'Sandfilled Plastic Bottle Houses'. Is this the way forward? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 3 November 2011

'Sandfilled Plastic Bottle Houses'. Is this the way forward?

19-year old local mason, Yahaya Musa, inspects a wall of stacks of sand-filled plastic bottles in Sabongarin Yelwa village, near city of Kaduna on November 2, 2011. A local NGO Development Association for Renewable Energy (DARE) came up with the idea of 'plastic bottle house' which its inventors believe could solve Nigeria's 16 million housing units deficits and clean the badly populated environment by taking off the street, the over 3 million plastic water bottle waste the country generates everyday and putting them into housing. AFP Photo / Aminu Abubakar.

Thoughts?

31 comments:

Wale's Ambition To Hit 200k First Week said...

Future Proof Technology lol

pam said...

Quick correction. They didnt invent this. Plastic bottle houses have been bulit in different parts of the worlds and they actually do work as well as use up waste. here are some cool samples http://inspirationgreen.com/plastic-bottle-homes.html

it'smeagain said...

i'm first yayyyyyyy

Melisomi said...

Nice idea but will it withstand a storm! At least u can dismantle and move ur house somewher else!lol!

Adele said...

Seriously?! No way man. Haba! Human beings living in houses made of plastic bottles? I expected to see some technology with maybe plastic bottles melted and mixed with other chemicals and made into blocks or cements. But actual plastic bottles being piled and tied with twine? No abeg. It is inhumane!

Dee dee said...

Interesting...but so many questions. How resilient would a house made of such be? How sustainable is it? What happens if/when they run out waste plastic bottles, would they have to start producing more specifically for this purpose? How is it going to fare against the weather I.e heat and rain?....

Rubbish!!!

Olanrewaju said...

thoughts?............just leave me alone, am still in shock.

sand filled bottles

Green Construction.. nice one.

Kay said...

This is a very creative way of creating jobs, and solving accomodation problems in rural areas. This is something local government chairmen in Northern States, Eastern States, and Middle-Belt States can tie into. The only problem is the "virus" in the minds of such people a.k.a corruption that will not make them to adopt this initiative.

I think this is a brilliant idea. Wow, am impressed with this idea. This will especially work in Nigeria as there is really no winter. My only fear is the heat which can also melt plastic bottle. Does this mean cooking will be done far away from the homes. Just a thought

innovative idea and good news for our environment... but i fear its health implications... sun heated plastics may be carcinogenic

wow, dis is intelligent....

Lets see if it works.....

Nyc try.

i wonder how the roof will look like, and what about the raining season??????

Janyl Benyl said...

Sigh! Smh!!!

this is a great idea. A new twist on the adobe building concept.

Keep it up.

ugo3niti said...

I have heard of such projects in Guatemala. It is a waste to education project. see d Guatemala video on this Nigerian Green Blog
http://greennigeria.wordpress.com/2011/08/12/nigeria-recycles-plastic-bottles-into-housing/

What are the mud houses in your built from. Some naija people alway s acting brand new. After all 95% of houses hear in the US is made from kpako with a thin layer of cement/brick tiles.

I think it should be encouraged and it will create a new improved recycling industry. Some where to get rid of the terrible trash problem you have out there

my 3 cents (yes not 2)

deeflamez said...

I thought it was awkward too until i checked dis site http://inspirationgreen.com/plastic-bottle-homes.html

Miss Vee said...

Haba linda,you self.how'd you ask sucha question.good innovation for rural areas still using just mud,but definitely not the way foward! *finally i can drop comments*yaaaaay!

wonderful idea

nnamdi said...

really interesting http://blackenterpreurs.blogspot.com/

Thanks for the link Pam. I think this is a fantastic solution to providing housing even to middle income folks who want to save their money to live their best life and to pass on an inheritance to their children. Every person deserves a place to live. I am so excited to see this right now. I know here in Canada homes constructed from shipping containers are hot right now: http://tinyurl.com/lk8w9w

For those who have question please see the link in Pam's comment. Pam is the second comment on the post and you will see the finished look of the homes. Thanks again Pam.

CarsDEY.com said...

Wow.. nice one sha... we thats d way forward

@itsmeagain,
Please you people should NOT bring that crap of "Im first" from bellanaija.com to linda's blog. We are adults on this blog not elementary school kids in adult bodies who compete for the first post. Thank you.

YOU GUYS SHOULD WATCH THIS VIDEO. IT SHOWS THE WHOLE BUILDING PROCESS :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LPxXH7rCSHQ

Thinking out aloud said...

lol...........wonders will never end......

it'smeagain said...

i'm not first ._.

@November 3, 2011 7:53 PM.........
CHILLLL BRAH

Diomar Salvado said...

nice post. .try to watch movie online for free here

sleekreek said...

Waooooo,,,will this type of houses withstand storm or the type of heavy downpour that happened in lagos sometimes in July???

Frank said...

Combine this with metal roof and plastic bottle to purify water used elsewhere? Different idea -certainly questions about weathering - storms, UV, toxic leaching. May be okay to use existing waste, but may not be ideal for too many between volume of sand & plastic.