Photo of the day | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 3 April 2012

Photo of the day

Why are pregnant women not exempted from NYSC?

71 comments:

neeyee said...

They r actualy! Diz probably got preggy during d servic year!

Olusegun said...

This one N̶̲̥̅̊α real matter swallow comment. Lemme jez sit back, relax & enjoy what others hv to say..... ђξя̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ my Alomo.
....Olusegun

Why are pregnant women not exempted from education? they are supposed to be given all B's or possibly all A's sef because they are pregnant. Why are pregnant women not exempted from working? they should just be paid salaries until they are able to work again. We, women like to play feminist card...

They're commiting an offence by tieing the jacket around their waist.

Lin! I don't know why dis our Country too dey behave uncivilized! This women are at great risk! The taught of the rigor and stress is just Na Wa o! Eeehn! Don't they factor Safety in ds dia NYSC thing at all!

Because they charted their own path to carry a child during NYSC. They have calculated all this and saw that the pregnancy will be almost due during their NYSC.

they are true nigerian

NKECHI said...

Lol. I can't laugh.

Str8FrmDaHips said...

how can pregnant women be in camp..beggars belief..the able ones that got killed the other day the govt turned a blind eye..if anything happens to the baby out there think dem send u!!..and NYSC is tough..energy exerting..

Ms Flinstone said...

Is dt why we are here?? Over sabi, simple question u know understand, linda asked y are preggy women allowed into d nysc camp, u dey talk rubbish...

Croixxx said...

Pregnant women are not allowed in camp but D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ cannot be exempted 4rm NYSC totally...for what reason?????if yur heavily pregnant b4 yur service year den delay U̶̲̅я service. #shikena#

ade said...

nigerians sha and their humor!!!
feminist card? if you came out of your mum's womb with congenital defect, you'd realize is not feminist card. its a public health issue that can affect us all.

and they shd have planned it? do these women look like 23yr old kids to u?...am sure they can plan to finish their phD before they start a family. Esp when their husbands are not waiting...

ppl just need civilization

blame ASUU

Hehehe Ms flinstone oti take e P. Yinka

First of all, God bless anon@ 8.25pm. Those women are at great risk. When I served 2 ladies were. Turned bac cos the officials checking in thot they were preg as; they took the tests and of course were pregnant. They were not allowed to continue.....now my confusion is this almost popping pregnancies. I wonder which ropes they can climb in this state. Anon8.47pm u have absolutely no idea so shut the hell up Biko nu!

See question o! U think say dem no wan follow chop brokos too?

The women enjoy it o. When I was on camp they were begged every day to go home but dem no gree go house.

These women are @ great risk. A friend told me sme days after ds batch came outta orientation camp! That his cousin had to leave the camp bcos she was experiencing sharp stomach pains (She was pregnant! And was allowed in camp. She had to leave the camp nd was rushed bck to Lagos. As at the time my friend was reporting this story to me, he was just returning from the Cemetary. As his said Cousin suffered complications and died. This is no fiction @ all. Happened ds year. So doz sayn smethng abt Feminist Card, should think safety first. I think it doesn't make sense @ all accomodating pregnant women in this NYSC tin! @ least for the unborn children's sakes biko!!!

From camp yes bt not nysc.

Makeover by T.E.J.U said...

Jus came out of Ogun camp! Those women refused to gohome even after registering!they stayed n ensured D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ got their 2500 allowances and 19800 monthly allowi! U know Nigerians na! Money is eerything !,they need d cash o, u know ow much *huggies is ni!

Cherrie_Jo said...

Pregnant women are not allowed in camp. I have it on good authority cos I'm currently serving, batchB 2011. The only thing is dt d pregnant women come to camp d first day of registration and then go back home for d duration of camp. On d last day, they come back for their posting letters.
If u check behind d standard nysc call-up letter, u'll see 'nysc is baby-friendly'. They are absolutely exempted from camp. If u see any pregnant woman on camp, u knw she chose to stay there.

I get belle platoon. lol

Hairess™ Human Hair said...

Na wa! They r supposed to b hiding o cos dis is supposedly not allowed in 9ja! Anyway nothing is impossible in dis country.

Exempt.

Estee said...

@Anon,10:19pm and Linda. Pregnant women are not allowed in camp-at least not if the officials have knowledge of the pregnancy. If they are visibly pregnant, they wont be allowed into camp by the officials but I think they get placements to work after the camp is over. The thing is that some of them love the fun of camp and just wont stay away. During my time, I knew of a few of them who were pregnant albeit not visibly in camp with us. When one of them was asked, she said thats what she wanted and she did everything to ensure that the soldires didnt notice her slightly protuding tommy. A few of them who were noticed were sent home. So, I do not think NYSC is to blame really. And I think these ones in the pics are not in camp. Probably in some Local Govt office where they dont have to do anything...

Sad story indeed....but den again if she was pregnant and in camp it means she smuggled herself in without d knwladge σƑ app authorities cos pregnant women married nd unmarried are not allowed in camp for any rzn watsoeva.

Nobody forces anyone to do their NYSC at a particular time. If u're pregnant stay at home for ur health and continue later, don't go to camp expecting them to exempt you, u think say Nigerian government sigh u?? Anything that happens to you u're strictly OYO...And in dis age pregnancy is not an accident, if u know u must do ur NYSC dis year why not take precaution and get pregnant after!!

Miaz Thots said...

Na real personal....lwkmdieee

Miaz Thots said...

So you are trying 2say this ladies sat down and planned it ie they wil tell their husbands "honey pls let's quickly do it now so i can be pregnant during nysc"..Such brilliancy **sarcastic luk**...ya obviously a guy.

Miaz Thots said...

Na real personal....lwkmdieee

Don't mind dem joor!dey enjoy it at least bcos if dey don't want it dey can @ least delay it abi no b so?

madam linda,they are exempted,this is POP-Passing out parade!

Pregnant women r allowed into camp bt exempted for physical training activities.dey are usually sent home on completion of registration nd allowed back at d end of camp to get postings to deir primary assignment.any pregnant woman involved in strenous activities probably did so of her own volition nd I saw some during my service year.dey were not allowed into camp at all initially bt someone played d feminist card nd fought nysc so hard dat dey had to stop d usual pregnancy test dey did b4 any female entered camp.maybe all dese was done only at d camp I served sha

If you don't know about something, its best u not comment! Pregnant women are only to come to camp on the first day and do their registration, after which they're to go back and only return on the last day to collect their posting letters. In kaduna, during registration, they even have their own special attendants, they don't line up for anything. So be sure of wat u're saying before you open ur mouth.

Any pregnant woman you see on camp, is there on her own account nobody send her. And like someone rightly pointed out, this pic might not have been taken on camp.

QF
ds luks awfully ridiculous....wats d essence of servis anyway nd will dey b abl to achieve d true essence, or dey jst there 4d name sake.

Fingers crossed

they dnt do all doz activities.. As a matter of fact they are sent home after registration, and only come bak 4 their redeployment or postin letter...so no fear, their condition is considered..

Pregnancy is not a disease! Preggy women are in d corporate world & work until their EDD. 2ndly; ladies can learn 2 plan their pregnancies such dat they're not abt 2 pop during d 3 weeks in Camp - and 4 d record NYSC does exempt dem from all strenous activities

I tink its outrageous n dy shud nt b allowed to serve while pregnant

Femiluv said...

What a joke! Joke #1: NYSC Joke #2: Pregnant women during NYSC

Adeyinka said...

wetin person go call this one now ehn??? Association of Pregnant Corps members...o ga oh.... e go dey alright

this one na no story.
rather talk about how married women sleep around in NYSC camp.

Are you sure they are not in it for the "allowi?" Free money is good.

Abeg shut up! What do u know? Pregnant women are exempted from d nysc scheme, read the NYSC Act. Olodo

serving corper said...

Sister Linda, pregnant women are usually not allowed into orientation camp, but people dey runs am sha. But if u get preggers during d service year, that's ur business.

Abeg shut up! What do u know? Pregnant women are exempted from d nysc scheme, read the NYSC Act. Olodo

Ronny said...

Thot they(NYSC) use to do pregnancy test for ladies aftermath of d incidence that happened during Batch A stream 1 orientation camp in Borno state in 2008(my set)when a pregnant Corp member almost died after having a ruptured ectopic pregnancy! they have already forgotten that incidence cos its obvious these ladies are pregnant and should not be allowed into d orientation camp no matter what! anyway, na Naija we dey

KINKY BABE said...

support wt anon 10:19 said preg women are nt suppose 2 be allowed in camp cos of d babies dey are carrying in their womb wt if something happens?bt God 4bid so sorry about wt happened 2 d late woman dey must ave warned her 2 stay @ home n wait 4 d next batch bt insisted she goes now luk @ where it has landed her may she RIP.2 be forewarned is 2 b forearmed.

Ronny said...

Dont get,is this orientation camp or after?

Olodo lik u. Pregnant women do serve just dat dey won't participate during d mornin drill and all dat.

Alaran Wonder said...

Behold, welcome to the world of disable corpers.

Nkechi,u fall my hand.Lol means laugh out loud.So that "I can't laugh" in your statement makes no sense.U̶̲̥̅̊,Atobatele and Bamidele should stop dropping stupid comments just because u r jobless.

OnileEre! said...

Who is this anonymous opposing everybody like this? But seriously i'm enjoying him/her. Come to think of it na true o. How you go write lol come follow write i cant laugh?

disabled corpers indeed.xoxo

Why should they be exempted? They should lose a year and come back later for NYSC but they don't want to.

doll (retired blogger) said...

i don't think the picture was taken in camp! post camp anybody can carry belle officially na!

NKECHI said...

@Anonymous april 4 :2012, 2:43am Am glad you acknowledged your cowardice by commenting as Anonymous. Be bold and comment with your name and pics like I do, then I will respond to u. For now, lets assume u don't exist.

ephee said...

na ageing cause am.and also the fear of quick sex at camp.lol

Madam Nkechi,so those who comment as 'anonymous' are cowards
????

You sound like that cretin bloglord.
If you have nothing sensible to say,kindly do yourself a favour and shut up.
P:S I'd rather an anonymous that makes sense that the I- put- my- picture-and-name comments that are just like bottled farts.

I think they are supposed to be exempted from camp but for some reason they appear to love it! They had to chase them away when I was at camp.

NYSC DISTURBED WORKER said...

I work with NYSC and from the get go pregnat women were not allowed to serve until they have their babies , due to the risk involved ,
But when Brig Gen Tziga came into the scheme , his daughter was due to serve and he bent the rule , thereby allowing them to serve ( see how they run the country ) And that is why they were calling him granpa .
But these pregnat women are an embarrasment to the scheme , which reasonable employer will allow them to work in their state , some will not be well dressed , they are not articulate , and often sluggish , they will carry their pregancy and drag another child , it is a big shame they are roaming all over the place because they do not add any value to anything .
All they want is the 19,800 naira , left to a lot of us they should be banned because they are not productive and a waste of money .
The new Dg should look into this embarrasment , and ban them from partipitating .

I tnk ds mr/ms anonymous is just one bitter person..u obviously need help..u don't correct pple with such vituperations..like u hav issues wt dem.,u were probably abused as a child..go c a shrink b4 u implode

NKECHI said...
Triple-Tee said...

@NYSC DISTURBED WORKER,

I find your comment derrogative and agree that you are really disturbed.
How dare you say "... pregnant women are an embarrasment to the scheme,". That's very rude and dull of you. What's the discrimination about being pregnant? You are an embarrassment to the NYSC foundation.
You asked "... which reasonable employer will allow them to work in their state?" Tell me what law forbids pregnant women to work or employers to hire pregnant women?
You utter "...some will not be well dressed...". Who says so? My friend are you still in the 14th century? Are you blind to see sexy-dressed pregnant women of today?
Again you say "... They are not articulate...". That's a baseless argument. Even non-pregnant women and the men (you inclusive) can also not be articulate, but that doesn't make it an "only-pregnant-women" affair.

You add "...and often sluggish they will carry their pregancy and drag another child...". That Is true for EVERY HUMAN BEING. But have you not heard of "pregnant and smart” women? Or is it becos they are pregnant that they should abandon their [an]other child? Please be wise!
You claim "...is a big shame they are roaming all over the place because they do not add any value to anything". I tell you that you are valueless for thinking such about pregnant women, a means thru which you came to this world.
You then conclude that "...All they want is the 19,800 naira , left to a lot of us they should be banned because they are not productive and a waste of money...". I can't help but add that your mother (bless her wherever she is) could possibly have been unproductive and a waste of money, YES cos she was pregnant and I guess she worked as well. But guess what?! My mother had value, was productive, very sexy and smart while working as a pregnant woman. If yours wasn't, then don't insult others here ok. Think before you talk!!!!

I pity the girl in the right corner, She'll wud be the errand girl of the clique

@ tripple tee Gbam cz u hav said it all

NYSC DISTURBED STAFF said...

@ Triple Tee ===== i bet you are one of those useless pregnat copers parading up and down the place , come to abuja and see your likes looking like garri soaked for three days , what value biko have you and your likes adding in your state , when you come for CD is to complain about the communal work , to line up and sign ,na wahala , all you want is to collect the money at the end of the day, they are a bloody waste of money , i stand by it , if u no like am HUG TRANSFORMER ,

Diamond Queen said...

@ Triple Tee, You gave the best response. You touched all the areas and also very constructive with ur words. I think NYSC DISTURBED WORKER is nothing but a male chauvinistic animal that hides under the umbrella of a man U dare come here and insult pregnant women, I presume u fell down from the skies and didn't have to be born by a pregnant woman. Am sure ur type would beat ur partner. Ur words carry do much hatred for women even gays don't have such hate. U're the most clueless prick I ever read on a blog. U're notin but a nicompoop. Onyionshi... Shege Barawa Bansa

Is the NYSC actually legal ? does it not amount to some form of economic subsidy? well the world doesn't care right now because its a complete failure....
Any way just asking...

Guys.. And ladies too..this is naija..the law is always on paper..but the practice is far from what the law says. Yes nysc stiipulates that pregnant women should be exempted from a host of activites..sure..but in reality, unless you meet some good christain or muslim with human sympathy, you're going no where. I know a lot of preg women during camp and in my cds who had no choice but to continue suffering. Either that or they relate with their z.I or l.I and you know what that means.And woe betide that woman if she's just a baby mama not a wife..smh..then even the officials will make fun of her..the only part of nysc law that works is for married women with their complete documents for redeployment..I.e marriage cert, newspaper name change nd affidavit.And even then..they will still have no come 4 cds preg or not..or they pay up. And that fellas..is naija for u.