President Jonathan critisized for accepting church building donation | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 3 April 2012

President Jonathan critisized for accepting church building donation

President Goodluck Jonathan is being heavily criticized for accepting a multi-million naira church building donated to him by an Italian construction.

The company named Gitto Construzioni Generali donated the 2,500 seat capacity church building to President Jonathan's home community in Otueke, Bayelsa State.

Question now is: was he right or wrong to accept the donation?

57 comments:

Dalton said...

Yes... Wrong Wrong Wrong

ephee said...

its ok as long as its for God

Rock princess said...

it is illegal under the Constitution and the Code of Conduct.

It is highly improper if he accepted it..whether it is a Church or not,its immaterial..the receipt by a Public Officer of any gift or benefit from any persons who have contracts with the Govt shall be presumed to have been received in contravention, obviously the Contrctors aim was to bribe him,we all know the President presides over the award of contract in the Villa..normally this should be an impeachable offence but i trust Nigeria,this would go away slowly the same way OBJ's own did.

wrong in what way? he wont be at the church or collect their money...i dont get it because u didnt say the point of view of those criticising..they just built a church and presented it to him? Ok thanks dont know if theres any harm in that

I thought they have policies that restrict workers from accepting gifts from people because it makes others who don't get any feel demotivated and bad. But since it wasn't directly given to him, but to his community, I don't see the big deal in it. Was it donated to him or the community cus we should make that clear. He is not the community so it doesn't have much to do with him if it was given to the community and not him directly.

Pls can you create a room on your blog where people can air their opinions about TB Joshua? pls? just post something (no bad o) and let's just see people's reaction? what church do u attend Linda?

A gift with no strings attached is fine but in the position he occupies, it appears favors are being bought and he should be accepting gifts from anybody.
Now my real issue is with the ugliness of the building? Is that the best they could come up with?

We are so done with these unimaginative ugly designs. wake up your ideas

Rock princess said...

Its improper if he accepted it.

It is illegal under the Constitution&the Code of Conduct..the receipt by a Public officer of any gifts or benefits from any persons who have contracts with the Govt shall be presumed to have been received in contravention.whether it is a Church or not it is immaterial,obviously the Contractors aim was to bribe him. this is not strange,OBJ was guilty of this offence too,normally this should be an impeachable offence but Corruption will forever soil this country's image.

Samuel said...

Linda! I'm surprise that you posted this story too! Church is a place of worship for people and not a personal property, so why is it wrong for a President to accept a gift to his people? People should go to rest and leave an insignificant matter to be joor! I'm sadden how people reason and how we leave important issues to discuss less important issues. May God help us.

emm abeg Linda before you spread misinformation the building was not donated it wsa only refurbished by the company...and the president did not request it. it was the village people from d community that approached the company n they obliged.

the white enchantress said...

he was wrong to accept it judging from the fact that he fired waziri for the same offence

Pls donate it to the catholic community in otueke

Amarachukwu said...

Linda, try and evaluate every rumour you publish on your blog BEFORE publishing. I dont care about GEJ but if the picture that you show is the "2500" seat multi million naira Church, Then Bill Gate is my younger brother.

It should have been donated to the community in GJ's name not to him directly.

He shud be ashamed of himsef!

Atobatele said...

From the reports and reactions on the matter, it appears the President did not ask for the gesture. May be the Italians, for only God knows reasons, decided to help the community from where our dear President comes and Mr. President sees it as normal acts of devotion by good people in the service of God. The matter is now a subject of discussion because the President, who is sincere and too open to a fault decided to speak about it apparently because he does not see any string attached or is not even looking at it with the question mark on the morality of the gesture. The observations drawing the attention of Mr. President to do the correct thing is good but i personally don’t see it as deliberate violation of the law by Mr. President. I heard when the President confirmed the story at the dedication of the Church. It is a conflict of interest. The former President did the same thing by inviting government contractors to donate to his library project. Therefore, a precedent was set. If not stopped, it shall continue after Jonathan’s tenure. The National Assembly needs to craft a law specifically banning the President, Governors, all appointed and elected officers from accepting such gifts, if the present law is not strong enough. G

It could also be GEJ vilified for rejecting a church building. A church is better than a shrine.

http://mondaytech.blogspot.com said...

I dont see anything wrong in for president jonathan to accept the gift. It was donated to him, so why are people criticising him, they should shut their mouth n concentrate.
JAMB 2012 E-FACILITY CARD IS OUT CHECK HERE

It's a subtle way to bribe their way to get contracts. They should have donated it without involving Jonathan.

Dkay said...

the question is why would a church donate such to the president when there are people who desperately need such help. this church people sef before you know it now they'll start disturbing church for donationss.. (rolling eyes)

He's wrong! The president has no business collecting favours from anyone while he serves his tenure cos it will be looked upon as the person wanting the favour back in one million folds which will be at the expense of the country he serves! Did he not read it in his constitution before he took the oat of service? D rule of law does not allow that! And Obama too can never accept such gifts cos its against the laws of america. Even d italian company don't they know it wrong to give any president in office gifts? If their country law says no y think africa wil be different? If jonathan na mumu wey no sabi anythin is the italian company not supposed to know better? Jonathan risk impeachment with this action if he knows what good for him he should quickly reject the offer before the law catch up with him! No president of the world is to accept good will(s) for his personal/community gain except that given to the country at large! He has no business collecting egunje/ side gifts! The constitution says so! Ode... He is not bayelsa's president but nigeria's president so he better act like one and not sectionize it! Am south-south by d way and a christian too!

tunmi said...

The writing is suspect: "The company...donated the...building to President Jonathan's home community..."

Was the building donated to Jonathan or the community in Otueke, Bayelsa?

If the building was donated to the community, then Jonathan should have kept quiet and let the community leaders handle it. If the building was donated to Jonathan...that's slightly bad and to avoid bad press, he should donate it to some community.

This man no sabi d koko sef. Nah him put im self for this mess. E go open mouth say nah him ask for the church wen befit Otuoke. He needs lessons from IBB,Obj and co. He's aides hints the construction company and they put it up for oga. No question. No ceremony. At least your people know say nah your influence. You no need to voice everything. Even sef, that construction company, nah yeye one. See the crappy job sef. The church no fine sef.

Why his village or are you saying it's a good example?

My chinese boss once told me that Nigeria is not yet ripe for democracy thats why we aint growing.if one good thing is about to happen some bad belle people in the name of democracy will spoil it n thats why its difficult for our leaders to do something meaningfull,because some people somewhere are not happy.....harrison

His big mouth got him into trouble or was it the speech writer?

I dont understand, is president Jona a pastor abi wetin hin wan carry church do? Oh I get it!!...a place for his political cronies to donate stolen money and no one will question abi?

jescci said...

And he was openly showing gratitude.I tire for ds Naija public officials o.

He didn't do nytn wrng besds he wl stl gv it out to d commnty.

hmm..na wa o..must dy donate church buildn,wat happend 2 hospitalz,skulz or oda parastatalz....bt ioknw sha o ..e get as e b

Cherrie_Jo said...

Linda it was not a church building donation, it was a renovation of d old church. Check thisday newspaper of today 03/04/12.
As for whether he was supposed to accept or not, is he d pastor or owner of the church? Why shud u ask dt question?
Guests came for his father's burial saw d state of d old church and donated to renovate it, saw what's bad in that?
Biko hapu nwoke nmadu aka. *side eye

I don't see anything wrong in Jonathan accepting this donation as long as the company is not using it to buy influence

Nothing is wrong with it. Its all for his community advancement

It is BLOODY WRONG!!!! No question about that?

What a stupid question..

I don c anytin wrong in acceptin a gift. Its jst a gift nah. Bt who knws, u knw nah! Sometimes, gifts r reciprocal. *winks*

Nigerian said...

WETIN CONCERN UNA??? Especially when it's for the community.

Why don't they just renovate 9ja for him while they are at it abi they didn't notice that his country too is run down? Mtchew . Ijeoma

very smart GEj..but u not fooling us..this is the new style of collecting bribe abi making sure it doesn't come back to you..like the Italian mafia!!

PPL SHOULD STOP BEING STUPID IN SOME CERTAIN THING. IF IS SOME OF U WHO ARE CRITICIZING HIM U WILL ACCEPT THINGS MORE THEN THIS. WHAT DID THIS MAN DO, WHY IS PPL TALKING SOMETHING THAT HAS NO MEANING TO SOMETHING, IF HE GO LEAVE PPL WILL TALK, HE TRAVEL PPL WILL TALK, BECOX HE IS THE PRESIDENT, HE WILL NOW BELONG WATER THAT DOES NOT TIRE TO RUN. PLS U PPL SHOULD USE UNA SENSES AND REMOVE JEALOUS OUT AND SUPPORT THIS MAN. BOKO HARAM GO BOMB SOME WHERE PPL WILL START BLAMING JONATHAN LIKE SAY BEING A PRESIDENT MEAN TO BE SLEEPING WITH EVERY NIGERIAN TO GUIDE THEM INSTEAD OF LOOKING UPON GOD FOR GUIDING

Why all the Quoting of constitution... That A public Office holder should not accept gifts while in office? Was it for hm or his family, abeg make una chill jare leave GEJ. Femi Falana and Co, go and rest.

Laila Ikeji said...

ACN wants national assembly to start impeachment proceeding against jonahan for ds already oo. ds matter no go die down like dat.

acn was quoting one act, section this section that that prohibit jonathan from accepting such gifts. that afterall the company in question is known for having gotten many contracts frm fed govt wch they poorly executed.

when most northern governors use public funds to build mosque and sponsor other programmes, nobody talks. when a president accepts a renovation project, every tongue wags. there are other pressing issues that the civil groups should focus, not this. LINDA....NEXT....

Lets just say this is ditto doing it's own CSR. Qalash!

Power is power said...

Jonathan is just stupid. Even if it was beyond him to refuse the gift, he shouldn't have openly acknowledged it as a sitting president. This gesture indirectly shows the populace making up Nigeria is foolish and the leaders we have had are simply put... Fools. Nigeria basically remains and would continue to remain backward period. This country devalued the naira in 1982 to encourage FDIs and increase the possibility of diverse investments not caring about the untold hardship it would bring to its citizens and false promises. Look at where we are today -insulted by every country the world over! Shame!!! And Linda u too need some long term foreign exposure. 2 weeks in the states and 1 week in Kenya / SA ain't snuff

Its shit like this that gets Boko Haram pissed.

He should not only be criticized, he should be asked to step down. This is betrayal of public trust. The next thing one would hear is: it's a gift, and he is not in control of what one intends to give. Oh yeah?

If we are practicing democracy, we must also practice democratic values. Why is it that there is no legislation prohibiting public officials from accepting gifts worth more than N1000.00 (one thousand naira); such legislations are practiced in Europe and America. Someone should ask the Italians Company if they have ever given gifts to their Govt? This is why when they go back home, they ridicule us and say everything is possible in a Third-World Country. Simply put, our integrity is gone. Its naive to call criticism, jealousy. If you can't take the heat, why become a public figure? ...NYC-1

With Italy being the sick man of Europe, no future for their economy, they come again to Africa where mugu leaders who do not know their worth allow them to lobby to get contracts they could only dream of. They now have access to ply their cowboy illegal substandard buildings. Once again Nigeria being sold down the river, just like old times, I GIVE YOU A MIRROR YOU GIVE ME 1000 SLAVES. WHEN WILL WE LEARN

Stupid people! No regard for God,.. Do you knw how much is spent on biuiding of mosques and running alamajiri schools from the national treasury, how many of you have yet benefited from the bilions used for islamic banking..which the so called constitution is against.. None of you bloggd abt it.. Idiots

That's not the real church.I have seen it and it looks nothing like this

Its amazing hw pple jst wnt let dis TBjoshua topic be.jst post something nd then u say not bad o!mscheew puleeze onto more interesting topics!its her prerogative to decide wats news nd wats not abeg!

I thot so too!really ugly nd substandard looking building!

QF
hmmm...i smell somfin fishy

kinky babe said...

what is wrong with us in dis country?wt has Jonathan done? i don't c anything wrong he has done 4 accepting gift if it were 2 be u n i we would do more was it bcos it was announded?wt if he had decided to keep it secret people would still say rubbish dt jonathan kept it 2 himself and wants 2 use d money 4 his family,i tire 4 some people oooo if dey give ur family money as gift don't collect it oo just tell d person thank u n leave.

in a professional world, taking a donation of that magnitude is WRONG especially when you occupy a position where public interest is of utmost importance.
In ppple's minds, you took the donation today to award construction contracts worth billions of dollars later.
Whatever sha! Ibi te ba ba Nigeria de..........

Olah

Gitto construction is known for that gesture which they did for obasanjo in abeokuta. is it not crazy donating a church to a president and the president collects it and will not even feel ashamed of hinmself. German president resigned on alleged accusation of collecting bribe. that is what we call integrity.we have lost integrity in our country so dont blame him for collecting bribe.

Nigerian Recruitment said...

Na dem sabi