FG Reintroduces Tolls On Federal Highways | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 4 November 2011

FG Reintroduces Tolls On Federal Highways

Minister for Works, Mr Mike Onolememen
Seven years after the Federal Government scrapped tolls on the nation's highways, the Minister for Works, Mr Mike Onolememen, has announced that the Government has decided to re-introduce toll plazas on Federal highways, starting from 2012.

So instead of looking for ways to improve the deplorable states of our roads, what they are thinking about is reintroducing tolls? This is for some of those close to govt to be awarded contracts to collect tolls abi? God help us all!

28 comments:

Well, if they use the tolls for constantly maintaining the highways, it'll be ok. Most of the highways are simply deathtraps!!

Toll gates again..Nne ike gwulu...

Sorry, Linda, God will not help us. We have all decided, consciously and otherwise, that we are going to destroy this country. It is just a matter of time.

Great just the kind of news we are looking forward to. I don't seem to understand our goverment any more. You remove fuel subsidy and now you want to impose toll fees on us. This is what Fela meant when he said his people are suffering and smiling. We pay our taxes here in lagos and fash is also looking into toll fees within lagos. I hope things gets better pretty soon in nija oh.

Ikman said...

It seems like 2012 is going to be a year for Nigerians to tighten their belts in view of some harsh economic measures in the offing... removal of fuel subsidy, increase in PHCN tariff, the return of toll gate and perhaps, increase in the prices of goods in view of the so called 18k minimum wage.

CLF said...

A new scam by the Federal Government. Pity. Of course, they will embezzle the funds...

You are right. May God help us all.
http://bizgreenglobe.blogspot.com

Dee said...

Another way to rip off innocent hardworking citizens. God punish them.

zeenie said...

why do i feel there is ulterior motive behind this... if its for maintenance though its alight....

That is what happens when you have a man that is bereft of ideas for minister...the minster has not constructed a single road since he came into office.The first thing that came into his dull brain is to construct toll gates

Naija I hail Thee. Toll money that will be chopped, my people shey una dey shine ya eye. They are dealing with us because they know we are toothless dogs. A revolution is around the corner, because God himself just dey look us dey shake head.

i would say this is the worst administration so far.. this administration has only succeeded in making life unbearable for its citizens

*ajalahtravel* said...

Arrangie must e die e yo! Ye ye arrangie must e die e yo!

*ajalahtravel*

Abujakenneth said...

Linda tell them that is their business. Only few years ago, Obasanjo with annoyance and speed spent N10m each to demolish all the toll gates in the country and now they are introducing it back. Visionless leaders. Udo di.

Terry Teddy said...

What a shame?

Terry Teddy said...

To the myopic mind, this comments might be disgusting. However the fact is that Some Nigerians are stupid people who deserve what they’ve got. Yes, Most Nigerians deserve the misery, enslavement and degradation a clique of politicians have inflicted on them. How you may ask, are Nigerians stupid? Yes they are;

Majority of Nigerians are not prepared to emancipate themselves and their children from tyranny and oppression. When I say Nigerians I do not refer to the few set of people who have gallantly stood up against injustice and oppression. When I say Nigerians, I am referring to a great number of us, who are scared to stand up for our rights. My aim is to reach out not to political activists, but to the grumbling masses. Yes, the grumbling masses are very stupid indeed! Anyone who cannot stand up for his right is stupid and deserves the situation he finds himself in. Collectively, Nigerians are stupid for allowing a clique of politicians to steal what belongs to them. Yes, collectively we deserve what we’ve got and we will continue to get more deprivation until we stand up for what is right. No good road, no good health care, no job for the youths, no electrictiy, no housing, no job for the adult, nothing is working in Nigeria.

This commennts may brought me trouble but am crying as am writing. But I must express my views. We Nigerians have been psychologically shackled for so long. I rather die for not expressing how I feel. Nigerians were and are still too scared to die for their rights. The average Nigerian sees someone who is killed protesting against injustice and oppression as a fool. The average Nigerian thinks he or she is wise to have kept quiet when others were killed protesting for their rights.

Terry Teddy said...

To the myopic mind, my comments might be disgusting. However the fact is that Nigerians are stupid people who deserve what they’ve got. Yes, Nigerians deserve the misery, enslavement and degradation a clique of politicians have inflicted on them. How you may ask, are Nigerians stupid? Yes they are;

Majority of Nigerians are not prepared to emancipate themselves and their children from tyranny and oppression. When I say Nigerians I do not refer to the few set of people who have gallantly stood up against injustice and oppression. When I say Nigerians, I am referring to a great number of us, who are scared to stand up for our rights. My aim is to reach out not to political activists, but to the grumbling masses. Yes, the grumbling masses are very stupid indeed! Anyone who cannot stand up for his right is stupid and deserves the situation he finds himself in. Collectively, Nigerians are stupid for allowing a clique of politicians to steal what belongs to them. Yes, collectively we deserve what we’ve got and we will continue to get more deprivation until we stand up for what is right. No good road, no good health care, no job for the youths, no electrictiy, no housing, no job for the adult, nothing is working in Nigeria.

Nigerians have been psychologically shackled for so long. I rather die for not expressing how I feel. Nigerians are still too scared to die for their rights. The average Nigerian sees someone who is killed protesting against injustice and oppression as a fool. The average Nigerian thinks he or she is wise to have kept quiet when others were killed protesting for their rights.

come on Guys government are just finding different means of sucking the common dry... The past government claimed that N1.50k was added to hike up the fuel price! Claiming that it would be used for road maintainance..
Its totally irritating theat this government choose to cripple our economy rather than develop it!!
Why not just improve the tranportation system better moodes of transport... Instead of being so cocky

Terry Teddy said...

This news has spoil my weekend. Am crying as am writing this comments. The average Nigerian is a fool who deserves all the misery and deprivation he experiences. Why should some politicians hold millions of Nigerians to ransom for over 40 years if the people are not stupid? We deserve what we’ve got because we collectively shied away from fighting for what is right.

I have always wondered what we as Nigerians would have done if we were in the shoes of the blacks in South Africa during the regime of apartheid. With the current mindset of Nigerians, I believe the regime of apartheid would still have been in place. Collectively as one people the blacks in South Africa fought and died for justice. Young and old protested to their deaths until justice was served. Ask yourself this question ‘can I die for what I know is right?’ ‘Will I be a fool if I die protesting against injustice and oppression?’

For over 40 years, the military and political class has used intimidation and brutality to crush dissent. They know that Nigerians are stupid and scared. They know that if they shoot at you and kill you, others will flee. They know that if you are thrown into jail others will never fight for justice. Who is then the fool? Collectively we are fools who deserve what we’ve have gotten. Until we change this attitude prosperity will never come. Change is in our hands, we must fight for it even if it means protesting till we die. Was Malcolm X a fool? Was Martin Luther King a fool? No! They were not fools to die for what they believed in. These are Black Men like you and I who were willing to die for justice. My friend has warned and adviced me many times that the best and easy way to be sad is to think about Nigeria.

Terry Teddy said...

How long will Nigerians continue to be afraid of death? We must die someday whether we like it or not. We must die someday whether we are poor or rich. Just as I will never allow anyone rape my wife and go unpunished, so I will never allow anyone to rape my rights and go unpunished! I have made up my mind to fight this government that is so corrupt. Someone stole 190 Billion of Naira and was given only six months in jail. If this money is shared to 150 million Nigerians, each person will be smiling to the bank with the sum of ( 1millon 266,000 ) Naira. Which means, a family of six will get about 7 million naira. What kind of country is this called Nigeria? War is coming to Nigeria very soon. I (We)saw it coming. That is more reasons there is more crime and arms. Because people are not happy.

I believe in a Nigeria where everyone created in the image of God is free and equal.

I believe in a Nigeria were the rights of the weak and poor are respected.

I believe in a Nigeria where the people elect those who should govern them.

I believe in a Nigeria where the resources in my land are used to develop my people.

I believe in a Nigeria where the rulers do not steal what belongs to everyone.

I believe in a Nigeria where a Yoruba, Igbo, Hausa, Ijaw etc agree how they should to live together.

Anything short of that is a crime against my conscience and against my God given freedom!

Anything short of that gives me the right to self determination!

Terry Teddy said...

I swear to almighty God. In 2005, I was with Alhaji Atiku Abubakar, The former Vice President of Nigeria at Marriot Hotel in Frankfurt Germany for close to two hours. I ask him of their plans about fixing our roads and schools. His response was that too many Cabals in and out of government who dont want those and other sectors to be fixed. Am one of Nigerians in diaspora who love to see things working fine in that country. I went back to my house/home disappointed. My Questions are; who are the cabals? They want to reintroduce toll gates. Their game plan is nothing but to award those toll gates to their cronies. Thank God, I did not vote for Mr. Jonathan Goodluck. Most of his men know it.

@ terry dear, I feel your pain and it's funny bc my gf also told me to stop stressing my life over nigeria. I've reached the stage where I really want to stop bc I've not even lived in Nigeria for abt 14yrs now and yet I feel like things in naija bother me more than people that live there cos I feel like if they r bothered as i am, why haven't i seen the youths, unemployed grads protesting or rioting making national news and attracting media attention both national and international? why do they hail these rouges when they see them instead of mobbing them or disgracing them? i know they have their thugs but their thugs are also humans and can't fight off a multitude of young abled men just like them. I came to the conclusion that we r all too corrupt and foolish to stand up for what we think is right. How can the former senate president bankole embezzle 1b dollars n says that no court has the right to try him in nigeria n goes free? of course the kidnappers will not see him to kidnap. I also came to the conclusion that the indigens are still not tired of miserable life, being used and taken as fools and being oppressed by the rouges that is the government and leadership. Until you r tired of such life and say enough is enough, you cant hold the rouges accountable n people will still worship them as demi gods or something. its just discgusting i tell you. I really feel ur pain. I weep for nigeria but my tears are fast drying out.

babe said...

the man wants to turn the country upside down (this is even evident by the way he placed the Nigerian badge on his coat)... I hiss in latin!!

All these 2012, Anyway, am not surprise, the WORLD will end there. Try and make Heaven folks!!!

bricks said...

And of course,Nigerians will just carrying on, pay the toll fare while we still endanger our lives driving on roads that can be compared to the rough terrain in Afghanistan.
In the words of Pastor Tunde Bakare "bunch of idiots ruled by fools!" or is the other way round..?

ibo boy said...

The tolls are a good idea considering the current state of the country. If they would do it right and use modern technology, it would make sense.

Computerize and log cars/people as they travel through states.

@Terry Teddy, spot on! Except that there will be no war in Nigeria. We are too docile and stupid to fight for our rights. Things will continue as they are. Pity.

Allegra said...

As long as the tolls are used in maintaining the roads then it is a good thing. Here in the UK, we pay tolls on certain motorways as well as paying a yearly road tax for all vehicles (motor-bikes included)with proceeds used in maintaining the roads.