Acting IG of Police orders patrol of all federal highways | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 4 April 2012

Acting IG of Police orders patrol of all federal highways

Acting Inspector-General of Police, Mohammed Abubakar, on Monday directed the police to start the patrol of all federal highways across the country with immediate effect.

The reported raping of 42 female pupils of an Enugu-based school by a 12-man robbery gang along the Ore-Shagamu Expressway, Ogun State on Saturday night and other cases have forced many Nigerians to demand immediate deployment of police patrols in highways.

The IG, who met with senior officers in Abuja on Tuesday to review the security situation in the country, said the patrols would be complemented by a Rapid Response Structure. - (Punch)

25 comments:

ONYEDIKING said...

Thank God that is a good move www.gideblog.com

the white enchantress said...

welcome back to highway of more road blocks.......na wa.

OK said...

Abeg...what difference will it make?
When the have so many check points already!

pearl said...

This is a welcome development. but pls just Patrols no mounting of road blocks or toll collections.

doll (retired blogger) said...

road blocks and check point wahala would double or triple now

It's of no use really. The only thing these guys do is cause unnecessary traffic on the road. The bus wud have still been robbed whether or not they were on the high way. For the first time I travelled to benin from lagos in just 4hours.
The sight of policemen disgust me when I see them on the highway. They are usually the first to run for cover @ d sound of gunshots from armed robbers. I still insist they're of no use on the highway.

Every time there's a new Police regime this topic just yoyos. Who empowers the Armed Robbers?

Atobatele said...

Very good idea Mr IG, but my question is are you going to give your policemen immunization against extortion and bribery? because it will be a wasted effort if you put them on the road and all they are doing is collecting money from all this rapist and robbers instead of protecting the citizen, i personally will suggest the Government invest in surveillance in those highways and have people monitoring them.

Danny King said...

Dis IG is confused.

O dear

Ofilispeaks.com said...

So if the incident did not happen, they would not have known to patrol the highways...smh...

will he be shocked to know that sometimes the robbers are police men??

Why not find jobs for jobless youths -- we know why there are so many robbers.

When police was on patrol, roadblocks and toll collection, now that they are not, robbers raping, robbing and killing people (case where they asked people to lay down on the road for a vehicle to run over them). There is no win-win situation here, so I think we shud go for the lesser evil; police should be on patrol. At least time and money are lost not lives

They are of no use on the highways. They are the first people to run and hide when they hear gunshots.

IAmhairs said...

must dey wait 4 such evil 2 happen b4 dey do wot dey re aut 2 hv constituted rite 4rm d onset......jst pray dat tins get beta.......cuz am still hopefull of a beta NIGERIA

I am, the no Sender

God is in control. The watch man watcheth in vain if God does not watch for him. Am outa here.

Tough country! Do, you are damned. Don't, still damned.

The man never said police should desert the highways but only dismantle road blocks. LINDA did u see any police road block in America. Patrols with communication tools will deliver on the job.

NKECHI said...

We are back to the days of road blocks.

metche said...

This is anoda way of sending them on errand for more collection. I think its of no use

Yeah right??..patrol for bribe..and their ineffective roadblocks..

We'll see how long that lasts for. Hopefully the police don't become rapists and robbers themselves

Admin said...

This is getting interesting ...

i hear u.....who una dey wan fool self? so wen notin like dis happens no need for patrol on high way abi?...d advise 4 nigerians now is u guys should b very careful cos na innocent people dey wan start to dey kill soooooo......God help ur children

Oh dear. Back 2 d road block ish! With or without dis Police dis pipo still Rob. If its Road patrol dts ok bur mounting road block solves nuffin. They jst cause more nd more traffic 4 us!