Delta State commissioner for health accused of slapping a nurse | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 2 April 2012

Delta State commissioner for health accused of slapping a nurse

The Delta State Commissioner for Health, Dr. Joseph Otumara, has been accused of slapping a female nurse, Mrs. Akata Oghenero, at the Central Hospital in Warri, during a visit to the hospital last week. 

The incident happened in the gynecologist ward of the Hospital in the presence of many nurses and officials of the Ministry of Health, Asaba. And he supposedly slapped her because she was receiving a phone call instead of standing up to greet him.

The commissioner has since denied slapping the nurse, saying that he only tried to stop her from making calls with her phone while work was going on during his visit to the hospital on March 29

Meanwhile the National Association of Nigerian Nurses and Midwives, NANNM, in the state is spoiling for a showdown over the matter and Forum for Justice and Human Rights Defence, FJHD, in Delta State, has demanded that the commissioner tender an unreserved apology to the nurse or resign his appointment.

64 comments:

He wanted to prevent her from answering a phone call while work is going on? What a dumb excuse!
Na only stealing money and killin political opponents dem sabi. Common convincing lie dem no fit tell.

Justthatgirl said...

Gbam!!!!! Ewu!!!!!

Admin said...

Wonders shall Never End!!! Some people cant control their Temper... Learnt a prominent Male Radio Presenter also did something similar sometimes ago

Charity begins at home. If you investigate well, you will discover that the man will also be beating his wife at home. How dare he beat a woman. It is highly unacceptable. The act should be condemned.

the nurse using her phone during working hours is very wrong; but i belive him trying tp correct her by actually 'peeling the phone off her ears'is even more wrong. whatever happened to asking for who her manager was to give her a query or whatever the case may be. #our lord sir, she didnt greet you??? mschew. who the hell are you.

sexymoi said...

Yes oo and this is what I call justice on humam right, this our leaders that are suppose to be a role model turning to be a rogue....long hissssssssss. Shiooo

lemonplump said...

If only he will apologise....

Atobatele said...

He slapped a married woman. No need to ask whether he beats his wife at home. People in power in this country get intoxicated with the power and they really need to be checked. I wish the husband can take up the matter with him

Payme said...

Please tell me this guy would be made to resign

http://payme-my2cents.blogspot.com

Who does he feel he is? A mini god or what? Why didn't he use other measures like query if he thought she wasn't living up 2 her responsibility not slapping her.On the other hand organize a re-orientation training for Medical personnels in his state so they can change their nonchalancy attitudes.

This is abuse in d work place and abuse of power only in nig do in american and ur ass will b in jail and u will still pay up

Onyxstone said...

I was der ooo let d truth be told.he didnt slap d nurse.d cmd told d nurse not to answer d phone in d ward she ignored d instruction n was answering d call in d presence of d commisinoer so d guy angrily snatched d phone frm her.she is knw to be a saucy woman but d commin erred too.wot are aides meant for.he shld hve used his aides to do dat

Does he attaend Living Faith Church where Oyedepo shows that it is ok to slap women? They all beat their wives obviously. Rubbish!!!!

Y.Tee said...

Notice me bastard. So becos she didn't lick the sole of your stinky feet na, you had to daze another man's wife abi? God pay you back.

YINOTINTO said...

Good one! sometimes, these people think they can trample on people's rights just because they occupy public offices. let d guy face d music. i wish others could learn or better still face more serious punishment for their lousy attitudes. NONSENSE

The Commissioner is simply not man enough. I am highly disappointed in him, it shows power got him intoxicated. Bad leader ..... Shame on you

See his ogoro head, u dare slap a married woman. Who knws what u do 2 d females around u, i mean ur mother, wife,daughters,sisters,nieces,sis inlaw. Mayb u start dr days wit slap & end it wit slap 4 dm. U slapd somones wife & u werent scared. Inshort u belong2 d zoo. Idiot

Kym said...

"... demanded that the commissioner tender an unreserved apology to the nurse or resign his appointmen.."

That's exactly why the doctor slapped the nurse.
What do you expect when the public don't even know rights? He committed a criminal offence and should have been arrested, prosecuted and dismissed, then sued till he's financially defunct, or hang himself.

Taking a brief or prolonged phone call at work is not a crime and the nurse is not legally obliged to greet him, etc.

You don't slap or beat anyone - not even your wife, husband, child, house maid or workers. The punishment for what the minister did is immediate dismissal. People with the same mindset as him are the problem with Nigeria. You'd think that with his education he should be more enlightened and have learned how to control his barbaric tendencies, but no. Power's gone to his head, he's power drunk and he's an ongoing threat to those around him. He must be kicked out and must be jailed for the physical assault on the nurse.

The Minister is a nuisance and a disgrace. He should hang himself. He doesn't deserve to call himself a man or a doctor or a government official. He's a worthless piece of shit and the sooner he's sacked, the better for everyone. Smh.

can you imagin?cos she's receving a call?this guy is a bulling,bedburg,rugrat.....useless man

I'm sure it is not on the hospital regulation that nurses should not receive calls and even if it does appear, I think the man is afucking brute and he is not fit to take up any leadership position. The woman should sue off his motherfucking ass and he should resign and be taken to a specialist pyscratic hospital for adequate check-up and treatment!

U must be so very STUPID and a big IDIOT for bringing up Bish Oyedepo or Living Faith Min into this...Goat!

#Queeny!

@atoBatele... Your comment is shortsighted. He should not slap anyone whether the person is married or not, female or male period.

How then does he handle his wife! It's a shame.

Lucky said...

This is a straight forward matter. You do the crime, then you must face all the consequences. Simple. He must face the full consequences of his actions to act as deterrent to other animals like him. He hit the woman in the face, then he too must be hit hardest in his pocket and publicly humiliated with a jail term.Delta State Commissioner for Health, Dr. Joseph Otumara has 3 option:

1.) Should be sacked immediately, jailed immediately and he must immediately pay Naira 100million compensation to nurse he assaulted, publicly humiliated and traumatised.

2.) Should be sacked immediately, jailed immediately and he must immediately pay Naira 100million compensation to nurse he assaulted, publicly humiliated and traumatised.

3.) Should be sacked immediately, jailed immediately and he must immediately pay Naira 100million compensation to nurse he assaulted, publicly humiliated and traumatised.

The so call commissioner needs some medical help if indeed it was true slapping someone regardless of the victim status. The thought of doing it in the U.S.A will not occur at all hence God bless America.

I am, the no Sender.

@ Anonymous Apr 2, 2012 01:07 AM, you know what? You just got into my mind and wrote out my sentiments good and proper. No need to add anything more. Oh, can someone order Mr. Commissioner to get his knees down, raise up his hands, open his mouth and ask the nurse to release a hot fart into his amoebic mouth of indeterminate shape. Rubbish!

Remi said...

I am begging for a follow-up on this story. The nurse should be sitting on a pot of gold. Get a lawyer.

Must he used his hand to stop her for making calls. Wonders shal never end.

More like it! tender apology or resign is it. Lets get

more of this sanctions on some men that feels when

they r on top they r God. rubbish!!!

i believe him, am very sure he didnt do any such thing,this is pure BLACKMAIL, hes a̶̲̥̅. Man we've worked with for years, he has integrity,n respect for people,he loves people doing their jobs,U̶̲̥̅̊ need to see how some of these nurses behave at work n treat patients its terrible,how can yr Boss B̶̲̥̅ε̲̣̣ standing wt U̶̲̥̅̊ n yre recievn call its wrong,hv U̶̲̥̅̊ eva seen a̶̲̥̅ banker recivn call during duty? Nt to talk abt the boss talkn Τ̅Ơ̴̴̴̴͡ U̶̲̥̅̊ n yre talkn on D̶̲̥̅̊ fone, common nigerans its wrong,him correctn her is rite n i kno he can do dat,God wl intervein n vindicate him.

Why A̶̲̥̅я̲̅ε̲̣̣̣̥ we quick to conderm? Is it becos hes a̶̲̥̅ politician? We shud find out the truth

ONOME says................................
Oh shush please!All these knee jerk response is what we like to do!Is it not that same country where a pastor slapped a girl(winch for Jesus) and pronounced that he would do it again if given the chance.Is it not the same country where in Ibadan a customs officer brought his men/thugs to beat up his son's teacher for daring to beat his son?Is it not the same country where an oba raped a corper and claimed it was consensual?Is it not the same country where policemen kill unarmed citizens for 20 Naira?Is it not the same country that house girls,maids,gateman,cooks etc are treated like dogs?Is it that country that exorcisms in the name of casting out demons are performed on innocent children?It it not e same country that sirens are used to clear citizens from the road cos an 'important' person is passing by?Is it not the same country where the rogues go for treatment outside Nigeria but their hospitals are beyond rotten?
ABEG THE INJUSTICE DID NOT START TODAY NOR IS IT LIKELY TO END TODAY.
So shush I say.shush.ja gbo ron.No be so Yoruba dey talk am?
Nurse receiving 'important' call while oga dey around,oga vex give nurse slap abi Na try to seize phone from nurse.lolllllllllllllllllllllll.Only in Naija!!!!

Why criticizing him? If this man did slap the nurse for taking a call on a mobile during working hours, then he has done a very good thing. The problem is that in Nigeria, people take rubbish from nurses all the time- these nurses are animals who treat their fellow human beings like animals and they need to be taken down a peg or two. This woman would be wasting her time pursuing a legal course of action

delta state again haba una no de tire fr scandalll?

Kelechi said...

What Delta State Commissioner for Health, "Dr" Joseph Otumara did to Mrs. Akata Oghenero is a heinous and cowardly act nearly as loathesome as the ignorance and cultural amnesia in Nigeria which surrounds issues as this. A self-styled "man of God" slapped a member of his congregation and the public allowed him to get away with it. Employers physically assaulting their employees and getting away with their crimes. "Dr" Joseph Otumara, a public servant, slaps a civil servant and yet there's not enough outcry for his immediate removal. How long are bullies and lunatics (masquerading as public figures) going to be allowed to abuse their powers? Joseph Otumara mistreated an innocent and defenceless human being, Mrs. Akata Oghenero, who committed no crime. Joseph Otumara brought this on himself. Tax payers money should not be used to fund workplace bullies, lunatics, animals and criminals. Joseph Otumara behaviour is offensive, unlawful, gross misconduct and unacceptable behaviour in this day and age. It is sackable offence. Through his diabolic behaviour, he brought Delta State Government and people and Nigeria into serious disrepute. Joseph Otumara must NOT be allowed to keep his job. There is no excuse for what he did to a female nurse, Mrs. Akata Oghenero. With immediate effect, Delta State Commissioner for Health, Dr. Joseph Otumara should be dismissed from his employment. Dr Joseph Otumara is a LUNATIC and an ANIMAL. He should be relieved of his post and locked up in a dark and airless cage in a psychiatric hospital for 100 years, with no possibility of parole.

Yre right some of These nurses are animals, they hv no respect or regard for patients,that is why her boss ws talkn n she ws makn loud cals laughn n joking on the fone even when her boss ask U̶̲̥̅̊ to stop the cal she ignored n kept talkn she didnt even leave his pressence dats veeeerrry rude n unproffessional,or wud he had stopd n wait fr her Τ̅Ơ̴̴̴̴͡ finsh her cal b4 continuing?comom lets cal a̶̲̥̅ spade a̶̲̥̅ spade,he didnt slap her shes a̶̲̥̅ liar n a̶̲̥̅ confusionist,an evil n disrespectful woman,shes known fr her Βα̲̅đ character

Onyxstone said...

Like i said before he neva did dat.lets pause for a while investigate before giving our verdict

You are such a God forsaken lowlife to bring a Man of God into this! Trash of a human being!

The sage said...

Cc. Olisah adibua of (irony of all ironies) beat fm. Co-anchor of the "beat down" and "morning rush"!

The sage said...

No offence, but he did slap a woman...

Y.Tee said...

Listen to all this dundis ooo. #Mimics) Thats good for her, talking on the fone in the presence of her boss, dah, dah, daaa. Abegi, lemme hear word jorr!
Must you resort to violence to correct somebody???Even if she was wrong??? Has two wrongs ever made a right???? Well, i wont really blame you sha cos im sure you were flogged from cradle to manhood.
@Onome, i understand your point, but we must stand against violence any how we can. Shebi na one person go be scape goat.
I hope he pays dearly.

Binta said...

@onome,pls ask dem...olisa(glo naija sings) did it too tho he apologised lets wait to hear if dis guy will apologise too.i can bet my life dat he beats his wife and daughters at home.it all started from beating his sisters when he was young i guess.God bless d guy dat will slap me apart from my dad,it wnt be funny at all*puffs cigar*

Binta said...

meanwhile @bamidele is really acting normal now.better.

Unreserved apology? Hell no! D guy should f****** resign. Who d hell is he? He has no excuse for physical abuse. But errrm madam nurse no dey answer call during work hour. It could cost u ur job.

jennietobbie said...

1st comment ripped it off!!

Nigerian men should learn how to respect women!! I'm serious...it's getting ugly out there

shes a̶̲̥̅ bloody liar n a̶̲̥̅n evil woman, shes alwys causn problem fr evryone around her shes a̶̲̥̅ vry wicked woman dt has no conscience. Witch dr Otumara did D̶̲̥̅̊ right thing we wer all angry at her,ws D̶̲̥̅̊ commisioner supose Τ̅Ơ̴̴̴̴͡ wait fr her Τ̅Ơ̴̴̴̴͡ B̶̲̥̅ε̲̣̣ thru wut her cal befor wud continued aftall he he told her Τ̅Ơ̴̴̴̴͡ xcuse herslf bt she refuse wot an insult,

Gfada said...

Please o, "Touch not my anointed..., judge not...blah blah" this man has been anointed by the federal government to serve his state. All of you talking about him will soon die o! Before we condemn him, let us start with the man that made slapping women a national past time. After all, slap na slap! Oyedepo I hail your mighty slapping right hand!

Nonsense! Naija una hypocrisy don too much Abeg!

Paulyn Ebadan said...

Only in that country people do things and get away with it.Who the hell does he think he is? Commissioner for health in deed.This can never happen in the Western world, that nurse will sue and will be well rewarded.

QF
@anon 5:34 are u ds stupid or u'r 1 more lunatic. Wateva d case mayb it is unlawful, uncivil n totally childish 2raise ur hnds on som1 else. Avnt u gone out of d shores of ds country?, dnt u read? Its impossibl 4somfin lyk ds 2happen outside wtout legal consequence.

He looks like Adolph Hitler.

U actually think slapping a staff is a good form of reprimanding?are u living in d stone age?abi something dey worry ur brain ni?whatever happened to query;or if he wan show say him get power,why not dismiss her with immediate effect?

The lying idiot slapped her jor. He thinks being a commissioner means that everyone should bow down to him.
useless mentality.

Chi

Woe betide the man wey go slap me ehhh.....make I stop here till it happens, LIB and Ladun's blog will carry the gist

Atobatele's comment is one of the reasons I enjoy living outside Nigeria. People like to qualify things with "married woman". So if the nurse was single nko?

Christopher Ekeyi said...

Democracy good sha. Linda, you fit try this one under Abacha?

@Everyone:
sorry...but u are all FOOLS to have taken the story hook, line and sinker. Nigerians are just too gullible! GOATS!!! That's what u are! Why do u beliv everytin u hear and read on papers?

*when Mr Commissioner entered the gyne. ward of d hospital, Mrs Oghene was on a call. Mr Commissioner neglected her but moved around with his aides just checking equipments and after a while he noticed the same nurse(Mrs Oghenero) was still on call. He asked her to hang-up and move closer for proper operation a an equipment but she was adamant ( tho. she was been carried away by...). Mr Com. moved closer to snap her phone off her but she charged at him and a scene was created!
Days after, the nurses all conspired maintaining he slapped Mrs Oghene since it is obvious she would lose her job pretty soon*

My advice- Don't Bliv everytin....including my explanation. ...and YES! I was on duty that day.

I stand to remain unknown.
Other nurses on duty knows it too.

The nurse deserve the slap , In fact all of them in govt hospital deserve that slap so that they can wake up,

@ Anon 5.34 u must be a fool to call nurses animals, d day u or any member of ur family fall sick with no animal to attend to u then u will no their worth, nurses re treated as tramp by Doctors, patients nd so many others, whereas without nurses a hospital is a dead zone, so shut up, I dnt ur r/ship wid d commissioner nd u re a beast 4 sayin it is allowd 2 slap a worker 4 woteva rson. U need 2 be lockd up alon wid d commissioner. "Angry" @ ur senseless comment

it is delta state !!! anything goes in that state...they have a pdp chairman that everybody knows is a murderer,a rapist and a thief. they have a governor that has no respect for his workers and doesnt pay salary because he is using government money to bribe judged..

why are we surprised? it is delta state, they have a pdp chairman that is a thief a murderer and a rapist,they have a governor that has no respect for civil servants, doesnt pay salaries of workers because he is bribing judges with the money and has refused to leave office even when he didnt win election

Only in naija this can happen.if to say Na America,the nurse wld be rich by now after suing the yeye man.i can remember when I was in naija too dat one consultant almost threw a tantrum bcos we didn't stand to greet him when he entered the ward even when he was not coming to our side.stupid people with their egos or maybe I will say inferiority complex

I don't make comments based on sentiments. First at Linda, the word should be alleged not accused as accused has a higher level of guilt. It has not yet been ascertained that he in fact did slap her.

Secondly, she should not be on her phone at work however, if the commissioner allegedly slapped her, he should quit. Conversely, the nurse if she admits she was on the phone should be summarily relieved of her duty or the violation code should follow.

Thirdly, for those who claim you can sue if it is in America, it is not absolute. If in fact he tried they remove the phone and she attacked then it is self-defense.

TruthSeeker said...

I wouldn't jump to conclusions just yet....I know we tend to believe everything bad we hear about public officers. Read the link below..... abeg make una no cut my head o...lol..

http://saharareporters.com/letter/re-delta-commissioner-joseph-otumara-slaps-female-nurse

Daft Binta, I am beginning to think that your Father beats your Mother....since he beats u!
Ode!