The 2012 Budget | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 14 December 2011

The 2012 Budget

President Goodluck Jonathan yesterday Dec 13th presented a N4.749 trillion budget plan for 2012 to the National Assembly. Take a look at it below and tell us what you think...

Allocations to critical sectors are as follows:
  • Security -                                      N921.91 billion
  • Power -                                         N161.42 billion
  • Works -                                         N180.8 billion
  • Education -                                    N400.15 billion.
  • Health -                                          N282.77 billion
  • Agriculture & Rural Dev -                N78.98 billion
  • Niger Delta -                                   N59.72 billion
  • Water Resources -                           N39 billion;
    Petroleum Resources –                     N59.66 billion
  • FCDA -                                           N45.57 billion
Thoughts?

45 comments:

KenyanBabe said...

Am I first *raised eyebrow*

I wonder why Niger delta (oil region) gets a designated amount and still there is another allocation for oil/petroleum *confused*

we are backasswards. Education, health, power and agriculture should top that list.

udrimz said...

PURE MADNESS,let him tell us how much they've spent on this same thing this year

Chai the NSA Gen owoeye Azazi don hammer..dis man is a thief nd making money from security votes..why(FCDA)federal capital dev authority 45billion?for what?aw many people nd industry are there..God bless d masses in Nigeria.
*giddy boy*

Bernard said...

oboy security sector don hama next year be that. this is totally outrageous

I really wish these assigned funds will be used for what they are meant for but as we already know, it won't. It will go into the private coffers of ministers and other politicians.

My question biko is where are they getting this money from if America is broke and its not showing in Nigerian pple. Are we printing our own money now from backyard? And the money dealing with security(they shld just continue to give Boko Haram upper hand cos hey have failed in that department) *shioooor* and if you yab me or my comment your mouth will bend backwards!!!! Use that energy on ur president and he's ignorant advisers....LOL

Deep Soul said...

I don't understand why Security has more than twice what Education has.

Till the Nigerian Govt gets education right, we will still be in this mess.

The insecurity situation in Nigeria right now is a result of illiteracy and unemployment. Illiterates are used as preys to cause mayhem. And because they are ignorant and uninformed, they do not know better.

bloglord said...

see all the billions listed! yet no one is feasible. still no light, no water, no road, no anything. thieves will continue to be thieves.

what does he mean by "niger delta"? is that a new sector??

Mo' yato said...

Change is coming soon!

Serial Lover said...

If only they would allocate the money for security to Power( provide Electricity) we will see a drastic drop in crimes. It shows we are still not focused on what would create a viable middle class. It is no secret that a robust middle class is the engine of development in any society. Which Way Nigeria

Anon December 14, 2011 4:42 PM; OIL aka Black Gold. It's all a fraud. The money will go right into their pockets.
I think, Niger Delta = Niger Delta alone
Oil/Petroleum = everywhere especially the other oil producing states like Imo and Ondo.
LI give Kenyan Babe an award for that crass comment.

these funds are going to pay for my father's private jet, my school fees in switzerland, London, and US, and all of real estate holdings in Dubai, Ghana, and South Africa... Nigeria we love you. **muah**

Security? The amount of money involved is absurd! And who are they protecting?

SMH If security is more than power, education and works combined, and most of the security challenges are caused by lack of those three areas, it's safe to say govt has its priorities backwards...

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Awon ole!!..was this their plan to make Boko Haram look relevant in order to have a huge security bill.. 20* the Budget for Agriculture and Rural Development!!..which should be the highest in order to stem the flow of people to big cities and ease unemployment!!..wow!!

With the Budget am looking at, GEJ has quietly removed the Oil Subsidy. He made no provision for oil subsidy in this Budget.

About a trillion naira for security? Is the country at war? Nigeria!!

grace said...

thief oloshi..everything is going into his pocket! may God bore holes in ur pocket jonathan, all d money u steal would never bring u anything good! There is no peace to d wicked ha, see money dis useless old bafoons are stealing were`.

It is very obvious that he is not going to build any refineries nxt year. All the rest of the same bull.

Web_evangelist said...

So this people no wan give us light again. Just compare security and power and yet no security for this country.

xstardess said...

will u all blame him?he already said he is ready 4 d citizens' revolution on d removal of fuel subsidy.Perhaps, dis security thing is one of his "ready" plan.

u ever wondered why every year billions are allocated to different sectors and yet nothing to show for it at the end of the year...look at the huge amount supposedly allocated to education,inspite of that our universities are in shambles,ASUU is on strike,50% of the graduates are unemployable....i could go on forever...

You Idiots that voted and rigged for GEJ!The man is clueless. I pray the hardship of the coming year is felt the most in the Eastern part of Nigeria where they rigged the election massively for GEJ. I knew Buhari was far better, GEJ is only looking out for corrupt crooked politicians. Buhari did not steal when he was a young man, why would he steal in his 60s?? By the time GEJ finish with Nigeria, Ivory Coast will be heaven.

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Now its as clear as day as people have been speculating..remove subsidy..supposedly divert to security budget..and then finally into GEJ and his cronies pockets..Nja we hail thee..we def have the most corrupt leaders on earth!!..

security should be number 1....sorry but naija has become a lawless country

all these haters...the naija delta is single handedly the life source of the economy and one of the most underdeveloped part....

soldiers sef want their fair share of egunje...people wey dey govt go be thrillionnaires. God punish all of them national criminals, ole barawo banza.

gudluk fall my hand,,,,,,he is a super mumu

Ada said...

Oh wait, we still have a president???

The dude has been silent since, just traveling and giving awards, I almost forgot sef.

Included in those sums, are money paid to leaders in that sectors.

For security, all state governors are given monthly security allowance of at least N30m-N50m. These governors now keep some, and distribute to the military leaders posted in their state, and police commissioners. This one is just for their own personal pocket, not for state resources.

What does Water Resources mean???

Why does FCDA need separate category??

What is the money in Niger Delta going to do? Pay off the chiefs, who pay off Mend?? Its def not for building infrastructure in the riverine areas.

FCDA money should go to Works...our roads are a death trap!!!!

Chimezie Njoku said...

I hope change is coming along with this budget.

Ehis said...

why spend that much on security not on power,works and agriculture?Security in Nigeria is the outcome of social breakdown,where youths are idle,street are not lighted,bad roads where u have to slow down,lack of infracstructures like vocational centers for youths to learn one form of trade or the other and most importantly poverty(an hungry man is an angry man).When someone is well fed his/her thought will not wandered to social crime but how to relax or engaged his/her energy into a productive endeavour not crime(an idle mind and hungry person is a willingly tool for crime)...GEJ is just another resources 'waster' !

WHAT THE FUCK IS WRONG WITH JONATHAN, THIS DUDE IS OFFICIALLY LUNATIC. WHO IS HE FOOLING? ALL THAT MONEY IS WHAT HE WILL PAY HIMSELF, FAMILY AND FRIENDS. GOD WILL PUNISH ALL THESE IDIOTS WHO CALL THEMSELVES LEADERS IN NIGERIA EXCEPT FOR FASHOLA AND THE ONES TRYING.

na wa for this budget...security has the highest allocation.

Jonathan d clueless one,there is no light in naija nd u r spending money on security and FCDA (abuja) ur MuMu Oga of police Ringim and NSA Gen Azazi av made u a prisioner..i hope u will enjoy ur life exile after we r done with ur tolotolo wife

He has obviously removed the petroleum subsidy. Ode oshi! E no go better for am

why is there no allocation for our roads? does it mean they don't know our roads are a death trap? well they only fly in the air, bcos they are priviledged to have that. what about d less priviledged, they lose their loved ones on a daily basis on our roads, eg, benin, eastern roads, dont they have a conscience?. Our universities are on strike because of one failed promise by the government or the other, yet security tops the list in our budget. Jonathan is surely not the right man to be on that sit. Does he ever, question his advisers bcos i know some of these suggestions may come from them. He was once a teacher, then can,t he use his initiative? generations will require what he did right for them when he was there, what will be his answer? that he couln't afford to give them a good educational system or what. Lagos state atleast runs a free education for primary and secondary school then why cant a whole country NIGERIA provide education for its citizens. By educating them these so called vices of bombing will reduce bcos it is the illiterates that are been used to perpetrate this act.

Jonathan is a FOOL!!!

Nigerian Vacancies said...

This is really an immense figure, the most important thing is that it should be utilized effectively. I really hope that by the end of the year we would rank higher amongst our peers in the developing world.

Talk is cheap! All we do is rant!! Be the change you want to see. we can comment endlessly but that is not going to bring the corruption and economic instability to a halt. We need to start forming movements that adresses these issues. Nigerians are to chicken to protest,so at the end of the day we are suffering and smiling. Put your thoughts into action and bring all these unscrupulous leaders to books

jolzy said...

We humans are insatiable. If security had the least budget we'd be the same ones complaining that our leader is daft. I'm not as bothered about the allocated funds, or removed subsidy. What bothers me more is that going by trends in recent months, what exactly will they do with this money?!!!

Ebonyexcite said...

Its a real joke!

What happened to infrastructure?
Security- only to cover Aso Rock, don't care about the people and because hausa leaders are the ones behind Boko Haram and Naijas are such cowards.

Most of the money is going no where because it will all be distributed among the wicked people called leaders.

The way Nigerians attacked Obasanjo confirms to me that Naija people are so backward and don't want good things. But when it's hausa leader, nobody says anything. I don't see anybody saying anything about Jonathan. I just don't get my people. Are they that foolish?

It is better to be wise than booksmart. Booksmart + no commonsense= FOOLISHNESS.

Did I read that there's a law where you will go to prison for talking bad about the first lady. FUCK YOU JONATHAN, AND YOUR FAT WIFE.

And Babangida, Atiku and Buhari, I swear you days will soon be over. Bunch of idiots.