Quote of the day | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 12 December 2011

Quote of the day

“I am ready to face the peoples revolution over the removal of oil subsidy” - President Goodluck Jonathan

We are in trouble o...

67 comments:

That cassava bread is fermenting in his brain. This is the kind of leader we put in power. God bless Nigeria.

Revolution ke?! O_O jonathan oooo! Biko why?

emerald said...

fuck this man

Well he knows there will be no people's revolution. As long as the government panders to the IMF, the World Bank and the West, nothing will happen. With the fuel subsidy removed, the creation of a new cabal will be born. A cabal led by our President.

Tunmama said...

We are dead o. This guy is Hitler. hian!

Nestorhymes said...

jona sebi u see as gadda take end? well fly wei wan die na im dey follow corpse enta grave.

Surprise said...

I think something is wrong with our president.That is not his usual way of addressing issues. He should go and ask leaders that Arab spring removed from power who are alive today to share experience from them.

Pride precedes a fall.

Revolution he wants, revolution he will get.

He should go ahead and increase the pump price of fuel. We are FED UP with the hardship he is instilling in us.

WE HAVE NEVER HAD IT SO BAD.

Atobatele said...

The issue of petroleum subsidy is like a foolish yam famer that sells yam and buy pounded yam for his family to eat just because he didn’t have mortal to pound the yam at home and he didn’t see any reason to buy one. The restaurant determines how much they will buy his yam and how much they will sell pounded yam to him.
This issue of petroleum subsidy removal is a simple issue to solve. All the Government needs to do is to put $5 billion dollars from our $32 billion foreign reserve account into a dedicated account from which any investor that want to build a refinery can borrow interest free including Nigeria Labour Congress, State governments and other companies. They will get crude oil at 10% discount price and Nigeria Government will own 20% share of such refinery. Then wait and see how many refineries we shall have in 5 years and thousands of people that will be employed.
The only reason why no new refinery has been built since Obasanjo era (1999 till date) was because people in government are just looking for more money to share by removing the subsidy and it’s their friends and family members that are importing refined product.You can now see that the FG is not serious with this issue.Instead of fishing out the culprits and punishing them and prevent this evil, Jonathan is dodging the issue, begging the question and leaving the masses to suffer and planning to inflict more suffering on the masses by removing subsidy. Hear Jonathn, The problem is not subsidy but corruption,and you must stop this your see no evil, hear no evil and speak no evil stance; step on toes to stem this monster.If not your name will be written in ashes of history no matter how hard you try honestly.

how to make money online (internet) said...

am you sour mr president really know what he is doing he suppos to help the people and not no let them down........... May God really help us.

Who"s talking about Revolution???I wonder if this man thinks he's stronger than Ghadaffi.
Hmmm....Let me just reserve my comments!!! Time shall tell.

Mmakamba said...

Dis man is a scapegoat. he is ready?may God help dis most clueless president on the face of the earth.

all of them dt seat in the high places of govt dont buy fuel, so it doesnt affect them. and even if they did buy fuel, dey cn afford it.

who gets 2 suffer for the govts excesses? the masses.

Serious trouble!

Emperor Jonathan, you can count on us being ready. I'll gladly look forward to this. *adjusting neck*

olodo weak man who cant string two sentences together....as if he can handle a revolution...does he think his juju will save him??

Emperor Jonathan, you can count on us being ready. I'll gladly look forward to this. *adjusting neck*

Osagie1 said...

Jonathan is a total failure. I pity nigerians.

Were ni man yi o- see mr 'I had no shoes' where r d pple dat voted dis guy into power? Sad - shame on dis country.he's got no clue

Removal of fuel subsidy us the right thing to do. Right on Gej!

myopinion said...

@atobatele very gud comment yu have there.I must say I'm lost for words right now...I sha don't like anything about this man sha...lets see how 2012 pans out first...

grace said...

didnt i say it? i know this guy! all this one is not ordinary oh from the way he became the governor of bayelsa state, it can be seen that sth was fishy from the start! Ebele will surely reap all he has sown!

sleekreek said...

GEJ.......you are mad,,,u need ur brain examined,,,,

if you a Nigerian and u voted this man into power,hide ur head in shame..spineless Nigerians..i rather be a second class citizen than come back to that God forsaken land,with weak ass citizens,so so talk and no action,gbegiri people,fear fear...go to oshodi and pick race everybody will run with u..Jona made this comment cos e knows yall are spineless and cant do shit but brag and talk talk talk..can u march on the street like the arab world u refering to?hiss..suffering and smiling people...chuks slam

ferrari said...

said the mad cow

If there was sanity in Nigeria, this thing would have worked. But meeeeehn, this na naija ooooo. Yawa go gas ooooo. INFLATION GO JUST SCATTER EVERYTIN.

see him ugly face na so him mind take ugly fuck him is this the president his wife said will be the best nigeria has ever had GOD forbid bad thing abeg make him reign do they over bico

mariamah said...

I am glad i did not vote for him, cause he has turned out to be a total failure

Why do Nigerians love to complain? You knew deep inside you that this man cannot perform, but because of your tribal and sectional sentiments, you voted him. Remember, you voted Jonathan and not PDP. Please,your complaining and your carping is very annoying. Enjoy the mediocre you helped put in place. Meat heads!

This is the same person tht said he had no shoes and he won't let us down????

Knight said...

@Anonymous 3.05 fact is you are still a second rate citizen, where ever you are. If everything was so useless why are you on this blog. You miss home abi. Leave the pots and pans scubbing and come home to support the cause. At least in MY country if Linda talk we will argue as equals, can you say that for yourself. We do not need people like you that curse on our dear country. We are useless, corrupt etc but guess what we are damn happy. Thats how I was on a course in Barcelona and one punk supposed to be Nigerian kept insulting our country before the spaniards and I couldnt take it anymore I walked up to the guy and said' will insulting and talking down on your country make these people view you as any different from the average Nigeria', The spaniards all shook my hands and said they can never talk of spain like that. Mind you spain is Lagos, Abuja, Kano, Kaduna and P/H put together. Please refer to what Atobatele said and try profer solutions not yanning crap you very well to do second hand citizen. Very soon you will say Lindas Blog is Nigerian made, fake guy. I said it!!!!!!

cressidachic said...

IDIOT!!!THIS FOOL JUST THINKS HE CAN OPEN UP HIS GUTTER HOLE AND JUST SAY ANYTHING HE FEELS LIKE!DOES HE REALLY THINK HE CAN HANDLE A REVOLUTION?ANYWAYS,I DON'T BLAME HIM.HE'S GONNA GET WHAT HE'S LOOKING FOR!THAT I CAN ASSURE HIM.

He was God sent we were told. God Ordained him to rule Nigeria. He is Gods choice for Nigeria we were admonished. Now i only have one thing to say, God must really hate Nigerians.

Let us get rid of him like the Libyans got rid of Kaddafi.... GEJ your death sentence is near.

clueless said...

Sorry to draw us back a little but can some1 explain what the whole oil subsidy is abt? Its pros and cons? What were the benefits or rather wat are nigerians currently benefitting it and wat are the losses? Thanks in advance

He is ready cos.... Heck, Nigerians are docile and they can't revolt

Vancouver Guy said...

wow!!i rember back den clueless ppple from my country were saying am voting for jonathan not pdp that akin to saying am voting for peter and paul okoye but not p-square.Ask mii wat the difference is??Jonathan played on peoples emotion by selling dem his chilhood story of not aving a shoe(which wasn't confirmed by anyone) and my naija peeps voted for emotions instead of objectivity and vision.This is wat u get wen u vote clueless people.God help my motherland Nigeria.

Kay said...

This man is a MUMU..

Una never enter trouble. Trouble still dey come. Last election, you voted Jonathan and not PDP. You remember the money shared during last election? Now its pay back time. The devil will give you a cap, only to come back for your head. I heard, PDP won all the local government elections in Enugu state, just last week. Una never suffer reach I swear. Only a mad man will continue to do the same thing over and over again and yet expect a different result. Nigeria is full of mad people.

I dont know why u guys are ranting,he well knows that Nigerians are too docile to be capable of any form of revolution.Nobody in Nigeria wants to die even for themselves talk more for the nation.We all have a sunny mentality for corruption.Ride on Jona,Nigerians cant do anythin,they wil jes talk and go to bed in d night.

Yeh, dis guy don mis-yearn o! U ready for revolution? This maga dey craze? What an effrontery! Is dis to prove say him strong? Can dis ever change our opinion about his being too weak to lead a local govt let alone Naija? Yeyeh, dis guy don hot me I wan mad! pple no beg us wen we start REV O, EN EN!

By the way, does dis guy know dat the revolution has already started on twitter? Mumu by the time we occupy Aso Rock, u wud be caught unawares. Wait and see.

Anon 3:05PM, u be mumu naijarian. What's ur pro'm? Go siddon jare, Ode. Siddon for obodo Oyinbo dey wash dead body. Mtschew!

Yeh, dis guy don mis-yearn o! U ready for revolution? This maga dey craze? What an effrontery! Is dis to prove say him strong? Can dis ever change our opinion about his being too weak to lead a local govt let alone Naija? Yeyeh, dis guy don hot me I wan mad! pple no beg us wen we start REV O, EN EN!

By the way, does dis guy know dat the revolution has already started on twitter? Mumu by the time we occupy Aso Rock, u wud be caught unawares. Wait and see.

Anon 3:05PM, u be mumu naijarian. What's ur pro'm? Go siddon jare, Ode. Siddon for obodo Oyinbo dey wash dead body. Mtschew!

As for me, 'am not disappointed but rather vindicated. I never saw anything presidential about him. Another unfortunate thing about him is that he doesnt have good advisers. They have advised him to ignore NASS and invoke executive fiat. But the major blame is for a section of Nigerians who shyed away from reality and what was obvious but for ethno/religious reason and for misconception of the word "goodluck" by an average man on the street they made a choice conidered best to them. But, here we are today. Ho! Nigerians let us always do the right thing. CAN President should let us know his stance on fuel subsidy. I see him more of a politician than a cleric.

I laugh at Nigerians ignorance. To an average Nigeria, every Nigerian living overseas is washing plates and dead bodies. For your information, if you are a legal in US, Canada, Uk etc, you will work even with your Nigeria certificate (which in my opinion is not even worth the paper in which it was written - ASUU is on strike again!). There are Nigeria professionals all over the world. We have Doctors, Engineers, Lawyers, Politicians, Nurses, Accountants etc who are Nigerians, and they are doing very well in their chosen field.
Anyway, if it makes you happy to think that your compatriots are doing very badly and are second class citizens, becasue they lived abroad, by all means, keep your thoughts but it doesnt change the fact that you guys are just existing and not living. When your President has Malaria fever today, he cannot get adequate care unless they fly him abroad. What then are we talking about.I also know that majority of you who are ranting here, will jump at the opportunity to emigrate out of that country of yours.

Coy~Introvert said...

this guy ori è baje

If you drop a frog in a pot of boiling water, it will of course frantically try to clamber out. But if you place it gently in a pot of tepid water and turn the heat on low, it will float there quite placidly. As the water very gradually heats up, the frog will sink into a tranquil stupor, exactly like one of us in a hot bath, and before long, with a smile on its face, it will unresistingly allow itself to be boiled to death.

As a country, we Nigerians are very "adaptable". We are very "tolerant". We do talk tough - but that is where it typically ends.
Unfortunately our political "leaders" are aware of this, so they no more even try to be creative in lying or deceiving us. They kill, steal and destroy with impunity.
I weep for our nation Nigeria, because like the proverbial frog, we are in "hot water" but by the time we realize it, it might be too late and we would have nothing to leave for our children in terms of a nation.
Some months ago before the election I recall having a heated discussion with some people who argued that Jonathan was not like the others in the PDP cabal. They argued that a vote for Jonathan was not the same as a vote for PDP. I recently heard one of those idiots ranting and raving on his Facebook page about GEJ and I felt like reaching in through cyber space to slap the living daylights out of his head.
We are blinded by tribalism, ethnicity and corruption. We are worse than Esau as we are always willing to sell our birthright to the highest bidder. This and a plethora of other reasons is why we may never see a revolution in Nigeria.

But dont get me wrong - everyday, when I read the papers, I pray that as a country we will have a breaking point. I pray that we will truly get to a point where we are fed up. I pray that we arrive at a point where we can no longer back down. Where the only option is to rise up and fight. When men have to fight for their lives. Fight for the lives of their children and their families, then and only then will we begin to see the birth of a revolution.
Ghana paid the price via a leader like Rawlings. Today Ghana has become a cynosure among African countries.
In our countries we have murder convicts, pedophiles, ex-cons elected as Governors and leaders.
I read the story of Ogbe Onokpite a gubernatorial candidate that was executed by the police that are sworn to protect on orders from the Governors and yet there is no justice. http://saharareporters.com/report/drivers-account-how-delta-state-gubernatorial-aspirant-ogbe-onokpite-was-extra-judicially-mur

Boko Haram kills thousands and our leaders claim to have found the sponsors and culprits and sentence him to three years. I wonder if it were their own children that were butchered and blown up if they would act so lackadaisically.

Anyway, I'm done with talking. But I know that till we are sick and tired of being sick and tired; we would only continue to live in a fools' paradise.
A man once said this and I quote - "If you are willing to die for a cause, you must be prepared to kill for it, too."
The sooner we realize that our leaders have thoroughly understood that statement and to be able to make a change then we must also understand and develop the same mind set.
But for now, let these governors, senators, presidents and politicians hell bent on destroying our beloved nation know that at some point they will leave their post and their comfortable secured homes and car convoys, so know of a surety that there is a bullet with their name on it waiting for them. And no amount of security will stop it. Because he who lives by the sword must die by the sword.

na for fuel subsidy na im e dey get mouth when boko haram dey terorise us e no fit do nothing,thank God i did not vote for him ,he is d worst president ever hisssssssssss i hate this jona big time

Nigerians will not comment on things like this that affects there life, but when it comes to matter of discussing that thing in - between their thighs, then you will see 500 comments.

If there is another Presidential election today, Nigerians will still vote Jonathan and PDP. DO YOU KNOW WHY? IT'S BECAUSE NIGERIANS WILL RATHER DIE, THAN DO THE RIGHT THING. I BET IT'S A CURSE.

Is it that Blacks lack the capacity to maanage themselves? Tell me which black nation is capable of handling themselves. Black is synonymous with suffering and smiling, poverty, war, corruption of a large proportion, greed, backwardness, hunger etc.
The above question is a rhetoric one. Obviously Blacks lack the capability to manage themeselves.

knight and anonymous 5.45...i stayed in naija for a very long time,a very very very very long time,even wen peeps were vamoosing i chose to stay,so b4 u come here giving television answer jus know tha i gat street credibility..who the fuck are u guys to be telling me about talking good about nigeria?wat do u know about that?Gani Fawehinmi shouted his lungs off,fought the power,did everything he could for you guys,and do u as much as remember him today?if not for seun and femi who would remember fela?look at the lovely piece Dele Momudu wrote on the state of Nigeria,but where is he based?Ghana..wise broda,cos he knows that a typical Nigerian is full of so so talk,no action...boko haram is busy killin in the north,targeting christians,what have u done about it?niger delat killing muslims in the south south what have u done about it?is it by praising Nigeria or by admiting that you guys are spineless and can never revolt,Jonathan knows this..so go and eat ur akamu and akara and let me wash the plates and spoon over here o jare..chuks slam

anonymous 6.29 abeg leave this hypocrites alone jare,am ready for them,i even left ma name on here so they know am not faceless,its still ur boi chuks slam,always saying it as it is no gimmicks no childsplay...keep surviving instead of living Nigeria..dont wake up from your slumber,always scared to die and still die at the end..so whats the point...chuks slam

GOODLUCK JONATHAN SHOULD GET READY COS HE IS SETTING HIMSELF UP TO BE NIGERIA'S LAST PRESIDENT

that is becos he has already sold out. Quite unfortunate. To think I thought he had some substance...
It's gonna be a long 4 years....

Bill said...

Nigerians can you ever be pleased! you said the guy is chicken hearted and very weak in taking decisions! he has come out now to be blunt and firm in saying he is taking away subsidy and ready to bear the consequences if it fails to benefit Nigerians! u are still there insulting ur fada!! do you guys know what he saw that made him to be categorically, that subsidy must go! if he succeeds in his plans and private investors successful build refineries and fuel is readily available and affordable, you guys will still be d same shameless people that will come out and say: yes i knew this man know what he was doing all dis while!!

insult my president?? never! i cant do dat, instead i pray for him to turn out good even if he is a bad man

The subsidy SHOULD be removed, without that you are all DOOMED in that country, for once i support Jono. PERIOD!!!

why are u all talking?... una never suffer finish una just start> we told una dull heads that this people are nothing but evil, but na only God knw wetin dey worry una maybe its becos of the 2000 naira they will share to una during election. stupid people. una just start to dey suffer una go still hear weeeenn! idiots!!!

Arinze said...

See this is how it will start. 1)Violence will break out
2)Ebele will sick the army on us
3)U.S will say he's a dictator killing his people
4)U.S will sick their army on Nigerial
5)They will bomb and shoot us finish
and form good guys
6)when its all said and done they will be in control of our oil.

Chimezie Njoku said...

lol @ anonymous 1:38 pm's comment.
No comments on this matter since I don't understand what removal of subsidy will do to our economy.
You guys should understand that based on western world history, mistakes were made in other to figure out what will work best to revive the economy. Nigeria history is growing. yall should let it be. Lets see what will work for our country. Maybe the removal of subsidy will stir up the economy for good, and make it impossible for government to thief the oil money. Nigeria is not the first nor the last to removal subsidy on natural resources or trading. If yall have better solutions to Naija's current situation, yall should state them and stop complaining. Remember, whatever is removed, can be put back in its place by another president. The removal of subsidy is not forever. Chill yall.. Lets see what happens.

This is a real Badluck but i cant blame the guy (na ur presido u dey call guy) for making such a ridiculous statement, he has studied the entire Naija citizens that we cant do nader, we are a kind of person that used to brag without jumping into action, so he was right to make that statement, we will continue to live like this until we set ourselves free from those parasites Gov. of us. Like some1 said above that Fela & Gani made their voices to be heard with the instrument they possessed at that point in time but everything was proved abortive. Carry Go oga Jona.... na GEJ we voted for not PDP, PDP will never come to power in south west bcos we are progressive poeple but my other region mit continue routing for them till our eyes go open......... na dem sabi

See him nose as e spread like canopy.

I have had enough of this Jona the yellow nose reindeer/ black face with yellow nose.

After "taking care" of his masters, he is "finally ready to face the people's revolution." Tonda fiya your yansh!

Phoebe said...

litre of petrol sells
Nigeria- N65 = N150?
Venezuela - US$0.02 (about N3.20).
Algeria - 32 cents (about N51.20),
Iran - 10 cents (about N16);
Kuwait - 23 cents (about N36.80);
Saudi Arabia - 16 cents (N25.60);
Libya,- 17cents (N27.20);
Qatar - 19 cents (about N30).
Other oil producing countries ooo
Naija wat a shame, Jonathan needs to hide his face..

He's never a serious man.

Jonathan is a clueless president. I doubt if he can read nor write because he sounds unintelligent. There should be major requirement for presidential candidates, first, if they actually graduated from college and have the experience to lead a nation.

I thought it will be good idea for him to be president to give another ethnic group a chance but he's a total failure. It's a pity we have to deal with this for another three years. Can they impeach him? we cant afford to see him push Nigeria to complete destruction.
I don't want any of the Hausa brainless ones running the country neither but Ribadu seems to know what he's talking about.
When people go after you so hard, it means you are doing something right, which makes me conclude that Obasanjo did something right for Nigerians to still be attacking him aimlessly.
God help Nigeria, for the sake of YOUR true children, and give these wicked people what they deserve.

Hater is back!! said...

ready?

why you no take the same determination face boko haram, oga presido?

i just dey laugh for french!

this man will be the scape goat out of all these polititians! somebody has to pay

Osagie1 said...

Jonathan is a bad omen. Appearance is decietfull.

Ebonyjenny said...

what can u think of a man being controlled by a woman, i think he can do beta than dis but his wife that donate her family on behalf of N1m will not let him rule naija rather she is mrs president in her own time . may God help is

Anuofia! I don't blame him. Power don enter him mosquito brain

Heya! I understand this is kind of off-topic
however I had to ask. Does running a well-established blog such
as yours take a large amount of work? I am completely new to operating
a blog but I do write in my diary daily. I'd like to start a blog so I will be able to share my own experience and views online. Please let me know if you have any ideas or tips for new aspiring bloggers. Appreciate it!
Feel free to visit my web site ; piano lessons