A Primary School in Ogun State in 2011. Wow! | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 3 November 2011

A Primary School in Ogun State in 2011. Wow!

Imagine the Governor of this state giving the pupils N100 monthly allowance. God help our children.

34 comments:

mundus said...

This is really disheartening Linda.........Leaders of tomorrow. We cant continue to let them play "the more you look the less you see" on us.Tomorrow the governor will quote billions of naira he spent on Education.

Jeez! This is sad. And dangerous too because snakes can conveniently hide in those thatch roofs. Naija sha. *smh*

http://bodyandmindforallwomen.blogspot.com

this is very sad. very very!

Bad public policy, that governor should step down.

funny enough that is our past president state.Money spent on just road network on otta home of Obansanjo can build a standard school there

forward never, backward ever

Kabiyesi Olodumare said...

It's a lie. Linda, you've always been a prankster. I think it's photoshoped or a film set for some Nollywood movie. I don't think any school in Naija can be in condition in this day and age. 30 years ago, maybe, but not 2011. I don't know. I just hope you are wrong and I'm right. So, if it's true, how come the media have never reported / brought it to public / government attention?

These children should be home schooled for real if this is how their school looks like. Even more westerners are beginning to home school their children. Education is becoming more flexible these days and you don't have to be stuck in an ugly building. sheesh.

galore said...

Gbenga Daniel bah.......GOD go punish all dem thief thief leaders.

What happens on raining days ? Poor kids . I hope they have devoted and good teachers so when they get up there they can say here was a picture of my sch and this is what they are today . Its a shame on nigerian Govt when some peoples kids can go to this kind of sch and some others goes to 1.something MIllion or above sch. SMH

our pentecostal churches have done there best to preach hope and show hope in the form of prosperity, nollywood and the music industry have done their best too,...jimoh ibrahim, mich adenuga and dangote have also done their best....

but for me africa has failed in the country nigeria due to evil leadership...

i thank God i will never live in this nation called nigeria...

thank u jesus for showing me favor and mercy

WTF said...

Sometimes Linda, you just expose your lack of exposure... This school isn't perfect but it sure is pretty good in its simplicity.

You didn't even state why the infrastructure is bad. You just saw thatched roofs and with your colonial eyes, concluded that it's a sad situation. What would be better please? The awful zinc roofs that rust in no time and encourage leaking etc.? The funniest part is your uneducated followers are pitying the pupils with you!

Thatched roofs are more permanent than those rust-prone zinc sheet roofs we have in many other budget schools all over the country.
Again this thatched roofs give the place more character...
From what I see, the wall design is perforated, making room for cross ventilation and eliminating the need for those awful fans that circulate dust.
The mud helps maintain a cool micro-climate too so no complaints that the classes are hot. This school is quite eco-friendly if you ask me.

The only concerns are lighting and whether these structures are technically correct.
(Greenery and external infrastructure e.g. play area, are another story).

And no, I'm not an architect or interior designer or anything of that nature, I'm just making an educated point but what are YOU saying Linda, biko?

sakara said...

considering the staggering amount of Naira stolen by Gbenga Daniels and his thievereps....they shd either be jailed for life or all d monies confiscated...so what is d commisioner of education for d state saying....oh he's part of d decay and minister of education...that's a story for another day, i have a feeling revolution is near

angel said...

so help us God!!

emzy said...

Atleast the 100 naira will help improve the standard of education...lol
Rubbish govt.

Engr Don Chris said...

This is too bad .In this century??????Pls the state government should as a matter of urgency do something fast. ACN gov what are u waiting for or u want ur opposition to mess u around? pls do something fast

ALEX.WONDERFUL said...

Lindaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa, is it the same N100 u condemnmed??? u castigated Rochas for the gesture, now ur advocating it in Ogun state. Pls try not to contradict urself. take a stand!!!!

alemmal said...

Going by level of exposures and educational history, Ogun state is supposed to be No. 1 in the western region. But im highly disappointment with the goings in that state. Check their Roads, disgusting,no light no water> even the towns close to Lagos have not adopted any positive change. Woo be tide their Govt

Modupsy said...

@ WTF, I'm going to assume you were being sarcastic.@ Kabiyesi, it is very true. There are schools like dis in most states sef. Small time now, some pea brained people will come here @ say "@ least d governor is doing somefin by handing N100 per month" Nonsense! We are d reason dese people in power are misbehaving. We choose to overlook their embezzling and so on just becos "shebi deir Predecessor did same thing" or "shebi he sha repaired bad roads" as if that's not parT of his job description

doll (retired blogger) said...

wow! sad

genie in d bottle said...

@ WTF u are a moron and u have just exibited ur stupidity and ignorance here Linda please forgive d mumu

Abimbola Dare said...

Oh Gosh. My beloved nation, Nigeria. why? It looks like a staged picture. Unreal.

Abimbola Dare
Author, The Small Print

kambinachi said...

@Kabiyesi Olodumare, i am sure you don't live in nigeria. if you did, you would know there is a whole lot that goes on and is never reported in the media. naija is really not as advanced and glamorous as it might seem.

Lola said...

May God help us, and give us Leaders that care about d masses and d future.

Thinking out aloud said...

That's the poverty mentality the govt has used to enslave his people unfortunately......
http://personaedeve.blogspot.com/2011/11/coping-with-over-whelm.html

@WTF 7:20AM. Oya quick, quick go enroll ur children for this skuul, since its perfect in ur eyes. This is the type of skuul GEJ went to, (just like these kids, wit no shoes) thats why he's not performing. Hw will these children lead well 2moro. I tire 4 Naija.

Time for an Afrivolution said...

@WTF

Very well said.

"Linda's Followers" come here to celebrate the excessive wealth of very few Nigerians.

Rarely, if ever do they ever turn a critical and progressive lens on issues facing Nigeria as a nation.

If one deigns to criticize our society for its socially backward views, they invariably turn their warped neo-colonial analysis on the damn issue.

It becomes a question of "jealousy".

nonsense!

Now we have to understand that even when the govt. failed to provide that community with what you would refer to as a standard school building the community would not just complain but make the best out of what they have. So I'd say these people aren't looking to be pitied they already took charge so if you are touched do what they did, act now, give the support you can to them or your locality. I appreciate the thinking of these people. If only every Nigerian would stop whining and do something, add value and make a positive impact. And Linda, I thought the 100 naira stipend is an Imo thing, why make it look like the same thing is happening in Ogun.
A quick one, who pays the teachers?

The chairman of that LG and the councilor of the ward should be quizzed.

sleekreek said...

@WTF.......ur comments make u sound like someone who is mentally derailed.......so u call this a perfect structure and a good learning environment???now its not Linda that is showing her lack of exposure,its u telling the whole world how primitive ur reasoning is.........if dis skool has one of the best infrastructures as u said,,then i pray that every seed that comes from u will have to learn in this kind of environment.......

@Modupsy,,,u said it all.......wen the foolish leaders give peanuts,,people worship them as if the resources belong to those thieves calling themselves leaders....mcthewwwww..

oh my God! i pray for ogun state.

Please continue your good journalism. This is unacceptable period. Nigerians start asking for more from your government. How do we create the next Mark Zuckerberg from such horrible learning condition? This is just unacceptable period!
@WTF 7:20AM Shut up ok. You have been enslaved by your leaders to think it’s ok to have such condition. Now one of these kids will be the next OBJ that will enslave the nation as there don’t know better or believe there have to loot the nation so there can never re-live their horrible past

Wow! this is cool, means we re going back to our roots instead of moving 4ward
ME

Christians why not get ur pastors to better these children's lives with ur tithes? The God that revealed to 'em to buy private jets can also get 'em to build schools that don't cost an arm and a leg to attend.The missionaries that brought the Chritianity to 'em built some of the best schools in Nigeria today and didn't charge cut throat tuition.
I will have said same to the Muslims but their schools don't cost as much...still very basic. So Nigerians, call ur pastors, babalawos and alfas to order... Change lives and use ur tithe well,stop waiting for ur corrupt politicians. C'est fini.

Dee dee said...

They should be relocated to Goshen city.