Nigerian movie marketers planning to stop Africa Magic from showing Nollywood movies | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 4 April 2012

Nigerian movie marketers planning to stop Africa Magic from showing Nollywood movies

At a press conference this afternoon at O'Jez bar and restaurant at the national stadium in surulere, Nigerian movie marketers said they are planning to stop DSTV channel - Africa Magic, from showing Nollywood films. They said they decided to take this action and plan to formally write to DSTV in the coming days, because of the drastic decrease in sales of Nollywood movies in the last few years.

It seems Nollywood movie lovers have stopped buying movies and now wait to watch it for free on Africa Magic. And y'all think it's Africa Magic's fault and not the quality of your movies? #justasking

57 comments:

Get a contract rather than stopping them cos i bet u those sales arent going to be like before times do change bruv.

Dey shuld go n rest jor!*big hissssssssss*hungry pple...

=))º°˚˚˚°ºнaĦaнaº°˚˚˚°º‎​=)). Africa magic is even helping them who will buy when they can rent.they should make a contract with the station.

Thk u o,infact dey r fools bcos afmag neva shows a new movie,lailai.in short des days its so annoyin,and again I tot dey had a contract,I dnt tink dey show deir movies jst 4 free lik dt

I bought a nolly movie for 500 bucks recently first it was 4 cd,s and half of each movie was preview of lousy films,swore never to buy again.

Str8FrmDaHips said...

This are the people not allowing Nollywood folk make money instead of hustling politicians!!...and those brats in Alaba..

i don't watch dstv, cause i'm not in naija, but if they stop showing movies, i'm certainly not buying...the most I will do is go see the ones that show in the cinema. Right now, irokotv is showing free movies on their website and plan to start charging; as soon as they start charging i'm out! lol all the movies i've watched on irokotv aren't worth buying anywaz...besides when i watch those naija/ghana movies, it's due to joblessness.
Z

Kbouy said...

Interesting they are just been myopic dstv pays btw $1000 to$ 10,000 to air those movies.

Essien Riches said...

Mscheeeww!!!
Hear the rubbish. Are their movies better than the foreign movies d same dstv shows?
Work on ur movies jaare and stop making excuses for ur failures.

Stopping africa magic from showing the movies wont necessarily help their sales.....hwo 'bout peeps like me that watch online?

Good riddance I stopped watched watching Africamagic few years back heard its even more annoying now I beg dstv should give the slot to another station jo then Nollywood producers will learn the hard way they sholud be greatful to Dstv for helping their career sef mumu people.

Lilspicer said...

IS ON FAIR AN ILEGAL U MUST PAY THE OWNER TO SHOW HIS/HER MOVIE HW DO U THINK PEOPLE WOULD BUY WHEN DEY KNOW IT WULD BE FREE ON T.V HOW?

Are they not happy that AFMAG is promoting our culture,lang n norms?Are they not in contract with MNET?Wat abt piracy?Wat abt low quality films produced daily?Have they think that the epileptic power supply in the Country can also be attributed to this prob.I think they are nt seen the bigger picture that AFMAG is doin them a favour.

Ijeoma said...

These people are silly. The industry had already started declining even before Afica Magic, which is why many of them jumped on the small extra income Africa Magic was giving them. Doesn't DSTV show Hollywood movies? Why haven't those ones complained that Nigerians are not watching their films in the cinemas? Since they are not prepared to improve their industry, they'll be swept aside. Meanwhile, if the English movie people stop, will the Yoruba ones stop? Or the hausa ones? Yeye dey smell.

nigerian movies r rubish,i can neva buy it. In a month dey wil produce more dan 5 movies usin advert2 fil d plate. Nonsense. Nolywood worse pass cos dey show useles old movies.

stopping AFMG shud not be their priority cos dey re not even showin new movies nd always repeatin movies.. nd d annoyin ones 2. dey shud start producin gud nd quality movies nd pple wil start spendin their money nd knw dat it is worth it.

Mayor said...

African Magic is not nollywood's problem, Movie Magic shows hollywood films but that does not stopping hollywood from making their money. What nollywood needs to do is to release their movies in the cinema 1st and make their money b4 putting it on DVDs. They should spend money to make quality movies instead of releasing substandard movies every week. These people are just clueless, they should look at how its done abroad.

Them go lose be that....@Linda...pls can we have a post on Ogo's hubbys side of the story here please? I would love to see how many human lie detectors we have on this blog....Gracias muchacho.

BAD, GOOD GIRL said...

hahaha... truth is, no one goes out to buy movies; not even american blockbusters... they need to work with TV stations and invest in Cinemas cause that's the way forward.. ohhh, i forgot to mention.. KILL THE CORNY PLOTS AND BAD ACTORS..

Tonia said...

Lol @ Joblessness. I pratically dnt think they shld stop them beside african magic are used to showing oldddd movies mostly fm the 1990s. They shld b thanking africa magic to some extent.

First of all,I think they need to start re-writing their script frm all d rubbish,senseless,showing off of ass n breast in their movies,wot happened to d nollywood of abt 10 years ago?wen d movies r worth watching,who is going to buy dose trash n waste of CDs u pple called movies.....half is advert and d rest senseless.....Yoruba movies are even making better sense nowadays

Nawaaaaooo

Aww, momc won't like dis at all..

Phabiluscious said...

Lolz. Africa Magic only shows old movies. Nigerians aint gonna buy those ones now. Haba!

www.flawless-fabulous.blogspot.com

C me c trouble o, who will waste money on nollywood movies in dis harsh tym, whn deres no lite 2 even watch d movie sef nd fuel is diamond in d country whr its given 2 us as a natural resource. D so calld nollywood movies especially d english once dnt even teach any morals except hw 2 put on stupid cloths all in d name of being sexy. Dey shld stp producn movies 4 d main tym nd focus on hw 2 make deir movies beta.

I totally agree with you! Any Nigerian movie I watch it's online and it's free! Can't waste my money with it! When they decide to improve the quality of their movies to American and even Indian movie standards then I can pay for their movies. They also need to stop with this part 1, 2, 3 and 4 nonsense, naming part 1& 2 one name and part 3 & 4 another name!! Making it difficult to find the movie and wat too long to watch!!!!

Omo I feel u jor! Same here too! Na cos for UK no jobs dats why I watch their stupid senceless movies. I will never buy them for a kobo. As long as I av internet

Ah even better!only dem go act nd watch deir movies demselves noni!nonsense!me buy naija movie?neva!watch for cinema?neva!

Laffing in urhobo........u can't kip doin d same tin and xpect a different result. U will watch a film and dey will tell u it has part 2 wen u see d part 2 it will carry a different name can u jt imagine dat. Look at our music industry dey are doin fine I hardly listen to foreign songs. Nollywood or wat ever dey call dere self shud learn from dere

Atobatele said...

Rather have a deal with Africamagic..

Rubbish they are lookin 4 money. Watch their movie one hour is for preview of movies while 30 minutes is for d movie u bought and u would b wondering if u really use ur money 2 buy dis crap.

Y.Tee said...

Bunch of dumb-ass people. what's so ish about their stupid movies anyway???

They are not serious...... WHen they recently went to beg DSTV for the slot for Igbo-Magic? ABegiiii make we hear word........

They should go and seat down, noollywood don't know what they are doing any more. Confused pipo..

Nonsense!! Does the same DSTV not have dedicated channels for international movies?? I don't hear of American Movie Makers wanting to ban them from showing their movies. Stupid home videos dat they are doing!

Admin said...

I don't think that is possible unless Africa Magic (AM) has stopped paying royalty to the movie producers.
Moreover, I'll suggest they should make a deal with AM instead of planning to stop them. AM has remained family TV station in and outside Nigeria.
Afters: En, If they stop showing Nollywood, we'll watch "Tiata/ere ori itage/nnkan be"lol, KANNYWOOD, GOLLYWOOD, BOLLYWOOD, and HOLLYWOOD any other WOOD pls???

haha,if dey do succeed, dstv subscription in naija wld reduce by about 40%....i doubt dey'll let that happen

the white enchantress said...

they should use their small mind and brain to good use. in-case they don't know,dstv is doing dem lots of justice by showing the movies with high visual quality......they had Berra reduce the rate they are churning out movies every 24hrs with little or no quality n thread the path of their Hollywood counterparts......yeye onitsha producers n directors.

These nollywood pple are criminals! There is no movie that doesn't hv a continuation and to make matters worse the movies are like 30mins each and not worth it at all. I have a mini-video club in my house and I'm tired of buying the crap they refer to as movies. They can go n grab high tension wires for all I care

Whether they stop showing it or not, I hate these nollywood films. I will neither buy nor watch them on Africa Magic. They are a waste of time. Most of them have terrible storylines, poor quality shooting and with the exception of very few, actors and actresses with little or no talents.

I always switch channels once I see Africa Magic. It drives me nuts. I actually prefer the African Magic Yoruba Channel. Their films are spiced with lots of humour and I love them. I am not Yoruba but I like their movies especially the ones with renowned actors and actresses. I don't even understand the language. I read the screen.

I'll rather spend my money buying yoruba films than any english speaking nollywood film.

Deep Soul said...

@Anon 11.04pm: That's the WORST usage of the English language I have seen in my ENTIRE 24 years on earth. Whhaaaat!!!

The other side of the story is a scam! Seen it, and it's not convincing plssss! For real. It's a paid to do work from Kelvin's Barrister friend. It's not worth it abeg!

Joyce said...

They should go and rest cos african majic help to promote them to other african countries.....nobody is ready to buy pt 1 - 4 film in this time and age.

make dem no try am

Femi said...

LWKMD DSTV can't b showing their movies for free n those that watch don't watch for free, they subscribe. they shuld luk for whoelse to blame for dia woes.

naija sci-fi director. said...

sorry dis a bit off, but an oyinbo once asked me if we have nigerian sci-fi movies. i couldnt stop laffing at the thot of it. the oyinbo didnt knw why i was laffing.
maybe our sci- fi movies na jazz movies

Even the ones being released at the cinema are not anything to write home about. the only thing you see are fine faces and dresses at the red carpet. the movies themselves are crap. I am considering asking for a refund for watching such rubbish like MIRROR BOY, I'LL TAKE A CHANCE, 90TH DAY (or something like that featuring Bimbo Akintola and Keppy) and BRIDE AND BABY (the one featuring Stella Damasus). Only PHONE SWAP made sense.I missed MR&MRS. very soon no will even go to the cinema to see the rubbish they are churning out.

they are very stupid besides all these movies they show on afican magic are all old films,u people should even thank God people watch ur crap,rubish.

what a shame so u guys really hv mouth on that child play they display on TV?is even surpose to be caled children drama not movie cos is too cheap even children in nursery school can do better,is only in nigerian that when a movie started u already knw d end of d movie, wat a shame.

naija sci-fi director. said...

sorry dis a bit off, but an oyinbo once asked me if we have nigerian sci-fi movies. i couldnt stop laffing at the thot of it. the oyinbo didnt knw why i was laffing.
maybe our sci- fi movies na jazz movies

for me i dont even go to that station caled african magic cos they always display nigerian rubish caled movie,wat a child play imagine wen any nigerian movie started u already knws d end even without watching it til d end,wat a shame anyway i only watch faces not there rubish drama cos as long as faces lk mercy johnson,tonto dike,omotola and martha ankoma a ghana girl are there i can just keep looking at there faces and 4get d story of d rubish movie am watching cos is always drama i only watch those faces i mention if i must watch..

pls linda since we are already discusing abt nollywood and there movie pls can u help me ask if dis nigerian actress called BOLA IGE is alright cos d last time i saw her she looks lk a frog,sick and hungry infact she looks lk she want to swalow sombody,she use to be my best actress but now her looks alone wount even let me look at her twice cos she looks scary pls help me mk some enquiries.

Soji Ogunnaike said...

It is amazing that there was actually a conference (gathering of like minds) that led to this dumb decision.
Stopping Africa Magic from showing movies does NOT help the issue of the lack of quality content in Nollywood. Stopping them just reduces the reach of the crappy content.
Did Africa Magic beg for the content in the first place? Aren't the movie producers paid for rights? (even though the amount is not that great)

Nigerian Careers said...

About time

Hi Linda, It’s a good question, whether DSTV’s Africa Magic has taken away customers from retailers or the poor quality that may have driven them away from the markets. If it can be shown that Africa Magic’s viewership has increased, it cannot be argued that anyone would pay the monthly subscription to watch on television the same bad movies that s/he does not want to buy. In any case, there are legal issues. Does DSTV pay royalties ? If the answer is YES, marketers can do NOTHING. Producers or anyone holding the copyright should claim their monies. Period.

QF
Do pple aktually buy nollywood movies, tufia!!? I cn stay up al nyt to watch foreign films but cnt even sit for 5mins watchin nollywud film witout gettin a headache. U pple shud Get a lyf!!! I no u guyz r DAFT so il jst tell u ,AFMag is doin u a huge favo, be thankful.

Ogah Peters said...

is DSTV FREE? there was a time I personally DSTV to remove that national abuse called AFRICA MAGIC from my subscribtion, cos it's nothing to write home about. Linda, please help me tell them we Nigerians are ashame on them.Some of us will be very very happy if DSTV should remove Africa Rubbish called Magic their package.Please, advise them that, DSTV is not their problem, the simple problem is lack of good quality.they should put quality first before money.