Ghanaian court sends Nigerian man to prison for registering to vote‬ | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 1 April 2012

Ghanaian court sends Nigerian man to prison for registering to vote‬

Ghanaian court
A 35-year old Nigerian businessman, Chukwu Ebere, will spend the next two years in a Ghanaian prison for registering as a voter in the West African country.‬

‪The accused, an Imo State indigene who has lived in the West African country for a year, pleaded guilty to the charge of deceiving a public officer. He will be deported after serving his sentence.‬

Speaking to the Koforidua Circuit Court where the judgement was passed, Police Inspector Patrick Adzadza said Chukwu was arrested on March 27 at a registration centre in the country.‬
‪Adzadza said the accused presented a voter Identity Card with number 2327681 in the name of Emmanuel Osei Kojo, to Tanaso South Registration Centre at Nsukwao for registration. Chukwu claimed his name was Emmanuel Osei Kojo and showed his previous voter ID as proof; he was consequently registered and issued a new voter ID card.‬

‪However, Chukwu's treachery was quickly discovered by Ghanaian police officers who were gathering intelligence on the exercise at various centres. He was immediately placed under arrest.‬
The presiding judge, Wilhelmina Hammon, said Chukwu could have jeopardised the peace in the country. She added that the sentence would serve as a deterrent to others.‬

Source: Daily Times

31 comments:

Croixxx said...

Hmmmmmmm....really don't knw wat to make of this...*lips are sealed*

Str8FrmDaHips said...

This one just go look for trouble..a country's people you sent packing saying Ghana must go..not too long ago..now you get liver go vote!!..9jas never know their levels sometimes!!

Ibossssss again,buh why? JEKOMA ROTATE

QF
fallin hnds level serves him ryt!!!

Dickson said...

He got what he wanted cos before the registration started it was announced in all media house that foreigner shouldn't partake in the exercise and anyone caught will face the hand of the law..

GHANAIAN'S OWN TOO MUCH SEF.. HOW BAD IS D CRIME THAT HE IS BEING GIVEN TWO YEARS... MTCHEWWW

B

Admin said...

Hum! "When you are in Rome, you behave Like a Roman," He should have known, once you are in another country or a new place, you should find out about the rules and adhere to/abide by the rules.

Him sef! Who send am?

serves him right hope all others would learn. wanting to claim land in another man's country mshcew dem for throway the prison key sef as that would teach him a lesson in life nonsense

They are right to jail him. How can you lie about something like that? Maybe he think he can take all wuru wuru he's been doing in Nigeria to Ghana.Munmu

My lips are sealed....

They are crazy. The last election, loads of Ghanians voted as Nigerians when PDP gave them money. Rubbish

Naija people can cause wahala for themselves, if it is here in nigeria he will not resgister ooo. God don catch ham.

ConfusedEagle said...

Dude probably thought he could replicate what he did with INEC in Lagos last year in accra this time around.

Guy, people are serious minded at the Gold Coast & electoral frauds are not handled with kid gloves.

Wake up and smell the coffe. SILLY RABBIT.

Him sef! Who send am?

Queen Esta said...

Lmao...me I no know wetin 2 say o!buh wetin dey worry ghana sef.tot we were brothers huh?

you are a fool! Instead of you to put hand for head and cry about the incompetence and lawlessness of the Nigerian nation as a whole for not arresting those Ghanaians you are supporting the act in Ghana too... Not all countries dey condone this kind wuru wuru ooo...shame on you...linda if you like no publish o...i know say na true i don talk.

Very shameful oo.

Identity theft is a serious offence. We are so familiar with fraud in Nigeria that's why we think the setence is a lot. Two years is just right. The question we need to ask is why was he so interested in voting?

So true. The same man probably will not register here oh.

ah ah Queen Esta how manage you come mumu like this na???brothers?? So he should corrupt the country like the way una don put naija for top on criminal scale??abeg dem don show am lesson...if u no gree go hug transformer..yeye mumu

Hahahahahahaha...i dont know what to make of this. Naija man,Wayo sense.Thief brain. Wetin na only us dey dis world, I guess the man thought the voting system in nigeria is the same everywhere.#TYPICAL NAIJA BREED...LUMY

Funny thing is if he's in nigeria during our own election he may not even vote and spend that saturday havin a lying-in or making sweet love to his woman

After the erection,he will be selection for retribution

Se na don see now, if it is NAIJA dey can do undo, NAIJA you better wake-up too, dont over-look any offence cause by foreigners again.

Correct!!! I so love what the ghanian government has done..they should replicate same for all the Nigerian criminals in Ghana that have started bribing government officials and police there. Where I live outside Nigeria and we have a lot of Africans and they soo hate Nigerians and dont like to have associations with us ...we've created such a bad reputation of ourselves everywhere, I have to continually prove to people here that I am different and dont do fraud, cheat etc ..its soo disgusting Im thinkin of changing my nationality totally...NIGERIANS WAKE UP AND SMELL THE COFFEE we need to tackle corruptio starting from me and you..

Lol...This shit cray! My only question is why was he so desperate to vote...I'm kinda confused :s

as a ghanaian this is a warning to nigerians, that we have forever been a peaceful country with very good global reputation, dont bring no bullshyt here to our land, your accent alone is a dead give away. We dont play that.

Unexamined life is not worth living, ask your self why no country dont want to deal with yall. South Africa, Ghana, UK, USA etc - Its not a few bad apples - its many bad apples.

Dont think your blood money can always buy your way through everywhere you go.

you havent finished digging the oil on our own land you want to go vote in somebodys land just so you can get your foot hold in there cos they found oil and gas. See how greedy nigerians are. Thunder fire you.

Akua said...

no be lie...i am a Ghanaian who loves Nigerians unconditionally... I mean from head to toe no matter how bad they are will never change myfeelings towards them..or so i thought.but it's getting worse as we(Nigerians) always come up with new inventions.... and i always have to argue so much trying to defend Nigerians.i don begin dey tire o..it's not fair now...na only we(Nigerians) get sense?abi na curse???abah!

Stannkw said...

Dem for jail am 10yrs. E think say na for 9ja wey thing goes.