E! presenter Giuliana Rancic has breast cancer | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 17 October 2011

E! presenter Giuliana Rancic has breast cancer

TV presenter Giuliana Rancic has been diagnosed with breast cancer. The E! News and Style Network host, 37, discovered she had a tumour while undergoing in-vitro fertilisation in a bid to get pregnant. However, doctors are optimistic they have detected the cancer early and she will make a full recovery.

Rancic made the announcement on NBC's Today Show this morning, admitting she will undergo surgery later this week.

She said: 'Through my attempt to get pregnant through IVF, we sadly found out that I have early stages of breast cancer. It's been a shock.'

Rancic and her husband Bill were preparing to undergo a third round of IVF treatment after two failed attempts when a doctor asked her to have a mammogram.

She was initially resistant to the idea because she considered herself to young to be at risk, but the doctor demanded she undergo the test because the surge of hormones during pregnancy can accelerate cancer.

She explained: 'I wasn't prepared to get a mammogram until I was 40 years old, like I'd been told. I never in my wildest dreams expected anything to be wrong. It was just a kick in the stomach.'
Recalling the moment she found out, Rancic said: 'I went into the hospital in L.A., when they came in to tell me, they said it pretty quickly, they just said, "I'm sorry, you have breast cancer."

'It's what you expect, but so much more, it was like, incredible instant sobbing and the world just crashed down around me. I couldn't believe it - 36 years old, no family history? I couldn't believe it.'
After her lumpectomy, Rancic will undergo six weeks of radiation therapy.
She says her husband has been a 'unbelievable' source of support. 

Source: Daily Mail UK

20 comments:

Am so sorry Guiliana. I've always admired you. May the good lord see u through. Amen

*ajalahtravel* said...

At least this sickeness go make her eat. One good thing from a bad sitch.

*ajalahtravel*

ChiChiLuv said...

This poor girl can't see to get a break! May God help her. She needs to EAT something, how are you going to get pregnant and you weigh 90lbs?

dang girl....may God be with you....does she really weight 90lbs? dang girl...please eat o!

Dang..this really got to me. This woman has been through too much. It is well. I believe she will fight it.

mimi said...

ajalah travels please have u ever seen anybody that suffers from cancer?????????????????????? food is the last thing on their mind, the radiation will not enable her eat cause she will loose the taste in her mouth, she also can not take vitamins cause the cancer will feed on it, if a size 18 woman were to get cancer she might end up a size 10 or 8 at the end of it all so please for the lack of nothing to say about the story don't make a very INSENSITIVE, IGNORANT, AND HEARTLESS statement like that. this is coming from someone who knows about suffering from cancer. worse of all cause of the radiation she will not be allowed to have her bath for the duration of the radiation treatment cause water and radiation don't mix

Linda, "BREAT CANCER" ???????

I pray for u guys J & B that God will heal J and give you guys the children you want .....IJN my prayers

elenurazor! said...

heya pele o
if my grandma could beat it,you can and WILL!
You go girl.
@ all women reading this I dont care how old you are go for a mammogram
its just #10,000 in most hospitals PLEASE!!!!!

eeeeeeeeerm is theres something wrong with being 90lbs?
coz am 100lbs and very healthy with plenty curves???????
except if shes intentionally starving herself pls let her be
biko!!!!!!!!!

Ada said...

My prayers are wit her n her hubby, i pray she beats this n gets to pursue a better life than ever b4...God please...

damico said...

@ *ajalahtravel* u dont eat when u have cancer. u cant keep food down.esp if she is having chemotherapy

@linda ikeji

Please spell Breast cancer correctly, it's not beast cancer.

mama somtee said...

kpele oooh oooh ---- try eat small naaah eeeh --- the lord be with you and heal you in this times .

Breast cancer!!! omg!! datz rili shocking 2 hear especialy @ dt age, i rili do hope u get thru it, just tell urslf "u will get thru this" n indeed u will... plus i admire u.... just dn't 4gt God is there..

GOD will heal u just believe

Divine healing in Jesus name Amen

:-( God be with her and her hubby

I love Bill and Giuliana show. I feel for her so much. Giuliana, I'm praying for you and I know you will fight this. Good thing she has Bill who loves her. God bless both of you.

diamondsstayclean said...

May the Good Lord be with her and grant her quick and permanent recovery in Jesus name. Amen