Former Intercontinental Bank Boss, Erastus Akingbola, discharged | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 3 April 2012

Former Intercontinental Bank Boss, Erastus Akingbola, discharged

A Federal High Court in Lagos yesterday discharged the former Executive Vice Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Intercontinental Bank Plc, Dr. Erastus Akingbola, of the 26-count charge of  money laundering brought against him by the EFCC. 

The presiding judge said he discharged the case because of the 'incompetence of the prosecution team'

EFCC plans to file fresh charges against the former bank chief.

20 comments:

Olubunmi said...

The film was "Rising moon" produced 2005, got 12 nominations and won 6 awards.

Str8FrmDaHips said...

brown envelope what else!!..Bankole..Daniels..now him..

Miss Pepeye said...

I wonder how much the judge was paid

CAESAR said...

Useless EFCC,i wonder how much those SANS where paid.Anyway Mr Akinbola is a great man

Of there was something wrong with the prosecution team and of course akingbola acquitted. Hmmm. Your reward is in heaven my lord sir/ ma

Omar Omar said...

Naija joke of a legal system. Deal worked out. His senior "money making pastor" consulted the FGN "power that be". The attorneys were consulted. The incompetence (corruption) route was chosen. SAN(S) and Judge picked up fat brown envelopes.
Hoping the competent (incorruptible) British legal system pick up this one too.

Where is Jerry Rawlings? Everything in Nigeria is now a Circus Show. Bankole! is that U? Yes, Na me Ooo. I have no case to answer. Patricia E.! is that ... I beg your pardon, I was never charged; Please call me Hon. Patricia.

There is no need to bribe a Judge when the prosecution has already done the job for you by their incompetence. Sensational and sentimental statements that play to the gallery do not a law suit win.

QF
it n nus dt justice hardly prevails in nis...God help us

Zicolo said...

I am beginning to get pissed with constant EFCC's prosecuting team to prove their cases in court.....

I am, the no Sender.

The judge was not bribed. The EFCC prosecution is usually bribed to make technical mistakes that would course the Judge to naturally kick the case out.

Think about it, how would SANs make such mistakes that only baby lawyers can only make.

To the person who commented that Akingbola is a great man, am really aghast at how this person came to such a monumental revelation. Abegi!

That guy was the best MD any bank could have. He always had the interest of his staff at heart not like some others who think you should divorce your family and be married to the job! LOL! May his kind deeds in time past speak for him.

Linda he was discharged but not acquitted. they mean two completely different things and i believe you should know this because the same mistake was made in the Daniel's case which you posted and thereafter posted a response from the EFCC clarifying the issues. (except you don't read your own articles). So its safe to assume that your headline "Former Intercontinental Bank Boss, Erastus Akingbola, acquited" is purely sensational even when you know it is not a fact????....not kool!

Plea bargain. Give some money back and you will be let off the hook!

@Anon 1:54 PM...its amazing how people show the public that ignorance is bliss...the case was DISMISSED..there was no argument of discharged and acquitted there....as for I am the no sender and others who think this man bribed...for one, did it ever occur to your porous minds that it is probably God who turned the wisdom of the SAN's to foolishness in order to favor Erastus? if the judge was yoruba now people will say that's the reason why. We all know its Sanusi that has been trying to bring the man down...how can he sell of the bank and all its assets nation wide for just 50 billion naira....the God that helped this man will SURELY hunt that agama lizard sanusi down. just wait and see.

I am, the no Sender.

I likee your comment!

I am, the no Sender.

Oh, I do have a porous mind? Really!

Akingbola is innocent of the case against him? I see that you are a relative, his first born and confidant and know him thru and thru abi? Nonsence!

All the noise and hullabaloo around the stolen billions from Intercontinental Bank were just that noise?

He had no skeletons to hide and yet he ran away for several months before his scripted arrest?

It was God that caused the SANs to present a bad case and so lost the case against Akingbola, abi? As well as Daniel of Ogun State, Bankole of Hse of Reps and a great many more such that EFCC is yet to jail anyone in this class of high profile cases?

So, it's just smoke without a fire, right?

I can see who actually needs cement to patch up the leaking section of their brain. You better run to Dangote and purchase two bags of cement to start patching up your heavily poroused brain. Anu mpam.

@ anon 12.40am I take it ur a former intercontinental staff now Access? I feel u, those Access bank top guns (Aig imokhuede, Herbert wigwe etc) are slave drivers. They really want people married to their jobs. All becos they want 2 be like GTbank.... They've forgotten "the foundation of Access is all wrong".

@I am the no sender...I pray for you that with this your enclosed mind, you will be accused for something you did not do and people will say "no smoke without fire and you should be roasted"... The God that liberated him will be there to help you also.

The sage said...

My brother that's not sending. Hmmm, nigerians are yet to come to terms with the enormity of the shit hole (apologies) we have dug up for ourselves.
Politically, spiritually, education wise, information wise. We are in a real deep mess...