linger for years, with all kinds of people no way let them take the cash, when there is life there is hope.
Kristy Ryan Gossling

If i no go 6months jail...slap me.
Diz govt no deserve shishi.

Give someone in the prison system 700k. Enjoy your stay

Ex convict ehn? Ur former president no be ex convict. Mandela no be ex convict. Abeg leave tory. I go come out come run for political office. Lol

Olubunmi said...

If I hear say I go prison!

Did you learn how to read n write from a night school?

Forgiven Girl said...

Lwkmd

Forgiven Girl said...

I will pay d fine o. Money aiint everything!

IMSU Pre-Degree Resumes After Easter Celebration said...

6months sharply. I don't need a pastor to tell me.

Where to purchase Jamb E-Facility Card? said...

Who said criminal record is bad? Don't you know after prison you might become a president? Look at OBJ and Nelson Mandela. Prison straight.

Web_evangelist said...

If i could raise 5.7m in just 2yrs then i should equally be able to raise same amount or more in another 2yrs so i'll pay the 5m and ghen ghen hustling don start again.

Chei 9ja una funny o! Una don 4get how 9ja prison be? Worse dan hell. ♧°˚˚˚°‎​‎​=)) =D♧°˚˚˚°‎​‎​=)) =)) ♧°

ugo frank said...

Lmao...........#rolling

six months in prison I go choose o!...me I knw fit dash naija my hard earned income.dat six months I go use am think of what next I go use d money do.give out the money?no pls

I'll do †Ñ’ξ 6months jor, kilowafa gbo gbo questions?

i go rush serve the punishmnent come rush comot make extra cheddar.come dey laff them lol

Ajoke said...

6 months for sure..though it won't be the best experience, six months isn't very long & it will take you much longer to rebuild that 5 mill.

twinstaiye said...

Linda, I will call it a six month of learning about another side of life. Millionaires had made it look lucrative in Nigeria. Ask Bode George, AlMustapha, Obasanjo, Ibinabo Fiberesima etc.

6 months in prison is just like going to Big Brother house, God forbid prison matter in my life!but sha my 5M go dey cooler dey wait me for d 6 months.

hahahaha! 6 month that's an easy one since is not death sentence, after all 6 month in prison is equivalent to 3 month lol!

Lool @ anon 6:18's comment about coming out with a tattoo and a rap song. Omo! Na to do the six months o, I just need like 500k to settle warders and I'll be balling in prison, eating anything I want and being treated well. When I come out my cool millions will be waiting for. Who talk say person wey don go prison no feel run for office, abegi!

Gboza says:
Linda na which kind question be this na? The responses so far shows that most nigerians are ready to commit crime and go to jail if that will make them become rich. Well, I choose to work hard and save and also ensure that I dont find myself on the other side of the law. The blessing of the Lord makes me rich and adds no sorrow.

ha, i will go to prison straight up, at least that 6 months i will be able to draw my business plan so that i can start ma business when i come out. 6 months is a short time now, before you know it,its gone, but before you make that 5.7million again ehhh.

freshman said...

Getting into the prison would make me an ex-convict for life,which would be in my record.That in turn will affect me negatively in every ramification and survival in our society....To make such cash i know might be a bit hard but just have pay to save my image and future as well.

6 months straight up!!!!!
5M na beans?

RAVEN said...

The fact is u spending 6months in prison, you are already an ex-convict and u know is a tag.Is beta u give them d 5million and save ursef the shame.within dat 6months,if u work hard and with God by ur side hehhehhehehe u would surely make more money.U might even decide to go jail.But remember dat hackers are evrywhere.Even d so cal banks no send anyboby oooooo

Show Entertainment said...

Temmie said...
Dis is very ridiculous, ow can one because of money go to jail. An ex-convict is really not a good initial or name especially if u want to succeed or have a greater prospect both home and abroad. thank God the money is there in the first place to bail yourself, pls, when there is life there is hope. that 5.7 million is not the end of the world.

Abeg! I prefer 6months in prison! 2yrs savings haaa!! I can't shout o!

I will so chose dat prison than use my hard earn money, which I worked hard for 2yrs to save to bail myself! If I hear!

Nigerian Recruitment said...

Linda nah u dey ask that quesition,You know the answer nah.......Abi no be naija we dey again?

I don't know if any one can remember James Ibori's case then when he was running for governorship candidate and his opponent brought it up that he was an exconvict. Guess wat!!! He turned the case around with his money and Judge presiding over the case said he was "sentenced but not convicted hence he was not an exconvict". But the story was that a long time ago before he went to London, just when he finished secondary he was arrested for stealing building materials and sentenced to 3 months. But he wiped d record off with his money some 30 something years after

You guys don't get it! You need to do some more research. Once you are convicted of a crime, whether the punishment is to pay a fine or go to jail, you are an ex-convict! Paying the money/fine does not remove the tag of ex-convict. Do a google/dictionary search.

ok, u go to prison and the next day after you are out, the money got stolen.

money can never take the pale of ur name. The wisest man that ever lived once said
"a good name is better than riches"

Once you are sentenced u hv become a convict! Fine or jail!!!

Of course I will give up the money, afterall it only took me 2 years of hard work to earn it.With my freedom, I can work another 2 years to get back what I lost.What if something happens to me during that 6 months in prison and I'm no longer around to enjoy the 5 million????

Exactly my thought. If na Naija prison i no dey go. I'll pay the fine. Forget the Obj, bode george etc type ex-convict,when a commoner goes to prison,it tells on him/her seriously when he comes out

If na Naija no wahala na,just a week or 2. Give them 200k and them go let you go.