What is your favourite segment on The Breakfast Show? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 5 November 2011

What is your favourite segment on The Breakfast Show?

The Breakfast Show on HiTV is fast becoming the one-stop programme for viewers as it presents life from different standpoints. Three weeks into the successful outing, I’m curious to know: what is your favourite part of the Breakfast Show?

24 comments:

amaka said...

linda ikeji nobody watches the show cause the truth is that nobody has hi-tv so please stop pushing it down on us

ONYEDIKING said...

Ah is that not 2baba, hmm his a happy man now. And am happy for him too

http://acadmemic.blogspot.com

I really love the show. I watch it here on sky 204 in london! I love the part where they interview celebs and the "cookery" part with wana. fun!

Its a nice show but i find it ridiculous that an overweight person like wana udobong will be anchoring the kitchen/cooking section??? #Just saying

Maryam, Manchester said...

Anon @ 1.18pm why now! Wana is a fine babe. I also love Wana Udobang for her interesting articles. She can genuinely write.

The show is wooden joor. The presenters need a bit of training or talent or both! Tried watching it once. Not for me. The set looks much better than our usual tacky BEN TV studio though.

*ajalahtravel* said...

Let's see.....none. I think hiTV first needs to get customers before they start asking what the favourite part of a show that 85 percent of nigerians in nigeria have no clue about.

*ajalahtravel*

Are you doing a PoP (pub Opinion Poll) for HiTv,

Well, I watched it here in the UK (out or boredom) Mofe should ditch the CORN ROW, it SUCKS,and could someone tell them to STOP trying to put up an accent, it stinks (eg when OLUCHI, model) was on the show last week. Joy is doing VERY well. They should stop interrupting their guest, especially Mr Filthy- Cornrow-MOFE, with the word:'EXACTLY, EXACTLY EXACTLY...'

PS: Now why would a FAT unhealthy woman WANA tell me what to eat? That's right 'BONG out of other!!

It is boring... Are you their PRO? The celeb segment is from another show. We have watched it before.

Too much is compressed into one show and makes it lifeless. I don't think the show can last a long time unless new producers are invited to sort it out. Sometimes they close early due to lack of content.

A fat woman should not present the food segment. Psychologically, it is off putting and could scare people on diet.

Some directors and producers are dullards. They may not be qualified to do the job. Any degree goes or who you know...

my fiancee likes the child segment. but one thing i'd like to say here is this: you do not have to be a teenager to anchor entertainment segments. Oprah interviews entertainers on her show from britney to lindsay, justin bieber etc, and she does it very well, so does Tyra abd Ellen. and none of these women are under 30. but here in naija we feel you have to be very young to do that.
i was so annoyed at the Oluchi interview, those two - mofe and the friday girl couldn't ask one intelligent question - just one! it was so empty. kai!
i thought the idea of a breakfast show is to enlighten inform and give us gist we would not get anywhere else? if you run it like a regular entertainemnt show then what's the point? i could as well be watching MTV which would even be more enlightening than what i saw on friday. Tuface was good becos Joy asked questions that made him open up.

i have spent 25 years in television, behind and in front of the camera, and i can tell you that the presenters are being stifled. this minute they are lively and fun, the next minute they are stuck-up. half of my training as a presenter was in Nigeria, and i know that it is difficult for anyone to rise to stardom in that clime. that because we find it hard to help or assist another to be celebrated under our watch. those behind the camera are going to make it tough for those in front to succeed. and in a short while they might change one of them. i know from experience. if it seems you are growing beyond the show, they'll pull you down. that is why we dont have any proper celebrated presenter who is under the employment of a station. so when i watch their personalities change on air, i just laugh to myself. naija we hail thee!

i like the cooking segment. i like it when Joy talks in the beginning of the show. i like the children segment. i dont have kids yet but i love children. i like marriage segment but not the dating segment. i think they should get more engaging guests. i dont like fridays. i dont think they should lose the beauty of the show just to be hip. there are many hip stations. too many in fact. we dont need a breakfast show that reminds us of how shallow the world has become. if they must get celebrities then they should ask interesting questions and not the regular blah blah that is so common.

I remember the very first show, i was heading to the kitchen when i heard their happy voices. i stopped and i was smilling as i watched. it was refreshing. but lately, and too soon for that matter, they have lost that innocence and happiness, you can see they are being too careful and too polite to each other. Joy used to be so all over the place, it made me so happy because she reminded me of my late sister. now its just blank; they are being too proper. we are loud and happy and jolly as nigerians. please remain that way. all the same, the child segment is still my favourite. and when oluchi came, i would have thought they would take a fresh angle of questions and not the same old thing. it is fast becoming just another 'proper' show. lol

Nneka

why should we bother? hitv has no ears for their customers. but since the pr was all over the place, i decided to see for myself. the show is not bad. Joy is my favourite. Wana is good on her segment. Fridays are bad; really bad. I enjoyed Tuface, so i decided to skip a class to watch this friday, and i regreted it. the best part for me is the newspapers and when they chat about what's in the papers. maybe they can invite some journalists to cover for the bad parts mostly from the guy.
i will most likely be watching the show from monday to thursday. fridays i'll switch to E! or something since they try so hard to be hip. I think the show has its edge but they are not acknowledging it yet. stay intelligent. they are very many hip stations but no intelligent station in nigeria.
my two useless cents.

i must share this story. I was chilling with my wife when the show came up this friday. although i ddint stay till the end because that Oluchi part was just painful to watch, but i wont forget when the small girl in their midst was ranting about her 11 year old brother watching IN TIME (I think), justine timberlake's new movie. my wife turned to me and said: '11 year old? is it PG?' and immediately Joy said the same thing on air. lol!
at least someone in their midst is sane.

I like the book segment because i am trying to finish my book of over three years. I am a huge fan of Toni Kan, and it was good to have an interviewer who knows him well enough to ask questions that i would have asked if i had met him personally. that for me was the high point of the show so far.

Adunola

Wow! People are really OUT OF ORDER on here, personally I think Wana is amazing! She has a lot of personality and she can cook, unlike some of the people commenting on here! Anyway, it is true that the presenters are not 100% pro, but with time they will get amazing, not everyone starts out perfect; we are humans!!! The show is very interesting and inspirational!

fannie said...

Linda, u are very annoying, this is the last time i'm commenting on ur blog. U keep deleting my post, wat kind of rubbish is that? Its not like i said anything inappropriate, i've seen u post worst things. Do u know how annoying it is?? After takin time to type, if u like post this one and play victim or ignorant so that people will insult me. i don talk my own finish

@Maryam, Manchester, yes I will agree with you that the set is better than BEN TV's set but BEN TV has better presenters and producers.

Joy looks as if she is still basking in irony as per NA ME BE THIS. She smiles sheepishly, for what?

Linda's Body Guard said...

The big girl cooking

spotless said...

i like the show, the presenters are getting better, the cooking segment, the presenter should go,1. she is dirty, she need to watch other cooking programmes, she will use the chopping board with variety of veg without washing or cleaning it. bye wana

Blair said...

It sounds interesting. I'm in Cali, where can I watch it?
Is it online?

People talking about fat person presenting food section, have you forgotten that fat yellow woman dat does maggi kitchen...she did a good job of it

As per this topic sha..hitv is soO minority naa linda so you shouldn't ask such questions

Mofe Duncan said...

*whistling_by*